Move to suspend licences of errant drivers proposed

polo-action

The Transport Ministry is planning to suspend or revoke the licences of errant motorists who endanger the lives of the public, according to a report by The Star.

Deputy Transport minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi told the daily that his ministry is proposing tough new measures that could allow the Road Transport Department (JPJ) to act against those with multiple outstanding traffic summonses, even before they go to court.

The move is a response to the recent major Genting Highlands bus accident, in which 37 people lost their lives. The driver was found to have 16 outstanding traffic police summonses – 15 for speeding and one for road obstruction – but continued to drive as he was never prosecuted.

“MIROS (the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety and Research) has been directed to chair a meeting to look at ways to remove immediately from our roads errant drivers who pose a threat to public safety,” Abdul Aziz told reporters outside Parliament.

“MIROS will come out with the mechanism to implement the stricter measures with the Road Transport Department (JPJ) tasked with enforcing it,” he said, adding that JPJ could suspend or revoke the licences of errant drivers who have yet to be ‘blacklisted’ following court action.

A driver is ‘blacklisted’ if he or she accumulates the full 15 demerit points under the Kejara Demerit Points System, says the report. This prevents the driver from renewing his or her licence. It is understood, however, that the demerit points can only be recorded either after the driver has paid outstanding summonses or after he or she is found guilty in court of the violation(s).

“As of September 19 this year, there were 72,316 Commercial Vehicle Licence holders who have records of multiple outstanding summonses based on JPJ records,” Abdul Aziz said in reply to Kalabakan MP Datuk Seri Abdul Ghapur Salleh in Parliament, adding that the driver of the bus that crashed in Genting could not be ‘blacklisted’ as proceedings to prosecute him were not started.

Abdul Ghapur had earlier lamented that reckless drivers were not being acted upon. He urged the government to allow JPJ and the police to take immediate action without the need for a lengthy court trial.

The deputy Transport minister said that issues such as low bus driver wages would be looked into as a contributing factor to the high number of accidents as suggested by Ipoh Barat MP M. Kulasegeran. He opined that bus drivers’ wages should be based on fixed income instead of the number of trips.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• its about time…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • and please take action against those who like to cut lines using emergency lane. orang lain pun nak cepat. grrr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • Fed Up! on Oct 06, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Aiyah Tokkok only. Action lah!

But then, proposal in their language means getting more money for their ‘projek projek’. Whenever anything happens, ‘tak cukup budget loh’

• Kalunn on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Good way to remove all the assholes on the road

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
  • Fahmi on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:52 pm

I support this move by government… Punish drivers who drive on the road like their “mak bapak” punya road… Inconsiderate to other people’s safety.. Other people also pay tax lah, not just you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Transport Minister on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Suprima owners that like to smoke others take note.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 75
  • There can be 1001 laws but it means nothing without enforcement. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • That scene in the picture looks familiar….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • jolly_idiot on Oct 05, 2013 at 1:24 am

Hangat hangat taik ayam. I remember long time ago also have similar accident at genting and the so call gov tok big wanted implement this and that la. End up no sound no air.

Bus accident is not something new. There’s alot of bus accident involve driver have unlimited summons. But end up how? They’re still driving like nobody business. We are what? Malaysia. We always BOLEH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • OMG…now G only realized? Talk now, listen now, implement later….none…

• nowadays many people pay ‘coffee money’ to get their license, this why they are many reckless driver on the road. this should be eradicate immediately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • jacksonljs on Oct 05, 2013 at 6:22 pm

That’s why whenever i saw ‘P’ drivers on the road, thumb is always standby on the horn button to blow air horn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Not all P drivers, u dumbass. It’s not even impossible that drivers like u who have already on road for 7 years also pay ‘coffee money’ during your test.

• pooyu on Oct 05, 2013 at 8:08 am

just do it…dont talk only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • The worst habits Malaysia drives have;
    1) Tailgating, only in Malaysia you can see driving at more than 100 km/h and 2 car only separated in less than 3 feet in distance.
    2) Cut in front, only in Malaysia you can see driver cut from the left with only 1/3 of their car in front of you.
    Malaysian Boleh !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
    • fatchicken on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:02 am

I strongly disagree. Happening all over the world. Jus some place more often than other u see it happens.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 23
    • kadajawi on Oct 05, 2013 at 11:19 am

No. The worst are those causing tailgating, overtaking on the left etc.: Those who block the right lane. The only reason ever to be on the center or right lane is when there is a slower car on the lane left of you, who you are overtaking with a reasonable speed difference. Being 1 km/h faster is not enough. THAT is where all the problems start. Enforce this rule (and AFAIK it is one in Malaysia and most of the world) and things will get much safer on the roads.

Also, overtaking on the left must be stopped. It will to a certain degree when everyone sticks to the left. The fear of someone overtaking on the left and cutting in in the last minute if you leave a gap big enough is also what causes people to tailgate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 31
      • Because we have people with mentality like you, that is why Malaysia has one of the highest accident rate in the world.
        Do you know how far you need to keep the distance from the front vehicle if you travel at 110km/h? I can tell you it is at least 2seconds or 60meters.
        But in Malayisa, if you travel at 110km/h and keep 10meters distance and is long queue in front, the car behind will cut from the left with on 1/3 car in front of you. This act is very ill manner and only happen in Malaysia.
        Malaysia boleh !!
        You should go to develop nation like Jepun, Canada, Europe and even China, their driving etiquette is way better than us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
        • droll on Oct 06, 2013 at 3:14 am

60m, seriously??

a vios is around 4.5m in length. 60m is about equivalent to 13 car lengths woh. u sure or not? i know u r using the 2s rule but 13 car lengths is a lot man.

• Yes 2 seconds is 60m, do your math. Now you realize how bad is our driving etiquette.

• droll on Oct 06, 2013 at 11:17 pm

i understand what you’re saying mate and i did the math too. but do you have any idea how long 60m is?? what you are asking for is not practical at all. it’s like saying “ban driving” since it kills people. or have the upper limit to speed set at 5km/h since speeding kills. not practical lah.

• 60m is for 110km/h, when the car travel at lower speed the gap is lesser. Yes, in Malaysia it seem impossible, that is why we have so many accident especially during raining time.

• Kelvin on Oct 07, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Yes, 60m.

In Germany, non-urban, non-highway roads are limited at 100km/h. There are vertical indicators on the side of the road which are 50m apart. One has to keep at least 50m distance from the car in front.

• Low Budget on Oct 05, 2013 at 5:08 pm

How to stop overtaking from the left? Can’t you see there are many drivers who hog the center lane at 80-90 Km/H on a 110 speed limit highway? It happens every other second.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • diamjer on Oct 07, 2013 at 5:02 pm

1. there seems to be a habit of cruising on center lane on all malaysian highways.

2. and they normally move with a group of more than 5 vehicle, with speed less than 100 kmh

3. its hard to overtake from the right lane coz the speed junkie will come at you mercilessly forcing you to move away.

4. overtaking the center groupie using the third lane is the most reasonable things to do.

5. the main issue here is reckless driving not overtaking issue.

• b sensible on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:19 pm

cutting in front from left…while i think it’s dangerous…on the other hand, i think it’s the road hogging by the slow drivers…imagine some drivers may “take” their time driving around, but there are drivers who need to rush for important events, and they can’t afford to tailgate the slow cars. b’cos tailgating will also cause accident if the front car stop suddenly! the problem of cutting queue is drivers are driving at different speed and make it difficult to drive here. worse some drivers are undecided which lanes to be driven it. my suggestion is that drivers to decide which routes they want to take & concentrate while driving, no h/p, no stop & go to watch accident & no smoking while driving as smokers tend to drive slower enjoying smoking! if everyone can do keep up good driving habit, then that not so much issue of cutting queue. but it’s msian drivers’ attitude which is hard to change…just live with it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Yes, please enforce. 80% of the kapcai and bikers will be off the road as they are the worst offenders (running traffic light, not using motorcycle lane, road hoggings). And moreover, there will be less smash and grab incident as most are committed by kapcai gangs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
    • kapcai on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:34 am

talking like some rich ass moron. Those kapcai that committed crime probably don’t even own license and road tax. Therefore your argument is not valid. It is people like you who deserve to be punish by law just for being stupid and ignorant. Where the f got motorcycle lane in other state except KL? highways don’t have motorcycle lane. Please don’t be too dumb. Emergency lane is not for motorcycle. Especially not for cars during traffic jammed. Kapcai deserve to be rode on the left lane. But Ignorant like you love to honk and cursed kapcai that is riding slow on the left lane. Just so you know kapcais are not fast. It is people like you that usually ran over people who ride kapcai. The road/highway is not just for cars. Yours license should be suspended because you don’t even deserve one if you think motorcycles should be ridden on the emergency lane.

• diamjer on Oct 07, 2013 at 5:17 pm

on the contrary, please enforce limited personal car entry to the city center.

these bugger contribute to:
      1. traffic jams
      2. air pollution
      3. fatal accident
      4. illegal racing

while not in anyway contributing to the city they drive in. to limit personal car into city are will also benefited city hall in:
      1. parking space can be turned into something that produce oxygen
      2. lesser officer to man the morning traffic
      3. cleaner city
      4. less cost to improve the existing road
      5. somewhat less noisy

• alldisc on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:37 am

its the same old story again.. just like 5 years ago when a tragedy happened.

and just like 10 years ago.

malaysians never learnt.

• RVP20 on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:50 am

Finally….btw what happen with the merit system? Kaput oredi?

• Meesai on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:52 am

Not enough. I would suggest an additional penalty on top of that such as sending those errants back to driving school and do community service.

• jacksonljs on Oct 05, 2013 at 6:33 pm

It’s only applicable for motorists that have few minor offenses. For those motorists commit major offenses for 3 times within 1-2 years, they should just thrown into lockup/jail for few years and min. 3 times of whipping with a glow steel bar

• You mean errant driver continue to drives even got caught all these while?

• ae101 on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:26 am

Same old shit.yawnnnnn….this is malaysia govemen.talk kok the best!!!

• H B Tan on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:46 pm

always tokkok tokkok tokkok ….. how to believe this suspension ?

• roxas on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:58 pm

alot slow drivers like to stuck on the overtaking right lane n refuse to move away when there is a fastcar coming. the only way is to tailgate them to let them know the car behind them wantsto overtake. flashing is useless as many wont see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
    • ah boy on Oct 05, 2013 at 3:54 pm

I bet roxas must be one of those who tailgate judging by his comment. Funny isn’t it? What a solid “justification” to tailgate.

Isn’t using the horn much safer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • That is why Malaysia accident is one of the highest in the world because we have too many roxas in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • enrique on Oct 05, 2013 at 11:49 pm

nope, tailgating dont cause accident. ppl who talk alot with their passenger or on the phone until they lose their concentration and dont even realize they r on the center of 2 lane cause accidents.
          or those who does not signal and simply cut late.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
          • enrique on Oct 05, 2013 at 11:50 pm

tailgating dont cause accident unless the car infront suddenly brake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • Tailgating don’t cause accident?? Do you pass your driving test or not? oh my gosh, now we see do many ignorant drivers like you in Malaysia, that is why.

• powershot on Oct 05, 2013 at 2:04 pm

make it more strict. instead of 15 demerit points, should make at least 3 demerit points just like in China

• bluebird on Oct 05, 2013 at 2:15 pm

I am pretty sure the Transport Ministry employ some consultancy agent with maybe RM330000 to come out with the idea to suspend licenses of errand drivers.
    Malaysia Apa Pun Boleh!!

• Painter on Oct 05, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Kasi ban those who cut queue through emergency Lane.

• jacksonljs on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:36 pm

No use one lah… This kind of motorists that cut queue from emergency lane (it happens all the time without fail in every highway) when there’s a traffic jam, i really hope they smash into broken down trailers/lorries and they can visit to hell straight away or lose their limb if not their head and bed ridden for life

• Chris on Oct 05, 2013 at 3:46 pm

Living in PG, I would love it if the authority let us put dash cams in our car, and just need to submit the video to report another driver. Would like to see the below list being punishable:

1. Run red light, sometime 7-8 cars run red light together.
    2. Bikes run red light when there’s a gap in between cars when the other lane is moving.
    3. Bikes weaving extremely dangerously
    4. Yellow box violation
    5. Cut in lane dangerously without signalling.
    6. Selfish drivers cutting everyone at the side and rejoin the queue/jam at the front, causing more bottlenecks and slowing down everyone.

Imagine every other car could have the camera installed, I bet more and more people will drive safely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • If every car is installed with camera and traffic police make summon base on the video, I think Malaysia gov will be the richest gov in the world and we do not need to pay tax anymore.

• paparadzi on Oct 06, 2013 at 12:12 am

You can install the dashcam in your car, there are no rules against it.

• diamjer on Oct 07, 2013 at 5:23 pm

yes you can report those traffic offender if you got your prove, like the dash-cam or whatever.

• Just ask yourself frankly, are you obeying the law on the road? Speeding, roadhogging, illegal u turn, turn without signal and tailgating are our everyday business.

The fact is 80% (Big Majority) of drivers including those who comment here and who are also the voters, are NOT obeying the law.

If government strict on this, it will cause bad impact on G and issue will be twisted by PR for thier gain. So that is why you won’t see any real implimention or enforcement.

Understand.?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Its a rather good move, but I am sceptical in a few things,
    Firts: will motorcycle be taken into affect, pesonally they too contribute to the majority of nuiscence on the road, swerving in and out and if I am not mistaken, AES is unable to take speed-shots at two wheelers.
    Secondly: Like roxas said, what about those cars that are not driving eratically, but love to do 80kph on the fast lane. In fact on the NKVE most people congrigate in the middle lane as the slow lane is all taken up by motorcycles and fast by people doing 90kph

• diamjer on Oct 07, 2013 at 5:35 pm

first: do city hall provide adequate facility to the bike user? special lane or whatever to prevent these biker from crushing into a bigger vehicle? ride faster or be crushed.

secondly: lets put it this way,”the slow lane, the middle lane & the fast lane are congregated by a bigger mass vehicle and any bike with a contact with them would be fatal”.

when would you road user will learn to SHARE? now everyone is for themself, jungle rule! the biggest eats everyone else

• Sam Loo on Oct 05, 2013 at 6:20 pm

“The driver was found to have 16 outstanding traffic police summonses – 15 for speeding and one for road obstruction – but continued to drive as he was never prosecuted.” – are they slapping their own face?

• Jimmy on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Please do not drive slowly in the fast lanes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • AAM the Best! on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:29 am

This cannot work. We all know why. You can even recklessly knock down someone also, just pay RM50 to the JPJ officer, all will be settled.

Sort corruption first Mr Transport Minister. Clean up your JPJ first. Once it becomes clean, then you can make enforcement happen. You should start with your Puspakom. Everything there need under the table money. Want to sell car also, must pay more than RM500 to make your JPJ guys happy. I once sold my old car for RM2000. But had to pay RM500 for Puspakom approval. I got so shocked. I sold my beloved car for only RM1500!

• QG16DE on Oct 05, 2013 at 11:34 pm

They should issue summonses to those who are driving slow on the middle lane on the highway. Ironically, the middle lane on the highway is the slowest lane followed by the right then left.

• as equally important, the errant bikers too…but the rempits are n a different league when it comes to errant/reckless. Dear transport mnister, you hv any solution to counter those junkies?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • transport minister on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:26 am

sorry no solution.. Khairy is the president of the MALAYSIAN REMPIT ASSOCIATION (MRA).. any proposals are immediately thrown out.. sigh..
      but he has a point we need our votes..

• Citizen on Oct 08, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Yes, once our government implemented ‘social service’ punishment where the rempits will have to plant trees and other environmental activities.. Look how smart our rulers are.. Speechless!!

• Armada on Oct 06, 2013 at 1:07 am

trash talk… The government will not pity 37 lives,… wait until it reaches 37000 lives then action will be made…

• nice plan.. but wake me up when execution..

you can come out with a sick thousand line perfect formula for how a license should be validate.. but ppl can just drive without a valid license.. and don’t talk about they’re eventually get caught soon enough.. if it’s just one accident they cause.. it’s not soon enough.. it’s already too late..

• Since there are so many onboard cameras nowadays in cars, why not let people submit videos recorded for them to asses all this idiots on the roads.
    Cheapest and easiest way for the government to catch these reckless drivers.

• droll on Oct 06, 2013 at 3:18 am

wah, this is a bit like prevention is better than cure. remove the guy even before the judge convicts you. i support removing assholes from the road but these guys already flaunt the law like crazy (i mean see that genting bus driver had so many summonses), what makes u think he will stop driving just bcoz he doesn’t have a lesen? in other words, we need some super duper enforcement.

• Soon bin on Oct 06, 2013 at 4:36 am

Is it the fault of the driver thinking that he will not be prosecuted even with so many summonses of the fault of the authorities for not enforcing the law i.e.the police not doing their job

• justpassby on Oct 06, 2013 at 7:44 am

So 50% of Malaysian driver will be removed under this new scheme… good… less traffic… good… but wait! Does this mean more reasons for people to involve in “rasuah” the authority?

This proposal is certainly good, but before that, what we need is a better driving school system… nowadays it is just too easy to get a license (not to forget about all the coffee money involved)

• Lane tamer on Oct 06, 2013 at 9:55 am

Is the G making the Ill fated bus driver as the scrap goat since he is dead? Why not taking strict action against the bus company? Oh wait, I heard Najib has got something to do with the company. No wonder…

• They should do something about the motorcyclist too… they go where ever they like, any direction irregardless of the rules. as long as they can fit, they will go.

• For Mat Rempits.. dont just suspent, sent them for community sevice for a year or 2.. rather than compound or jail.. atleast they do something worthful for country..

• pelam on Oct 06, 2013 at 7:06 pm

sadly speaking, our driving schools r offering “guarantee lulus” lesen. my wife has just been offered one. juz need an extra $$$

• Don’t worry, just like AES, there will be enough people opposing and nothing will happen.

• slowdriver on Oct 06, 2013 at 7:59 pm

Malaysians always love middle lane. 60kmph at middle line, make your “freeway” jammed. suppose the middle line 100kmph. who want to be slow, please go the left most lane.

• Thoong on Oct 06, 2013 at 11:08 pm

No one will give a shit. Say what you want and go ahead with new laws. Can always BUY one self out ! Talk ku ku. .

• farizY on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:00 am

The root cause of all the traffic problems is DRIVING SCHOOL and LACK of LAW ENFORCEMENT. Too easy to get a driver’s licence here and too easy to get away with infractions.
    Why can’t we follow other countries’ driving curriculum which have been proven better than ours such as Germany. It takes up to one year to get a driver’s licence. The curriculum covers every possible situation.
    Us, even with speed limit; have more traffic collisions than Germany, a country without any speed limit (most of the time at least).
    And talking about speed limits, Malaysians are slow, but very reckless. Some of the infractions; never use signal, never use rear view mirrors, last minute overtaking, tailgating, swerving in and out of lanes at will or simply never use common sense while driving.

• junaidi on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:13 am

hilarious. Its 2013 and now only “move to suspend” licences?
    Kejara system also cannot enforce properly. Pathetic la.

• malaysia is like not enough enforcement doing their duty(maybe majority sleep in their office in working time).jpj should let the motorist driving with dvr record the offender then. .we send to jpj and get paid(a small fee also can) .then then whole malaysia will be driving politely and safely.(all also afraid paid summonses)

• sam loo's psychologist on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:37 am

hmmm does this include women drivers.. muahahahaha..

• Kelvin on Oct 07, 2013 at 5:32 pm

Everyone can come up with a million and one ways to punish errant drivers. However, just 1 word is actually needed – “Enforcement”.

And with enforcement, it must include the following, fair, efficient, transparent and clean.