Catching lalas, picking mushrooms, having awesome coffee and more in Tanjung Sepat – Travel Safe & Save with PETRONAS PRIMAX 95 XTRA Episode 2

In this week’s episode of Travel Safe & Save with PETRONAS PRIMAX 95 XTRA, we check out a few interesting destinations around the Selangor area. Should be very suitable for a quick day trip this weekend? :)

We drove the Hyundai Tucson on this road trip – check out our test drive review of the Tucson for more information on Hyundai’s compact SUV.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2395]

Ever wonder how those juicy mushrooms that you love eating are grown? Harvinder tries his hand at mushroom picking at the Ganofarm mushroom farm in Tanjung Sepat.

Ganofarm Sdn Bhd (Mushroom farm)
Plot 51, Jalan Sungai Belankan
Tanjung Rhu, 43950 Sungai Pelek, Selangor
Tel: +603-31975600
Fax: +603-31975717

View Larger Map

We also try out our hand at catching lalas (the seafood kind) at the Tanjung Sepat Beach. It’s not as easy as it sounds, so after watching this you’ll probably savour every lala on your plate during your next meal! :)

Tanjung Sepat Beach
Jalan Laut Membiru,
42800 Tanjung Sepat, Selangor

View Larger Map

Did you know there’s a lover’s bridge in Tanjung Sepat? If you’re on a short getaway with your partner this might be a romantic place to drop by. Tanjung Sepat is also famous for its coffee shops!

Tanjung Sepat Lover’s Bridge
Jalan Tepi Laut,
Tanjung Sepat, Selangor

Tanjung Sepat Town
Tanjung Sepat, Selangor

View Larger Map

Finally, you can have dinner in Bagan Lalang.

Bagan Lalang Beach
Sungai Pelek, Selangor

View Larger Map

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• where’s julie??? :(

• Soo Kah Kiong on Jul 14, 2011 at 4:05 pm

I wonder if he calculated the RM 7 for the lala that he bought off the guy at the beach :P

Also … didn’t calculate the mushroom :P

• of course taste like rubber gloves la… you picked the mushrooms with rubber gloves

• I might go there but sorry, I still wont pump at Petronas. why? we all know la.

• Peterpj on Jul 14, 2011 at 6:04 pm

Thank you for not supporting Malaysian products. I totally agree that we should send our money overseas…..everyday I sit with my foreign clients who are laughing themselves to the bank with our RM – first question they ask is “how do I take the profits out?” :-p

But on a separate note, I like these posts – please keep them up!

• I support Malaysian products except Petronas and Proton. Hope you also like this post.

• Peter Griffin on Jul 15, 2011 at 10:23 am

Yeah I totally agree with you. Our company’s CEO is a foreigner, and I’m glad they pay him hundred of thousand ringgit per month to do our managerial works you know, since us Malaysians are very busy with politics, going to work late and not working diligently enough. Plus, I hate seeing how our snotty local businessmen and women become rich. They should be living the middle income earners like all of us. Yeah, I bet all business owners “rasuah” their way to the top.

As a side note, your road trip looks fun. Too bad I’m on the way east. :)

• Q: Is BHPetrol Malaysia product?

• bagan lalang beach..nice video..never been there..but having dinner there looks nice…

• tokmoh on Jul 14, 2011 at 8:47 pm

Harvey… Y U NO JULIE?!?!

Hahaha, kesian Harvey, sorang-sorang kat lover’s jetty or something… forever alone.jpg

Mmm… maybe I should plan with my friends go there for next outing :) Seafood apa best kat tempat you makan dinner tu aa, Harvey? Mekaseh yea :)

About the car, ermmm… 7.88km/L can give me heart attack >_<

Sime Darby, Y U NO DIESEL TUSCON?!?!

• keropokmoni on Jul 15, 2011 at 10:54 am

tuscon ke TUCSON???

• Jason on Jul 15, 2011 at 11:23 am

Harvinder was a bit lonely……
    With the ladies around will be more exciting and fun.

• SeriousSam on Jul 15, 2011 at 2:02 pm

This type of post is somehow so refreshing
    combining the the automotive info with travel

hope it’ll be more than 11 minutes show