Cosworth extracts 395 hp from the Subaru WRX STI

Cosworth has fettled with the Subaru WRX STI to produce promising results. The finely tuned machine designated the Subaru Cosworth STi CS400 has been improved in more ways than one. The selling point of this car is the fact that the power output has been increased from the usual 296 hp to a significantly higher 395 hp.

The 0 to 100 figures will be in the region of 3.7 seconds and will continue to a top speed of 250km/h. The increase in power output has done wonders for the maximum torque, with the production of an amazing 539Nm. This is equivalent to the acceleration of the Lamborghini Gallardo LP560-4!

All this power is extracted from the 2.5-litre four cylinder turbo boxer engine along with the help of high performance pistons, connecting rods, head gasket, oil pumps and bearings. The standard turbocharger has been reworked with the addition of a new compressor design and wastegate actuators.

Handling on the car will probably be different as the chassis is a joint effort between Cosworth, Bilstein and Eibach. The list of changes include new coil springs that lower the car’s ride height by 10mm and the increase in the size of the front brakes, which are now 355mm AP Racing discs. This is hidden behind the 18 inch alloy wheels that widen the track of the car by 12mm.

You will get the addition of a new front bumper, foglights, mesh grilles and rear spoiler. Inside, the centre console is finished in a piano black theme while the Recaro bucket seats and tinted back mirrors maintain that sporting persona.

Colour options are limited to just silver, dark grey and red. Only 75 of these machines will be made, and will only be available in the UK.

Look after the jump for a picture gallery.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1155]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• comarezzi on May 25, 2010 at 5:16 pm

high performance pistons!..cool…

• hen rou on May 25, 2010 at 5:19 pm

say no to cosworthh~~~

• valandil on May 25, 2010 at 5:28 pm

i can’t say no to 395bhp. But if i could afford and get the car from UK, i will just take out the cosworth badges loh..

• kenny_lim on May 27, 2010 at 12:38 pm

if u do a conversions, some of the big cars in US or UK is much cheaper than a wira.

• mines on May 25, 2010 at 5:58 pm

cosworth no good?

• how cute, and naive, to judge cosworth based in F1

• holy cow, why bother spending $ on lambo only to be beaten by this thing!

• 4G63tDSM on May 26, 2010 at 11:17 am

I reckon you’d get a lot more beaver with the lambo than this STI.

Depends on your priorities. hahaha

• proton satria neo r3 is also equipped with ap racing discs! how cool!

• staff on May 25, 2010 at 6:24 pm

you think cosworth is a ah beng company ar?

you better look at their history…

• cosworth is one of the most engine supplier in F1 history (~170win) second only to ferrari

• IMHO on STi tuning and mod.
      Prodrive is much better than Cosworth.

• prodrive dont built engine but constructs and races cars for companies and teams

• theanswer on May 25, 2010 at 6:25 pm

hard to say no to cosworth even tho the brand doesnt perform at f1 level..but the brand experienced in motor sports cant be denied.
    yeah..impreza hatchback is one of my fav car..

• Hawt Hatch!
    539 NM = WIN

• mitlanevo on May 25, 2010 at 7:21 pm

Lancer Evo X FQ-400 UK spec is 400hp and 542Nm

sti, always behind evo, sigh…

• not to mention it is only 2.0Liter.

i think it is wiser to compare the power graph of both cars.

• mitlanevo on May 26, 2010 at 10:40 am

if the 4b11t engine is 2500cc, then there will be one FQ-500 with 500hp and even more crazy torque, haha…

sti fans, go cry to ur mama…

• hehe…subaru needs to do something..their car are getting ugly design by design..huhu..

• Cosworth 2.5 litre can handdle 500hp, it will be under 3.7seconds,say around3.3sec
          to reach 100kmph and should extract top speed 320kmph, I am gonna buy one.
          The car should be little more wider around2000mm.

• torque (Member) on May 25, 2010 at 9:42 pm

Hmmm…nice…but not as impressive as the Litchfield Type-20 (same hp but less torque)! I rather take that 2 liter Japs spec engine over this 2.5 liter UK spec engine. Nevertheless, a Subaru as fast as a Lambo…hell ya!

• Kington on May 25, 2010 at 9:52 pm

So the day has come, when you can now have a bit of NA tuning with forced induction as well.

Wonder what’s the warranty like. I hope they do a Mitsi one like the Evo9 of having to pay more if you want warranty.

• its a work of art

• hehehe on May 25, 2010 at 11:22 pm

will there b some ‘reliability issues’?? :) kidding..nice move by cosworth..acceleration quite the same with gallardo, thats awesome..i wish the satria neo lotus was tuned by cosworth as well.then it will b our own hot hatch

• shawal on May 26, 2010 at 12:16 am

Same priced as EVO X FQ-400 (400 BHP), Audi TT RS, and BMW M3 ( chic magnet and a V8 under the bonnet)

But if Cossie’ is ur theng, den….who could argue..

altho another 10k pound and you got urself a GT-R, if u got d moolah

• summer on May 26, 2010 at 12:49 am

Cosworth on Subaru, the name sounded weird…hehehe…its like a Mitsu by Brabus? or AC Schnitzer Civic…BMW330 by Spoon?? Funny name lah..

• i wish that waja replacement something like this… :))

• bad english on May 26, 2010 at 3:23 am

is it just me or was this article poorly written? i see quite a few errors…

• azrai on May 26, 2010 at 7:43 am

Can Cosworth take an Exora and increase its HP? Meanwhile how about Lotus?

• Yes Cosworth can take Exora and increase its HP, but will you able to afford it?

• azrai on May 26, 2010 at 1:09 pm

Proton can use their service and distribute the cost to all the Exora buyers. So the answer is yes, not only me, u and others can afford it.

• even distribute all cost still might be high eg..if proton buy 100000 engine+service and if 1 engine is about rm20000 so..still rm20000 for each exora buyer…..but if distribute to all proton model that will not use the engine can be achieve la

• RamuNik on May 26, 2010 at 1:09 pm

Go go cosworth! Fifth gear confirms Type 25 is the best Impreza ever. Raise the bencmark even higher. Evo? Although both of Impreza & Evo are in the same category, If u love Impreza, slightly low power means nothing right guys? Looks matters. Bias comment from Scoobie fan

• Elvis on May 26, 2010 at 3:44 pm

Very very impressive looking machine. Perfect 10 to me…

• Tungau a/l Punat on May 27, 2010 at 12:30 pm

It’s become crazy and crazy.Seems scoobie will lost his way.Still like boxer with nice sound from old version..can say on version 6 but now too many hands try to make it nicer but slowly become ugly and ugly outlook. See version 11th???entah apa-pa..tah!!
    Anyway different people has a different thinking.