Possibility for a Chevrolet Cruze Coupe in the family?

Chevrolet’s new global C-segment vehicle the Cruze has been launched as a sedan and we recently saw GM file a patent for an Australian-designed 5-door hatchback version of the Cruze, but what about a Chevrolet Cruze 2-door coupe?

2-door coupes are still an important bodytype for the North American market – special 2-door coupe models of the Honda Civic, the Accord, the Toyota Camry are exclusively developed for the US for this reason. It’s no surprise that according to GM North America president Mark Reuss, a 2-door Cruze is “a nice idea” and it might just show up.

Above is Theophilus Chin‘s rendition of how a Chevrolet Cruze Coupe could look like. Imagine a sporty Cruze Coupe SS with the more sophisticated Euro version of the torsion beam powered by the 217 horsepower 350Nm 2.0 litre turbo from the Opel Insignia in the for hot coupe with a 6-speed manual transmission or even a warm version powered by the Opel Astra’s 178 horsepower 230Nm 1.6 Turbo Ecotec.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1837]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• What a car if it materialises…

• What a car if it materialises…..

• transformer on Jan 01, 2011 at 12:20 am

that pair of rear light need to be reworked… it doesn’t seem to be connected to front…

• nebula87 on Jan 01, 2011 at 12:26 am

Wow paul, didnt go countdown ar?
    BTW, Mr. T Chin really geng lar..Cruze coupe oso he will draw out~

• veelzedub on Jan 01, 2011 at 12:28 am

Like the overall shape but i find the rear lights a real turnoff..looks too much like the pre-facelift Civic I reckon

• wolfsburg on Jan 01, 2011 at 12:37 am

Forte Koup wannabe?

• captain fast on Jan 01, 2011 at 1:03 am

i think the rendering of proton inspira coupe looks better.

• Black Dog on Jan 01, 2011 at 1:21 am

Paul, still working? Anyway, happy new year!

• Looks like Persona with 2 doors

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 01, 2011 at 10:26 am

the Vauxhall Calibra lives again!

• drMpower on Jan 01, 2011 at 6:43 pm

There were prats arguing with me when i commented about possibility of putting normal engine into the E-Mas concept.malaysia version

now that GM is looking at the very same possibilities,i expect those prats to bash GM.kaw.kaw.

This ir impossible due to the fact the cruze is PRIMARILY DESIGNed to be an EV.so other engine CANNOT go in.

Only machines can go in.

Haha

• bobdbilder on Jan 02, 2011 at 7:39 am

Did I miss that argument? This is the Cruze which is in all aspect a renamed Lacetti. That of the WTCC Fame. Maybe you got it mix up with the Volt REV?

If it had torsion beam rear suspension, it would not be a RWD. A refreshing idea from an American company. Though it is sad not to have a coupe without RWD. Even Hyundai changed their coupe from a CVT FWD to Manual RWD and bump the engine up too.

Nowadays Coupes and Hatches tend to be more expensive that sedans. So I guess this would be Cruze premium niche limited edition SS.

• rifle on Jan 01, 2011 at 6:55 pm

putra replacement/rebirth..when??!!

• Rear looks like the rear of current civic… Hmm

• nabill on Jan 01, 2011 at 10:25 pm

wish the new putra be an inspira with two doors !

• brian on Jan 02, 2011 at 11:13 am

would be better if the windows are shaped differently instead of the roundish design

• mitlanevo on Jan 02, 2011 at 4:46 pm

sorry to say, but this coupe is not nice…

• SoMeOnE on Jan 02, 2011 at 11:34 pm

the rear end needs to be streamlined .its just to big to be called ‘sleek’ and coupes sell because they are ‘sleek’.

• kumar on Jan 04, 2011 at 2:52 pm

i’m cruze owner.. its has the worst alignment issue & chev support is very poor.. i bought the car in nov & still driving wit the same problem..

• alamak!!! really?? i was planning to buy this car (sedan) …hmmm need to think again. Hows your car now??