New Kia Sportage spotted on a trailer in Rawang

According to Naza director Samson Anand George’s Facebook status update late last month, 2011 will be the year for Kia in Malaysia – I guess that’s an indication that Nasim’s onslaught of Peugeot models this year and next (3008 and 207 Sedan launched – we still have the 308 6-speed, 308CC, RCZ, 5008, 408 and perhaps 508 on the way) will be accompanied by sister company Naza Kia launching some new Kia models.

We’ve been waiting for the new Kia Sorento and the new Kia Sportage for a long time now (soon there’s also the new Kia Optima to look forward to) – there’s already a registered unit of the new Sorento going around town, seems to be a Naza management company car. Now this golden new model Kia Sportage was spotted by reader Nazril in Rawang on a trailer.

There’s only one unit on the trailer though so I don’t think there are any stocks being prepared for delivery in Malaysia right now – perhaps this single unit will be used for homologation or market research or something like that. The Sportage’s Hyundai-badged companion made its debut this year and seems to be relatively well received so far.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• I believe the front must have some resemblance of the current Kia Forte ?? If it do have some resemblance, the front will look sporty… But how about performance and engine capacity wise ??

• wolfsburg on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:18 pm

You can go google about the car, both the interior and exterior is fantastic!
      Tha powertrain is identical with the Hyundai Tucson, so it will features the best-in-class 6speed autos…

• Kow Kow Chan on Nov 09, 2010 at 8:50 am

Sportage’s performance and FC definitely going to kill those outdated + old tech Jap cars kaw kaw…….

• dragster on Nov 08, 2010 at 3:48 pm

look “big” n “tall”…..more o less like fortuner look…

• hope it is below RM105K range

• vbkcheng on Nov 08, 2010 at 3:52 pm

whole waiting…..

• barca96 on Nov 08, 2010 at 3:54 pm

The back lights looks better than the new ones in Australia.

• Hope they to offer a buy back plan of 10 years or 5 years. If they do we hope the will promise to buy back at 70% of the new car sales price after 5 years and 50% after 9 years

• Vincent on Nov 09, 2010 at 9:10 am

Can not be lar, your asking price is too much…

Fair depreciation would be:

1st Year – 15%
      2nd year – 8%
      3rd Year – 8%
      4th Year – 8%
      5th Year onward – 6%

By the time the car turn 10 year, it still hold 25% of it original value..

• Kicap on Nov 12, 2010 at 9:28 am

…and you would be the happiest person on earth to buy the sportage on its 10th anniversary…

• Kelvin on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:01 pm

Anyone know when will it launch ?
    What is the price will be ?
    Spec ?

• Azlan on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:05 pm

Saw one, malaysian plate, at IOI Marriot Putrajaya. This model still not officially in yet?

• NAZA bosses;

If you guys read this blog please do something concrete enough to enhance customer confident over this brand.

1. Show the parts cost vs competition’s
    2. Better and more extensive service centers to cater for rising customers

Otherwise, KIA owners will be kiok.

• will it be a ckd model? kia or naza sportage? hope we get the better looking front bumper…. so many review, especially diesel with good reviews…..

looks like korean made VW tiguan

• wolfsburg on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:20 pm

If they price it below 130k then it will be another big hit as the Tucson…
    Hope they can bring in the Optima early next year and update the Forte with the 6-speedo!

• KIA – nice design nowadays but 2nd hand value.and spare part..hmmmm…not so convincing

• Anti Proton on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:45 pm

that is a special colour. so different from the usual colours in malaysian cars. nice. =)

• alldisc on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:52 pm

it is actually, a Hyundai Tuscon. just like previous model. the bumper, grille, headlamps all different. but dash design, doors and main body all similar.

a good example of model sharing between hyundai and kia which must be followed by proton/perodua.

i likeee…

• Impressive…O.O Gold is a very striking colour. Looks more futuristic than Tucson.

But as usual, long way to go for launching in M’sia. It should be a Naza-CKDed since we saw that the Forte was launched under the brand of Naza and not Kia. But as usual a lot of ppl would say first few batches will be CBU…i wonder how true is that. Until now Soul also has not been launched yet. I expected it to be due by end of this year since they advertised so often in the papers during the World Cup 2010.

Btw, why did the Forte’s sales slowed down signifcantly according to statistics for cars sold in Sept 2010 published in NST CBT?

• BeemerFreak on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:17 pm

heard that customs are giving it problems as there are news that Naza did not actually ckd the car, rather the just rebadge it…….. Well true or not it is the consumers that are loosing, as this is a true competitor to the Inspira, then people can judge which is better….

• u sure or not….if the car not ckd than it might be CBU than change badge so it will be better rite? naza will lost coz CBU tax is much higher than CKD tax

• michelin on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Saw this beauty in Seoul last April…
    Very nice car…

• BeemerFreak on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:04 pm

They have to bring in the new optima too. 208bhp on their new theta II 2.4L cvvt engine will blow the competition away. BTW where is the new sorento, saw it running around town since april, till now not launched yet? Bring in the 2.2L diesel too or else the sorento makes no sense.

• arcana on Nov 08, 2010 at 6:52 pm

sad to say……our dreams for the 2.4GDI engine will remain a dream
      not only our fuel does not match up to the engine, price factor will also play a part in selling the car……assuming if it is sold here…..whats the price tag like? RM180K for a 200 pony car?

the best bet is still their 2.0 model which will be the main contributor to sales.
      and i do hope kia will price is right…..

• RedLine on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:32 pm

I’ve been wondering when they will launch the new Sorento too. I was tolf by Naza sales person that it was scheduled to be launched around July this year. Now almost year end already but still no news of the new Sorento.

• rageaccel2 on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:05 pm

nice ass i’d say…;)

• Saw the new kia Optima, not bad looking, back look like the BMW X6.

• laboriel79 on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:27 pm

Heard that the Pug 308 turbo 6-speed is coming out 3rd week this month

• TakSabor on Nov 08, 2010 at 11:08 pm

Yeahhhh! I thought its only rumours! yea its true and i made a right decision not to buy now,,.. but hope theres no another downgrading lke previous.

• Too bad the 1007 has ended its production…

• nabill on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:47 pm

the rear looks like the vw tiguan…..

• Eric octaviano on Nov 08, 2010 at 8:56 pm

This is because the Chief Design Officer at KIA Peter Schryer used worked in Volkswagen group back in 2005.

http://www.kia.co.nz/PlanetKia/ChiefDesignOfficerPeterSchreyer.aspx

• Jimmy on Nov 08, 2010 at 6:10 pm

I like the current generation pre-facelift Sportage (in Malaysia). Yet to see how nice this generation is. Hopefully will maintain the same price.

• blerkz on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:47 pm

Actually u guys should be careful of Naza-Kia

Heard Naza already lost the rights to distribute the Kia brand in Malaysia.

That’s why the aren’t that aggressive pushing the Kia brand anymore.

• That’s a serious accusation you got there blerkz. Do you have a source?

• no la…your statement is bullshit maa…. absolutely wrong

i heard naza already extend license for distribute kia brand in msia

• Support u Fiz… Blerkz must be toyota or honda salesman… hahahhaha. That’s why he came out with that statement.

• raja hakim on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:50 pm

i love kia’s design now days…. i dosn’t sucks like it used to be… i hope the quality of the car is also improved…
    hope to see the new optima next year….. any news about the cadenza being in malaysia..?

• maxfly on Nov 09, 2010 at 4:45 am

The quality and performance of Kia cars already improved many years before. But the Kia in our local markets are clouded by a mixture of old and obsolete models from past decades. This is true and valid as cars in Malaysia lasted a lot longer before being sent for scrap metal yard.
      People still having the impression that todays Kia should be having similar quality of yesteryears models such as the 1st Generation Sportage, The Carnival, the Caren and the Sephia/spectra models.
      Instead, people should compare Kia reliability and quality to the models being developed recently or post 2005. Such models are the Sonata, Sorento, the Forte and the 2nd Generation Sportage..These are good Kia.
      Regarding high price in parts and service availability… this has to do with the local distributor attitude and policy. If you dont like the Service Center, you can opt for many other options. These Kia cars are not Porche where you need state of the art facilities to service them….! Many people can do a decent service to Kia cars….

• MBX999 on Nov 08, 2010 at 8:25 pm

First impression-Sporty+Nice.

• Zoule on Nov 08, 2010 at 8:40 pm

I saw 2 or 3 Kia sorento and sportage last month.. here in Sabah.. Brunei plate number.. This car look very sporty (sporty SUV..)

• J@CK LIM on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:01 pm

will it better than Hyundai Tucson?? Nice driving with Tuscon ~~ =)

• Saw millions in Miri with brunei number plates last weekend on a visit. I was super shocked to see it real life, but after seeing it over and over again during the time span of 2 days there, the car lost its charm.. Still loving it though.

• saiful on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:03 pm

New sorento will be launch sometime in dec this year

• creator mind on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:33 pm

2011 should be a very exciting year for us rakyat, really spoilt for choices! i am hoping they price it under 118k, the tucson abt 126k? if they price it 120k, too close to tucson range oledi. if the specs is the same as reported by autocar magazine couple of mths back, we should be getting 6 speed (yeah!) auto, which is what i am aiming for. i believe the current sportage is 112k, which is a theta 1 engine 4 speed auto. this new model with theta 2 engine, 6 speed… and they give TC, 6 airbags, EBD, 300k warranty…. hah! this would make my day, and very good chance they get my order

• Ash Menon on Nov 09, 2010 at 12:08 am

It should be quite well-priced. Kia’s best strategy so far has been it’s ridiculously low prices compared to rival models (e.g. Forte & Civic). I don’t see any reason for them to start changing that game now. Let Hyundai play the overpriced game.

• TallPan on Nov 09, 2010 at 8:43 am

you mean the “overpriced shoot-themselves-in-the-foot game” :)

• nolan on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:49 pm

Nice car and nice design….hope Naza sell it under 100k….if not, better buy Mitsubishi ASX…..

• conbubble on Nov 09, 2010 at 12:02 am

saw a lot of Bruneians driving in Miri using this Kia Sportage for the last 3 months..some of them have full bodykits already.. and it has front LED just like the R8 and other Audi range..

• Matthew on Nov 09, 2010 at 9:31 am

I’ve been waiting for this car to come to shore in Malaysia. Will be waiting for booking. Every part of this car says it fresh! Like a reborn phoenix…

• isssshh… dont be fooled. it is still korean. remember spectra?

• and remember spectra is an old model and engine . this one is much better with new engine and ex audi designer.. WHAT U NEED TO REMEMBER IS TO TEST DRIVE IT WHEN ITS COME TO OUR SHORE

• Saiful on Nov 09, 2010 at 10:07 am

i got friend in agencies which advertise in paper n tv to promote naza kia car, inform me about the launch in dec week 1

• anony on Nov 09, 2010 at 1:55 pm

Saw some Kia New Sorento and Sportage (Brunei Plated) in Miri already. Nice and sporty. The grille is just so nice.

• Kevin Lau on Nov 09, 2010 at 1:55 pm

Saw a few units in Melbourne recently

Looks macho and futuristic…lovely rear with nice brake lights

• Hold CR-V due to this sportage

• gucdga on Nov 09, 2010 at 3:47 pm

The car is brought in for the KLIMS only

• Coolken on Nov 09, 2010 at 6:08 pm

Saw this car in Australia car website. Looks quite sporty. But the front looks a bit odd. The weight is 1440kg which is about 100kg lighter than the tucson. The tucson’s drive is lethargic, similar to the CRV, so the Sportage probably would drive better. Size wise bigger than the ASX but the ASX is also lighter by 100kg compared to the Sportage. If the Sportage can be here before March next year and priced below 115k, will consider letting go of my RM1k deposit for the ASX.

• subhero on Nov 09, 2010 at 10:17 pm

another disaster is coming~!

• Whirlwind on Nov 10, 2010 at 2:03 pm

Thanks for sharing. I just about to make a booking Mit ASX. I was very disappointed with the Mit ASX variant marketed in Malaysia. Let see if KIA sportage can convince me otherwise. Looking at its review oversea so far so good.

• Proton not yet have the SUV in their backyard… just wonder which model/company they will choose to rebadge…??? and when its goin to happen ..?

• Coolken
    I beg to differ. The Sportage is based on the same engine platform + drivetrain as the Tucson. IN fact I’m sure all of you know, Hyundai owns Kia.
    The same gearbox + same Theta II engine that puts out 166ps and 197Nm of torque. Same 6 speeder AT.
    Just the body is different. While the ride may be a little different, the mechanics are the same + similar performance.
    In fact, if you check the ix35’s website Down Under, you’ll see the 2.0 Theta II Tucson is below 1400 kg. That is certain.

• Sorry my bad Coolken you’re right the ix35 Tucson = 1485 kg for the 2.0 FWD Tucson.

• SO it’s not 100kg lighter than the Tucson it’s only 45kg lighter. As you said Sportage 2.0 = 1440kg, Tucson 2.0 FWD = 1485kg.
    Tucson 2.4 AWD = 1585kg
    Tucson 2.0 R-Diesel = 1706kg.

• whatever… it doesn’t make any different. I drove my friend’s sonata 2.4, it looks powerful enough on paper, but on the road .. it felt like numb.. you have to push hard caompare to my camry 2.4. on equipment sonata champion. so when comparing korean..don’t be fooled…

• David on Nov 15, 2010 at 8:50 pm

Don’t be fooled? Dude, each car has its own merits and flaws. A Camry is the undoubted king for comfort in its class, the Accord is where you want a spirited, agile drive, a 407 is what you’ll need for ultimate stability and safety, and a Sonata is what you’ll want if you’re all for design, toys and a long warranty.

Need i say more? You’re just not looking at the Sonata at a more objective point of view. That’s the problem with lots of Malaysians these days, all only for a brand, even if the car isn’t as good as its competitors and ends up the most pricey. Pathetic.

• Marcel on Nov 12, 2010 at 6:18 am

The colour is awesome and cool. Looking forward to see this car..live

• Anybody have any idea when this suv going to be launched? Been waiting for it so long already. Kind of slow for car model to be brought into Malaysia.

• ThePolygon on May 23, 2011 at 4:09 pm

Launching date around August 2011 by Naza Kia.

Current old model of Sportage selling with a discount value of RM17k to finish up the stock.

• Is it? I thought its going to be next month. Really hope they will bring in the diesel version. already contacted Naza for an head up..

Better start saving money do dump a good lump of downpayment huhuhu