Are cardboard cut-outs of cops in mini-skirts a good idea?

policew cutoutBrilliant, or just plain old hare-brained? Seems authorities in the Czech Republic have taken to placing life-sized cardboard cut-outs of mini-skirted policewomen alongside roads in busy junctions throughout towns in the country, in an effort to save cash.

According to reports, instead of installing traffic lights, the cut-outs have been placed to er, get the attention of drivers and slow them down, and it seems to be working, according to the authorities. Many drivers have automatically slowed down when they see the cut-outs, though whether they’re braking because of the fear and respect of the law or in appreciation of the outfit is actually open to debate.

Unfortunately, the flip side of it is that the scheme has also been said to be responsible for bumping up accident rates, simply due to male motorists taking their eyes off the road. One driver, who complained to the country’s Interior Ministry after driving his car off the road, said that “the cut-outs are distracting. I mean, mini-skirts? In this weather?”

And, despite the added police presence, theft also seems to be up – a local radio station gave a hat and an anorak to help keep the officer warm, but they were stolen in a day. And there have been reports that some cardboard policewomen have been relieved from duty through dubious means.

So, what do you think? Should we have such cardboard cut-outs here?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kevin Lee on Dec 13, 2010 at 1:04 pm

a while ago, swedish girls bare naked holding a 50 sign reminding motorists to slow down, it did worked, lol!

so maybe a girl in the tudung might work here as well, maybe can slow down the rempits many times, lol~

• mant3 on Dec 13, 2010 at 5:26 pm

no need cardboard…… cos in malaysia, any car stop by roadside/highways & everybody will slowdown to see, making the roads & highways all jam up :-)

• tokmoh on Dec 13, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Hmm… I wonder… we can do like the Swedish does, except instead of putting policewomen in miniskirts, we put wrecked remains of cars. It might just work hahaha

• MoFaz on Dec 14, 2010 at 12:32 am

but their cardboard cut-outs looks hundreds time better than our ‘police holding radar gun’ boards, which can be seen near some bridges/flyover on highways. they didn’t remove the blue background, looks like they pose for passport photograph while holding the radar gun…

• rosdi on Dec 13, 2010 at 1:09 pm

The answer is a resounding YES!.. We should have the cut-outs, as long as it is in mini-skirts…

• rejab on Dec 13, 2010 at 1:16 pm

Saw police either dummy or not driver will slow a bit and at least a wakeup call to a driver during driving.

• tustus on Dec 13, 2010 at 1:17 pm

it already here. you can find at highway a cardboard police holding speed trap device. Sometime tertipu juga. cait!

• Saiful on Dec 13, 2010 at 4:03 pm

Me too. But then, not bother anymore… I even stopped by to take “his” picture …. :)

• Orang Timur on Dec 13, 2010 at 1:25 pm

can give it a try first. won’t cost that much pun, right?

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Dec 13, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Malaysians will only slow down when there’s accident, instead of cardboard cut-out, we should put car half-cut.

• rosdi on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:08 pm

Lol… Half-cut car idea is great idea actually..

• mat selamba on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:16 pm

this is most brilliant idea so far..put half-cut car..then throw some glass for real scene then traffic will become as slow as pig snail…wakaka

• Anti P1/BN on Dec 13, 2010 at 2:09 pm

Will not happen in Malaysia, as our Cik, or Puan will not even show off their shoulder!!1

• gilabangang on Dec 13, 2010 at 6:08 pm

no problem what. it’s a cardboard cut-outs, pick any chinadolls to be the models

• rexis on Dec 13, 2010 at 2:43 pm

I sort of agree that they are a big distraction.

Once I have nearly bang the car in front, brake so hard until ABS kicked in… just because I was staring a traffic police with a huge dummy and wondering what has he ate.

I might not be posting here if hes in mini skirt.

• ko malu saje... on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:49 pm

they should refer to north korea!

• how about cardboard cctv / camera? might fool motorist.

• how about cctv /camera? maybe can fool some ppl.

• CHONG KAT on Dec 13, 2010 at 5:37 pm

y not the male cops in mini skirts cardboard cut outs?

• armandd on Dec 13, 2010 at 7:23 pm

if do like that many will lose their appetite for at least a week!

• MoFaz on Dec 14, 2010 at 12:36 am

you can see that in air asia flight not long in the future. the ‘stewardess’ in skirt will be Sir Richard Branson

• Fifteen on Dec 13, 2010 at 7:29 pm

Cops in mini-skirt is a bad idea.

I’d prefer them nude!

• Well, it’s not going to work on a Friday night when it’s gays night out, haha.

• nenen on Dec 13, 2010 at 7:47 pm

talking about mini skirts… there was once an event in kuching and a lot of mat salleh old man wear red mini skirts walking around the cities!!! that’s sooo distracting till i almost ram into a motorcyclist..

• Octopus on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Haiya..cannot do like tis la guys..here in ourland people like to

• cut-outs of police car with working blue flashing light might be a better choice.

• Lim Kopi on Dec 13, 2010 at 11:05 pm

PAUL …

we already have something like this on the North South Highway somewhere near Ipoh stretch – picture of a Cop in sunglasses holding a Speed gun under the flyover….

Although not a lady in skirt (we dont have this sort of uniform anyway) ….

• even something as trivial as an innocent group of bangladeshis walking could affect traffic flow in the federal highway. malaysian drivers suck.

• ini pun boleh cuba :

http://roadsafety.wordpress.com/2009/04/24/brilliant-speed-control-in-canada/

• Rambo on Dec 14, 2010 at 12:36 pm

Malaysia should put some Terminators, Rambo, or Robocop cut-outs, coz it’s not only creative, but maybe can scare the hell out of those bad guys, as cops nowadays seems to have so much issue,hehehe…

• Rambo on Dec 14, 2010 at 12:37 pm

Malaysia should put some Terminators, Rambo, or Robocop cut-outs, coz it’s not only creative, but maybe can scare the hell out of those bad guys, as cops nowadays seems to have so much issue,hehehe…..

• icetea on Dec 14, 2010 at 3:32 pm

maybe they shud just put 4d number near the cut out, garranti got pp will slow down…..

• hmm…not sure where but I am sure that i saw board cutting police here in Malaysia…cause me a slight shock as I was speeding at the time…huhu

• trikfidi on Dec 14, 2010 at 10:29 pm

policemen here all fat one, can’t approve, didn’t sexy

• small car on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:25 pm

it’s ok, so long she does not float in the air at night…