2012 Toyota Camry to get fall debut – gets teased in a video featuring Akio Toyoda himself!

The next generation 2012 Toyota Camry is set to be unveiled in fall this year, according to a teaser video by Toyota featuring the company’s president Akio Toyoda himself. The teaser video is for the US market – and it just shows how important the Camry is to Toyota when it comes to the US of A, that Mr Toyoda himself appears in the video. I suppose it is a way for him to add a personal touch.

We don’t really know if our Malaysian market Toyota Camry replacement will have anything to do with what will be unveiled in the US this fall though, as even in the current generation, the US Camry and our Camry have completely different styling. The US Camry is the “real Camry” so to speak, while our Camry’s design was derived from the Australian Toyota Aurion design.

Perhaps in this new generation, the two Camry designs might be unified?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Victor Lee on Jul 02, 2011 at 2:53 am

its look like honda civic current model headlamp to me LOL

• LimauLimauHarimau on Jul 02, 2011 at 3:31 pm

Why not get a Lexus instead? That’s the ‘real toyota’.

• Hail yeah on Jul 02, 2011 at 3:39 am

It’s gonna be another boring model compared to the i45, but I bet Optima k5 looks better than this new camry.

• Knowledge on Jul 03, 2011 at 8:07 am

Are you serious? Leave your nationalist attitude and let’s face the reality. Please, don’t compare mediocre and unreliable cars to Toyota… See you

• But Asia’s Camry isn’t the same as US model…..

• Naley on Jul 02, 2011 at 7:52 am

hopefully the design can match hyundai sonata..if not, toyota R&D just wasting their time..anyway, its just for US market..kesian malaysia..

• murad on Jul 02, 2011 at 11:01 am

To me design is 2nd, as many would know T will have conservative design to appeal to older generation, but now the ones who change cars are often the young or the middle age. so to me features is more important, they should be looking at to compete against continental makes and also now the Koreans.

more airbags, DRL, hill assist, dynamic adaptive headlights, bluetooth and many more.

• Merc & Lexus = Real Cars on Jul 02, 2011 at 8:09 am

That wasnt much to see…..sigh…. and wow Mr Toyoda used Handling in same sentence as camry… this is going to be interesting. Recent release model u will notice new suspension setup…so maybe…..

• exentric on Jul 02, 2011 at 8:24 am

Its Akio Toyoda. Getting a little confused between the two? :)

• _xXx_ on Jul 02, 2011 at 8:35 am

Did he say ‘cum-ry’?

• More to a facelift than a totally new model. Toyota can’t afford to have new platform l guess. That’s why the teaser merely show the headlamp. I’ll get one unless 520d is to close to this potent sedan. Having said that, l wonder why Japanese afraid with turbodiesel.

Having a reliable Toyota badge and diesel is best relationship between man and machine’s.

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 02, 2011 at 8:50 am

He look stupid in the video. Btw, i don’t see this video serve any purpose.

• Vincent on Jul 02, 2011 at 8:51 am

US get ‘best’ Camry, Malaysians get ‘worst’ Camry, with 4 speeder, dual airbags instead of six with the highest price. LOL

• Spelling error Paul, its actually Akio Toyoda…

• alldisc on Jul 02, 2011 at 9:26 am

while car manufacturers prefer to keep costs low with doing only a single model for all market, the market simply does not agree.

euro, usa, and asia all have different market taste due to different requirement of rules and regulations including crash test assesment, traffic flow, petrol price and emission level. even japanese and the australians differ from euro and other asian countries.

• Theres no Camry in UK/Euro…over there they’re selling Aurion & the best seller is the diesel D4D version

• wolfsburg on Jul 02, 2011 at 5:07 pm

UK and Europe are selling Avensis… Aurion is only for Australia market, which is our Camry…

• alldisc on Jul 02, 2011 at 8:08 pm

i didnt mention Camry is sold in Euro or UK, i was saying each market is different and every manufacturer will make cars to suit the local requirement.

Avensis is the successor for Corona, just diffrent name. Camry is not sellable in europe due to such size is not popular there. even Accord Euro spec is smaller than Asia spec, to fulfil the market taste. Civic FD sedan not sold there (too big), except for the hatchback version.

Aurion is actually Camry, which the same model is available in singapore, thailand and malaysia.

toyota australia has some different marketing strategis by using different model name sold there.

for example, toyota estima (previa in UK and US) is known as Toyota Tarago.

• crash test assesment and emission level, arent tat a universal understanding to give the best spec to those?

• Expatriate VN on Jul 02, 2011 at 9:39 am

Th headlamp design look elegant, way to go!

• teelim on Jul 02, 2011 at 10:21 am

The headlamp looks quite nice, though its a little like 8th Gen Civic/Forte.

However, Mr. Toyoda looks a little stoned if you ask me.

• murad on Jul 02, 2011 at 11:05 am

Why took so long for him to add the personal touch now? because they are facing huge worldwide problems and losing of market share? not against T but because they feel that their comfortable zone now is being jeopardize he goes out to do and feel what salesmen feels. Look at Steve Jobs, he practically has personal touch to everything, Carlos Ghosen too. T R&D team should go out and drive newer generation cars and work on it and not sell the T brand only. There would be a huge paradigm shift of purchasing decision if they don’t do something now.

• Tomyamta on Jul 02, 2011 at 11:10 am

If Toyota really value the American market, they would hide this guy somewhere where the sun doesn’t shine.

Remember, this is the same Akio Toyoda that got his ass handed to him in the House Commerce Oversight Committee hearing last year.

• Korean supporter on Jul 02, 2011 at 11:25 am

He says Camry is no 1 car in America, how about Korean car that everybody is shut about?

• wolfsburg on Jul 02, 2011 at 5:09 pm

Camry is still the best selling sedan is US.

• arcana on Jul 02, 2011 at 9:04 pm

no doubt camry is the best selling sedan in america but koreans are just behind by few notch of ranks….
        considering that they were nowhere to be seen years back, the koreans have begun to fill up the roads globally.
        toyota already lost in europe to hyundai, so we can see the similar pattern happening in US…probably in a few more years.

• Korean supporter on Jul 02, 2011 at 10:32 pm

Then why Kia and Hyundai fanboy shout until like there is no tomorrow? I thought they already taken over Toyota.

• Have any clue when new-gen Honda Civic to come our shore?

• beat-ur-grandma on Jul 02, 2011 at 3:28 pm

August 31st. can book now. call us.

• murad on Jul 02, 2011 at 6:12 pm

book means book ar? you think T these days now are sought after and people will go lining up to buy?

• Mask Ryder on Jul 02, 2011 at 7:10 pm

Hello ! Murad ! People r talking about 2012 Honda Civic lah ! Now there is a shortage of Toyota & Honda car due to the Tsunami, didn’t u notice the car sales for May has drop tremendously, yet the Korean car figure did not pick up, that mean customer are not picking korean car as alternative for Japanese.

• YWChg on Jul 02, 2011 at 11:58 am

Headlamp looks quite boring, where’s the LED?

• Mask Ryder on Jul 02, 2011 at 12:15 pm

YWChg,
      U think Toyota is that copycat KIAsi Spotty meh! Saw Audi & Benz have LED then fast2 copy.

• YWChg on Jul 03, 2011 at 2:58 pm

I tohught all new car will comes with DRL?
        Becuase in some european country all new car must have DRL imstalled, rite?

• Nothing to do copy or not copy, its already a design trend lo….

• Mask Ryder on Jul 02, 2011 at 12:16 pm

YWChg,
    U think Toyota is that copycat KIAsu Spotty meh! Saw Audi & Benz have LED then fast2 copy.

• aking on Jul 02, 2011 at 4:11 pm

Toyota for the wise….I mean manager, Audi for hairdresser…..I mean young chiku, and Benz for Ah Pek…..I mean big boss.

• murad on Jul 03, 2011 at 11:36 am

obviously if one were to park or drive up to a hotel lobby, one benz and one camry, which would be a head turner?

• Lim Kopi on Jul 02, 2011 at 4:35 pm

What a pointless short video …. Mr Toyoda. :)

• murad on Jul 02, 2011 at 6:06 pm

should he be making and addressing to all Toyota customers thanking them for their business and loyalty instead of just Camry?

• Hocep on Jul 02, 2011 at 7:13 pm

Why Camry? That we now in Malaysia has Kia Koup, why we bother about Camry that has lousy name and ride. Saved your money and from AP, get Kia cheaper yet high quality.

• aking on Jul 02, 2011 at 10:26 pm

Because Camry got class, Kia Koup is cheapskate, no class lah.

• Knowledge on Jul 03, 2011 at 8:12 am

And better no talking about how unreliable that mediocre maker (hyundai-kia) is. They love to betray people through massive and misleading ads. hyundai, stop betraying people! We don’t like you at all.

• murad on Jul 03, 2011 at 11:34 am

That’s what people perceive, but if i drive other makes now with more features, i’ll be laughing that this poor fella paid so much for kosong car. just look at T Vios, does it worth that much for that specs? go figure.

• Mask Ryder on Jul 03, 2011 at 1:38 pm

Yes corect X 3, it all about Perception, people r willing to pay more becoz they perceive it worth that much, due Toyota good pass record, super reliable & good residual value, people r willing to pay more, As for Hyundai/KIA becoz their perceive it not very reliable & low residue value due to their bad pass record.
          You simply can built a brand value overnight, telling people that yr car has turn from zero to hero by one generation, do u think the Korean r so dumb to sell their car cheaper than the japanese, if they can sell to u at much higher price, nobody come in to the business for charity purposes, they would also charge u the highest price that u r “willing” to pay for their product, they sell to u cheaper becoz they know not many is dumb enought to pay the same price for a korean car.
          Once their brand image r improved surely they would sell it at higher price just like their Samsung mobile phone which is currently world no 2. r no longer cheap to own.

• If my observation is correct, seems the bottom part of headlight is having LED strip, kinda like Audi.

• Mask Ryder on Jul 03, 2011 at 1:10 pm

John, it doesn’t seem to be any LED, if there is LED strip it would look very obvious which u can see even without light on like the Audi’s & that Wanabe Sportage.

• Arcana, the statement of Hyundai/Kia overtake Toyota in Europe r actually a misleading info by some biased journalist, if u look at the ACEA figure it clearly stated Hyundai & Kia as seperate entity, this is becoz Hyundai only own 30+% of Kia, unlike Lexus which is actually a luxury variance brand under Toyota, u don’t see Renault & Nissan lump their figure together did u (Which would beat Hyundai + Kia), despite Renault own share in Nissan.
    Kia actually went bankrupt back in the late 90’s asian financial crisis, Hyundai rescue them by buying over some share, n slowy sell off bit by bit after some time, they r not the same company, infact even their mfg plant were differently located despite sharing same engine & platform.
    By wishfully thinking Hyundai & Kia overtaking Toyota is actually not a blessing, once Hyundai & Kia become popular braced yr self to pay higher price for it.
    I am not suprised US people would soon ops for cheaper car as they r getting poorer, the USD would soon become Japanese Banana Notes as there is no gold reserve to guarateed their value, with the ever increasing fuel price, pumping fuel is already a burden to them let alone buying car.
    I would anticipate over the next 3-5 decades US economy would no longer be the gold standard for the globe, so why the world need their car purchase patent as trend setter ?

• DArkerMarker on Jul 03, 2011 at 5:57 pm

so, that camry will be cheaper in Malaysia?

UNLIKELY!!!

• did he just accidentally revealed the facelifted Passat CC or the European market Honda Accord?

• Kewlowez on Jul 03, 2011 at 1:56 pm

can’t wait to see the new camry design

• KenWong on Jul 03, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Toyota Camry has always been a good car. The only problem is that it is very popular with the car thieves syndicates in Malaysia, especially the 2.4 litre version.

• Just come back from Toyota showroom..
    SA said the new Camry will be arrived in Malaysia at the end of this year.

• John D on Jul 04, 2011 at 1:03 pm

The "new" Camry will be assembled in Shah Alam. They will not be "bringing in" the Camry.

• Looks like different showroom got different things to say, i mean, yesterday i happen to check out the new vios and asked if Malaysia is going to get a all new camry like the US soon, the person in the showroom said no because of the tsunami.!. He even said the Camry will not be Malaysia made, but still from Thailand, because the malaysia plant is not ready. Just sharing.

• gulam on Jul 09, 2011 at 9:46 am

T Salesman is sucks… they know nothing… just talk rubbish….

• Camry better be very very good this round… otherwise people are switching to Korean made for better look, better features, and better performance, and lower prices….

• guangro on Jul 04, 2011 at 7:14 am

Yahoo….. ! It will be a Made in Malaysia car… so it shud be cheaper. ;)

• azrai on Jul 04, 2011 at 7:46 am

So all those uncle will get a new Camry.

• hmm.. the headlights… dun you think they are "too much" for Camry?

• Jakcz on Jul 04, 2011 at 10:27 am

haiya just booked a new accord, do i cancel n wait for the new camry or just enjoy d accrod. confused.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 04, 2011 at 12:08 pm

Good news, if Camry come by end of this year!

• Toyota’s are built to last wherelese the koreans are ticking time bomb. Never know when they are going to break apart.

• I love Camry overall performance though driving dynamic is not Camry strongest point. Camry hybrid or hybrid diesel or potent diesel definitely a perfect car.

• YWChg, actually every car have DRL (here people call it small light or 7pm light) the one people usually switch on during rain, late evening.

Just becoz Audi come out with the innovative LED strips, people mistake that the actual DRL.

The new rule for EU from Feb 2011 is that it must be switch on at all day, something like our motorcycle need to switch on light day & night.

I not supprise newer car would ops to use LED as it going run all day, what i saying is that at least KIA Sportage don’t be so obvious to copy it bulat2, just becoz they use ex Audi designer, put some effort to come out with more creative ideas.

• UncleCamry on Jul 05, 2011 at 1:34 am

I found the a site with the new Camry ! check it out.. http://toyota-alabama.com/2012-toyota-camry-image…

• i love my current camry, looks good and having the best performance ever. I have no intension of changing to the new model, till my retirement day.