Auto Guangzhou: New MG3 is neatly styled inside and out

dsc_0915b

Here’s another debutant at the ongoing Auto Guangzhou 2010, the MG3. Although the MG brand is now in Chinese hands, they are keen to promote the British links and heritage of the marque, which was obvious from the constant presence of Union Jacks around the stand. SAIC even brought in classic MGs for the show.

The MG3 is a B-segment supermini that’s rather neatly styled and proportioned. At 3,999 mm long, 1,728 mm wide and 1,517 mm tall, it’s about the size of a Ford Fiesta, but slightly larger in all directions. The 2,520 mm wheelbase is also very long for its class. The black roof isn’t very original but there are some neat details such as headlamp bulbs with MG logos, like the Mk4 VW Polo. The long rear lamps are a bit like the Volvo XC60’s.

dsc_0924b

The interior is quite pleasant as well. While plastics are hard, the dash design is cool in a minimalist way, and there are some iPod influences in the white trim and stereo controls. If you’re wondering what’s in the dash top cubby, it’s a mount for a portable GPS unit. The two-tone black-beige theme also works for me, and it’s quite spacious at the back, too.

There’s not much info on what’s underneath, save for the option of a 92 hp 1.3L engine and a 108 hp 1.5L unit. The show car has an AMT gearbox. The MG3 will be launched locally in March 2011.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• manU supporter on Dec 27, 2010 at 11:48 am

Will someone bring in such a nice to our market and price below vios or honda hehehe !!!
    Sure it will have a good sell but no hot cake !!!!!!!!!!!!

• lazyf on Dec 27, 2010 at 1:02 pm

remind me of Kelisa Limited Edition (black roof with yellow body color)

• BSLee on Dec 27, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Neat and pleasant! should be ‘solid’ like other MG.

• is MG Rover famous in China?, they have quite well designed sedan if not mistaken, but im not sure why the brand not so famous here in local compare to other conti..
    i found this as well from the Time to attack sepang, http://goo.gl/aAzlu
    paul – you guys cover other car images like spoiler, modifications.. rotary speak..
    just asking..

• ore wa baka on Dec 27, 2010 at 2:25 pm

nice >>> will it be launched in malay6sia

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Dec 27, 2010 at 3:38 pm

a mixture of hyundai i20 , pre gen fiesta and fiat punto

• rajaiskandarshah on Dec 27, 2010 at 4:02 pm

imho, this is awful !!!
    my father had the classic mgb, and even the last mg rover lines were exciting to look at.

• jong84 on Dec 27, 2010 at 5:35 pm

If Kelisa Limited Edition still in production, I’m sure will buy it for my ‘Malaysia Mini cooper’

• Looks ok leh….. if it is Savvy replacement will be good news….

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 27, 2010 at 8:46 pm

i think its awful. give me the mazda 2 please.

• Comrade on Dec 28, 2010 at 11:20 am

Not bad looking.. decent even. No info on any crash-testing done? If the build quality, warranty and after-sales support is good and spare parts are cheap, I don’t see why it can’t succeed here. This should make an interesting addition to the local automotive scene.

• ReactiX on Dec 28, 2010 at 12:43 pm

interior color look like a gen 2 lol…

• Stryker on Dec 29, 2010 at 4:36 pm

front looks like a gen 2 myvi done right.

back looks like a fiat. overall nice mashup. interior not too bad either