Hyundai i40 – first images revealed ahead of Geneva debut

Hyundai has revealed the first images of its all-new i40 wagon ahead of the vehicle’s world premiere in Geneva. The exterior shots follow on the teaser pix released earlier in the month of the car’s interior.

The i40, which is the company’s first midsize vehicle to be developed specifically for the European market, will come with a package of powertrains, equipment and technology tailored for the continent. The wagon will be joined by a sedan variant later in the year.

Among the powertrains will be a 1.7 litre diesel engine, codenamed UII, and items on the standard equipment list will include three segment firsts – heated and reclining front and rear seats; a heated steering wheel; and an active demist system that automatically detects and clears condensation on the windscreen.

The i40’s debut also coincides with Hyundai’s launch of its new brand slogan – New Thinking. New Possibilities – that represents the company’s bold new concept of “modern premium,” a philosophy that premium quality and characteristics should be accessible to everyone.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hyundai’s on a roll. Another exciting product. Well done.
    We are waiting for your Dual Clutch on the current i45, ix35 :)

• inline 6 on Feb 20, 2011 at 2:15 am

in 6-10 years time people might be saying :

“what? you still drive a jap? not korean? ”

btw, this car is many times gorgeous than the latest CIVIC (ugly new model i’ve seen so far this year) !~

• Amazingly Korean on Feb 18, 2011 at 1:19 pm

Welcome to the world Korean achievement. Very proud of Koreans. Within 10 or so, you people have moved forward at least 25 years ahead of many nations. Well done !

• tuapuikia on Feb 18, 2011 at 8:25 pm

couldn’t agree more. after more than 25 years, one other is still on crutches being prop up by their master gomen to whom cannot lose face one. can this, can that, sigh…

• From the back view photo, it look like hatch back, look so sporty!!!
    Wondering Msia will bring it to us or not.. hope so.

• ezracopters on Feb 18, 2011 at 1:36 pm

Europe only?? isn’t it Wagon type of vehicle?? well, wonder how it looks in sporty version.. excluded diesel engine, i think overall Caldina esp. GT Four win.. personally, this Hyundai i40 look pretty dull..nerd trying to be jock..

• Caldina is like ahbeng trying to look posh la.
      Volvo V60 is the real sports wagon to get.
      But this i40 looks not too bad at all for what it is. You pay for what you get.

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Feb 18, 2011 at 1:41 pm

i am a hyundai hat now

• Kinya on Feb 18, 2011 at 2:27 pm

Hyundai is doing so good in their car outlook design, now they should do better in their engine design, perhaps participation in racing or promoting certain reliability test and fuel economy test to boost consumers confidence..else it needs time to convince people..

• WALASiZO on Feb 18, 2011 at 2:53 pm

*hug the car*..umpph!

• nolan on Feb 18, 2011 at 3:47 pm

Japanese should be worry by now……their Civic design can’t compete with all the beautiful Kia and Hyundai cars…..

• Danny on Feb 20, 2011 at 11:53 pm

Right on! Talking abt DESIGN WISE : If we look at cars in the same price range, the koreans have it better.

EXAMPLE 1 : New Civic & Current Altis (Looks bad) & KIA FOrte and Hyundai Avante looks good and out spec the japs.

EXAMPLE 2 : Current Accord and Camry (Looks average) but current Sonata & New Optima ( Looks so much more promsing)

• …Malaysians say bye bye to T&H. 1960 -1970s europen lead. 1980s – 2009 japan lead, 2010 – …………Koreans rules!

• ezracopters on Feb 18, 2011 at 7:46 pm

what Volvo V60??? no wonder u loveeeeeeeeeeeeee i40 haha..sorry no hurt feelin k, im just saying in Malaysian market. ..if u want to compared sport version, i think Acura TSX, Ford Mondeo wagon or even Cadillac CTSV way better that Volvo V60..

plus rear view of Caldina win miles over V60.. Volvo = durability & safety, Caldina = look n performance whist this i40 = still baby.. althou i agree others siblings like sonata, veloster, elentra, equus etc was on their prime time..

maybe next gen i40 even surpass all those Europe n Jap wagons..who knows, they did it already with their saloon …

• i can’t believe this debate… has u guys forgotten that bmw, merc and audi had much better hot rod wagons out there? ctsv is just a desperate attempt by cadillac to imrpove its product range and to at a level equal to the german trio.

• olive on Feb 20, 2011 at 3:32 am

Toyota caldina looks ugly , unsafe and Performance is NOT a Miles eater at all

In other words Caldina try to look sporty but turns out to be unsporty cars ( Caldina is neither here or there meaning Caldina is a totally ROJAK car)

Volvo V60 is light years ahead Toyota Caldina in terms of design, safety , better performance , better emission and higher STABILITY speed.

Toyota Caldina design looks very dated now in view of better design and engineering coming from VW , Hyundai, Mazda,

Toyota Caldina is not Cool at all and THE looks turn OUT SUCKS!! when compare to this latest I40.

• Nice!i love this car!

• see …so many people condemn Honda in paultan.org articel about new civic in next articel…but very less people put their comment here in this avante wagon…

this mean,people still going to buy that new honda coz they know it have good 2ndhand value…. they will not buy new avante coz they are worry about 2nd value….

• olive on Feb 20, 2011 at 3:42 am

Acum

You look like a HONDA salesman to me here .

I rather keep my monies in the bank rather than losing monies purchasing a Crappy Honda cars NO MATTER HOW GOOD OR BAD THE 2ND HAND VALUE. At the end of the day , i still lose a lot of monies owning a Honda car in terms of interest rate , maintenance, depreciation , insurance , repair and so on…………..

So do not use second hand vale to sell the crappy honda cars but instead highlight on the engineering and safety aspect more on this care . please be a professional
      sales man and not be a five foot way sales man.
      Honda cars like city and Civic are cheaper cars compare to i40.
      Cheaper cars means more people can afford to buy and meaning it is not that HONDA is good car. More expensive cars will sell less volume simply because the affordability is there . expensive cars sell less volume and cheaper cars sell higher volume,

This is basic common sense >
      Honda cars does not carry PRESTIGE AT ALL . OTHER WORDS HONDA BADGE SUCKS

• bro..i am not anysales man,,, i not using any car,,instead i am using my 2004 EX5 bike… which i got from my brother……. because my nature of work need me to travel oversea 60% of my work….my point is ,,at the end majority malaysian car buyer always think about their second hand value…. not that i said honda is great …

my point is, IF they said hyundai is great, but why they not post it here??? but they post in in honda artikel? is that weird? …i not refer to you,,because u did come here and post. good you among people who have change…..i refer to people who post about hyundai great …but in honda artikel!!!…. please check how many people comment in honda civic artikel,,and how many comment in this hyundai,,,which next to next… :)

• is i40 a 7 seater car ?

tq

• tranformer on Feb 21, 2011 at 10:25 pm

the rear looks very macho… its should be a large wagon.. but when that same person went to see front….. very cute front…. don’t really match well… but overall still looks nice…

that rear low C pillar does not allow to additional seat for even a +2… IMHO this seat 5 only…

• Vito Casetti on Feb 25, 2011 at 11:43 pm

Hyundai are teasing their way into the European D-segment market under the radar. This looks pretty cool and I can see it giving the Mondeo a run for its money especially if it is priced right. Recently stumble on this youtube video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zwqKy07OhXI) about the reveal.

Apparently, users can connect through Facebook to directly participate in the live light reveal. You can create your own personal light reveal via a live video feed. The official site for the launch is http://www.hyundai-i40.eu/

Really looking forward to seeing this at the Geneva Motor Show.By the way great site. Very informative

• i40 fan on May 18, 2011 at 6:36 pm

I liked the new i40 more than i20. i20 has a very boring exterior. Does i40 belong to hatch-back. It looks quite big for a hatch-back.

• HowYouDie on Feb 12, 2012 at 3:47 pm

Hyundai, is silly. Make a beautiful car (i40) but omit 2 additional seats.

Hyundai i40 is a 5 seat station-wagon. A shame really.