Proton Preve Hatchback – a sketch of the rear

Proton Preve Hatchback

We’ve seen a number of spyshots of the upcoming Proton Preve Hatchback in the past few months – in March, April and May – all of course with the front and back of the test mules clad in the usual fashion.

There’s a leaked photo that’s been going on the Net showing the car’s rear, likely snapped during an internal showing – based on that, rendering wiz Theophilus Chin decided to come up with this one.

He explains that this looks more like a sketch than a rendering, “not my usual standard or quality” being his words. He explains that he couldn’t find parts to paste onto the Preve sedan, so he had to air-brush most of the rear diffuser and tail lights on in coming up with the Preve Hatchback render.

Nonetheless, it gives us a view of what to expect when the final product eventually breaks cover, and you can compare it with his original renderings of the car here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• koochai on May 29, 2013 at 12:11 pm

cedok design a250

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 106
    • Green on May 29, 2013 at 1:06 pm

this have been circulating::
      Theophilus rendering is based on this.

http://i.imgur.com/LbBlsWY.png

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • Ugly as usual and the rear taillight is like the new Skoda Octavia Wagon! exactly!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 64
    • Dr M knows Nuts on May 29, 2013 at 10:18 pm

what the, haven’t they launched it already??

I bet you by the time its out, the life cycle of Preve is probably due

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • pirlo on May 29, 2013 at 11:56 pm

normally, it takes 5 years for a model complete cycle. do the maths, from the launching date until this coming august, will it reach 5 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
        • Bravado on May 30, 2013 at 7:51 am

But the world moving past Proton. 5 years in automotive basically like 50 years too late in dog years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 32
          • TrickTroll on May 31, 2013 at 9:27 am

That’s because you’re a dog.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 8
    • Amir Mohd on Jun 06, 2013 at 5:06 pm

I’m not really into this what they call “car craziness” , design , engine type.. etc .. but what i can see the design is quite cool . When people say ‘cedok’ design , a lot of model out there not only from Proton can be considered “cedok” . They put a lot of effort there .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • arulkay on May 29, 2013 at 12:28 pm

i think there is horizontal silver plate/wings at the back like in persona…..

• dewaSemut on May 29, 2013 at 12:29 pm

So bored looking at too much of spyshots, renderings and sketches… Show us the real thing laa, Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 11
  • Haha noob on May 29, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Sounds like theo trying to reestablish his rendering mightyness with this post. Pfft.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 43
    • Blabla on May 29, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Critics are a bunch of people who can’t walk the talk. Theo’s work or anyone’s in that matter should be respected. As long as there are no plagiarism. And if u wanna criticise someone, make it a positive one. Malaysians are well known for degrading people. Seriously sick of it. Malu sikit la wei…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 8
  • leonardo on May 29, 2013 at 12:32 pm

If this is true, it’s quite nice! Looks continental. But needs more power!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 16
    • It’s good enough if the faster version can do around 8 secs in century sprint

• encik boss on May 29, 2013 at 12:36 pm

front = preve
    rear = merc a200
    hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 36
  • RedLine on May 29, 2013 at 12:36 pm

That looks good! I hope the real thing looks as good as that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 13
  • You can already see the actual rear end if you Google image search ‘preve hatchback’ and keep a lookout for a particularly BLUE example…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • sepul on May 29, 2013 at 12:43 pm

It does look like the new A Class at the back. Not that its a bad thing, is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
  • i like it if the rear light more slender

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Yawnn on May 29, 2013 at 12:58 pm

B.O.R.I.N.G

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 70
  • bolehland guy on May 29, 2013 at 12:59 pm

almost there..
    more or less the same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Ahmadfaris93 on May 29, 2013 at 1:14 pm

Looks like a retarded C-class wagon. A really retarded one.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 30
  • old dog on May 29, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 145
    • RedBeanBun on May 29, 2013 at 7:47 pm

This result shows Pakatan will never going to win GE, since most Msian here does is not result oriented.
      Btw, Proton is Cronies company whom also increase the sugar, roti etc. But I guess most people is ok as long as fish is given, since they dont want to compete.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 61
      • Blueberry cake on May 29, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Red bean bun or Red bean army? This is not a political forum ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
      • commiewannabe on May 29, 2013 at 11:23 pm

lets buy tan chong greatest product then
        the almera which has a very stylish n high class look
        tan chong is not a cronie company
        its our comrade company therefore we must support dunt we?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 36
  • new rim please…”sigh”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Not Again on May 29, 2013 at 1:33 pm

Looks like a 2002 Kia Rio – Bland

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 20
  • Can’t deny, this is good looking car if design like this, look like satriA might hav prob with its market if this ride launch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
  • rakyat on May 29, 2013 at 1:53 pm

this is nice… the blue one was ewww

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Ugly rear light design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 36
  • Abg Long on May 29, 2013 at 2:17 pm

simple n nice. i like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
  • A little bit mod become A250………..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • sammyloo on May 29, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Isn’t that satria?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
  • Really has some hint of Skoda at the rear, not bad actually, it compliments the nicely desugn front-end of the preve than, in my opinion, the half done arse of the sedan, which to me is one of major drawback of the preve’s design. Thou I’m not liking the curve rear glass like the one found on the Kia Rio.
    I saw one of those covered test Preve hatch on the NKVE a week back and it looks like it had a full on LED DRL not the half-bright ones of the Preve sedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
  • Johnny on May 29, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Time to smoke Golf GTI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • George Kim on May 29, 2013 at 3:22 pm

i tot i just saw a Spectra. Sorry, i’m just boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • narakka on May 29, 2013 at 3:25 pm

Compare with A250??nice!no more dugong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • yahoo….

another cheap tin milo car for rakyat!!!

Thanks BN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 113
    • pop, totally agree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
      • kevlar on May 29, 2013 at 9:54 pm

1.8GPa is not tin milo. It’s much tougher than cheapo japs cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • hello on May 30, 2013 at 4:27 am

A tin milo which its sedan form scores full 5 stars for ANCAP crash test ? Go pop your brain with a gun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • KiaLover on May 29, 2013 at 3:31 pm

Woah..design so good meh…those who buy sedan version must be butthurt..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • need not to show if its not you usual standard / quality lol.. notin creative but just make up some other models with another.. pity!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Joe Radzif on May 29, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Bigger wheel please….
    he he he

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Abg Long on May 29, 2013 at 4:26 pm

simple n nice. price? that is for me the most important right now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • its just OK to me.
    preve front grill is still the problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • rally_fan on May 29, 2013 at 4:33 pm

not the most original, but far better than the rear of the sedan currently.. IMHO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • gOOsh on May 29, 2013 at 5:05 pm

i think current preve is a good car… only on quality issues which proton need to really stress into…
    anyway for this hb, i don’t like its rear looks…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Mat Global on May 29, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Honestly, Proton Preve is good to drive. Quality has improved but need to further improve in interior refinements.
      I don’t think i can go back and drive the several Jap. brands that i have been. Ride and handling is simply european and is very comfortable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
      • Bravado on May 30, 2013 at 7:54 am

You are the king of your own fantasy lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
        • Preverians on Jul 21, 2013 at 10:06 pm

What fantasy? i own a vios and preve. preve ride and handling is far better than jappy cars. even the performance is astounding compared to jappy cars.

• Peter Fryer on May 29, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Chris Bangle please come to Proton lah as new chief designer…gaji nanti boleh runding

• meng meng on May 29, 2013 at 5:37 pm

Why dont proton give us the preve like the KLIMS 2010. That one more more nicer thhen current preve.
    Bukan masalah tak pandai design, masalanya bagi kita design yang kurang cantik.
    Any one like the KLIMS 10 version?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Preverians on Jul 21, 2013 at 10:08 pm

yup.. at first i think preve is tuah… but it is not actually…. preve development is far older than tuah. if im not mistaken…

• mahasiswa on May 29, 2013 at 5:49 pm

nice…go proton go.prove ur self.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
    • Bravado on May 30, 2013 at 7:46 am

Preve sales in Australia March 2013 only around 43 units…bravo

• S.Roma on May 29, 2013 at 6:17 pm

walao…

Theo chin is better at designing la, seen the actual 1, for me, it sucks la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • jeremy on May 29, 2013 at 7:45 pm

You do realize that Theo Chin rendered this based on the actual leaked pic…it just looks different because of the awkward angle of the leaked pic…the real car will look almost identical to Theo Chin’s pic…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • popkorn on May 29, 2013 at 7:47 pm

almost, but nope. i see the car already…

• Nasurudin on May 29, 2013 at 10:26 pm

if they use a Nissan engine,@ MR18 de, i ll be the first to buy this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • b sensible on May 29, 2013 at 10:31 pm

it’s been long overdue…..what’s the special features of the car? leather seats? led screen? rear camera? b787-like dimming window? halogen lamp? esc? ebd? abs? automatic rain sensor? regenerative braking system?…these shd be std features now…they can’t always go budget…they should create their blue ocean now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • retard on May 29, 2013 at 10:52 pm

Nice design but retard enjin, the enjin should be dual cvvt, timing chain, gdi, turbo for premium model & 6 speed auto or. 6 speed manual gbox. Turbo disel enjin option..then the preve wil be worth it. Also maintain low selling price.

• MrDDR on May 30, 2013 at 12:01 am

Somebody please put exros just like civic mugen rr. left and right.

• Proton38 Türkiye on May 30, 2013 at 2:27 am

Proton is very slow.
    Competitors are far away, sorry proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • hello on May 30, 2013 at 4:31 am

So, what type of carrot you feed to your donkey in Turkey which makes it much faster than this PROTON?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Proton38 Türkiye on May 30, 2013 at 3:15 pm

i mean in strategy and model line-up..
        you must not be agree..

• Bravado on May 30, 2013 at 7:57 am

Perhaps Proton should become antique car company…re-assemble any past popular model eg. Nissan Sunny 120Y…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • national car lovers on May 30, 2013 at 10:15 am

I like this car but sayang proton are controlling by DRB..too much controllinglah don’t so kedekutlah..I can see proton workes are works to hard to built the car but DRB have to improve in terms of commercialization and market to make the customer are interested and trusted of the quality proton cars..

• national car jokers on May 30, 2013 at 12:47 pm

i like it if proton just close shop to end all the rakyat sufferings…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
      • common sense on Jun 01, 2013 at 1:36 am

so the rakyat suffering because they cant buy cheap lexus?

• bonbon on Jun 05, 2013 at 1:11 pm

i think all australia citizen buy lexus, they dont buy hyundai at all. so that why the joker want lexus. FOr further question, ask the joker. tq

• sam1971 on May 30, 2013 at 1:39 pm

A car’s design depends very much on one’s perception of aesthetic.Personally I think the hatchback is quite pleasant at the rear.Technologywise,the Preve can easily trade punches with the best of its peers from the continental,Japan or Korea.Alas, had only Proton could do away with its hit and miss quality issues.

• Sam1972 on May 30, 2013 at 4:35 pm

That’s the problem – Proton could never do away with its hit and miss quality issues!

• retard on May 31, 2013 at 11:29 am

those who didn’t, agree with my comen earlier are those who own a regrettable proton and they wish their car have the up to date features such as vvt like their neighbor’s vios, forte, almera car and even the p2 myvi enjin also have dvvt, timing chain and so on.

• whyuwannaknow on May 31, 2013 at 12:00 pm

How to beat Korean with the snail speed launching of car? Better go fly kites.

• As I read the comments, something come to my mind. Generally more than 10 years ago in Malaysia, we all have a stereotype mentallity when it comes to continental cars such as Peugeot, Citroen, Alfa, Fiat & etc, expensive to maintain, often breakdown, bad electricals and so on. But the thing is, if you go to Europe during those periods or meet a Europeon here, they refuse to acknowedge that and still insist that their products are one of the best. I wonder when will we Malaysian ever be proud of our own products and stand by it or are we still having a colonial mentallity hovering in our head that everything foreign is good and everything local is “Lowyah”. Proton design the car the engine and manufactured it on their own. How many countries in the world can claim to that. If everything foreign is good, then i think we must be living in the wrong country then. Instead of finding faults, can’t we for once just be proud of our local engineering achievement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • NIEKO on May 31, 2013 at 4:27 pm

well that is the problem with Malaysians ,for them the best car is Vios,Huh pleeeaasee

1)The vios is only sold in 3rd &4th world countrys,If its sold in Europe it will not do well ,it is also not sold in Japan,So what does that say ……
    2)In terms of safety any Toyotas that are made on the IMV platform (Avanza,Vios,Innova and Yaris) will not even get 3Stars Encap,In Europe the only Toyotas they get Are the Aygo,Rav4,Estima/Previa,Avensis and Landcruiser . and did you notice that there is no camry in Europe,well thats because they get The Avensis which may I add is 10 years ahead of the Camry that is sold in Malaysia .I know its hard to swallow but its true .So Toyota has fulled You guys for so long ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • NIEKO on May 31, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Ahh Before I forget dont be supprised when you see the spec that is offered on the Preve HB it might give you shivers,why I say this is because There is some feature that are new to proton ie

1)Hill Start Release
    2)Real DRL lights
    3)Traction Control & Esc
    4)New Enformation/Audio/Navigation system (There are claims that its run by Android Tech)
    5)CFE engine Has been retuned to achive more power

PS :I do agree that the qulity is still far away But Proton always fokuses more on enginearing and safety than Quality which is sad very sad .Will You cant Win em all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • unmanship on Jun 05, 2013 at 4:23 pm

what kind of photo editor used to do this kind of stuff?

• mia farhan on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:57 am

Preve proton hatchback is very attractive .. with protons up global brand

• Abang Iman on Jun 06, 2013 at 6:32 pm

i appreciate what protons is initiating…atleast we Malaysians are able to enjoy cars with various designs in an affordable price… my Exora is doing good.

• Luqman_HKM on Jun 11, 2013 at 11:02 pm

The body styling looks like the Chevy Cruze Hatchback, and I when I mean that it looks nice but I just don’t like the fact they hid the exhaust while the Saga FL/FLX left them exposed outside the bumper. Still, nice though.

It was designed by Italdesign-Giugario

• jondol on Jun 12, 2013 at 2:56 am

I hope Proton Preve CFE can get lowest price than Preve sedan now.

• Usually the sedan is cheaper than the hatchback for most of any car brands

• nikrid on Jul 23, 2013 at 10:54 am

I am the one who indirectly working in automotive R&D. Even though its look very simple, e.g. changing the car boot, but the influence on car aerodynamics, stability and control, visibility is very big. Often concept car drawn by an artist is much more better than the production model. This is because, artist often do not consider aerodynamics and other technical things. When it comes to production, small alteration to the design is needed to improve the overall car performance. The car then must be tested in the wind tunnel (2 or more for validation), CFD simulation and road test under various driving conditions (including under side wind). We also have to remember that in Malaysia we have limited resources compared to some of big automotive countries that have access to supercomputing, efficient vendor etc. that dragged the R&D process. I am pretty sure, Proton is working in their best to serve the nation and high quality stuff never comes cheap. We should learn from Kia.