The local market debut of the Mercedes-Benz W176 A-Class is still around six months away, but the first third-generation example has already been spotted in town. Reader Brandon Chua saw this white A 250 Sport on a transporter near the Menara TM, which is where the Mercedes-Benz Malaysia office is located. The unit is likely an evaluation and training sample.
UPDATE: The Mercedes-Benz A-Class has been officially launched in Malaysia. Read our launch report and view the pics here.
The Eurosport beauty contest winner is due to arrive in both A 250 Sport (in case you’re wondering what gave the spied car away, it’s the single bar grille) and A 200 forms; at least that’s the indication MBM gave during the international media drive for it last year.
The Mercedes-Benz A 250 Sport wears a M270 DE 20 2.0 litre turbocharged mill offering 208 hp at 5,500 rpm and 350 Nm at 1,200 to 4,000 rpm, with performance figures including a 0-100 km/h time of 6.6 seconds and a 240 km/h top speed. Plenty fast, in use.
As for the A 200 BlueEfficiency, that one gets the Camtronic-equipped 1.6 litre M 270 DE 16 AL turbo unit in its higher 154 hp at 5,000 rpm and 250 Nm at 1,250 to 4,000 rpm state of tune. Camtronic is a load management system with an earlier intake cut-off and intake valve lift adjustment, a first in a turbocharged direct-injection engine. Expect to see more of the A-Class as the countdown to its arrival begins.
Look at that beauty. Come to think of it, is it me, or is the number of new, would be launch cars spotted here, in Malaysia, is increasingly high this year. Just this week itself we’ve seen 6 cars would be launch, with one of those launched (VW Golf) which come to think of it, I spotted this trailer carrying all seven generation of Golfs (MkI-MkVI). This is gonna be one good year.
Much better than Golf of coz after sale service is so much better than VW! A Class is the best looking hatch that i ever see!
In the whole of Europe, the A class is known as a rental car. Infact with EasyCar in the UK, you can even rent it for 5 pounds a day. Only in Malysia, people think its prestige.
Kereta semua mahal2 and overpriced, kos sara hidup tinggi, thats why!
Hmmm…interesting… but was hoping for the A45 AMG AWD…scary little monster!
For rental doesn’t mean its not a prestige car.
Yea, that’s true, in europe you can even rent a Ferrari for 200euros per day. :)
*Done that. LOL
S-class or even Rolls Royce and Bentleys are rental cars also (Some of them)….
Dude, in anywhere around the globe, all “Only in Malaysia, people think its prestige” cars are a rental car. And you know why people rent them ?, because those people want to look prestige..
Better than u can’t afford here ma, stay in Malaysia then play with Malaysia rules…if u can buy oversea then go ahead… LoL …
u can rent anything in this world…
Mercs S-class are also taxis in Europe, so?
“the A class is know as a rental car.” Do you mean when a person bought an A class and drive it on the street, people will point at it and say: ” ah..he’s driving a rental car.” ? In fact EasyCar and other car rentals in the europe provide all kind of cars, eg Merz E class , Toyotas, Ford, Jaguar etc…Are you sure it can be rented for 5 pounds a day? in this case, the golf must be around 1 pound a day? Check this out :
http://www.easycar.com/ssl/PriceComparison.aspx?lang=ENG
And I wonder people in Thailand, singapore, indonesia, australia, etc don’t think the A car is prestige..
mercedes is a mercedes brah!
superior quality comfort and build quality…some people buy “masidis” for prestige many for the build quality and reliability!
typical VW owner, thinks the world of VW and the rest are rubbish. Learn to value good stuff and this car is indeed a breath of fresh air.
Hey dude, can you be more original than to steal someone’s identity? I started using ProDSG and u have to use it? That’s my nick my friend.
Anyways, maybe it’s such a nice nick that u to use it but pls use it with genuine intentions.
I love this new Merc hot hatch. I heard it was produced to compete with VW Golf R. Lovely car. A beauty meant to be driven as a performance car. Check out the interior it’s sweet.
Hey dude, can you please be original and not steal my nick?
All4TorqueProDSG has been my nick for some time. Dont be copycat!
At least better than your always-broke-down-dsg….
Volvo’s are used as taxi’s in Sweden, so are Peugeot’s in France and Protons in Malaysia.. Rental does not mean its not prestigious. In fact if rental companies are having a particular model their line just shows that there is a big demand for the car…
after sale service depends on where you go. hap seng star is much better than c&c. but not cheap mind you. c class service easily RM1k and above for regular service.
hap seng biskut can service Mercedes meh?
aiyo fren…hap seng staris 1 of authorised merc dealer in malaysia la…same as cycle carriage & nz wheels…
please god.
please knock some sense into MBM and get them to sell this at RM170-220k…
u sound like politician
You can expect that but not for the A250.
A200 below 200k maybe can la..
Belief me, new 4 speed Camry is better than this and Vw. Please make your new Camry booking fast, as the Camry waiting list is getting longer n longer ! 4-5months
Hahaha Camry again lolx siapa mau oh?! free also trade it for Myvi,extra money go to travel!
i agree new camry is better. it is bigger. but that’s about it. :P
troll detected
Launch is still 6 months away? Kinda ironic when you think about it, when our closest neighbor Singapore just launched the new A-Class not too long ago haha
what a beauty, and it’s a merc too!
omg love mercs.dun care if ppl call me uncle taste
For E or S class yes you are…but for this, people might think you are somebody mistress or mama’s boy
booo…satria wannabe..keke
Satria is not even close boy… Go back to your bed.
Satria tu kete murah je…
Pls don’t compared with rich man car Mercedes Benz! also that ugly and cheap car GTI came with silver color and 1.8 engine is Golf GTI wannabe but fail!
do you mean the Satria starts the genre of hatchback..?? hahahahahaha.. *facepalm*
oh, sejak bila dah beli satria yang hebat tu…cun..
I thought you masih menunggang the modified kapcai lagi..wah..dah upgrade pun..
Simply cantiq.
And the figure is sweet, 6.6 only.
If A200 is at RM180k, a lot of crony car companies will membantah and meminta pertolongan ah gor to increase the price, just wait and see if somebody win this time.
who cares about 6.6, can it do 30km/l with that?
heard going to be launch near june this year…
the BEST or nothing …
in 6 months time?
there’s a hope for any Price Reduction, I think.
i thnk this is related o Petronas Promo Contest…the main prize is the all new A-Class..
Brapa ringgit agaknya benda nih lepas tambah cukai import dan excise? Paling murah jadi la.
Oh man! It’s finally here and no doubt this baybeh deserve it’s spot to win in this year COTY however it eventually got beaten badly by the new Golf. haha! Never the less, one of the most nicest looking luxury B-segment out there. I wonder if we’re going to get the top of the line A 250 BlueEFFICIENCY with the “Engineered by AMG” trim here cause the 18″ alloy and diamond grille is really sweettt!!
It looks good, but practicality and functionality lost to the Golf. Still it’s the best looking hot hatch of the bunch.
The A class is not in the B-segment, it’s in the C-segment, just like the BMW 1 Series, Audi A3 and the VW Golf.
demm! the torque kicks in as if it’s run on diesel.
..eyes catching..built to be bold and tough
Don’t care. I am buying for the Emblem and not uncle looking. Probably Aunty will fight to drive.
Singapore just launched one day ago….later would be us! Mercedes sales consultant here told that the price is RM18x,xxx…A200 1.6, damn good spacy and luxury.
It is a dilemma for MBM.
Too cheap, sudden increase in sales too much, good, but if not ready and sc cannot cope, will lose reputation on afersales, and the worst, loss the trust of customers in E & S classes.
Really? Sound Great for the A200 price Rm18x,xxx ! Does any one know the Official Launching ?
Shld I stick to my 3 series delivery in april or get this beauty?
I suggest stick to the 3 serious F30….cause its gorgeous handling!!! Which do you order, 320i or 320d?? The 320d is really fun to drive, cannot deny!
316i coming soon…too :-)
ok going to cancel my MK7 and order this
dont cancel yet, wait until the price announcement first. what if the price starts at 220k? i dont think someone who considers to buy a golf gti can fork out the extra 20k
B class is around Rm230k so A class should be around Rm180-190k
To-Harlem, Thank you for making the right decision
Go to hell with your status quo!!!! Merc price should go lower, so, lots of people can enjoy their quality!!!
STATUS QUO?? with the expense of all rakyat $ being channel to you know who pocket. Let’s make it a free market for the consumers!
Try to rear a brand-new C-class yourself, tak payah cakap brand-new S-class dulu. And if you are buying a car for normal use (you don’t have large cars in your garage, I bet you will choose Jap D-segment at its price bracket). This A-class is still for relatively rich people ok, especially if you see an 18-year old girl driving it.
Spending RM200K for an entry level Mercedes Benz is a lot of money. I dun see no class in that.
Can I have some what you smoking bro..
does it matter whether u increase the price.. in crony land, majority of those with the money are the ones who are classes..
remember guys before u start going all red on me i did say majority..
wait la until PR take over putrajaya..sure this car will be cheaper..RM100k OTR!
haha … cannot be la .. u think PR no need to makan mehhh … cheaper 5-10% maybe la
ya lor.. tan sri khalid said that manifesto bukan janji maa…
it’ll will be around RM70k and replace all vios, city, preve provided 7 years loan tenure still in place… just make sure you vote for it……
Real A-Class!
S-Series from Juara Kampung No. 1!!!!!!!
The standard of English is so bad even “creeping” into this Juara.
Alphabets – A to Z are considered as classification of size, type, class or the like. so it is “Class” is more appropriate in combination f alphabets. A Class, B Class, C Class, E Class …..
Numeric – numbering normally related to Siri – like 3, 5 or 7 Siries. WTF, even Juara Kampung No. 1 to copy “S-Series” also don’t know how to copy properly!
Hoping that pricing not too close to Merc B and C class…
CLA also is a good alternative to the A class… Its a sedan, with a boot…
Highly doubt the A250 will be priced under RM250k…but the A200 should be priced below the B200…possibly RM200k and hopefully comes with the iPhone drive kit.
As for the CLA…harap2 MBM bring both CLA200 and CLA250 as this model is more expensive compared the A and B class so starting price sure above RM240k…sigh
it should be same price as B class, foresee starting from rm220k for A200, A250 should be higher :( … but i’m still getting A250 …yeah … faster launch plsssssssssss … cant wait
i still prefer Lexus CT F-sport… at least for the quality in long run..
Lexus? I can 90% predict your status already, go ahead. There is also such thing call what CT200h is it?
haha… only the smart consumer will buy ‘product’ , while ppl like u , or i shall call dumbass will buy ‘brand’ …. i mean when u can affort any of them.. :) peace…
yo!dumb ass…it’s a mercedes…known for the reliability and build quality…
Lexus for comfort and reliable and also “Made in Japan”.
Benz for Sporty and looks.
These 2 might be the same but different, decide yourself.
this one is to be flange beside f1 car and will be showcase at KLCC.check the f1 promo from petronas Motorsport.i read it in my email though
Volkswagen Golf Killer is on the town now!
kasi tukar ini kerajaan satu kali.
tukar kerajaan pun ko tak mampu punya…jadi soreloser la lu mat….duit tak de nak pakai masidis!
Hopefully satria neo ( 5 doors) will look nearly like this in de future. Very-very sure sell like “goreng pisang panas”.
Finally, this beauty is coming here. I cant believe. Price it around RM200k, I think people will still buy it. This is definitely better than that overrated Lexus CT. It would appeal to some rich youngsters too.
looks like kereta kena tarik. . .haha
but seriously a Nice Looking car. . .=)
what a beauty….er anyway where is sam loo? toyota roadshow eh?
Saw the add in the Straits times SG yesterday, magnificent car..
Hope the car price goes down when Pakatan takes over.
I am hoping the price be around RM150K when the price of Camry goes to RM100k
probably sell at Lexus range of RM170K.
Anthony, I think the single bar grill belongs to the Engineered by AMG version n not the Sport version. Try taking a look at the UK brochure.
I say..
Bring on Volvo V40 T4 and T5 :)
again..how much it would could cost if pakatan’s win?..hmmmm…poor people like me waiting for that
Mercedes A250 Sport:
Power: 206hp @5500rpm
Torque: 350 [email protected] to 4000rpm
Subaru Legacy Wagon 2.0DIT:
Power: 296hp @5600rpm
Torque: 400 Nm @2000 to 4800rpm
Nice fight
cannot compare between hatch and sport wagon
OK PUT IT IN THE:
SPORTS HATCH PRESTIGE category !!!
Price Guessing:
RM 288,888 OTR with Insurance
Vw should fire the chief in the Look Department
waahh! I will buy this car and keep it at the porch. Wash and polish every week. My daily commuter still a kancil 850.
Can’t wait !!
The comments made by most is unbelievable.
Paul Tan took the trouble to relay the news, take it as information and if you like it /don’t, make a proper constructive comment.
A HOUSE OR A MERC…
This is the most A200 mercedes ever made. Exterior is New design flat fender and interior connected to
i-phone…not samsung S3 or blackberry z10