Politeknik Ungku Omar is Perodua Eco-Challenge 2012 overall champion, UNISEL goes the furthest

It was the first time in three years that we have missed the Perodua Eco-Challenge due to commitments, so instead of live coverage, here are some belated updates. 2011 champs Politeknik Ungku Omar (PUO) has been crowned overall champion at Perodua Eco-Challenge 2012, held once again at the Melaka International Motorsports Circuit.

Competing against 13 other institutions of higher learning, Ipoh’s PUO was able to score the most points in all four categories – Engineering & Design, Longest Distance and two new for 2012 categories: Marketing and Time Attack. In the former, students must “sell” their product by way of events and a product presentation, while Time Attack is a dynamic test. In the main event, machines must go the furthest on half a litre of petrol.

PUO was the winner of the “Longest Distance” category last year with 24.07 km from 500 ml of Petronas RON 95 petrol. They also won the “Manual Transmission Long Distance” category in 2009 with 23 km from one litre of petrol.

This year, PUO finished second in the km/l race, doing 18.77 km from 500 ml of petrol. The winner was UNISEL with 21.88 km. Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) was second runner up with 15.80 km.

PUO won the Engineering & Design category followed by Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM) and Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM). For the Marketing challenge, Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN) was champion, followed by UiTM and UNISEL. Time Attack was won by Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM). Second and third runners-up places were taken by UNISEL and Politeknik Port Dickson (POLIPD) respectively.

Other participants were from Universiti Malaysia Pahang, Universiti Kuala Lumpur – Malaysia Spanish Institute, Politeknik Sultan Azlan Shah, Universiti Teknologi Petronas and Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka.

The incumbent teams had to improve on their 2011 vehicles built using a ViVA 660cc engine and transmission. Perodua provided RM10,000 to each team for mods and RM5,000 for the marketing challenge. Total prize money for this year’s race has been increased to RM103,000 from RM77,000 last year to cater for the three new categories. Congratulations to all winners!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 23, 2012 at 10:34 pm

Congratulations to all winner of Jaguh Kampong P2 …….. for lawn mover engine with four categories ….. good luck with the total prize of RM 103K.

“Engineering & Design, Longest Distance and two new for 2012 categories: Marketing and Time Attack”
    – What kind of engineering? F1?
    – Design? What is this?
    – 1/2 litre to measure longest distance?
    – Marketing? What to market for lawn mover engine?
    Pathetic categories!!!!!!!!

• Lim Kopi on Jul 24, 2012 at 1:37 am

Halo bro… this is Malaysia mah …

We are already lagging behind countries like Thailand and Indonesia…

Only thing part of our lives is Cronyism, Corruption and Scandals here and there…

Engineering is not important part of our lives , so even Lawn Mower can also be seen as an engineering marvel here. U see how advanced we are?

Proud to be Malaysian!! :)

• Cynical comments can only work to certain extend buat certainly not in this case…. If our parents were as ignorant and negative as you are, you probably were the one who are holding the lawn mower alongside the highway cutting the grass….. When it comes to education, any effort is most welcome….. Lawnmower engine, F1 engine or otherwise…..

• sleepwalkerz on Jul 24, 2012 at 8:56 am

Whatever they are doing at least they are doing something. Give some support rather than bashing people. Don’t just be a keyboard warrior!

• Celicazz on Jul 24, 2012 at 9:24 am

dats too much bashing, I suppose this shud be encouraged. we have to develope our local pro in automotive. those bashers complaining abt the ‘engineering’, were u even there? have u seen what they’d done (the institutions, not perodua, I oso tot perodua had not given much than giving the money and the engine)

plus, a good opportunity to see if they can come up what can be further upgrade/improve/modified with the tiny little engine used in very much all daihatsu small compacts. a small step towards developing our own fiat’s multiair, perhaps? I wud like to see that coming, and integration of hybrids in their cars too. wud like too see if they can go real on the road test rather in a circuit.

so, bash accordingly, not blindly. thais are developing hybrids and electric cars? not so, the techs are japanese bound, there, they just merely assemble it.

bash, but with responsibility, bash, but give alternatives/ideas. dont be much of typical Malaysian.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 24, 2012 at 1:00 pm

With this kind of blind supporter sub-standard commen, no wonder there are so many un-employed graduates in our country!

The more garbage-in-garbage-out mindset, the more unemployed, leading to more crime…….

• Jimmy Dean on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:06 am

You really know nothing about the event, yet still want to expose your own ignorance (and stupidity). They are not using lawn mower engine. There are real engineering work being done: cylinder deactivation, very lean afr, Atkinson cycle, vehicle dynamics, thermoelectric generator for exhaust gas energy recovery, etc.

• zidane on Jul 24, 2012 at 3:55 pm

If your engineering achievement means buying products “Made in JAPAN” or “MADE is CHINA”…

Well… you dont deserve to speak…

Tell me, how to make lawn mower engine mould, how to cast lawn mower cylinder? how to machine lawn mower raw cast engine? how to assembled them so that it can works… If you dont know how the above done… learn engineering…

• and you must be from the losing team right?

• what is the benefit of doing this kind of challenge? anyone can explain on this? i still think about it….

• Its to stimulate the minds of future engineers.

Honda does it, so does Toyota. Not everything that is conceived by idea can be implemented straight away.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 24, 2012 at 12:54 pm

What to stimulate their mind? That is bullshit craps considering many of them will end up as unemployed graduates!

• what is the benefit of doing this kind of challenge? anyone can explain on this? i still thinking about it….

• along on Jul 23, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Good job…

• Angah on Jul 24, 2012 at 6:14 am

corruption?
    UNISEL won or was top 3 in 3 categories.(1st, 2nd & 3rd place)
    PUO only 2. (1st & 2nd)
    how come PUO got the overall champion???

• Cosmo Artemis on Jul 24, 2012 at 10:02 am

Sir, PUO won most point, overall total point.

• Angah on Jul 25, 2012 at 2:27 am

yeah, that make sense. because i dont really know how the marking was done. hopefully, nothing unfair was done against any competences.

• nico rosberg on Jul 24, 2012 at 12:17 pm

because got some hidden “issue”.. if not unisel would be the winner since 2010, 2011 and 2012.. but becoz of “that” issue.. they can become champion easily for 3 consecutive years in a row.. trust me..

• amirad on Jul 24, 2012 at 8:01 am

Benefit of this program. Oh well. Just to provide real world engineering experience to engineering students when time and money are the limiting factors. Beats the boredom of monotonous lectures and labwork. It may looks simple but most of the engineering works ie. design, analysis and fabrication are equivalent to real industrial works. You can put any engine you want and design the suspension, braking, chassis etc to accomodate the engine power.

• soundfishy on Jul 24, 2012 at 8:39 am

syiok sendiri..

• icecube on Jul 24, 2012 at 11:15 am

They may be syiok sendiri, and it’s on their own effort.Small appreciation, at least, are most welcomed.
      Personally,I feel proud of them because they should feel syiok after all the effort given.
      How about you soundfishy? anything that you do up until now can at least make you syiok sendiri?? no need to tell everybody else.u just need to keep it for you….

• and what ur contribution in engineering rather than ur saliva and shaking balls?

• what kind of engineering? engine provided…make a chasis? using computer simulation for aerodynamic? target is fuel efficiency but modify to the chasis that cannot be used in real world….student will always wasting time…the lecturer also not on the right track. the engineering fundamental still weak but expert in computer analysis…

• zidane on Jul 24, 2012 at 4:08 pm

what do you know about engineering?

• Expatriate VN on Jul 25, 2012 at 8:54 am

What engineering? Cut and paste, rebadging, etc!!

• zidane on Jul 25, 2012 at 10:59 am

KAHKAHKAH…

Loser minded… if you fail to learn engineering, that doesnt mean others are the same…

• KL fella on Jul 24, 2012 at 2:45 pm

typical of malaysian mentality, bash everything in relation to P1/P2.. what if the organizer of this eco-challenge is honda/toyota/VW/bmw.. i don’t think there’ll be much bashing.. none at all.. having said that, give credits to where it’s due..

• matlimmutu on Jul 25, 2012 at 8:31 am

i’m totally supporting this!! good job!! all the bashers tahu komplen saja with no new ideas, porrrrahhh!!

• Expatriate VN on Jul 25, 2012 at 8:56 am

What a low quality crap!This is eco-challenge? my period!

• Jimmy Dean on Jul 25, 2012 at 8:58 am

Those who bash blindly doesn’t know what these students did. Some of the teams did these:
    -cylinder deactivation with engine running on 3, 2 or 1 cylinders as required by the load on the cars.
    -engine running very lab air to fuel ratio at about 18 to 20 AFR.
    -There is one team that modified the engine to run on Atkinson cycle using higher compression ratio to increase thermal efficiency.

I can only highlight a few. But this isn’t lawnmower engine… you go to Shell EcoMarathon for that.

• To Vios, If you think engineering marvel mean admiring something named Toyota Vios, that you chosed it as your name, then it explains why your mentality towards this event. FYI Vios is only as crap as a Proton Saga with Orion engine. Watch both underneath these two cars , you will see they are sharing the same technology. You are only impressed with what you see from outside but never really understand the engineering value behind it; in A toyota vios as well as in PEC cars…

• danny on Jul 26, 2012 at 9:00 am

this is good exposure for students and the standards are at least equals to the ones that the UK got