BMW Malaysia introduces 730Li and Individual 760Li

BMW Malaysia has fleshed out the local 7-Series range at both ends with this morning’s introduction of the entry level 730Li and the range topping Individual 760Li. The two new variants bookend the existing 740Li, 750Li and the diesel 730Ld. As with all local spec limos, the 7-Series range comes only in long wheelbase form, hence the ‘L’ in the name.

The 730Li is imported CBU from Thailand, and at RM648,888 (OTR without insurance, with BMW Service Inclusive + Repair) lowers the entry point for the F02 7-Series by RM50,000 – previously, the 730Ld was the most affordable 7 at RM698,888. The 730Li now matches the locally assembled Mercedes-Benz S300L in price; the Merc is actually costlier by RM1,000 but shoppers at this level spend that sum of money on a night’s dinner, so let’s consider them level. Geoffrey Briscoe, BMW Group Malaysia’s Managing Director said: “This is the 7-Series that our customers have been asking for, and it will form the bulk of 7-Series sales.”

The 730Li is powered by the N52 3.0-litre inline-six engine pushing out 258 bhp and 310 Nm of torque, more than what S300L’s similarly sized V6 makes. Although it’s the only current Seven to do without turbos, performance is very decent for a 1.9-tonne limo – 0-100 km/h is done in 7.8 seconds and top speed is 245 km/h. Average fuel consumption is 10.2 km/l. As part of BMW’s Efficient Dynamics, the Seven gets selected aluminium body panels to reduce weight and brake energy regeneration.

You don’t get an “empty” limo either; the 730Li comes with rear climate control and two rear 8-inch LCD screens where one can plug in his/her laptop, camera, iPod and game consoles. The base F02 also comes with Dynamic Drive Control and BMW Connected Drive. The latter includes satellite navigation, 80GB hard disk space and BMW TeleServices. Visually, one can tell the 730Li from the 740Li from its exhaust pipes (two on one side, as opposed to one on each side) and smaller 18-inch wheels.

At the other end of the scale is the 760Li in Individual spec, which means there’s more scope for personalisation than its stablemates (paint, leather, trim, features and wheels). This ultimate 7-Series is propelled by a twin-turbo 6.0-litre V12 engine with 544 bhp and 750 Nm, enabling it to sprint to 100 km/h from rest in only 4.6 seconds, which is 0.1 sec faster than what BMW quotes for the M5! It’s also the first BMW to be launched in Malaysia that features the new 8-speed ZF transmission. This RM1,388,000 car wasn’t shown at the event, so look after the jump for live images of the 730Li.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1046]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• TheFonz on Apr 14, 2010 at 2:04 pm

I wonder what is the experience driving such a huge car in the never ending jam in KL

• Alan James on Apr 14, 2010 at 2:12 pm

I guess you are in your own world.no sound from outside,only from your cd.In such car you dont mind being in a jam.

• p4k4abu on Apr 14, 2010 at 3:21 pm

Unless you need to pee…
        … or worse …. ;)

:D

• mz iz on Apr 15, 2010 at 12:07 am

more jam the better as the boss at the back are not in the hurry.

• anak dato' on Apr 15, 2010 at 12:07 am

in kl jam ,big car parking difficult,afraid of motorcyclist snap ur side mirror,not easy to change lane. but if afraid of wave why built house near the beach

• 1 Malaysia on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:29 am

when he own this car, he shall own a driver as well. if he drive himself, the car will park at lobby or the boy will park for him… shouldnt park at pasar-malam right? so ur problem is not his problem.

• Motorist on Apr 15, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Got driver mah. Boss wont care about how car drives. He’s too busy sms dirty sms to his mistress from the back seat ;-)

• scanzew on Apr 14, 2010 at 2:07 pm

big nostril!!!

• jon joe on Apr 14, 2010 at 2:14 pm

agree
    very big lubang hidung

• used non national car owner on Apr 14, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Huge lubang hidung!!

:-D :-D :-D

• The styling line at front side where the Front Hood joint with Front Bumper is similar like the Toyota Camry Japan specification. Even the Front Hood itself from side view similar like Camry. Two distinctive character line on the Front Hood but I wish they make it similar like the facelifted E90 Front Hood.

• Anonymous on Apr 14, 2010 at 2:16 pm

Arab us this as a drift car! WTF!

• LOL, i saw youtube the use the porsche carrera gt as drift car on street! Rich kids…

• jolly_idiot on Apr 14, 2010 at 2:26 pm

Gosh!. A bungalow moving on da road.

• AE86 (Member) on Apr 14, 2010 at 2:31 pm

RM1,388,000 for a ‘good’ car…. only tauke and tauke bo can afford that..
    poor ppl shud stick to proton and perodua…

• anak dato' on Apr 15, 2010 at 12:13 am

what i know is bmw individual are price higher than normal one. so maybe the non-Individual 760li is cheaper

• Alpha on Apr 14, 2010 at 2:32 pm

man,the ase spec 7-er is really good.not like a base spec at all.and the F02 is really sporty compared to S-class and A8.but in term of size,i do think that E66/67 is bigger.hey,jz wana ask u guys,reconditioned E66/67 is a good buy or not??i mean the post-facelift one,not the ugly pre-facelift.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 14, 2010 at 2:40 pm

Not sure why you need a sunroof in malaysia…

• Tiadaid on Apr 14, 2010 at 4:09 pm

For the cool clear night to see the stars perhaps?

• niamafufu on Apr 14, 2010 at 4:14 pm

can buka sunroof buang sampah ma

• Based on customer requirement. Top end car should have sunroof or moonroof. At least it differentiate top end vehicle from the rest…

• Eric G on Apr 14, 2010 at 2:46 pm

ive been in a passenger seat before. i must say it is like a mobile-beach-house on the road.

• ihatekiasu on Apr 14, 2010 at 2:53 pm

S Class is better than this…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 14, 2010 at 3:00 pm

what so individual?

• subhero on Apr 14, 2010 at 3:34 pm

Why so individual?

• Motorist on Apr 15, 2010 at 12:57 pm

aka Exclusive Pimp My Ride.

1. Super soft & supple Connelly leather to pamper your butt. Leather is easier to clean & does not stain easily. This facilitates back seat rogering of the mistress.
        2. In car entertainment system to drown out the traffic noise & to mask the screams of your mistress in order not to distract the driver.
        3. Choosing the colour of your interior to match your mistress’s knicker’s (though a good mistress would go commando, hence the soft supple Connelly leather to cushion her own soft & supple nether region. Note #1 re. staining).
        4. Bullet resistant glass & armoured body to protect boss from the Ah Long’s & peasants like us.

• niamafufu on Apr 14, 2010 at 3:16 pm

i like Jag XJ more than tis

• BeemerFreak on Apr 14, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Hope the new XJ would not cost more than this, or else it is pointless

• If I were a public listed company CEO, I would choose between this or Lexus LS.

• I choose the Porsche Panamera.

• I choose Phantom….thehehe

• Black Dog on Apr 14, 2010 at 10:08 pm

I choose a S Class (for dinners), a X6 (sports), a Nissan GTR (nightlife) and a Golf (run around).

You’re rich and you limit yourself to only one car???

• Motorist on Apr 15, 2010 at 12:59 pm

I choose to move all my money overseas & buy the same car cheaper there.

• vigoss on Apr 14, 2010 at 4:21 pm

all bmw new model so birng.
    all nearly same design.
    not like mercedes, every siries got diff look.
    bmw from tail lamp,til the front nearly look same

• gianfranco on Apr 14, 2010 at 4:39 pm

For individuality and status, better invest into Bell 206L-4 Helicopter.

• carlover on Apr 14, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Bell 206l-4 is a helicopter my friend. not a car… if u wanna comment on aviation, go to airliners.net, not here…

• Tiadaid on Apr 14, 2010 at 9:04 pm

Bell 206 is newscopterla, want status buy the Agusta 109!

• longjaafar on Apr 14, 2010 at 4:39 pm

The XJ will definitely cost more, but it already lost out to the S class in reviews.

• airwolf on Apr 14, 2010 at 4:42 pm

Imaging arriving & departing from atop skyscrapers’ helipad.

• BMWForever on Apr 14, 2010 at 4:47 pm

any news on f10 launching in malaysia??? 7series is too big for me, 3series is too smal… i need 5series :)

• nabill on Apr 14, 2010 at 4:49 pm

ive seen quite few on the road , looks ALOT better in the flesh than in the pics…its jus HUGE in size…..honestly , the previous generations looks so much cooler though…

• Maserati on Apr 14, 2010 at 4:54 pm

still prefer the S-class over this anytime..

• this price car is same with my bungalow house.. haha

• too big la the grill!

• acerman on Apr 14, 2010 at 6:51 pm

Waahhh…. big nostril!!

• raybrig on Apr 14, 2010 at 7:21 pm

macam hidung babi..

• 1kereta on Apr 14, 2010 at 7:24 pm

you won’t have that feel… unless you are at that super rich level….

• how come there is a 730i? i thought for f01/02, the basic model would be 740i? This is only for asian market huh?

• Paul Tan on Apr 14, 2010 at 8:21 pm

yup for ASEAN and some other countries like India. just like how we have the S300 while the other countries dont have that model.

• think on Apr 14, 2010 at 8:33 pm

i like this car very much,,but i can’t afford it…come on bmw..ckd the 1series in malaysia,and make it a proper sedan..price it below RM200k..more people will be happy..

• R1200RT on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:43 pm

Might as well get a 120Y….every one can drive…..like Air Asia’s motto.

• I like the 760Li. But last time I checked, difficult to park and consume 2 parking spaces.
    Might as well stick with Kancil. Hehehe…

• zafedz on Apr 14, 2010 at 9:39 pm

When they ‘re going to CKD this 7 series here??

• The Loner on Apr 14, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Even though 7 series is CKDed, the price still remains the same. Thanks to our G’s unbelievable percentage of excise duty imposed (import duty is excluded due to the vehicle is from Thailand).

• Christophe on Apr 14, 2010 at 9:50 pm

look at the GRILLE!!!!
    its so UGLY!!!
    its like 80 years old man without teeth and try to fix it with some cheap metal TEETH!!!!
    AND you still can see his inner mouth with all the metal teeth…

• ambush on Apr 14, 2010 at 11:24 pm

this beast looks menacing in real life..and its huge too..the face looks like an angry bull…i’d be scared to see one in my side mirror tailgating me.

• tokmoh on Apr 14, 2010 at 11:47 pm

Z4’s grille is probably the only grille that I serious makes the car looks gorgeous: flat and wide. Big ones like this 7er make it look wrong.

Anyway, 7er will always get outrun by S-class. Was watching Driven last Sunday, that Shazi-somebody kept insisting the driver’s seat is the best seat. Obviously that opinion is not popularly shared with CEOs and Directors who prefers to relax, hence why most 7er owners get chauffeured. Problem is, S-class is more well-known at providing comfort. 7er GG.

• Jaybond on Apr 15, 2010 at 8:35 am

Too big a nostril, that really spoils the front styling, big time.
      Yup, it should incorporate the grille design in the new Z4, that will make this new 7 series more elegant looking.

• when u own a beast like this, we have nothing to say but… to keep quiet and enjoy…

• Electron on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:09 am

1.9 ton , too heavy for a 3.0L

• PeeOne on Apr 15, 2010 at 2:36 pm

Ugly front !!

How to watch movie in the backseat.. can vomit dizzy

• vigoss on Apr 15, 2010 at 2:38 pm

this car should be v8..

• torres on Apr 15, 2010 at 3:52 pm

bad angle.. if you shove a camera up your nose.. you’ll have big nostrils too..

• ktas09 on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:53 am

BMW…….nice to handle BUT hard to maintain….VERY VERY DELICATE CAR….

• Herminem on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:16 am

thats why its only for rich people who have a lot of money and many spare car if this one masuk workshop :D

• KLdude on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:16 pm

the 730il is competitively priced against its major rivals. for the rational ones, they will go for the s-class, the logical ones will go for the ls series and for those who enjoy driving occassionally, they will go for the 7 series. the 730il is a well designed car, whether it is beautiful or otherwise is quite subjective..it is a given fact that cars in this country is ridiculously overpriced..however, notwithstanding that, for the lucky few who can afford them, they will continue to do so and purchase them, even though they may cost the same as a double storey terrace house..

• E-Class on Apr 20, 2010 at 11:03 pm

RM1,388,000 is too expensive..It’s better for luxury bungalow..house price is increase year by year..but this car price will be as cheap as kancil one day..maybe in 2025-2030..but your bungalow value at that time maybe around RM5 million..eventhough you are very rich, but u must spend your money wisely..