Mercedes-Benz A 250 Sport on display in KLCC

mercedes-benz a 250 sport 1

Ah, seems that you don’t have to go hunting high and low to catch the Mercedes-Benz A 250 Sport in the metal – a said example of the W176 A-Class is being previewed at the 2013 Petronas Malaysian Grand Prix showcase at the concourse area of Suria KLCC at the moment, albeit clad in wrap. Might be the same car caught on camera last week, or might be another example.

Whatever it is, the pretty-looking thing can be viewed at the showcase right up until March 24 – reader Ernest Kok sent in a set of pix of the car over the weekend, and our man-about-town, Jonathan Tan, was on location yesterday and had his camera handy, so we’ve now got a bunch of shots of the display A 250 Sport.

Looks like the Petronas display vehicle might be up for grabs too – Petronas has a Mesra Store Promotion contest running until April 30, and that one lists an A-Class as the grand prize. Based on the info, one will have to make in-store purchases to be in the running, and petrol or diesel purchases don’t count, nor do cigarettes, flour, cooking oil or sugar.

Right, just how much chocolate and snacks can you eat in an attempt to land the W176 then? :)

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Loklok on Mar 18, 2013 at 12:35 pm

The rim is simple 5 spoke design yet looks so cool with its line cue..

• All4TorqueProDSG on Mar 18, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Like I said before, this A class is actually a rental car in Europe and looked down upon. Infact, youths rent it to have a night out in London. In the UK, its a mini cab car. But in Malaysia, we are supposed to look at it with prestige, elegance and luxury. Malaysians are again fooled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 46
      • Like I said, you can rent Ferrari in Europe as well. If you dunno what is Ferrari and need some translation to what a Ferrari is, it’s a FALALI. Understood?

Don’t use what can be rented in europe as a benchmark of being ‘looked down upon’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
      • In Europe Merc is just normal car like Toyota…rich ppl drive Bentley,Rolls Royce or Porsche! anyway this is one good looking car!

• VS -rich people in Europe are not vain like many Malaysians-they live in big houses but dont mind driving simple cars -here we live in terrace houses but drive expensive cars

• Kereta Man on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:51 am

are you in europe? dont compare what happens in europe and in Malaysia dude..

• mrrfoxtrot on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:05 pm

hahaha…pergi oversea pn naik airasia..xpayah sembang la…

• hindo on Mar 18, 2013 at 11:43 pm

10000X better then golf

• better than golf? top speed only 240kmph, 0-60mph, below 7sec.. better than golf? have you ever owned a golf before? SHAME ON YOU.

• anon- Merc cars carry more prestige than Golf cars. in Europe Golfs are bread and butter models, and dont ask me whether i have owned golf, i own a VW Sharan

• Sam Loo on Mar 18, 2013 at 12:40 pm

This car RV will be at least 5 times lower than Toyota’s owned Lexus CT200h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 65
    • Gokul on Mar 18, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Dude.. Seriously?? I think you need to get out from your RV Cave and face the real world…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Well, for anyone who wants a Benz A250, find Sam Loo. His offer for them is great! You might even get it for free! :)

• jacksonkua on Mar 18, 2013 at 8:40 pm

Oh..My son named Sam Loo has also no resale value….what a shame?

Don’t understand? get the answer from your parent…

• sam loo- please take your toyota cars with you to bed…give me merc cars anytime over Toyota…(oh what a feeling…)

• not keen on the back but the face is easily the most pretty face i have seen from merc. Bmw 1 series looks like abomination beside this beauty

• Sam Loo on Mar 18, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Lexus CT200h is the all-time best appearance hatchback, no matter which angle you look from.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 32
      • hindo on Mar 18, 2013 at 11:44 pm

can u just disappear? plzzzzzz

• it’s ok
        I knew you have a fetish for those fridges that pasted with stickers to make it looks like car

• VWAGON on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:47 pm

hello, you ok bo? CT200H is hybrid, of course outlook design is not bad, but still cannot compare with A250, totally diff product, two differect class, even performance as well….

• sam loo- lexus is apek style design wei….

• seancorr on Mar 18, 2013 at 1:03 pm

That’s no normal run of the mill A class…its the top spec version Engineered by AMG with the diamond grill and that AMG 5 spoke alloy wheels.

Anyone care to guess what the price is when MBM brings it in? I’m thinking around the C200 price, if not more.

• PauCharSiew on Mar 18, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Can i have a valid explanation on that rather nasty water effect like stickers on the car?

And man those are some uninterested models.

• same feeling here bout the ugly sticker esp when it extend it to the windscreen.. failed imo

• Mike Dude on Mar 18, 2013 at 1:30 pm

So the car comes with the chick in blue shorts huh? I want!

• Jimmy on Mar 18, 2013 at 1:35 pm

Cool, it’s staring at us. I believed the blue colour one shines sparkingly under the sun.

• i luv cheap merc on Mar 18, 2013 at 1:41 pm

wish it could be affordable for the mid income earner. In europe they even have a driving school package so that the public can learn driving using this beautiful car.

• ABTguy on Mar 18, 2013 at 1:46 pm

I hope top guys in Mercedes do their careful strategy well. If MBM wants a big slice of the premium car cake, they should bring in more models of this A-class, and make the entry level A160 only slightly more than the VW Golf MK7.

Then we will see VW, BMW and Lexus wetting their underwears & pants !!

• i also hope that they bring in the new sexy CLA and price it lower than their lowest specced C class here, which is what merc did in US in order to attract younger buyers

• seancorr on Mar 18, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Highly doubt MBM will bring in any other model below the A200 and we’ll be lucky if the A200 costs just under RM200k as I suspect this A250 will cost a lot as it has more firepower and features than the C200

• Oh no. It’s Sam Loo the RV expert again

• just totally ignore him, no need thumbs up or down .. then his posts resale value will decrease natuarally just like his toyota

• oilworker on Mar 18, 2013 at 1:52 pm

yeyyy gonna have a look at this after work..

• Will check it out tomorrow as I drop by at Kinokuniya

• It’s pretty much establish that this car is drop-dead gorgeous. But I’ve just took a 2nd look and those stickers really ruin it and ruin it badly. What were they visually trying to communicate with those cloth like decals?

• Fahmi on Mar 18, 2013 at 3:15 pm

My favorite Merc design………Btter than previous A class…

• _xXx_ on Mar 18, 2013 at 4:05 pm

brp ratus ribu pulak keta ni?

• Harlem on Mar 18, 2013 at 4:23 pm

Merc please make a reasonable price to kill mk7

• firefox on Mar 18, 2013 at 4:53 pm

damm…finally in malaysia….i saw this car at HK,
    design wise look great, from the taiwan forum (youtube), A250 are AMG sport, high performance car, 2.0 T, compared to others brand, like GTI, A1, Renault ..etc,
    but i expect the price for this car (A250) should over 260K in Malaysia, but for A180 and A200, should be below 180k, due it a normal 1.6T and 1.8T car only, exclude design and AMG, nothing to talk about benz.

• Bongcs on Mar 18, 2013 at 5:31 pm

MBM will bring in ?

• commoner on Mar 18, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Urgh, look at the colour, the painting is too flashy to be driven daily

• Toffeeman on Mar 18, 2013 at 8:54 pm

I was informed A250 will be in the RM210K region. But may not be the AMG spec version.

• Jimmy on Mar 18, 2013 at 10:20 pm

Very unlikely (or almost impossible). In that case, nobody wants to buy A200 already, just a mere 30K difference, no?

• VWAGON on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:50 pm

i bit dissapointed due no AMG spec, but A250 sport, 2.0T should be powerful enough among hatchback car…

• tokmoh on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:13 am

wtf is that blue sticker shit?

Should leave it in silver, looks more like their f1 car livery. fail betul

blue colour… works on the beauty Volvo V40 R design *cabut from merc fanboys*

• Paul Tan on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:52 am

I think it’s to match the international ad creatives

http://news.mercedes-benz.co.uk/products/new-a-class-tv-debut.html

The car has some blueish shadows on it.

• tokmoh on Mar 19, 2013 at 11:36 am

I see, thanks.

Since it’s displayed at an event to promote F1, I think it’s better off to follow the Silver Arrows theme.

• Kereta Man on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:48 am

The blue sticker and colour is only for display purpose I am sure. No car maker in their right mind will try and sell a car painted like that, especially in Malaysia when the car buyers are so conservative with colour.

• Hukaka on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:52 am

I want to see the real CLA.

• JasonKiD86 on Mar 20, 2013 at 3:04 pm

The outlook is very nice, but the rear passenger seat not that good compare to the other same category car.

And the interior built quality is so so only, the aircond knob, the dashboard bottom panel like cheapo plastic, not very spacious vehicle compare to golf gti / lexus ct200h.

• atz1999 on May 03, 2013 at 9:46 pm

If the price is lower than vw golf it will be hot cake but don’t think so coz vw is people car but mb is luxury prestige car can”t sleep when c the sport version at klcc f1

• Syafeq on May 09, 2013 at 8:50 pm

This is a luxury car. U cant compare it with golf gti,as it a performance car. It is design for racing,if u dont believe me,try use Dsg gearbox and shift to S,it can reach 200 more faster than this merc,dont believe me? Buy this car and race with my golf gti :p

• WakLu on Jul 04, 2013 at 6:27 am

Which one better? A250 or Audi tts? I’m like gtr r35 but the roadtax boo than looo