Mercedes-Benz A-Class: W176 wins the beauty contest

aclass 1

Mercedes-Benz’s new A-Class continues to bowl ’em over. The W176 has picked up another award for its winsome looks. More than 100,000 car fans from 52 countries voted in the hatch as “The Most Beautiful Car of the Year 2012.” Voting was carried out via seven mini websites, provided in various languages by the TV channel Eurosport.

The public vote has been held since 1987, and this time votes were accepted between Dec 6 and January 20. It’s not the first time the car has bagged an award for its progressive design – the car was named “Germany’s Most Beautiful Car” at the 2012 AUTO BILD Design Award.

Malaysians wanting one will have to be patient that bit more; word on the grapevine is that the car is due in here sometime in the third-quarter. It’ll be after the W212 E-Class facelift, which is set to arrive somewhere around mid-year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• carnoisseur on Feb 04, 2013 at 11:15 am

have to see this in flesh to really see what it looks like

• I.ME™ on Feb 04, 2013 at 11:31 am

It is definitely a great looking car, but in my eyes, why does the Tesla Model S look better, and my winner.

• ABTguy on Feb 04, 2013 at 11:38 am

Don’t know why Mercedes Malaysia keep us waiting for the launch of this model. If they want to win the number game, A-class is the model to go.

On the other hand, the E-class might not be in such a hurry. Replace the 1.8 litre engine to a 2.0 one, price up I think.

• ernest on Feb 04, 2013 at 11:49 am

ya, this w176 A class launched in germany since July’12 … even taiwan/hk already launched in Dec’12.

how can malaysia c&c so slow? sad ~~

or is there any benz accepting booking for this a class? :(

• droll on Feb 04, 2013 at 2:07 pm

maybe because they want to clear stocks first? and set up assembly facilities? i think this A class will be a hot seller if priced below the B class pricing.

• Jimmy on Feb 04, 2013 at 5:31 pm

That is what all Malaysian car distributors are doing, isn’t it? You signed up for x number of CKD packs specially produced to you suiting the features you prespecified, you need to clear them. Otherwise, you lose money. So you either ask you salemen to work 365 days with weekly roadshows or you sell the same model for 15 years.

• Abg Long on Feb 04, 2013 at 12:24 pm

c&c so slow

• zebulun on Feb 04, 2013 at 12:26 pm

this is beauty???

• powershot on Feb 04, 2013 at 1:03 pm

what about the volvo v40?

• Joe Radzif on Feb 04, 2013 at 1:36 pm

who is the contender?

• tricycle on Feb 04, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Beautiful, as long it seats below RM 200k. More than that it becomes fugly.

• A Class deserved this award! you’ll be blown away after seeing this in real, saw this last 2 months in Europe and its just spectacular

• Toffeeman on Feb 04, 2013 at 3:08 pm

I can see Mercedes management does think we are the priority market unfortunately.

• Toffeeman on Feb 04, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Does not I mean ….error

• Jimmy on Feb 04, 2013 at 5:32 pm

Pretty girl.

• seancorr on Feb 04, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Aww shucks I guess MBM wants to bring in the hot selling e class first since the e class was launched after the a class. I bet they expecting slow sales for the a class here…hopefully the car comes with the iPhone integration kit!

• WAIT...WHAT?! on Feb 04, 2013 at 7:18 pm

pretty than myvi

• Laksmana on Feb 04, 2013 at 8:30 pm

This to me is the rich man’s Myvi … or is the Myvi the poor man’s A class …

• sorry….I don’t like it.
    Mercedes, BMW and Audi only suit for SEDAN.

• Jonathan Lee on Feb 05, 2013 at 1:19 am

Meh.

At least this one’s not so bad-looking. The AMG Sport models, though, are horrible, as if someone put the clay model in the oven for too long and it melted.

If I knew this competition was open to public voting I would’ve voted for the Renault Clio in a heartbeat.

• PauCharSiew on Feb 05, 2013 at 12:16 pm

How is this pretty? Seriously

• can’t wait for this car!!
    i want to buy two. one for me and one for my lovely wife.