SPIED: Mercedes-Benz A 200 seen at JPJ Putrajaya

mercedes-benz a 200 2 spy

The teasing of the W176 A-Class continues. This time, thanks to reader ApexKit (who gave us the initial pix of the Peugeot 208), it’s the Mercedes-Benz A 200 that has been caught undergoing type approval evaluation at JPJ Putrajaya, pretty much confirming that both the A 200 and A 250 Sport – which was spied earlier this month and then seen on display at the KLCC – will be the point-of-launch models for Malaysia.

The Jupiter Red A 200 BlueEfficiency seen in the photos is an entry-level Style example, which looks rather plain compared to the A 200 examples driven in Slovenia, which had an AMG Sport kit slapped on, complete with 18-inch wheels and twin-pipe exhaust; you can see the differences between the cars from a rear perspective here. Guess if you want it sportier, it’ll have to be the A 250 Sport.

mercedes-benz a 200 spy 1

The A 200 is powered by the Camtronic-equipped 1.6 litre M 270 DE 16 AL, with output numbers being 154 hp at 5,000 rpm and 250 Nm at 1,250-4,000 rpm. The A 250 Sport, meanwhile, has the 2.0 litre M 270 DE 20, which offers 208 hp at 5,500 rpm and 350 Nm at 1,200-4,000 rpm.

Doesn’t look like it’ll be too long now before the pretty A-Class arrives in town, and it may well be before the September date intimated earlier!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • It looks nice but the A250 sporty version looks even better!

• Mat Global on Apr 01, 2013 at 11:55 am

How many cars in JPJ are given as Ang Pau to the people who approve these cars? I am sure every car company must allocate at least one model to be given to the big man of JPJ as a token of appreciation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
        • niceone on Apr 01, 2013 at 1:30 pm

dude, you are watching theory conspiracy videos too much. with that kind of thinking, you should have changed your nickname to Mat Kampung instead.

• hindo on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:46 pm

hold my pocket until after GE

• WHY?! on Mar 29, 2013 at 1:33 pm

the rear end looks like any other jap car… What is wrong with you Mercedes, where did your striking car designs go?!?!?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 65
    • Carnoisseur on Mar 29, 2013 at 2:11 pm

you cant tell one car from another nowadays ,its lost its germanic roots !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
    • beatnik on Mar 29, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Actually, it looks like the new Kia Rio.. so kimchi looks like german now.. ok wat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • You sure bro? The recent jap rear end seems like totally being rear ended by some other cars. This one is way better.

• How Much?

• BlackBJQ on Mar 29, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Without the front grille + emblems, hardly to guess it is actually a Merc..

But i love it!

• RM 190k should be best..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
  • Gracke on Mar 29, 2013 at 3:10 pm

All the hot hatch competitor, good looking beauty! Wondering, why still need to wait too long to launch.

• If dun compare other brand, this is d best A serie Merc, d rest look worst than this.

• Jimmy on Mar 29, 2013 at 4:06 pm

To me, B-class interior is rather cheap albeit still better than some Jap D-segment vehicles. Hope A-class interior is more upmarket. Sometimes, pics can be misleading, have to go and have a look.

• People would go for this rather than the B class, just my opinion.

• BMW Fanboi on Mar 29, 2013 at 6:01 pm

Preve is still a better car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
  • frenzyaustin on Mar 29, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Red definitely won’t suit this car at all! The red colour hided some curve on this car and make it looks boring and dated. If switch to Grey, White or gun metal colour, it definitely looks much better.

• Fahmi on Mar 29, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Could do with a more striking rim design and darker colour…. But this W176 A-class looks good, though I prefer Audi A3 more…..

• maybe preve hatch back lamps look like that

• old dog on Mar 30, 2013 at 12:54 pm

there is A180 also..

I bet this car will be 200K, and the A180 will be 180K..or only available by NAZA recond car.

• InsertYourName on Mar 31, 2013 at 4:36 pm

my goodness ! those rims is pure sadness !
    A250 Sport / AMG is much much better imo

• InsertYourName on Mar 31, 2013 at 4:38 pm

my goodness ! those rims is pure sadness !
    A250 Sport / AMG is much much better imo
    it better be < 170k

• gOOsh on Apr 01, 2013 at 10:45 am

kereta ni, kalau banyak duit boleh la kira2 nak beli… kalau tak, pakat komen aje la kat paultan nih – jadi keyboard warrior… :)

• KingPin on Apr 02, 2013 at 4:34 pm

A250 is a lovely car!

• atz1999 on May 02, 2013 at 4:15 pm

i just call merc benz kl and they are not sure the price and plan to launch middle months pf this year…
    at the same time i call hap seng dealer the price for A200 will be 200K++ and A250 will be more than that