The Grand Prize of Test Drive Kia On Tour 2011 goes to Mohd Ismail Ibrahim – he drives home a Forte 1.6 EX!

By now many would have already heard of, or participated in the Test Drive Kia On Tour 2011 campaign, a roadshow organised by Naza Kia. Test Drive Kia On Tour started in May at 1Utama PJ before heading to Penang and Johor Bahru, stopping over in Seremban and Melaka. The final leg was recently held at The Curve, Mutiara Damansara.

Those who went got to check out and test drive Naza Kia’s products such as the Forte, new Sportage and Sorento SUV. The company is happy with the response – a total of 600 bookings were collected throughout, from a total of 3,144 test drives conducted.

A big pull was that those who went and test drove stood a chance to win a Forte, besides mystery gifts for those who signed up as fans of Kia Malaysia’s Facebook page. Some 4,896 people “liked” Naza Kia and 9,000 entries were received for the grand prize draw.

This morning, it was announced at Menara Naza Kg Baru that Mohd Ismail Ibrahim from Kuala Lumpur has won the grand prize. The 38-year old baker received the keys to his new Forte from SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin, Joint Group Executive Chairman of the Naza Group.

Interestingly, the Forte winner (who currently drives a Myvi) test drove a Forte at The Curve, so he’s getting what he was interested in!

The team is already planning for next year. “Next year, we will take the Test Drive Kia On Tour roadshow to more destinations in the country,” said Datuk Hafiz Syed Abu Bakar, COO of Naza Kia, adding that there should be six legs including locations in East Coast and East Malaysia.

Instead of trying to lure people to showrooms, Naza Kia is bringing its showroom to the people, which is a clever move.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Why does he look so sadddd……

• staged or real?

• swoosh3553 on Oct 20, 2011 at 5:40 pm

Probably he wanted the SX trim, but only gotten the EX… now thinking how to upgrade….whether NAZA take in as trade-off for the 1.6SX at 100% trade-in value… That will be cool then…

• ultrajo on Oct 20, 2011 at 6:44 pm

Sad becos have to drive that car with that naza advert for 5 years/unlimited mileage hehehe

• u will be love to hear this from korean people

Automakers arrogance
      Consumers fall victim to export-oriented strategy
      http://www.koreatimes.co.kr/www/news/opinon/2011/05/202_86490.html

their car maker give their people 2 airbag where in other market they give 6!!!!

• tiadaid on Oct 21, 2011 at 7:19 am

And Malaysians thought only P1 does that…

• I’ve no issue with that.. we are the beneficiery. The Kia Forte is a good car, for the price it is being sold in Malaysia and of course versus the alternatives that are available at the moment. My wife traded-in her Vios for the Forte 1.6 SX and so far no regret.

• another funny story of korean car industry

Rusted Hyundai-Kia Cars Recalled in US, but Not in Korea

http://www.koreatimes.co.kr/www/news/biz/2010/03/123_63008.html

• another funny story for korean car

Can Hyundai overuse its fluidic sculpture design?

http://www.koreatimes.co.kr/www/news/biz/biz_view.asp?categoryCode=129&newsIdx=81385

• 1 more story bout korean car/industry

Local Drivers Snub Hybrid Vehicles

http://www.koreatimes.co.kr/www/news/biz/biz_view.asp?categoryCode=129&newsIdx=81385

• if u want hear another

Wheres the jolt?

http://www.koreatimes.co.kr/www/news/tech/2011/05/133_80552.html

• Sales man?

• i have my own company…2 to be exact 1 registered and 1 to be registered and currently planning to open another company for the purpose of importing..yes im salesman, for my company…i hoping to get some B2B customer here..my product ranging from apparel to electronic…

• xxWWWxxx on Oct 20, 2011 at 2:41 pm

congrats man,enjoy ur brand new car… just update us on ur fuel consumption how it comes abt. many happy motoring hrs ahead… cheers!

as for kia… do remember us from smaller towns, we dun get to test drive the sportage this time around. maybe u could consider a more comprehensive campaign next time around covering more towns, not just big cities?

• DewaSemut on Oct 20, 2011 at 3:01 pm

Yes! Please come to Kuantan, want to test drive the Sportage.

• Black Dog on Oct 20, 2011 at 3:34 pm

During a recent Customer Satisfaction test in US, Kia comes out tops, beating everybody! No, I’m not from Kia, I don’t like Naza service too but Kia vehicles are good.

• surewi on Oct 20, 2011 at 4:17 pm

No offense. Why this guy looks like Chinese??

• DewaSemut on Oct 20, 2011 at 4:28 pm

So what if he looks like one… 1Malaysia maa…!

• xxWWWxxx on Oct 20, 2011 at 4:45 pm

its ok, doesn’t matter who he looks like, feel the happiness for him. if u give love, u will receive love back. same as compliment, give n u will receive back. i’m happy for him since he also planning to change to forte, n by sheer luck he got to win this dream car of his. i just would like to know the FC of this car since it is a 6 speed. just doing some research on various A, B, C n D segment cars with the help of friends. would be targeting 3 to 5% variation due to different driving habits, road conditions, men driving while looking at pretty girls etc… n girls driving looking at macho guys, hehe

• swoosh3553 on Oct 20, 2011 at 5:44 pm

bro… u can get the answers in MyForteClub.com. They have a thread there for owners of 4-speeders and 6-speeders, 1.6ers and 2.0ers to compare. I myself drive the 1.6SX 4 speeder. FC is about 8.5l/100km (or about 11.5km/litre by topup calculation). Use is 70% highway, 30% town.

• xxWWWxxx on Oct 20, 2011 at 7:58 pm

thks swoosh… will google that to get some info. just to share some info with u guys, my beemer 5 series in city gets up to 9.3km/l, on moderate combined travel can get to 10.8km/l… occasionally hit 11.6km/l. myvi can get me 10.6km/l in the city. hway can manage between 14.8km/l to 19.6km/l (if i drive below 95kmh). fren viva can get 11.5km/l in the city. another fren on beemer can get 8.6km/l in the city, even sometimes drop to 8km/l… he’s using a 730. on saga, city is moderate, hit abt 9.8km/l, sometimes improved to 11.7km/l, combined hit close to 12.6km/l but she claim sometimes hit 14km/l on combined. i an still building a set of data for comparison so a lot of info still awaiting feedback. fren on storm can hit 15km/l in the city, sometimes even up to 16.6km/l… anyway, its just between us who wish to indulge in the FC comparison thats all. we hv to remind ourselves all the time, driving habit n road conditions influence the result obtained

• normal_user on Oct 21, 2011 at 8:32 am

Share your car’s fuel top up & mileage to calculate FC at www.fuelly.com. It compiles thousands of data from car users, so u can compare.

Forte’s FC is around Persona & Inspira, 10.5-11.5km/L

Somehow the C-segment Civics & Corollas with bigger 1.8L engine can achieve above 12km/L.

• We’re in a colorful nation…soon u won’t be able to differentiate anyone…;)

• Lim Kopi on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:45 pm

Because they want to trick you into thinking that “Chinese can win prize wan”

whereas in reality … they would rather give it to their own …. :)

• Baba O'Reilly on Oct 22, 2011 at 6:53 am

That’s an absurdly racist and accusatory comment. You sir, are a liar and an instrument of racial disharmony.

• subhero on Oct 20, 2011 at 11:15 pm

well… mcm mana lah dia tak sedih.. kereta tu akan bawa bala kepada dia dan keluarga selepas 5 tahun nnti.

• john die on Oct 22, 2011 at 12:33 am

low mentality la u punye comment..xde standard..macam x skolah punya comment..macam budak2 pon ade style u punye comment tu

• bercakapberdasarrealiti on Oct 21, 2011 at 1:15 am

subhero,lu bcakap mcm org bangang ler..lu tak mampu beli ckp terus terang jer ler..lu bwk mivy dh perasan mcm bwk mini cooper..apa barang.

• Leonardo on Oct 21, 2011 at 8:58 am

At least it is a better drive than his current MyVi, which was specifically mentioned!