Audi R8 V10 facelift now in Malaysia – RM1.25 million

Audi R8 V10 FL-09

Euromobil, the official importer of Audi in Malaysia, has announced the availability of the latest Audi R8. The Audi R8, which first wowed the world at the 2006 Paris Motor Show, was recently facelifted with some technical updates.

The biggest change for the mid-engine sports car is the adoption of a S tronic dual-clutch gearbox that replaces the previous R tronic single-clutch ‘box. Besides being faster, the new S tronic has one extra forward ratio over the R tronic – seven versus six. Shifts can be made via gear lever or steering paddles, and there’s a sports mode and launch control.

The new gearbox is paired to a hand built, naturally aspirated V10 engine with 525 hp and 530 Nm of torque. 0-100 km/h acceleration is done in just 3.6 seconds (three tenths faster with S tronic) on to a top speed of 314 km/h. Not so important for this car, but combined economy stands at 13.1 litres per 100 km.

From the outside, the latest R8 V10 can be spotted by a single-frame grille with bevelled upper corners. The revised bumper features air inlets with three crossbars each. The vent louvres on the sides are finished in matte black, while the engine compartment cover can be trimmed in carbon sigma and illuminated by LEDs.

Speaking of the bright diodes, the R8 now comes with all-LED headlights complemented by new DRLs that form a ‘clasp’ around the lens. Very striking.

Other standard kit include 19-inch alloys, MMI navigation plus with DVD player, Bluetooth, fine Nappa leather sports seats and a 10-channel, 465 watt Bang & Olufsen sound system. You can have one from RM1,250,000 on-the-road with a four-year or 120,000 km warranty, whichever comes first.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ChrisLai75 on Jun 20, 2013 at 5:03 pm

no words for V10 plus eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • The-Richer on Jun 20, 2013 at 6:17 pm

ok.i’m gonna take-out-money from my bank account and book this car
      wish me luck for my new car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
      • Jimmy on Jun 21, 2013 at 9:38 am

Silly car. Better buy Porsche. Brand new C2S only RM950k. More status and gaya. Can pull any chic. This car no status at all. Audi has become a pariah brand in Malaysia because berlambak recon. Every corner got recon. I see more Audi on the road than Honda Accords. You think girls will go for the Porsche guy or the Audi guy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 75
        • Aaron on Jun 21, 2013 at 1:53 pm

I don’t quite agree with “This car no status at all”, “Audi has become a pariah brand in Malaysia”, are you sure this car got no status AT ALL? And are you sure Audi became a pariah brand in Malaysia? Recon because there is high demand in the town. Audi has superb handling, it’s not even pariah. Peace.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
        • Girls go for the luxury bungalow but not the cars…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
          • Poor Guy on Jun 22, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Correction:
            Girls go for the Bungalows AND the cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • @Jimmy dude you talk as if Audi is some generic brand, Audi, BMW, Mercedes, Porsche are all german cars they are more reliable in picking up chicks than your Honda Accords : )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
          • I am a simple man. I see picking up chicks comment, i like.

• jolly_idiot on Jun 20, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Mercedes and Volkswagen is offering 4 years warranty with unlimited mileage.

I wonder if Audi are confident with their product, they shouldn’t cap the limit of 120,000KM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • Johnny on Jun 20, 2013 at 5:38 pm

People tend to push their supercars around. And they don’t last as long as normal cars. So 120,000km is ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on Jun 20, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Our toy vehicles usually do not have high milages per year. If we do not have a few vehicles (5 to 6 at least) at home, we obviously cannot afford 1.25M.

1.25M OTR is reasonable for 3.6 seconds, still affordable for many Malaysians.

Toys usually need moonroofs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Johnny on Jun 20, 2013 at 5:37 pm

RM1.2mil is quite good value. Compared to Lambo and Ferrari. Using Lambo engine oso.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Wisdom on Jun 20, 2013 at 6:02 pm

S-Tronic = DSG is it?
    They say DSG is the biggest engineering flop of all time.. ;p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • Dumbass on Jun 24, 2013 at 12:03 am

DSG is the biggets engineering disaster? Then why is it Ford, Merceds, Porsche, BMW, Audi, Ferrari and many other cars have all migrated to DSG type gearboxes? And why is it DSG is the only transmission in the world to win best transmission awards in Japan, Korea, Europe and America. Sure, allnew techinologies have faults. But as seen in the faulty DSG’s of Ford and VW’s, they are now being recalled and repaired.

• jinjangman on Jun 20, 2013 at 6:04 pm

droooooooling!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • aljabbar on Jun 20, 2013 at 6:23 pm

i am thinking of getting this car in 3 years time, any thoughts?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
    • Alpha on Jun 20, 2013 at 9:20 pm

I’m thinking of getting a rocket ship in 100 years time, any thoughts?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • it not that worth getting this in 3 years time, at that time u can get “something else” probably

• Good luck, I believed you can make it. Doesnt matter what others are saying or mocking. as most Malaysian who comment here usually cant afford ths car. no worries. Maybe by that time, u will get last laugh and also all the heads turning.

• Alvin C on Jun 20, 2013 at 6:56 pm

Hmm… Audi R8 VS Lexus LFA, New from original distributor VS Grey Import from AP holders, which 1 would you choose?

• frenzyaustin on Jun 20, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Lexus LFA definitely, piece of engineering art.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Realist aka no BS on Sep 24, 2013 at 6:05 pm

RM1.25 mil vs approximately RM4 mil car shouldn’t be in the same sentence.

• Don’t see much changes from the previous generation. My next dream car to upgrade to, recond unit should be around RM400k for older model.

• GT-Rider on Jun 20, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Mine smoke it good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • VW owner on Jun 20, 2013 at 10:21 pm

This is for lame guy, real guy get 1199.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • Mugilan on Jun 20, 2013 at 11:29 pm

If you prefer design over engineering, Audi is for you Tony Stark.
    But I prefer engineering over design, so Lexus LFA all the way !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Just curious. Had the Japs already surpassed the Germans in luxury automotive engineering ? And germans is now good at design only ?

• If you look at the result of the Lexus LFA at the Nurburgring 24h race (37th): No.

Mercedes SLS, Audi R8 & TT, BMW Z4, several Porsche 997 & 911 GT3: All finished in front of the LFA.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:19 am

But when you see Japan’s Super GT, all top 3 are only Japanese car, Ferrari, Lamborghini and Porsche can’t even make it on the list. But wait, French FIA’s F1 top winner is Renault engine Redbull, but in real life, what is renault? Did you see that? I’m not surprise if Sepang endurance is win by a Preve in the future…

• Wikipedia: ‘The cars are divided into two groups; GT500 and GT300 (cars with no more than 500 and 300 horsepower (374 and 224 kW), respectively)’

So japanese engineering is to cap the engine output? ;)

• NihonJidosha on Jun 21, 2013 at 8:29 am

Japs engineering is near German engineering in their luxury automotive, but can’t surpass yet, just close call. German win in driving dynamic and fun while Japs win in comfort and reliability. But if you take Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG, Audi’s R8 compare to Lexus LFA, Germans win on paper and looks but when reviewers and test drivers test it on the track, they were fascinated by the capabilities of this car, and don’t forget about the sound.

• Wisdom on Jun 21, 2013 at 8:47 am

Germans now good at giving excuses for a faulty engineering item eg malfunction gearboxes..

• joanna on Jun 21, 2013 at 2:00 am

Meh. Preve is so much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • vee-oh on Jun 21, 2013 at 9:41 am

hmmm quite affordable

• jackchaivoonchoon on Jun 21, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Ha this look cool though.Maybe me I should trade my bmw Z5 for this.

• Why today newspaper got AUDI R8 promotion only RM 550k OTR ????

• GT-Rider on Sep 14, 2013 at 4:56 pm

thats the recond one you idiot.ppl who dont have much money,they tend to buy recond cars but act like rich one.