Tokyo 2011: Toyota shows off the Fun-Vii concept

This is one of Toyota’s latest concept cars. Called the Fun-Vii, it is currently being presented at the 2011 Tokyo Motor Show and according to Toyota, the three-seater Fun-Vii “heralds a not-too-distant future where people, cars and society are linked”.

The interesting thing about this concept is the fact that you can alter the content that is displayed on both the interior and exterior of the vehicle. You can practically change the body colour of the vehicle and display messages on it!

The interior “mood” can be altered and it comes with features such as a navigation system that is displayed via augmented reality. Also in the list is a remote function, which allows most of the concept’s functions to be controlled remotely via a smart phone.

Other features include a network update system to ensure the latest software update is in place, the ability to connect with friends who are nearby and it can also detect other potentially hazardous vehicles such as vehicles in blind spots in advance. No information on the powertrain just yet, but it is likely electric-powered.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• ivan ong on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:07 pm

issit scratch prof? do i need to apply screen protector on it>? LOL got multitouch function?? hahsa

• coffin with wheels

• Saran on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:54 pm

The only problem will be, if you forget what was your exterior wallpaper, you may never find your car in Midvalley Parking lot! hehe

• Face of a Buggati Veyron at the back.

• toyol-ta on Dec 01, 2011 at 1:45 pm

fugly~! if this concept being put forward by proton, surely hundreds of basher will be here.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 02, 2011 at 1:40 am

i see proton fanboy. i bash protonfanboy. it’s ok to hate toyota, some of their products have been crap in the past few years (well, ok only those brought in by umw. lexus alphard vellfire are awesome) . but to bash a car even if it is really interesting and to relate it back to proton is just pure vile.

• Peter on Dec 01, 2011 at 1:49 pm

I thought it’s computer mouse in the 1st place!

• zzzzzz on Dec 01, 2011 at 5:25 pm

if give a comment without put a proton name,can’t aa??

• ZenZarray on Dec 01, 2011 at 5:56 pm

Maybe Upcoming Tron Car for movie…no more use lightcycle…hehehehe

• I like it very much, nice work Toyota!

• Koon choy car siap with flowers: Toyota can masuk inside and together go heaven :P

• More like Japanese car makers
    predicting their own death!

• So… some guy can actually park this Fun-Vii car beside some girl-driver while waiting for the traffic light turned to green, and advertise this question to her via the Ah Beng Door Screen, “Please dial this number ….”. And in the same time flash his great 8 inch in High Definition. I sense good potential for Cassanova-on-the-road already.

Another thing, this car could double itself as a high-tech “kereta mayat”.

• ron yeap on Dec 02, 2011 at 11:25 am

totally agree….

• What the hell is this? I would be caught dead in this

• James on Dec 03, 2011 at 12:13 am

i dont think its such a good idea. waste energy for display, crime usage and distraction.

• fikri91 on Dec 04, 2011 at 2:55 pm

we can see this within 5 years in future