Mildly disguised Nissan Teana spotted at Awan Besar R&R

Nissan Teana

Edaran Tan Chong Motor continues to test the Nissan Teana on our local roads. These duo of a silver and black Teana was spotted by reader Amru Yusrin earlier this week at the Awan Besar R&R just after lunch time.

In this photo above, we get a little glimpse at the interior – looks like ETCM has selected a beige interior for us, supplemented by what looks like chrome/aluminium/silver surrounds around certain areas such as around the air cond vents. If they are taped up and being driven around like this I am guessing that this time the Teana will be CKD.

It’s good that Nissan will be once again joining the D-segment market here in Malaysia – it’s been dominated by either the Accord or Camry for just too long.
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1355]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Was at Ciao Jln Pandan yest, look like nissan is going to have an event there over the weekend

• Alanore Chong on Jul 23, 2010 at 1:35 pm

Hope they will make the package competitive.
    Pls No more under size rim, we had enough on your sentra & Sylphy.

• Sentra is “under power”, so it has to carry small rim.

• jhuan on Jul 24, 2010 at 5:34 pm

just when other brand trying hard to disguise their camry and accord to look more sporty, our ETCM still stick to ol’ rules of thick tires small rims. ‘No eye see’

• squawk on Jul 23, 2010 at 1:43 pm

Why the need to disguise when the car’s already launched in other markets?

• Ordinary Joe on Jul 23, 2010 at 2:35 pm

True… this draws unnecessary attention compared to if it were just left open just like any other car on the road… unless not yet launch la…

Maybe i should cover up my old waja and have somebody shoot it then post it here :-P

• squawk on Jul 23, 2010 at 6:25 pm

Don’t forget to use dealer plates. :-)

• syedhs on Jul 24, 2010 at 4:48 pm

Yes the keyword is ‘attention’, doesn’t matter if it is necessary or unnecessary (free advertising). It is very thinly disguised so it doesn’t serve the purpose. Getting mentioned in paultan is already a step forward ;)

• Trinity on Jul 23, 2010 at 2:51 pm

This is common industry practice…sometimes there may be some differences due to different markets :-)

• frossonice on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Differences? By that I assume the Malaysian version would probably be laser or some sort of fire breathing thingy that will surely burn other car when tailgating. Or perhaps not.

• Adrian on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Actually, they already have the photos and specs hidden in their website. Browse to http://www.nissan.com.my/vehicles/Teana/M_cefiro/model_hpage/model_hpage.html

• Paul Tan on Jul 23, 2010 at 5:40 pm

That is the old Teana?

• eddie on Jul 25, 2010 at 1:20 am

try to browse the nissan’s thailand website..
            the car already released last year.. they even have it in the second hand market now… no need to do cover up for the car…
            http://one2car.com/NISSAN_TEANA/F21100325

• alldisc on Jul 25, 2010 at 1:01 am

i believe those are just gimmicks. the automotive industry knows there are ppl actively watching. we are included too.

• littlefire on Jul 23, 2010 at 2:00 pm

Maybe they are going to CKD or Rebadge them in Malaysia? Anyway just ask a few SA that they are coming with 2.0L or 2.5L version to fight againts Camry & Accord. But bare in mind, the 2.5L maybe more expensive than Camry & Accord 2.4L…

• Ugly.

• Vincent on Jul 23, 2010 at 2:21 pm

hahhah, it still virgin in bolehland mar…

• Trinity on Jul 23, 2010 at 2:39 pm

I heard it gonna be launced next week. Am excited.

• nice car!! how much will be sell in our country?

• Mr Dayyuummi Hamasakalala on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:01 pm

I wuz there!

• altimate on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:09 pm

I dont know why Nissan did not introduce the latest Altima in this region instead of the Teana, which is sharing same platform, along with the new Cefiro (US)

it’s much better, sporty looking and has all the qualities to compete with Camry and Accord. They are direct competitors in the US anyway..
    http://www.drivearabia.com/news/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/2010-Nissan-Altima.jpg

This new (not so new) Teana looks way too “corporate”, and may not appeal to the younger generation..

• …and kill the prospects of buying by slapping a price tag north of RM230k.

• 4agze on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:15 pm

no need to cover up lah..if you check out nissan m’sia website, they already have the spec and gallery published..it not a secret anymore

• 4agze on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:18 pm

OTR RM230,026

ENGINE
    Code VQ23DE
    Type V6
    Displacement (cc) 2,349
    Bore x stroke (mm) 85.0 x 69.0
    Max. power (kW (ps)/rpm (DIN)) 127 (173)/6,000
    Max. torque (Nm (kg-m)/rpm (DIN)) 225 (22.9)/4,400

• littlefire on Jul 23, 2010 at 10:42 pm

Bro, that the old spec. Current new face-lift spec is either 2.0 or 2.5L engine. You can check either Japan, Singapore or even Thailand Nissan website…

• bryan.jones on Jul 23, 2010 at 10:51 pm

dude, i bet u dunno what r u talking.

that’s the current Teana.

stop tok kok rubbish.

• Raguraman on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:22 pm

Even proton has not come up with replacement (waja)…All sleeping?

• altimate on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:32 pm

seems like the SA knows more already..
    http://www.mudah.my/Nissan+Teana+2+0-6670757.htm

RM149k for 2.0 model.. hope its true !!

• come down to RM125-130K and it will be a killer to H & T. common, bring on the game!

• nabill on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:41 pm

in mudah there dealers already post add for the new teana , in 2.0 and 2.5cc varients….

• xavier lert on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:45 pm

i saw the life one with S’pore plate at NS Hiway abt 3 month – 4 month ago..and also this 2 cars abt 1 mnth ago…nice and big…+ fast too…tapi yang bawak kreta tu senyum jek….

• chengchong on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:49 pm

stil confused…this one is the same as altima or maxima? went to middle east last year..nissan sold both altima and maxima..but prefer the look of maxima..sportier

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 24, 2010 at 7:51 am

Different car all together.

The Altima is a D segement like the Camry and Accord. The Maxima is 1/2 size larger and comes only with the VQ35DE. The Altima can be spec’ed with a QR25 and the VQ35.

The Teana/Cefiro is a Asian D Segment car not sold in North America.

There is a Singapore plated “new” Teana parked a few houses from mine.

• Srotong Stoopid on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:55 pm

for japan spec, the car is even equipped with a rear wiper ! Which is first time to me for a sedan coupe..I hope tan chong won’t ‘underspec’ us for this car..

• Srotong Stoopid on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:57 pm

here the link…its a japanese though…
      http://www2.nissan.co.jp/TEANA/J32/0806/index.html

• Lovely! I agree, the new CKD Teana will be a breath of fresh air in the Japanese D segment market.

I’m eagerly awaiting the specs/features sheet!

• what… just some tape on the light? why no exora rear cut-off stick on the back??!! it should be that way.

• longjaafar on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:00 pm

With good marketing, the Teana will do well. It will compete on the same level as the Camry and Accord,and also the Mondeo. They should not price it lower than the Honda or Camry, because if they do, then it will be perceived as being inferior. But having more accessories, like GPS, will greatly help.

• sr16ve on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:34 pm

big car, nice design. caya la Nissan!

• hazri99 on Jul 23, 2010 at 5:13 pm

old model is it?.. i think price tag above rm150k…

• patrick on Jul 23, 2010 at 6:46 pm

well, if it is ckd, then it should price lower than 149k as advertised in mudah..what la..another high price car for poor silly malaysian buyers.

• Just heard from Nissan’s SA…

2.0 – MR20DE (Sylphy Engine)

2.5 – VQ25DE V6

All mated with CVT transmission

• 149K is too expensive, ETCM should make it 138K for 2.0L perhaps!

• transformer on Jul 23, 2010 at 10:55 pm

fans from VTEC & VVT-i temple will never end bash this car by using the same “secondhand value”…..

for me, i don’t care about “secondhand value” as i will be using a car >10years….
    other than looks & specs wise, i find realiability, spares part availabilty and affordable maintenance are quite important….

VQ is the best engine!

• The fact that a fair number here can’t even differentiate between the global current Teana and our Malaysian current Teana only shows that Nissan Malaysia has done a very good job keeping Malaysians from driving their latest models.

We live in a tragic country.

• niamafufu on Jul 24, 2010 at 1:43 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jEHvS7Uxf3Y
    taiwan nissan teana review~

• a really uncle type car….saw a few in Spore

• Maserati on Jul 24, 2010 at 10:12 am

This is better than the Honda Accord which in my opinion is damn lousy lah.

• New Hyundai Fan on Jul 24, 2010 at 4:14 pm

RM41K extra(based on the price list from David Wang) as compared with Sylphy which has the same engine & similar look. Worth it or not?
    Anyway, the 2.0 variant still cannot compete with Sonata in term of look & OTR price.

• X trail is gonna be launch new version next week… teana end of this year only..

• I wonder why you called it “uncle car”, in fact the roof line of this Teana is very European style which I consider quite up to date; relatively Camry quite square-ish in comparison whereas Accord quite bulky. The 2.5l variant is the most powerful among them, look at the spec from the other oversea website, you may find out a lot more of good stuff about this car.

• 1kereta on Jul 24, 2010 at 9:50 pm

i owned excimo before and loved the car, now i own a camry 2.0, still think excimo is better, especially in high cornering. current teana is too expensive given it is at the same category of camry and accord, If ETCM prices it similar to camry, my next car is teana.

• I told you guys it was gonna be I told you guys it was gonna be ckd right hahaaha
    Anyway 2.5 wi come with gps which is a good unit as seen in the sylphy.

Lauch date OS September la confirm.

• haha, i told you guys it was gonna be ckd right?

anyway, gps will be available on the 2.5 litre version, which is a good gps device as proven in the sylphy version. fast satelite tracking, touch screen, reverse cam, music playet all in one.

launch is in september confirm.

• I was told no GPS and no reverse camera and launch date is in November … anyway I am hoping what your info is accurate…

• alldisc on Jul 25, 2010 at 1:16 am

Teana (J32) is now in its 2nd gen, Cefiros aside, and was launched in 2008. since its only been 2 years in sales, i believe the model malaysia market gets is not an all new but rather sumthing like facelift model.

some reference… some ‘rough’ facts…
    Cefiro A31 1990-94
    Cefiro A32 95-99
    Cefiro A33 99-2004
    Teana J31 03-08
    Teana J32 08-now

• As usual ETCM is always 2 years behind Thailand & Singapore.
    We will get the 2008 model J32.

Just like last time ETCM launched the Slyphy.. it’s already 2 years model over at Singapore.

After 3 months if the sales is bad.. then it will have the Impul version lah!

• New Hyundai Fan on Jul 26, 2010 at 10:01 am

I still cannot figure out why Teana can be priced at RM149K. If comparing to Accord 2.0 VTi(RM143K) & Civic 2.0S(RM131K), the difference between these 2 models is only RM12K. So, going by this rationale, Teana should be priced at RM130K(12K higher than Sylphy 2.0 Luxury model) or a bit more at RM135K since both are CKD models made at Serendah factory. Is ETCM too confident that Teana can still selling well despite its price is higher than Accord 2.0 VTI(RM143K) & ~ the same as Accord 2.0 VTi-L(RM150K) ,& the sales of Sylphy still cannot beat Civic 1.8? I think ETCM must re-consider seriously the selling price of Teana before launching.

• Vezeroth on Jul 27, 2010 at 1:40 am

I dont think ETCM is interested in selling cars… they prefer to rip us off, same with honda, toyota and now hyundai…..