BMW “Slingshot” Z4 with 400hp inspired by golf club design

Engineers at MWDesign are an odd bunch, getting inspiration from random everyday thoughts. How random? As random as redesigning a BMW Z4 to look and feel like a set of Nike Slingshot golf clubs, that random. This has resulted in the MWDesign Project E89 Z4 3.5 which the company calls the “Slingshot.”

The power delivery in this golf club inspired car has been increased with the help of an ECU upgrade, creating 400 horses and 569Nm of torque. Adequate airflow in and out of engine was key and this was done with the addition of an intercooler, diverter valve, charge pipe, bigger intake filters and Eisenmann Black Series quad exhaust.

Handling that increase in performance will be the addition of adjustable swaybars, new springs, and better shocks which sits on 20-inch forged wheels with Toyo Proxes tires. This complements the aerodynamic changes in the body which feature carbon fibre splitters and quad rear diffuser.

The car also sports green accenting around the front air intakes in line with the design of the Nike Golf clubs. No information on the pricing but it will definitely be a unique addition to the tuning car hall of fame. Look after the jump for more pictures of the Nike Slingshot inspired Z4.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1288]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• DELLA on Jul 06, 2010 at 1:27 pm

Gorgeous+Smart lookin

• nabill on Jul 06, 2010 at 1:30 pm

stupid inspiration,awesome design !

• BMALOI on Jul 06, 2010 at 1:40 pm

Indeed a nice golf club.

• this is truly mouth-watering…………………………..

• cam.shaft on Jul 06, 2010 at 2:03 pm

Engineers at MWDesign are an odd bunch, <– Typo

Car = I like

//CaM.ShafT

• wah lau…me want….

• Lazri on Jul 06, 2010 at 2:18 pm

I hope the car is better than the golf clubs. Those Nike slingshot irons are pretty crap!

• tigerwoods on Jul 06, 2010 at 5:35 pm

Poor golfer always blame everything else except himself.

• Lazri on Jul 07, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Have you even tried the irons? They are chunky and bulky and not very forgiving. If you have a bit of knowledge of golf clubs you would know but apparently you don’t.

• tigerwoods on Jul 07, 2010 at 11:39 pm

Why you need a forgiving club, forgiving club is only meant for bad golfer. I only use forged blades, as I need to spin the ball and work on my ball flight – draw and fade. Nike Slingshot is too forgiving for me, it is like driving a Camry, Titleist MB is suitable for me, it is like BMW.

• Lazri on Jul 08, 2010 at 8:23 pm

Don’t be an idiot. My original post was just to say that I hope the car is not as bad as the clubs. I don’t use the slingshot but I’ve tried them and they are really bad especially the original version. Apart from the graphics there is really nothing going for them. I have never said I used them. Golfers like to try all kinds of clubs available to them especially on testing days. Since you are too arrogant and just use blades only, this car really isn’t for you then.,

• tigerwoods on Jul 08, 2010 at 11:26 pm

I like this car very much and it is a kind of car for me. Does a golfer who use forged blades consider arrogant or an idiot?

• The last pic reminds me of Mustang / Dodge Viper. Damn slick!

• badratz on Jul 06, 2010 at 3:56 pm

Glad that BMW is still toying with the “aggresive” look. Was really dissapointed with the facelifted 5 series, looks too tame for a Beemer. This Z4 looks pretty sweettttttt

• Kington on Jul 06, 2010 at 6:26 pm

You mean the new 5 series?

The F10 looks pretty tame, especially when you consider how aggressive and funky the E60 was. I saw one the oether day at Pavilion, and it does look very nice in flesh.

• it looks like razer gaming mouse.

• ya, but don’t compare a mouse with a car, espeacially a BMW CARS !!!!!!!

• RAIXA on Jul 07, 2010 at 3:38 pm

When he means by comparing one of the most slick design mouse design by top notch company with the BMW, I thought it is a very good comparison.

• kaler on Jul 07, 2010 at 2:58 pm

gorgeous and very stylo from first impression ,,,

• what a awesome design

• Jaas torre on Jul 08, 2010 at 5:11 am

Nice, does the car come with a

• Jaas torre on Jul 08, 2010 at 5:13 am

Nice, does the car come with a set of the said golf clubs? If it does, I’m sold!

• speedracer on Jul 08, 2010 at 9:11 am

The Green Hornet’s car for golf day out…kuikuikui…love the green…maybe, matt black + brilliant glossy black stripe with green lining looks better..or maybe, get a cayman…yes, go for the cayman..