Volvo S60 launched locally – RM348k for T6, RM288k for T5

It’s tagged as the sportiest Volvo ever launched in Malaysia, and it’s here – Volvo Car Malaysia today introduced the all-new second-generation S60, and to get things going the model is available in two CBU variant forms, these being the 3.0 T6 AWD (all-wheel drive) and 2.0 T5.

The T6 AWD is equipped with a 3.0 litre inline six-cylinder twin-scroll turbocharged engine that offers 304 hp at 5,400 rpm and 440 Nm of torque from 2,100 to 4,200 rpm. Volvo’s most powerful six-cylinder is coupled with Instant Traction AWD and mated to a second-generation six-speed automatic Geartronic transmission, and performance specs include a 0-100 kph sprint time of 6.5 seconds and a 250 kph top speed.

As for the T5, it wears a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo mill, here mated to a six-speed Powershift gearbox. Figures include a 240 hp at 5,500 rpm output and 320 Nm of torque at 1,800 to 5,000 rpm as well as a 0-100 kph time of 7.5 seconds. We tested this one sometime back during a drive preview of the car, covered in Danny’s comprehensive report.

The S60 T6 comes with a self-adjusting Four-C (Continuously Controlled Chassis Concept) chassis with three settings – Comfort for cruising, Sport for those naughty moments and Advance to increase driving dynamics. At the heart of Four-C is Volvo’s semi-active suspension with continuously controlled Monroe-Öhlins shock absorbers.

The T5 has a Dynamic chassis as standard, but both variants boast improved steering, stiffer springs and bushes as well as more damping than any previous model. Both versions also feature brake energy regeneration.

The Dynamic Stability and Traction Control (DSTC) now features Advanced Stability Control and Traction Torque Vectoring as part of the kit. The ASC anti-skid feature makes it possible to identify skidding tendencies at a very early stage, thus improving handling and allowing for rapid avoidance manoeuvres.

Meanwhile, Corner Traction Control by Torque Vectoring balances the torque between the front wheels during acceleration while cornering – the torque is distributed from a spinning inner wheel to reduce understeer and increase traction.

Safety-wise, the S60 is every inch a Volvo, with more safety components than any brand in its segment. The piece de resistance is the groundbreaking Pedestrian Detection with full auto brake feature.

A world’s first, the system detects pedestrians who walk onto the road in front of the car and warns the driver. If there’s no intervention from the driver, the system automatically applies full braking power. Pedestrian Detection – working in tandem with City Safety – can avoid a collision with a pedestrian at speeds of up to 35 kph.

Now, Pedestrian Safety may be the cherry on the cake, but there’s the usual host of active preventive safety kit to be found on the new ‘un, and besides Blind Spot Information System (BLIS), there’s Collision Warning with Auto Brake (CWAB), which warns and automatically brakes if the car risks hitting another vehicle from behind.

Then there’s Driver Alert Control (DAC), which detects and alerts tired and distracted drivers and Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with Queue Assist, a radar-based adaptive cruise control system which automatically maintains a set gap to the vehicle in front. It’s operable up to 200 kph with repeated speeding up or slowing down, including speeds below 30 kph.

The T6 gets an additional feature, Lane Departure Warning, which alerts the driver if the car runs across the lane markers without the turn indicator being used. As for wheels, the T5 comes with five-spoke 17-inch Balder design alloys, while the T6 wears 18-inch Sleipner seven-spoke ones.

Inside the new S60, you’ll find a new infotainment system called the Volvo Sensus, which allows the driver to get up close and personal with high-tech features without having to read the owner’s manual (always a welcome thing, no?). Sensus presents information from the audio unit, navigation system and other functions on a 7-inch colour screen installed high in the centre console and is accessible via steering-wheel controls.

The T6 also boasts a Premium Sound system, replete with a class-D digital 5 x 130 watt amplifier, Dolby Digital (in combination with Dolby Pro Logic II Surround), the award-winning MultEQ from Audyssey Laboratories and 12 loudspeakers.

A whole palette of exterior colours (15 in all, based on the listing) as well as seven leather interior combinations are available for the S60 T5 and T6, with two brand new shades, Vibrant Copper and Flamenco Red, in the mix. The T6 is priced at RM348,000 while the T5 sells for RM288,000 (both prices on-the-road, without insurance).

For more information, visit the Volvo Car Malaysia website.

Live gallery of launch pix after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2131]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Truth Demon on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:22 pm

Looks good. C300 at RM210k would be my choice though.

• fahmi on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:24 pm

aircond hole look funny!!

• Arthur on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:48 pm

and way too many button… And in this touch screen age, those num pad look redundant.

• Ris-Fortezen on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:28 pm

Very nice! ^__^ but the price also nice.. huhu..
    I like this car and the feature that are given but the price is a bit expensive.. (just in my opinion)

• Vincent on Apr 07, 2011 at 12:00 am

wait another 6 month, the 1.6 turbo will come to Malaysia.

By that time, price should be around RM180K…

• BeemerFreak on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:31 pm

After China take over, Volvo has grow much stronger. The power of the dragon.

• Faddd on Apr 12, 2011 at 11:44 pm

They have been stronger way before Geely took over, power of dragon my ass….

• shawal on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:37 pm

UK journos keeps comparing this car with German offerings due to its price , according to them , its the volvo’s driving dynamics lets it down , but i think to the average Malaysian as long as you don’t feel the bumper, speed humps, significant body roll, its a mark of a premium car , ITS EXPENSIVE but will sell well cuz of its looks and interior design….

• VictorQ on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:40 pm

Much improved ride & drive dynamics. Tested and rode in the car… I am impressed with all the safety features & drive dynamics… I would stick to Volvo still.
    Price wise, most would wait for CKD, perhaps.

• Comes in CBU…… at this kind of price in Malaysia would not sell in great numbers … really for Volvo enthusiast only I’d guess.

As usual ppl will compare …. for that price I can get 3 series or C-class…. bla bla or even Passat CC …. well that’s Malaysian

• zaff1984 on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:58 pm

i like the red (on the 1st pix @ backdrop) and black one… the technology is fantastic.

• ”Collision Warning with Auto Brake (CWAB), which warns and automatically brakes if the car risks hitting another vehicle from behind.”

If let say for instance some snatch thief on motorbike/car comes and snatch/rob someone’s item/handbags/labtop bags etc inside this Volvo S60, can the driver switch off this function in order to counter attack that mat rempit or to road rage?

• littlefire on Apr 07, 2011 at 8:21 am

I think Volvo owners also will tinted their glass well & with the good quality tinted glass nowadays seems to handle quite well of impact…

• Bobby on Apr 20, 2011 at 11:42 pm

Yes, accelerate way past 35km/h or if you’re around 35km/h, slightly tap at the brake pedal, so the car would assume you’re fully aware and will not take over the controls of the brakes, so you can bang the snatch thief and run him over with those glorious 18 inchers.

• mmouse on Apr 06, 2011 at 10:22 pm

Price about the same as S80. I will go for S60.

• good work on Apr 06, 2011 at 10:29 pm

Finally, the back doesn’t look like a coffin. kudos volvo. Now ppl can say Volvo for Life again

• Malaysia Bull on Apr 06, 2011 at 10:35 pm

I want one. But I need to kick out G 1st in order to achieve my goal.

At least I will give it a try.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 06, 2011 at 10:38 pm

Hey Anthony, any news on the CKD programme for the S60 and its pricing?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 07, 2011 at 9:15 am

No mention (or if there was, I wasn’t paying attention!). Should be towards the end of the year – will we see the 180 hp T4 1.6 turbo mill in the mix? Don’t think the T3 150hp version will be used

• This new S60 at RM288k but its elder brother S80 at RM290k? The pricing strategy is quite weird…

• macspeed on Apr 06, 2011 at 10:43 pm

y not they bring in the 1.6 turbo? surely the car can be priced cheaper?

• Silverado on Apr 06, 2011 at 10:59 pm

So what’s the actual engine output of the 2.0T? This article quotes 240 hp while your earlier road test in Singapore quotes 203 hp.

• Silverado on Apr 06, 2011 at 11:14 pm

Interesting…the S60 2.0T, S80 2.5T and XC60 2.0T all around RM280k.

• skiborne on Apr 06, 2011 at 11:33 pm

those are very powerful

• transformer on Apr 06, 2011 at 11:38 pm

since Volvo has invented so many active and passive safety aids… and this S60 got all of them…..

but i am still waiting for Volvo to comes out with a driver aid that can drive the car automatically in traffic congestion, when the front car move, S60 also moves in safety distance, when the front car reduce speed, S60 reduce too, when the front brake to halt, S60 brake and stops.

Volvo, the world are waiting for this….. can someone tell Volvo engineer….

and NO MORE HAND AND LEG CRAMP IN TRAFFIC JAM!

• rene leow on Apr 07, 2011 at 6:05 am

Transformer,

check out the ACC feature:
      • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with Queue Assist – is a standard feature using radar-based adaptive cruise control system which automatically maintains a set gap to the vehicle in front. This comfort-enhancing system operates at speeds of 0 to 200km/h, which basically means the car drives itself while in queues with repeated speeding up or slowing down, including speeds below 30 kilometre per hour (perfect for traffic jams !!)

• intermilan on Apr 06, 2011 at 11:56 pm

emmm… they don’t look Volvo, which is not bad a decision, but sadly the new look didn’t look right either… emmm…

• Good looking car. But you have to be a die hard Volvo fan to choose this over a 3 Series, C-Class or A4.

• seancorr on Apr 07, 2011 at 12:08 am

Safest car to be in IMHO. The pricing is little on the high side though. Similar competitors like the BMW 3 Series or the Mercedes C class all offer cheaper alternatives and their brand reputation plus resale price is much stronger.

Hope it does make an appearance on our roads though. Seeing too many 3’s and C ‘s running about and the A4 is on the rise too

• gracke on Apr 07, 2011 at 12:08 am

Finally, Volvo S60 has a spacious rear legroom, more sportier than before but still have the taste of it, classy, stylish and ‘naughty’!! Very good refinement! LOVE IT SOoooo much!

• Roocarroll on Apr 07, 2011 at 12:20 am

I’d imagine the ACC will put off a lot of Malaysian drivers.

What’s the point in spending RM300k+ if you can’t tailgate or drive suicidally? :P

• Gavin on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:45 am

30k more expensive than the much better 320d, really hard to see any good reason to buy this over a beemer

• BeemerFreak on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:30 am

Different people have different needs……………It has too many specs that are better than the BMW. Size is more similar to those of the 5 Series. i would prefer the 520d instead of 320d…tooo small.

• Nice S60 and two variants for Malaysia. The T5 is now a 2.0L 4cyl with High Output Turbo (HOT) unlike previous Volvo offerings where a T5 is a 5cyl HOT not unlike mine. The price is of course very expensive but cheaper compared to the 5 series or E Class which are its direct size competition. It will do well against those looking at 3 series or C Class offering bigger size and more performance. Best wait when local assembly cars arrive which I heard is in the pipeworks for Malaysia. It is a pity that Malaysia will not get the V60 which we have here. But still nothing beats the versatility and style of my XC70!

• ABTguy on Apr 07, 2011 at 9:06 am

Time, facts and figures will tell by itself. Volvo is no longer a popular brand in Malaysia. The 1A 2 B (Audi, Benz BM) all do better, even the fourth German brand VW also sells far better than Volvo.

You know why ? German makes better car !

And Volvo maintenance cost is very very high, my colleague spent about RM6-8k every year, only a lowest ranking S40 2.4 model.

• jaybond on Apr 07, 2011 at 12:36 pm

Volvo will gain back its popularity with this model! Currently , this is the only European car model that could challenge the German stronghold in the entry level executive class.

• not a bad looking car, but still i will get a Passat CC anytime…

• Hafidz on Apr 07, 2011 at 10:06 am

LOve the overall look..but hate the much ‘silver paint/moulded trims on front+rear bumper and side skirts’..dont really buy that idea..it should be dark grey 80% or instead JDM matte black style..but then they choose silver/grey..hmmm…some may confuse is this SUV or MPV?..coz to many sporty silver trims in terms of looks..

Plus personally judging from the picture, the ride considered quite high..especially on the back..something like ‘Wira Sungkit’ WRC wannabes..but in hte end, its a nice looking car..3.5 star out of 5..

• wow…must be the most pedestrian friendly in the world…

• Unforgiven on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:12 am

Volvo already loosing the share market in M’sia, and now 288k-348k?
    I’m guessing they are not really interested in M’sian market…
    Where are they actually targeted globally?

• Faddd on Apr 15, 2011 at 1:09 pm

Because over here, people only see BMW and Merchedesssss , without even thinking, they just straightaway buy..

Volvo has a lot to offer, last time all the CBU XC60 T6 with 300hp was all SOLD OUT. It shows people are noticing Volvo more, even in the hey days, the 240 Turbo, 760 Turbo, even the lagendary 850 T5 wagon are still terrorizing the roads today.

• T4VR-Ralph on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:26 am

Auto brake? i don’t think so…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNi17YLnZpg

• redboy on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:26 am

salute their pricing..no eye see. wonder will they even clock 10 units of no state government supports..

• Berza on Apr 07, 2011 at 3:23 pm

Rofl….Are u talking about the sabah state? Funnily enough i don’t think the citizen of this state would really appreciate this car brand…..Oh,the freaking awful ninja king,Hell Yes!!! How pathetic man….

• Namasaya on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:27 am

For a car with sleek looks and decent power, it is prepared for everything in safety. HAHA

• ANNOYED on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:48 am

same old complaints,no resale value la,high maintenace cost la,no brand image la.no money don’t talk la.people with cash wud,nt make so much fuss over the pricing,if they like the car they wud buy it.

• mmmmmmm on Apr 07, 2011 at 12:55 pm

WHAT LA!!! THIS IS A CAR FORUMMMMM…SO IN A CAR FORUM U TALK ABOUT ‘resale value la, maintenance cost la, brand image’ ….PLUS MOST PEOPLE WITH CASH ALSO SMART PEOPLE DONT JUST BUY WHATEVER BEEN THROWN TO THEM………..IF NOT I SUGGEST U TO GO TO……WWW.BARBIEDOLLFASHION.COM…..CAPISHHHHHHHHH

• ANNOYED on Apr 07, 2011 at 3:47 pm

wow ur really “passionate”” about cars huh?i tot in car forum’s people should appreciate the marvel,improvements,safety and technology of an automobile.thats what car forum’s are about,where people get together to appreciate vehicles.its not a ground for complaining.think first before typing out crap in capital letters

• mmmmmmm on Apr 07, 2011 at 4:45 pm

WELL APART FROM ‘in car forum’s people should appreciate the marvel,improvements,safety and technology of an automobile’ ..PEOPLE ALSO TALK ABOUT ‘resale value la, maintenance cost la, brand image’…bcos this site features A REAL PRODUCTION CAR…..WHICH MEANS IT HAS VALUE PUT ON IT……………..PLUS A FORUM NOT JUST A PLACE TO MARVEL DARVEL, PRAISE2 CLAP2 HAND ONLY…….WE COMPLAINED FOR THE BETTERMENT OF CAR INDUSTRY….IF U JUST WANT TO MARVEL DARVEL HAPPY2 PRAISE2 CLAP2 HAND JOINT A CAR FAN CLUB AND DROOL OVER IT………..NEXT TIME ALSO THINKS FIRST BFORE OPEN THIS WEBSITE…..IF U JUST WANNA PRAISE2 MARVEL2 CLAP2 HAND2 DONT OPEN THE COMMENT SECTION…WHERE PEOPLE DO GIVE COMMENT………CAPISHHH

• ANNOYED on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:10 pm

i doubt ur voice of dissatisfaction over resale value and maintenance is going to contribute much to the betterment of the car industry.I just appreciate this Volvo for what it is and welcome it to our malaysian roads.CAPISHHH

• we are the world on Apr 08, 2011 at 12:10 pm

may be one voice of cos cannot la……….if thousand, million voices it will……..and Paultan web has quite a good following and this site is one of the site for motoring in Malaysia…….if not mistaken posted here previously Paultan is the top ten name people Google up in Malaysia………..I’ll vote Paul for Automotive Minister for next Gen………….

• mazda fan on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:51 am

actually the rear looks nice,better than passat CC.i dun like the rounded lights on the VW,doesnt match the overall look of the car

• bring it the 1.6L T4! cheaper road tax…

• richard912 on Apr 07, 2011 at 3:14 pm

Looks very nice this latest S60! Alas, will wait for CKD. At the current pricing, not really enticing

• abuden on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:29 pm

The original concept looked promising. Too bad volvo over softened the design of the production car.

For snob appeal and driving dynamics, Beemer is still hard to beat. Better wait for F30.

• Eww expensive!it’s just a Volvo!

• Hey Anthony, do u know where this unit were build?
    Sweden or China CBU?
    thanks in advance…