2014 Mazda 3 Sedan rear end teased – debut soon

mazda3-sedan-teaser

When the the 2014 Mazda 3 hatchback was revealed, it was also announced that it will be accompanied by a sedan version in a few weeks time, and this single photo that we found on CarSpyShots might just be the first view of what the rear end of the sedan will look like.

The shape of the recessed area for the number plate holder is a little different on the sedan, extended a little higher with the top edge forming a connecting line between the two tail lamps. On the hatchback, the tail lamps are connected by a separate line.

The Mazda 3 sedan is shaping up to be quite a looker, don’t you agree?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• This is how Mazda says “Puck You” to Honda and Toyota-san. :D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 175 Thumb down 8
  • Ensco 105 on Jul 01, 2013 at 3:28 pm

One after another!

Year of the car launches indeed :D

If your kid is born this year for sure damn “ong” wannn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • This rear design is full of win…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 2
  • human on Jul 01, 2013 at 3:45 pm

sorry cerato and elantra, your killer has come…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 5
    • BMW Fanboi on Jul 01, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Sorry, K and H. Your design outdated too fast and also your driving experience is bad compare to mazda, which tick everything you got and excel it better, and also tick something you don’t have.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 8
      • If K & H design outdate so fast.. Then what shall I use to describe T & H?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 11
        • users on Jul 01, 2013 at 8:11 pm

their design may not have the ‘wow’ factor, but it evergreen. and easy on eye, hard to see new registered hyundai sonata even elantra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
          • RejimKejamGanas on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Even harder to see new Camry. Saw a few on the road when just launched, now don’t know what happened. There are still many old models on the road. I think most owners realised that the new Camry is a downgrade, not an upgrade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
        • BMW Fanboi on Jul 01, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Sonata is really good looking when it 1st launched, but now it looks awful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • BMWfanGirl on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:49 pm

honey, our preve is still better…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 34
  • shutup and take my money please!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 5
  • abcde on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:00 pm

i will have my downpayment ready when this thing launch.
    i guess this will be worth the penny for this segment car and hoping the 2.0 i-eloop will be under 120k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • C-Seg on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Hmmmm… something big & interesting are coming to shaken C segment… This Mazda 3 hatch & sedan + tomoro launching Kia Cerato…. huhu

• If Mazda can offer 1.6 SkyActiv G on top of existing 2l SkyG only Mazda can think about unseat Toyota or Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Maaajeeedaaa on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Cant wait for mazda5 with kodo design…. a sure hit for sure

• encik boss on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Somehow Mazda3 design not as bold as Mazda6, but i like~!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • MazdaTheAwakening on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Just when T and H thought they have the most anticipated C-segment design and have already kick started their celebration…Mazda came in and “BITCH PLEASE” the new Mazda 3 Kodo! T & H was like WTH!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
  • Yours Faithfully (YF) Sonata on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Depends on how many air bags, bells & whistles and most importantly… THE PRICE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Mazda, thank you for bringing in “sexy” back..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • last month i wanted to buy focus but now waiting for mazda3. I dunno if peugeot 308 comes out wat will happen to me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • frenzyaustin on Jul 01, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Sedan is quite a looker too, but hatchback is the best lookers, just my preference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Prove on Jul 01, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Just what Proton should learn long time ago – to design a proper rear end nicely!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • They did, just that incompetent crowny vendor wanted to “cut cost”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • skyjuice on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:11 pm

is it? I thought that those incompetent vendors have no idea on how to produce a little fancy product?

• lotustune on Jul 01, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Mazda badly need to increase SC & showroom….action must start NOW for this baby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • fatihablack on Jul 01, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Sexyyyyyback…:)

• Mazda 6 designer on Jul 01, 2013 at 6:07 pm

whats the point of teasing since its basically a smaller version of M6.. yamate teasing….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 41
  • Zend3r on Jul 01, 2013 at 6:11 pm

if any mazda SA sees this please PM me

i would like to book this NOWWWW

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 01, 2013 at 7:01 pm

The pricing and specs better be good, or people will get disappointed and many will cancel their booking later. If the recent Santa Fe and Camry are to be taken as examples, people are not kind to be short changed anymore by local distributors.

• Claire Low on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:02 pm

Zend3r: can contact me at 012-2717588

• Proton…pls rebadge this damn car….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
    • RejimKejamGanas on Jul 01, 2013 at 6:55 pm

The only rebadge you can expect from Proton in the future are outdated Hondas. A Supr1ma (Accord) or NamaSiapaHebat (Jazz) is more likely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Zender on Jul 01, 2013 at 9:21 pm

proton, please dont

imagine you have work hard enough to afford non local car and suddenly someone can just paid lesser then what u r paying but drive the same car (except for the specs of cuz)

how sad is that

• Zend3r on Jul 01, 2013 at 6:13 pm

BITCH PLSSS k3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Whatever on Jul 01, 2013 at 6:32 pm

If it’s available in August for booking in USA as seen in the advertisement when it will be available for Malaysia ? What month in next year ?

• If Mazda becomes more popular I hope this will let Bermaz buck up their mechanics’ experience and skill.

• QChan on Jul 01, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Obviously, I’ve not seen the actual new Mazda3 in all its sheet metal, but I suspect it’s gonna be better proportioned compared to Mazda6.

I do find the Mazda6 side profile somewhat over extended as it sweeps from the rear to the front end – by no means bad, but just a little “over.”

I do think a shorter Mazda3 would have the perfect side profile and would be visually pleasing to the eyes – IMO.

I guess I’ll have to wait and see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • all only know how to tok kok say nice nice nice..but when back to reality..all dare not buy..scare no value when sell..LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 19
    • Haahaa ! interesting thought.

wait..you may be 50% correct.
      . Some will still buy nevertheless.

• lepat on Jul 01, 2013 at 8:21 pm

haha.. not so stimmm lorr..
    preve still the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 35
    • r u sure? this and ur preve still cannot beat vios.. percayalah ckp kak ton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • acap_apai on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:46 am

vios is a ugly trash shit….
        hanya orang yang tiada akal sahaja beli pandu kereta vios yng paling bodoh!

• superfai on Jul 01, 2013 at 8:51 pm

Last Samurai…defending Japs car reputation!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • frenzyaustin on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:08 pm

Mazda is doing a great example as a small company like this can come out something impressive than the big company in US or Europe. Toyota, Honda and Nissan should learn from their little brother, who is now independent from Ford.

• acap_apai on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:47 am

agree with you…
      toyota , honda & nissan lost they boshido spirit…

• Kodo…..

• Leslie NG on Jul 01, 2013 at 9:13 pm

coooool!

• One word is enough. Woooooooow!!!

• Very nice, will the Skyactiv engine able to run on RON91 as one Chinese newspaper reported G may be introducing RON 91 petrol…

• Kuinosan on Jul 01, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Looks photogenic but have some reservation on how good the production model will really look. To be honest, I was rather dissapointed with how the Mazda 6 turned out when it was launch as compared to its images prior to its launch.
    Hope Mazda 3 stay true to its concept car looks or else it would be another dissapointment!

• amirad on Jul 01, 2013 at 9:56 pm

I plan to change to a new ride in the next five years when the so called price reduction comes into full effect. This baby might change my mind. Breathless. Kodo design really stirring my emotion. Knock my senses off.

• Enter your name...Anand on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:09 am

Went to Thailand last month.Saw latest accord, vios, sylphy which not in Malaysia yet.And still old version of these cars in our showroom.

• acap_apai on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:44 am

smart guy buy mazda 3 mazda 6 kia cerato 2013 mitsubishi lancer 2.0 gt GTR R35

dumb guy buy vios city civic camry accord bmw porshe slyphy

dumber guy buy ugly shit cr-z

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • gOOsh on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:17 am

a strong competitor to civic, altis, cerato, elantra and sylphy…
    but mazda, please improve your after sales service…

• Gokul on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:56 am

Sweet looking Arse!! :)..

• Mazda: mazda 3 hatchback pictures was released first followed by it’s sedan version a few weeks later
    Proton: preve sedan was launched more than a year ago and we still didnt see the rear design of the beloved preve hatchback

• Zend3r on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:18 am

the arse of m3 is even better then JLO ass

• Mr Ikram on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:49 am

I own the current Mazda 3. Overall, the car is good and I had not encounter any major problems with. However the problem with Mazda is the limited service center and their incompetent mechanics. Also the spare parts is a bit expensive and hard to get. I had an experience before, where the side mirror cost me nearly RM900 and I did scouted around before making the purchase. And the funny part is the service center ordered the wrong side mirror 3 times before managed to get it right.

Hopefully Bermaz can improve the after sales service in Malaysia!

• mazda on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Agree. No major problems at all besides some really minor rattling noise. Problem is the service center. Takes too long to service even on a booked appointment. Roughly about 3 to 4 hours normal service.

• Sam Looser on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:58 am

design is normal only..why u all so excited??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • wait till u see smile front face…rear looks sporty but front face like clown already…

• Better be better spec’ed than Cerato. :-)

• mentari-o-korea on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Downsize from Mazda 6 only, bring more ideas plez!

• Shinnen on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:38 pm

Mazda just needs to work on something. Their M2 and M3 models here do not have skyactiv yet. Meaning, fuel consumption falls short of T & H. I drive a new M2. Happy about everything except the fuel consumption.