Improved Prius c to retake FC lead from Jazz Hybrid

Premi Aqua 01

Toyota says that an improved version of its Aqua hybrid (JDM name for the Prius c) that will go on sale next week in Japan will reclaim the fuel-efficiency crown back from Honda’s Jazz Hybrid.

The latest Jazz Hybrid, which went on sale locally in September, is the most fuel-efficient conventional hybrid car in the market, excluding plug-in hybrids. It does 36.4 km per litre in the Japanese cycle, but the new Aqua will top that with 37 km/l, says Toyota. They eked out an extra 1.6 km/l by reducing frictional resistance in the engine and improving motor control.

Toyota will hope that this new round of improvements to its baby hybrid will help it better counter the Jazz Hybrid, which was Japan’s best selling car in October. The Aqua was last revised in May.

The new Aqua lineup will be priced from 1.7 million yen (RM53,544), just 10,000 yen (RM315) higher than the current car. The Japan Times also reported that Toyota will begin selling a sports model of the Aqua for 2.22 million yen (RM70k) from next month. Here’s hoping that it will look like the Premi Aqua concept in the pic above.

At the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show, Toyota showed off four concepts that push the boundaries of what’s possible with the Aqua/Prius c, from a convertible to an SUV-styled version – see all of them here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sohai cb on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:28 pm

So basically Bolehland is getting the car with double the price and mediocre specs? WHAT IS THIS UMW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 40
    • ‘double the price’ very true

‘mediocre specs’ errr…..only car below RM100k(only just) with 7 airbags, and with that, TRC, VSC, cruise control, auto a/c and push button. But since it dosen’t have leather seats I guess it totally counts as mediocre specs.

Truth be told, the Prius line have complimentery specs in the UMW line-up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 59
    • maserattiSuckSam on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:33 am

Umw got to sell their car at high price because they are paying the salary to bodoh sales man like sam loo who cant perform. Not much of salary he got since he is only a junior sales man but problem is sam bdh know how to talk coxk only . To keep this garbage at umw showroom, car price got to mark up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 68
      • maserattiSuckSam on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:22 pm

Now Sam garbage team start the thumb down exercise. Hahaha umw showroom must be empty. Thunb down for 50 to get a free LG tv sam bdh…..work harder please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 38
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 06, 2013 at 11:52 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

As long as its not a KIA, it can be traded in

• Sam Loo on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:29 pm

Yamatei to the Japs

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 13
    • BMW Fanboi on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:42 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 118
      • elantra hybrid? i thought preve hybrid is still a better car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
      • what a bias and unthoughtful perspective. how old are you, kid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • I think you are more of a tailan ngoong Kimchi Fanboi than a BMW fanboi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • ‘Stop’ to the japs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • maserattiSuckSam on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:26 am

Bodoh Sam, dont write japanese if u dont understand this word. This car has worst resale value. As a junior sales man in toyota, u have to work hard to sell it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:49 am

Actually, BMW fanboi got confused about Elantra Hybrid. Its Elantra Hailat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Puppetshow on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:32 pm

Do want it here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Same Loo on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:47 pm

My friend just bought a Prius C last year and Toyota is launching new model now? Why we have to change car like changing phone??

Proton is better in this, Persona/Gen2 are more than 10 years model and they still selling it. I guess I still can buy brand new Preve in year 2020. You never go outdated with Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 54
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:32 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

As long as its not a KIA, it can be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
      • maserattiSuckSam on Nov 30, 2013 at 9:42 am

Bodoh Comment from a no performance toyota sales man. Cakap macam budak kecil. Sam loo and Sam hilux are both coming from Sam garbage kindergarten. Headmaster is a loser who was previously a loser junior salas man from Toyota show room

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • Sam Loo on Dec 01, 2013 at 10:44 am

K5 owner still shown the broomstick everytime it tries to sell the rotten cabbage.

All I can say is that i really pity you

• Sam Loo on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Well sam loo, nothing to be proud of driving an old 2.0e camry with 7 yrs 90% loan. Hshaha …….

• if new prius design wld b similar to this one, damn i sure buy it. current gen design outdated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Guys, calm the f down, we’re just selling it at the price “with” tax (RM90k+)here just in case the suddenly hike in price after the 2013 Hybrid tax exemption end!

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 29, 2013 at 7:50 pm

Eked out 0.6 km/l or 1.6 km/l?

• Passerby on Nov 29, 2013 at 8:29 pm

Its 1.6 km/l better efficiency compared to the current Prius c. The current Prius c with 35.4 km/l lose out to the new Jazz Hybrid’s 36.4 km/l, so this new model will beat the Jazz with 37 km/l.

• Current Prius C can 35.4km/l meh? I owning Prius C… Dun say 35.4km/l, 25km/l I also can’t get…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • I own a prius c. The best I can get is 30km/L for 20 min drive. Roughly 25km. It’s all about understanding how to control u’r feet to achive good fc. I think it also same for a normal car.

• *claimed figures only on Nov 30, 2013 at 10:07 am

No one can achieve those figures in real driving conditions as the benchmark tests are done in controlled environment.

Having said that, even a hybrid can be a fuel guzzler if you are pressing the throttle to the metal most of the time. 25 km/l is indeed only so-so for a full hybrid.

• I drive prius too. On average my fuel consumption was around 4.2l/100km, roughly 23km per litre. Prius C should be better.

• get a modern diesel powered car then you should more enjoyable with FC and driving pleasure!

• shengcui on Nov 29, 2013 at 7:56 pm

Eh? Calculation for fuel-efficiency is wrong. its 0.6KM/L?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • i like the design but when sell here its impossible to get that nice rims

• Denaihati on Nov 29, 2013 at 10:00 pm

in term of beauty and sporty easily can beat jazz.

• I dont mind to be losing some MPG, as long as there’s some nice number in 0-100kph and gud pedigree of sport installed in this car, such as refined and tuned Stereng,Chasis. LSD, nt necessary but TVC is compulsary.

There u goes, hybird warmhatch and Kaching!! On my shopping list.

Or else, Meh. Prius is better looking for me.

• motorhead on Nov 29, 2013 at 11:36 pm

Tax or without tax, still sell expensive.. How much Jazz hybrid here? (Duty exemption).. Come onlah.. Don’t be greedy.

• tok_kok2 on Nov 29, 2013 at 11:44 pm

1.7 million yen (RM53,544)in Japan?
    How come Prius C selling RM90K here with no tax?

• Pls don forget shipping la..
      And pocket money to govern, UMW and salesman

• sh!r0 on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:03 am

RM53.5K???

• benzs on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:50 am

Whatever is stated for fuel efficiency is just not true. At least minus 20 to 30% of exact stated due to testing is different than we drive daily. Do testing keep on braking coz we do especially jam. Do testing drive constant drive n reduce speed while downshift gear, coz we do especially highway n some slow driver just causing us to brake n downshift n shift up again. Do testing switch on air cond up to 3/4, coz we do when the weather is bloody hot. So all the mention stated is just figure without the proper situation we face daily.

• taikor on Nov 30, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Plus the fuel quality grade may differ. Keep in mind that we still stuck with euro2 so we might losing some mpg if compare japan or other country standard.

• klguy on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:53 am

an additional 0.6km/l sounds more like it was designed just to beat the jazz with little effort on improving it further.

• ferox on Dec 13, 2013 at 6:18 pm

If they could have improved it by 1000.6km/l, I’m sure they would.

• kvsual on Nov 30, 2013 at 10:21 am

When the New prius gonna unveiled and launch in Malaysia??? so slow…

• They did well in hybrid but Toyota…… your vios , camry and corolla is not class leading.

• libralcl on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:16 am

Btw, this is on good looking baby hybrid car.

• iluvloyola on Dec 02, 2013 at 12:28 pm

Why they dont care the existing rv of this car?

• omanjedi on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:49 pm

UMW…please sell this car at RM 270k+..the car have soo much more equipments that the Previa that you just have launched…I believe it sells at 300K also, many people would still but bcoz its a toyota…please don’t think about competition (especially Honda)as toyota is the totally best car in the world…

• Toyota sells only ugly models here in Malaysia or ASEAN for that matter. It is their marketing strategy, a stupid one.