SPIED: Proton Preve Hatchback testing in Damansara

IMG-20130417-WA0010

Here are some fresh spyshots of the Proton Preve Hatchback, captured by our colleague William in Damansara. Like the previous set we showed you last month, this isn’t a solo sighting, but a group test with multiple units racking up the miles together. There’s also a mule wearing smaller steel wheels instead of the usual big alloys – a hint that there will be multiple specs on offer.

You’ve seen the test mules before – in January, on the 6th, 10th, 16th and 28th – so this photo set reveals nothing new, just another sign that the P3-22A is coming soon.

No one knows when exactly, so in the meantime, have a look at Theophilus Chin’s renderings here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Last year story and spy shot, make no diifer , automotive industries is fast pace, proton still test a same boring preve

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 33
    • BMW Fanboi on Apr 19, 2013 at 11:19 am

Preve is still a better car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 66
      • Jimmy on Apr 19, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Tidak dapat beli engine rocket, tak apa, engine kereta pun boleh beli, asalkan bagus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 88
      • Jimmy on Apr 19, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Malaysians still have not realised that they have been cheated the past 25 years. Remember in the 90s, you can buy a brand new Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. In UK, the same Corolla was about 6000 pounds. Today, the same Corolla in the UK is about 9000 pounds (inflation). But here, the same Corolla has jumped to RM120,000. And not CBU Japan like the 90s but CKD Msia.

Vote wisely for not only your futur but your kids future! Do you want your loved kids paying non logical prices just to protect Proton?

Jimmy, Mr.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 153 Thumb down 189
        • Rocky on Apr 19, 2013 at 6:55 pm

Pleased refrain from comment if you are not well verse on state cars policy. Checked also cars prices in Singapore and Hong Kong. With our present car prices, motorist are already facing notorious traffic jam daily. Pleased don’t politised on every issue.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 47
          • vincent on Apr 19, 2013 at 7:51 pm

agreed, car prices in singapore is almost double of what we are paying, an audi B8 cost RM290k in malaysia meanwhile cost SGD220k in Singapore. People tend to bring everything into politic. Lets just see how proton can utilise that 2.0L Petronas engine ^.^ Im waiting to buy a new proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 32
          • Audi B8 cost RM290k here,
            Audi B8 SGD220k there.

Here Engineer earns RM5k per month. There engineer earns SGD5k per month. Who’s getting to the B8 faster?

Tell me now, why are we in this kind of state? Do the comparison comparatively (fair and square) and then tell me don’t politise on this. And of course, there is no quick fix to this problem but there are always ways to lower the burden (not just cars) on the new generation while we are on the way to fix it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 43
          • Paul Tan on Apr 19, 2013 at 11:47 pm

The Malaysian engineer, because in Singapore now you need a 40% downpayment and maximum 5 years loan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 6
          • Yep Paul, true and funny.. Other than that hope the other see the big picture.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
          • rosdi on Apr 20, 2013 at 12:44 am

And in Singapore you need COE to drive that brand new car. The COE alone can buy me a Preve here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
        • fazron80 on Apr 22, 2013 at 1:53 am

same argument with free education. those seeking cheaper cars, free education etc will always try to find other countries that suits their stand. giving examples but purposely not mentioning the real situation of the countries they give example of. And then when their point failed 99% will not accept their view is wrong. always wanted everyone to accept their views like a clueless child. sorry bro here in malaysia you might not afford bmw. but every year bmw sales increasing. why? because when you work very hard you can get what you want. our car price might be high but there’s more to owning a car than just it’s price. If want to give example of other countries than compare all aspect of owning a car. Not just its price. then your arguments has a case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • Jimmy on Apr 19, 2013 at 3:02 pm

Anyone ever think why our Government gave us cars with no ABS, no Airbags nor ESP all these years when the price of a Waja can get you a car with all these features in overseas?

Read this and see what a mere RM50,000 can really buy you.

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/opinion/2012/08/16/why-are-malaysian-car-prices-so-expensive/

Jimmy, Mr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 32
        • then why don’t u go oversea. try see the fuel price, salary tax and others. I agree the price can be reduced but no to the extend where u reduce 50% of it. GILA or what? where to replace that money. Why they don’t put ABS ESP etc, coz our ppl don’t bother bout safety. how many ppl wear seatbelts all the time??? DOn’t talk bout ABS, u turning also no give signal. Be proud of your country, don’t like go chow la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 80
        • Turunkan Harga Kereta on Apr 19, 2013 at 4:23 pm

Whoaaah, this article has 5000 people facebooked it and 8561 forwards. After reading this, I am totally convinced, I am voting for PR.

People in Malaysia are getting conned again. For example the Honda CRV 2.4 in the US is about $22,495. That comes to RM66,000. That also you get the real high quality CBU.

In Malaysia, the 2.4 CKD is being sold for RM190,000. Open your eyes and see what your beloved BN government is doing. The car is sold to you for 3 times the price.

In the US, when the car is sold for RM22,495, that includes the sales tax and all the other taxes the government imposes as well as the Honda dealership’s margin. Yes, even at that price of RM66,000, the Honda dealership in the US is making a hefty profit as well as the Government of US is also collecting duties and taxes.

Another double whammy would be, our car is virtually Made in Malaysia to comply with the CKD regulations. Most of the car is Made in Malaysia. Only the engine and one or two parts are really Made in Japan. So, you are paying so much more for a Made in Malaysia car. What is the difference of buying this car and a Proton? Our government initially told us that CKD prices would be much cheaper to the rakyat of Malaysia. So, how come, the price in Malaysia is still 3 times more than the global price of this car?

Who is really making the huge profit? We are obviously overpaying by RM100,000 for this car. Where is the money going? Do we see where the money is going to?

In our lifetime, we buy about 6 cars. If we overpay by RM100,000 per car, in our lifetime, we would have overpayed RM600,000. You would have overpayed another RM600,000 if your wife also owns a car. If you have 3 children, in their lifetime, they too would have overpayed RM1.8 million in their lifetime (assuming they all buy the same CRV). So, just one family alone, we would have given about RM3 million of free money to the government. That is just one family. You times that by say, 20 million people, billlions are gone into the air!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 82 Thumb down 168
          • Ryan L on Apr 19, 2013 at 7:30 pm

That’s the way bratha! Pls vote wisely this time. We want Malaysia to change into a better nation!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 73
          • Anonymous Coward on Apr 20, 2013 at 12:27 am

Yeah, the tax is insanely high, no doubt. But you do realize that much of that tax goes back to paying for your subsidized fuel? While you didn’t say this, I have an inkling that you would also want fuel prices to stay the same, even with the duties being removed.

AFAIC, remove the car tax and fuel subsidies and let the market decide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 12
          • Hadi75 on Apr 20, 2013 at 8:58 am

Remove car taxes….agreed
            Cheaper fuel prices….not fully agreed..better gives market prices so no “seludup2” fuel anymore especially diesel but give subsidies to those that involve in the industries like food, power, transport etc….and lower tax on spare parts so that they can reduce cost of operation which will benefits the people even more…they got no more “alasan” to hike up their prices anymore….just my two cents….

• But is still a ugly car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
    • hang ingat buat kereta mcm buat biskut ka?
      biskut cap ping pong pun makan masa nak buat mesin dia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 90
      • Biskut ping pong on Apr 19, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Dia tak buat R&D mana dia tau…. Dia tau cakap je… suruh dia buat biskut cap ping pong tengok kot jadi ping pong ja… hahaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 61
      • Dude, of course we’re not comparing car manufacturing with making biscuits. We’re talking automotive industries here. Please compare Proton’s productivity with other manufacturers’ productivity and you will see how far we’ve been left behind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • did anyone remember proton turnaround plan in march?

http://paultan.org/2012/12/13/drb-hicom-to-unveil-proton-turnaround-plan-by-march/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Abg Long on Apr 19, 2013 at 4:33 pm

so many spy shot. bila mau kuar ini kereta?

• smile22 on Apr 19, 2013 at 10:01 pm

Betul.. Just launch the car.. Macamlah special sangat..??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • soulfly on Apr 20, 2013 at 2:02 am

sape yang suruh hangpa dok sibuk amek gambar dan jaja dalam internet? proton suruh?
        kalau bole proton x nak kecoh-kecoh kat public yang diorang nak keluar kan model baru since it will affect their current product in market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • if fast come out then many problem u guys complaint!!!! power window not function la, turbo bocor la, engine not enough power la, tayar patah la, no refinement la, to tergesa2 la..etc la……lol

• paparazi on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:40 pm

proton just a name not a brand!
      proton just a name not a brand!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • OMG…Just show us the whole car. No point to cover here and there… Lost appetite on it.

• Any valid reason for prolong in public “testing”? Market behave differently nowadays. Good luck Proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 11
  • Terryble on Apr 19, 2013 at 11:14 am

Wonder how long more they wanna test it?
    But probably will only launch after GE 13~~

From the looks, doesn’t seems like there will be significant improvement on exterior~~doubt there will be any on the interior nor the engine specs

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
  • droll on Apr 19, 2013 at 11:16 am

nice wide back-end…kinda like the current gen mazda 3 hatch back. nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 47
  • Proton Saga Kejayaan Malaysia on Apr 19, 2013 at 11:18 am

Aiyaa, this testing has been featured a thousand times already laa. What is so interesting wor. The hot story is how the non-nationals are systematically killing Proton off laa. You look at the Preve and you look at the new Vios, what’s there to compare? And can someone tell Proton what’s the meaning of LED DRLs? It’s meant to be bright and up to a certain standard lumens. All Proton thinks is that it’s for decorative purposes, just like those fitted on those Ah Beng Wiras.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 12
    • ProtonSucks on Apr 19, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Can you please clarify, what is the standard lumen for the LED DRL, and how many lumen do the protons have?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • dewaSemut on Apr 19, 2013 at 12:39 pm

Preve’s LED light was more towards position lamp and never meant to become DRL.

but i agree it should be DRL, serve the purpose of having it intergrated in the headlight in the first place

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Since when proton have DRL? those led light are positioning light and you want those led light to blind other motorists at night like ahbeng after market led?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • dewaSemut on Apr 19, 2013 at 12:55 pm

Not to forget certain Audi DRLs (not all) is too glaring to the eye laa…
        Btw DRLs is measured in Candelas as opposed to Lumens

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
        • celicazz on Apr 19, 2013 at 2:54 pm

u guys really kills those blind-bashers off… gud job.

those are just nuts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • vrrom on Apr 19, 2013 at 11:09 pm

blind basher tau bash je. buat apa nak pakai DRL kalau buat orang silau je. that’s more or less a safety issue, better use led position lamp

• Anonymous Coward on Apr 20, 2013 at 12:31 am

The new Vios? You mean the one with the rather terrible styling choice (rear) and the same old 4-speed auto transmission? Also the same one without vehicle stability control? A 1.5L engine car with less power output than the Kia Rio’s aging 1.4 Gamma engine? That same Vios?

And you compare that to the Preve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • spyshotX on Apr 22, 2013 at 2:19 pm

to those who are interested in understanding regulation regarding DRLs..

http://www.unece.org/fileadmin/DAM/trans/main/wp29/wp29regs/r087r2e.pdf

• apeng on Apr 19, 2013 at 11:22 am

notice it yesterday at Genting Highlands road.

• that so call opportunity to snap pictures and sent here la..
      please chase the manual transmission + CFE engine if you can….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
      • Hadi75 on Apr 19, 2013 at 1:53 pm

you think proton cfe and manual transmission so powerful that no other cars can catch up ka????maybe he was driving alone….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • itu hang cakap, aku soh kejar shj..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
          • Hadi75 on Apr 20, 2013 at 9:13 am

Sebab hang punya statement mengelirukan….it can go both ways….
            1. Kalo dapat kejar amik la gambar
            2. Seolah2 keta tu power sangat sampai keta lain tak bole kejar… :)

• proton CFE+CFO+CKD+CBU=CRAPS!!!! proton still sampah!!!

• lazyf on Apr 19, 2013 at 11:31 am

Asyik spyshot je.Bila nak launch?hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • I think this preve will be a scrap metal after PR take over, PROTON gone….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 32
      • ruffstuff on Apr 19, 2013 at 2:28 pm

If you are true PR supporters, you wouldn’t make that statement.

Rafizi specifically mentioned that Proton and Perodua will benefit most the reduction of excise tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
        • pirlo on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:16 pm

indeed. a truly shame that the statement came from PR supporter. macai umno ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Vote for Bebas on Apr 19, 2013 at 2:41 pm

PR is not patriotic…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 24
      • than you happy over 10k people joblss including me? it’s that you want?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 13
  • Zapruder on Apr 19, 2013 at 11:41 am

I heard that the cfe engine is using the same parts/materials as the cps or campro engine which is not good since the cfe is a turbo based engine.
    Anyone can clarify this matter?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • ada pernah dengar + nampak crank shaft CFE engine patah tak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
      • Zapruder on Apr 19, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Not yet. It’s less than 2 years old product. I’m sure the early batches who bought preve majority is uncle2 and family man. They probably wont even try to ‘tekan kaw2’ using the S mode let alone the shiftronic thing.
        I’m not trying to condemn preve. I’ve test drive it and it is a decent car. But can the engine handle the turbo for 5-6 years? If the engine built from scratch using all the turbo spec, it’s fine then. But if they just bolt on the turbo to campro/cps engine, that is not good at all. That’s what i want to know. Now i am gathering facts about proton preve before i decide wether to book one or not.

• I’m sure the early batches who bought preve majority is uncle2 and family man–> are you JD work at JD power?

*over 50% new parts due on CFE to torque increase..
          we perform extreme test. You can Google at YouTube how abuse test done. to built car, we need follow homologation requirement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • Zapruder on Apr 19, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Jd work at Jd power? Am not sure what is that.
            50% new parts? Interesting.. thanks for the info u’ve shared. But i’m not sure how to Google at Youtube. Hehe. Juz kidding man. I’ll search for it in youtube and google later.
            Btw, Are u one of the proton engineer/staff if i may ask?

• Zapruder on Apr 19, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Jd work at Jd power? Am not sure what that is.
            50% new parts? Interesting.. thanks for the info u’ve shared. But i’m not sure how to Google at Youtube. Hehe. Juz kidding man. I’ll search for it in youtube and google later.
            Btw, Are u one of the proton engineer/staff if i may ask?

• work at JD Power.. sorry for typo.

• sepuct9a on Apr 19, 2013 at 4:44 pm

You should read the Lotus Proactive magazine issue 43 on the development of CFE, they describe the strengthening of engine parts quite detail to cater the increases of engine load..

• zapruder
          ermm, who am i, sorry, i can’t tell here.
          actually more 50% new parts, i can’t tell the exact number.
          for normal passenger car, hundreds of test were perform. on youtube, you may search ” rough road test”. For engine you may search” high speed durability test”,for engine search ” engine abuse test.”

• looks kinda….dull n boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • wendy on Apr 19, 2013 at 11:45 am

in order this car to sell, must hav 6airbags and all other fancy stuff we can find in Rio, 208 and Fiesta, and must be less than 70k, if not might else well go for those three..

• rifle on Apr 19, 2013 at 11:49 am

the production will begin in the range of mid june-mid july

• the 1st one is sedan, then comes hatchback, after that special edition with chrome here and there…we already know what’s proton future plan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
  • Why hatchback when the sedan can’t even make significant impact on the consumer nowadays?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • sam loos on Apr 19, 2013 at 12:08 pm

qc out…lots of prob with my preve cfe…less than 1 year…i’m not a basher but truly frustrated buyer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
    • Mat Global on Apr 20, 2013 at 12:46 am

Honestly, i’m comfortable with my cfe Preve, though i do agree that the first batch might encounter certain problems which is not uncommon to whichever car new models.
      I believe there will be very much less complaints when the hatchback model is out as whatever technicalities of the car has been tackled and improved.
      On a positive note i have not seen a single Preve break down on the road. There are people who had clocked 60k km and no problem whatsoever with engine, transmission, steering etc.
      Proton is upgrading the quality of fit and finish of the interior to make it a more polished vehicle.

• Peter on Apr 22, 2013 at 10:47 am

My Gen2 also have no problem whatsoever with engine, transmission, steering & it never breakdown bfr. But power windows chg 4 times, car at 50k mileage run with full of jitter sound. Aircond console broken & changed … etc.
        I aspect Proton supporter will come here vote me down but this’s 100% true & impartial.

• The most boring spy shot!!

• please provide us gorgeous spy shoot here. we’re wait from you..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • sepul on Apr 19, 2013 at 12:29 pm

It is best they do a thorough test before launching, otherwise there will be some lemon cars sold to the public. QC must improve. Hope DRB will do positive change to Proton.

• imran on Apr 19, 2013 at 12:32 pm

proton says its different from preve. lets see what improvement they’ve done…

but takes so long lah.. bila nak production.. :-|

• budlee on Apr 19, 2013 at 12:47 pm

with the sedan boot.. it looks kinda wide…

• That day went to showroom and sit into prve back seat, i still feel the same shit!

The interior built, rubber around the door…quality same shit as my current persona. Is this because of the buyer tidak apa attitude so proton also tidak apa attitude on qc?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
  • fourwheeler on Apr 19, 2013 at 1:40 pm

… when ancient perdana replacement coming?

• no idea… too many conpetitor rite now..

pound loose, penny wise.. saga still proton breadwinner..

• crynotear on Apr 19, 2013 at 3:06 pm

I don’t know if I’m the only one feels that Preve is not suitable for hatchback looking. Really ugly. Although, i don’t like proton design much but the current Preve is still better look compare to the hatchback version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • For a national car that sells less than Corolla… tak payah la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Abg Long on Apr 19, 2013 at 4:31 pm

till now, hw many preves dah jual? i think perodua always reveal their sales figure but not proton. personally i don’t see many preves on the road. why?

• kurang lebih 30k unit. Please call customer service to confirm the figure. MAI also can i think.

• darker marker on Apr 19, 2013 at 6:06 pm

testing, testing, testing…….

and still not launched yet?? Its becoming stale news oredi.. Nothing to be excited about.

• whiner on Apr 19, 2013 at 6:41 pm

if got quality problem you complain.. too much testing you also complain… sigh..

• pirlo on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:21 pm

that’s what we call, human being. buat ini salah, buat itu salah. ini kalilah!

• darker marker on Apr 20, 2013 at 10:27 am

testing is good. but you do testing and more testing until this car become so outdated, while other cars moved forward in design and technology….
        What is the point??

Case in point..

A student study 6 years and graduate primary school.

Another students study 12 years and graduate primary school.

Both student graduated eventually.

But….

Which student is better, more capable for the coming secondary education?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Absolute Rider on Apr 19, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Proton has to push harder and come out with new models faster and meeting all the future EU regulations and also not only ANCAP rating but also Global NCAP and EuroNCAP rating standards. Proton has to equip same equipment levels for domestic market too.

EuroNCAP has announced that starting from 2014, Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) will be included in EuroNCAP’s overall star rating. It is compulsory for Proton to install this system for all the models including facelift models and of course for the all new models to archive the 5 Star Rating.

If you launch model late, for sure you will not meet the regulations. Preve archived 5 star rating in ANCAP recently. But in November 2013 and the latest January 2014, it will not get five star once it hit the road in Europe such as in England. So, this Preve have to install AEB to archive 5 star rating.

Make sure (Proton) also install this system for domestic market including the upcoming P3-22A Preve Hatchback (at least for high line variant at first). This system should be ready and in the list even on November 2013 for domestic market. Proton, are you ready for this?

Proton should always keep updating what’s next for EU regulations and NCAP and other automotive standard for year 2014-2016. Some already released by particular organisations.

• Dru-Zod on Apr 19, 2013 at 11:03 pm

Dude, why didn’t Proton send the Preve for EuroNCAP rating when it launched? Would it have failed and 1 star?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • Anonymous Coward on Apr 20, 2013 at 12:36 am

I think I’ve seen you ask this question before. It’s not sold in Europe yet, that’s why. You might as well ask Hyundai why the Equus doesn’t have EuroNCAP. The answer is the same: it’s not sold there.

• soulfly on Apr 20, 2013 at 2:06 am

nak kata hang bodoh, tapi hang penah tanya soalan yang sama ni dalam post lain pasal preve. takde lesson learnt ke?

• Dru-Zod on Apr 20, 2013 at 10:32 am

Hang yang paling bodoh.

“Proton Preve has been developed in accordance with global standards of quality and safety which, in combination with its competitive price, makes it a truly attractive car to own,” he said.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/4/16/nation/20120416222812&sec=nation

kata Global car, ambik semua NCAP tapi takut nak ambik EuroNCAP. Bodoh punya syarikat….tipu duit rakyat. Safety konon. kenapa tak ambik ChinaNCAP terus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
          • soulfly on Apr 20, 2013 at 12:17 pm

encik dru-zod, memang proton dah keluar statement yg preve dibuat utk menepati ciri global standard.

tetapi, utk capai NCAP yang berbagai-bagai itu, model kereta tersebut perlu penetrate dalam market dahulu. sebab asean ada, so dah capai target asean ncap dulu. kemudian masuk australia, australian ambil kereta dah test.dan capai target 5 start australia ncap.

europe dah masuk ke belum encik preve ni? china preve dah penetrate ke sekarang ini?

pabila preve dah penetrate uk, then it is a must for officials of europe ncap to pick the car and have a crash test afterwards to ensure that it is up to european’s standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
          • youbodok on Apr 20, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Mind you proton now under DRB and the test also involves cost, better run the test whenever necessary.

Toyota, nissan, etc safety spec sini lagi teruk kalau masuk EuroNCAP dan ChinaNCAP sure 1 atau 2 bintang je, silap-silap takde bintang langsung kah kah kah

At least preve has 4 airbags and ESC unlike camry lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • Anonymous Coward on Apr 21, 2013 at 9:31 pm

That statement still doesn’t contradict the fact that the Preve is still not being sold in Europe. Your concern that Preve has not undergone EuroNCAP is irrelevant; as I said, you might as well ask why Hyundai Equus and many other car manufacturers why not all of their models have EuroNCAP ratings.

This is an asinine line of questioning. You’re better off questioning why Proton did not include six airbags as per the ones sold in Australia, which did get 5 stars in ANCAP, instead of this strawman of an argument.

• amirad on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Most car companies in the world are heading to Shanghai with their latest offerings. Exciting models (the ones with four wheels) worth salivating. Really really really wish proton could do the same instead of merely launching Preve here and there.

• ryuki on Apr 19, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Everybody forgotten to ask Locoman where is Proton business plan. it was promised in march, april is ending. Locoman, you better resign, wherever you go, the good becomes bad, the best becomes worst just like al-juburi

• Apa la you all marah sangat kat Proton ni…apa apa pun…itu je la keta yg most Malaysian mampu pakai…BMW kalau takda tax pun mahai gak…boleh dapat 80 ribu ka?…PKR menang pun tak kan murah punya…paling banyak reduction pun 10 or 20K aja…lepas tu bagi AP kat Azmin dgn Guan Eng…sama ja no….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
    • Open ur Eyes and Mind on Apr 20, 2013 at 1:05 am

bad things that already happened u choose to ignore, but things that yet to happen u presume it to be taken place as it is..what a saddening life and view you’ve got there..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • KillBox1Alpha on Apr 20, 2013 at 3:47 am

Wow…Preve hatchback…how exciting…NOT…who gives a hoot about this man…syok sendiri aje….another case of bandwith wastage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • muller on Apr 20, 2013 at 4:51 pm

ek eleh belambak je aku tengok preve atas jalan, syok sendiri konon

• tenine99 on Apr 20, 2013 at 10:14 pm

the only one i like is BMW look alike antenna….hehe!

• jebon on Apr 21, 2013 at 12:14 am

that’s because you only like car with 4 gears and archaic engine…hehe!

• TurboGuy on Apr 21, 2013 at 4:45 pm

After all these years, proton is still building and testing a scrap car. Kinda disappointed.

• RoadStar on Apr 22, 2013 at 12:11 am

After working in a particular group and being assigned to its automotive sector, Here is my take on Preve :- Looking at PReve is like looking at a glass half full or half empty….WHY? Cos internally within the group, we knew that PReve had to adapt to the Kia model, (sell euro-specced stuff at low price, and sell quick!!). And contrary to whatever the Press says, Preve is actually a collaboration with Kia Forte OEM vendors (and this would not be a surprise as BLM was a collaboration with Daewoo OEM vendor project with proton). So if u like Forte for what it is, then there’s Preve adopting its success model. And if you loathe Proton for that move, so be it. But I wouldn’t deny Preve is a good value for money car. But I truly pray and hope, PRoton, for all its worth, is actually being managed by Petrolheads who really know what they are doing. Who really know the essence of automotive market. No just some big conglomerate who pretends to be interested in bringing Proton forward when all they care about it just stuffing their own pockets with their own choking sense of self interest and gains.

• Cheap car?? on Apr 22, 2013 at 8:56 am

Don’t reduce car price in sudden. I still having big amount car loan to setttle. No tax means lower second hand car value, insurance cover amount less if accident can be total lost car. Want to buy new car, but still high liability.

• Mamat on Apr 22, 2013 at 9:02 am

asyik test je.. bile nak keluar da.. lembap

• sedap mulut hg baq lembap… 1 model kereta normally takes how long time to built? Perodua copy cat dari daihatsu pon biasa ambil masa almost 2 thn, proton buat from Scratch… but less thn 2 years..

• Nieko on Apr 22, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Ups sorry
    Hey just going out of topic.
    did you guys know that in the USA there is one Proton Satria GTi and two Proton Impian that are located at the Malaysian ambessy. ha bit you guys didn’t know

• this model using petronas eo1 engine?

• Cosmo Artemis on Apr 22, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Can anybody do comparison between PR’s manifesto and BN’s Akujanji on car price? Let’s pick one model e.g. VW Jetta. Let’s say any party win (BN or PKR), the car price will reduce on the next day or will take ages like before?

I challenge all of you to do it with open heart, fair and square.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • sompua on Apr 22, 2013 at 3:56 pm

Actually, Proton just about to become better, then the crocidiles from Khazanah sell it to monkeys from DRB.Then you all know what happen…natural death

• Naiidu Rajj on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:06 am

Based on my experience,I would say that Preve is way better than Perdana and Persona but still it is not up to the global expectation.

• samlok on Apr 25, 2013 at 5:36 pm

preve is very nice to drive, but interior looks and quality is really vomiting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 26
  • Preve’s interior is as spacious as camri or accord but more comfortable just like any European make of the same category.

• spacious as camry and accord???? kah kah kah kah and more confortable like any European cars??? kah kah kah kah kah… Stupid so low dude!!!

• Proton must do something with their Design(current design unimaginative/creative-look bored…. especially preve model) …maybe proton have improved on engine,quality and safety matter…but at the end the appearance come first.

• Sazali on Jul 19, 2013 at 6:26 pm

Dead b4 launching.
    Jazz is only RM74k