Bugatti Veyron Grand Sport Vitesse Rafale for Brazil

Given the way news has been coming from Brazil, you’d be forgiven for thinking the wheels in attendance at the Sao Paulo motor show were all of the small, practical and affordable variety. But with the car market there being one of the biggest on the globe, we’re sure even something as lavish as this one will find homes (or mansions, or palaces).

Bugatti certainly thinks so. You’re looking at the Veyron Grand Sport Vitesse Rafale, a one-off which marks the introduction of the Veyron Grand Sport Vitesse (the car on which it’s based, and itself a Grand Sport with the engine from the Super Sport) in Brazil. The special edition gets its name from that colour, ‘Gris Rafale’ – or Gray Burst in French – which is complemented by blue carbon accents on the roof area, air scoops, air brake and some parts of the back . The interior reverses the colour combo, getting blue leather and gray stitching.

Engine’s the same 8.0 litre W16 with four turbos that produces 1,200 hp at 6,400 rpm and 1,500 Nm of torque between 3,000 and 5,000 rpm. The fastest open-top production car in the world takes 2.6 seconds to get from a standstill to 100 km/h and is capable of 410 km/h. In handling mode, the car is limited to 375 km/h. Those are some otherworldly figures, I’m sure you’ll agree.

But none so otherworldly as the price. Now, the regular Vitesse already costs a bank-breaking €1.69 million (RM6.69 million); so how much do you think you’d have to fork out for one in a special colour? The answer’s €1.9 million (RM7.5 million).

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• OhMai on Oct 25, 2012 at 12:11 pm

Too fast that AES cnt handle!

• JustWannaSay on Oct 25, 2012 at 12:20 pm

Same old design. . . . .Bugatti Please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 32
    • You expect them to redesign the car?
      Do you have any idea how hard is it for Bugatti to design that body just for it to go 268mph …..it took them 5-7 years to perfect the aerodynamic on that thing and additional 3 years or more to facelift and gain an additional 12 mph……
      That’s why HyperCar design don’t change much…….eg: koenigsegg & pagani

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
      • Kalun on Oct 25, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Boo.. Better off with cheaper Hypercar that are well spec, less fuel consumption, and can be converted to track day car.

Or instead, Buy a Lotus F1 car. They keep it. But if you want to use it, call them. (Dude, it’s the same thing)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 32
        • You just buy your vios or city la..

• hahaha on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:47 am

hahaha the best statement bro !! kepada basher tu padan muka kena setepek kat muka, dah la xmampu nak condemn lebih lebih lak hahaha kalau xmampu buat je cara xmampu jgn gah sgt :-) .. Peace yaw

p/s : hurt ? its ok truth is always hurt, just get along with it :-)

• c~two on Oct 25, 2012 at 12:21 pm

The rims look like 2009 H.city E spec 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • NamNam on Oct 25, 2012 at 12:21 pm

wow, is this car better than a ferrari/lambo? oh forgot to mention how many years warranty given??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • Warranty? Buy Toyota and Honda la… If you can afford a Bugatti, warranty is not a problem that you’ll think of.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • abeed on Oct 25, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Rims like city 2009! Makes me proud to be driving honda city :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • Mozilla Chrome on Oct 25, 2012 at 12:58 pm

You can truly afford it if you have billion worth of assets.

• Kalun on Oct 25, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Why do this ugly and outdated sport car want part of my money?
    Not worth it. If you buy a fast car but you can’t drive fast. That’s just useless. It’s not even a track car. Not suitable to attack corners.

Better get a Ferrari or McLaren or Lambo. That is a wise way to spend money. With that kind of money, you can buy back up cars.
    Hire a F1 driver, a chef and a gym instructor. Plus with a team of tuners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 33
    • NamNam on Oct 25, 2012 at 2:45 pm

Not suitable to attack corners? The normal version of veyron achieved 7:30 in the Nurburgring. The sport version? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nP8dYAQ-m1Y

• Kalun on Oct 25, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Pfft.. This is a rich people toy. Other cars can achieve even faster time at nurburgring.
        Besides, with that kind of money, I can get an alternative car which is a Hennessy Venom GT that can accelerate that fast or a AMS Alpha Omega Nissan GTR R35 ( easily smoke a veyron super sport) or a Mine’s Nissan GTR R35.

Don’t get me wrong. I do fancy Bugatti. But I fancy McLaren more (Mclaren F1). But it seems like everybody are brainwash by a technical spec of a car and yet very expensive. It’s a petrol head car. But it seem rather not interesting as everyone has the same dream to have a Bugatti Veyron.

If you are wise enough, you would get a best driving car and yet enjoy it without wasting most of your money. I won’t call it a junk. It’s an awesome hypercar. But, BOYS ARE ALWAYS BE BOYS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • no one wants your money. all five ringgit of it

• Expatriate VN on Oct 26, 2012 at 9:20 am

Poor idiot with syiok sendiri talk cock!

Talk is cheap and don’t need to spend anything, just punching at keyboard!

• Jimmy on Oct 25, 2012 at 1:40 pm

Not so cantiq.
    Only the superrich can afford this kind of car. The not-so-rich probably can buy it only once in a life-time.
    ‘can afford’ means can buy it every new generations and if it is stolen tomorrow and the insurance evades paying you, you will still not get depressed.

• Black Dog on Oct 25, 2012 at 3:12 pm

It’s more suitable for driving in the sky, speaking which buying an airplane also cost around that price.

• Davinnci on Oct 25, 2012 at 4:49 pm

The fastest car in the world. This is the main point of buying this car

• This is magnificent, this is truly art!!!

• Brazil seems to get some really nice cars recently..

• Expatriate VN on Oct 25, 2012 at 9:43 pm

Many poor men comments here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Only datuk tun mahathir’s son have this car! trust me!