Nissan Leaf to be produced in Japan, UK and US

Nissan has released a couple of new videos and photos of the new Nissan Leaf in conjunction with the Leaf’s launch. European market production will begin in 2013 at Nissan’s UK Sunderland plant. The Sunderland plant has received a total investment of over 420 million British Pounds for the production of the Leaf and its batteries. The UK government has given Nissan a business investment grant of 20.7 million British Pounds.

Two other locations will build the Leaf – Japan and the USA. The Japanese production center will be located at Oppama while the American plant will be in Tennessee. The Oppama plant will start up first later this year followed by the American plant in 2012 and finally the Sunderland plant in 2013.

Nissan calls the Leaf the world’s first affordable, mass produced zero emission car. It’s basically a 5-seater C-segment 5-door hatchback built on a dedicated EV platform and powered by a 80kW electric motor. With a rapid charger it can get up to 80% battery capacity. Its battery packs will take it up to 160km of ‘real world range’, and top speed isn’t too bad either at just over 140km/h.

Look after the jump for some photos and videos of the Leaf.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1027]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• first :-)
    but i dont mind having one of this, pls
    it looks quite alright

• Honda Civic meter.

• shokubeni on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:00 pm

look like frog, but nice car

• endreyip on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:35 pm

“Its battery packs will take it up to 160km of ‘real world range”
    What happen if the car run out of power during traffic jam or in the middle of the journey? Call the tow truck? some times we might have forgotten to check the power level incicator. hehe…

• pulge on Apr 05, 2010 at 2:10 pm

just bring a spare battery la.. hahah

anyway, i started to like this car.. don’t mind driving this around town.. ^^ plus the silentness of the car when moving..

• call the generator truck…hahaha..jk,but this is what the future car should i think…after all, how long the world fuel can last?

• its the same case as having fuel..do people let their fuel level nearly zero before hitting the journey…or do we see cars run out of fuel during traffic jam??.. yes, it happens..but to a careless driver i think…hehehe

• I certainly won’t be able to reach Melaka on a single charge. Looks like it’s strictly for city driving. What a shame. Could save me a bundle on petrol money for long distance trip. Here’s hoping the technology will mature to allow x2 available distance soon.

• tokmoh on Apr 05, 2010 at 2:59 pm

£20.7m… Kalau kat sini, kerajaan kasi RM20.7m je org da bising macam nak kiamat…

Which is happening in UK ahaha. Good luck Labour. You’ll need it. Sorry, but I bet the Tories will win the coming election.

• scottloeb on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:50 pm

Hahah. Labour balik for sure lah. Darling can spend more to save the banks but it will not enough to change the mindset of the Brits.

• tokmoh on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:08 am

Hehe, agreed.

The parliament’s dissolved!! UK election confirmed 6th May!! This is going to be interesting to watch hoho

• PolarAbdul on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:14 pm

160km real world range based on how many adults onboard and at what speed? very nice design there put up there from various angles, the real thing should look much better than the pic alone.

• Come our Bolehland… Price will increase x2 or x3… Feel sad about it.

• unsafe japanese car on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:17 pm

I was expecting for this comment. thgh, u r so typical.

• Neutral on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:35 pm

the 1st step to electric car. Nice job nissan !!!! Hopefully the two P can come out the same things too at affordable price in the future for the malaysian market

• rexis on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:04 pm

And now, heres our 1Msia plan of cutting 40% carbon emission by fooling everybody that palm oil sucks CO2 from the air.

Btw, in Msia it will not be 160km with full blown air con to wherever you go.

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:19 pm

ugly

• Hazriq on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:22 pm

What do u mean by ugly?
      performance?
      “green”-ness?
      interior??
      exterior??

• I’m thinking how much our electrical bill is going to cost for charging this car??

• I want one~! But I can’t afford it already…MALAYSIAN can’t afford to save the world~!!!!
    Malaysia G says it’s not our responsible to save it??I don’t know..seeing Prius n Civic H at those price, what to say about 100% 0-emission price if a Hybrid already cost us a bomb~!??!…Then Proton say pakai-lah mobil electric buatan-Malaysia…when a?*Since they took almost 30years to convince their technology(Lotus tech=Malaysian tect- -??) is actually up to par with foreign car, how long does it take to convince us that their technology will at least close to equal to the foreigners??2020??atao selepas kiamat?? oh ya, a good idea to drive one of these 0-emission car in Heaven, doubted whether these 0-emission cars sempat to make their way on Malaysia roads..sebelum kiamat??I’ll ask my kid to migrate b4 me, I die die oso buy a house somewhere else to settle them down..

• MoFaz on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:24 pm

why wait? why ask your kid to migrate? you can get out now and stay with your kid anywhere you like… nobody stopping you.

• on road, it look more n more like jar jar biggs…now there’s a star wars theme in mass production….

• Hazriq on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:24 pm

for the next 10 years, i will buy at least 1 EV car. no matter what brands come to bolehland..