Renault Fluence confirmed to be launched on May 22

10255118_283319991846268_642174484994777493_n

No, it’s definitely not long now – after posting numerous teasers, Renault Malaysia has finally dropped the launch date of the Renault Fluence on its Facebook page, set for May 22.

The new teaser that came with the announcement also confirms something we’ve known for some time, thanks to some spyshots we’ve received – that we will be getting the first facelifted model, rather than the latest one that features the current Renault family face first seen on the new Clio. Previous teasers also hinted at the local specification which will include six airbags and cruise control.

As previously reported, the Renault Fluence is expected to be locally assembled at the Tan Chong Motor Assemblies factory in Segambut, which also builds cars for Nissan, Subaru and Mitsubishi. We suspect that a 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine mated to a CVT is hiding under that bonnet, likely the same powertrain used in the previous-generation G11 Nissan Sylphy.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Singapore market had this car since two years back….now those who bought will want to send it for scrap and renew their COEs….so Malaysia what take you so long to launch it?

• kadajawi (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 10:44 am

Be glad that TCM is actually doing something at all. In the past few years all they cared about were the Megane RS. Other models were completely ignored. It seems like finally TCM has the intention of relaunching the brand in Malaysia. We’ll see how that turns out, and how dedicated they are.

• 4G63T DSM on May 15, 2014 at 11:37 am

I wonder how TCM plans to sell this beside its new Sylphy….with the newer powertrain and same safety features.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Good question. However it may make sense to use a (in Malaysia) well established drive train in the car, cause that takes away some of the worries of committing to a “new” brand.

• Any reason buy this car?

• _xXx_ on May 15, 2014 at 11:48 am

seriously, I xbrani bli

• victor tan on May 15, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Please CKD a Megane because that’s what we need here.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Megane or Megane RS? Those are different beasts…

In any case I second that. The Fluence is quite close to the Sylphy, but what TCM lacks is a C segment hatchback. What is the point of offering 2 C segment sedans? There isn’t that much difference between the Fluence and the Megane, AFAIK, so maybe they can relatively easily add the Megane to their CKD line up later…?

• Jaybond on May 16, 2014 at 9:35 am

The point is it’s good & tempting prospect for the local market to have more variety in the C-segment class rather than the usual T, H & N.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 10:33 am

Sure, but it would help if people do actually buy it.

• Jaybond on May 15, 2014 at 5:37 pm

It’s good to have Renault in our local C-segment market, rather than just concentrating on niche hatchback Megane RS or Clio model. The Fluence has a distinctive styling inside out and good package & quality. Renault also has a D-segment model too(Renault Latitude)which I suspect sooner or later will come in.Let the battle begins!

• kadajawi (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Hm. I’d rather see them add the regular C segment hatchback Megane too, maybe in 5 door guise (doubt there is too much demand for a non-hot hatch 3 door C segmenter…), and the regular Clio (as announced).

The D segment Latitude is unfortunately rather forgettable. It is rather meaningless in Europe, as it seems unable to compete. It’s cheap and big, that’s it. It doesn’t do well in reviews IIRC. Isn’t it a Samsung anyway?

The smaller D segment Laguna is doing better, and is much better looking, especially in the Coupe version, which has the pretty much sexiest rear this side of an Aston Martin. Has been on the market for too long though, CKDing that doesn’t make much sense. Plus it might be a bit small for Malaysian D segment tastes.

But really what Renault is great at is small cars and practical cars. i.e. Clio (B segment), Megane (C segment), Twingo (A segment), Kangoo (commercial small transporter and affordable 5 and 7 seat MPV) and Scenic (5 and 7 seat MPV). And really cheap cars, i.e. the Dacia line, like the Sandero (B to C segment hatchback), Duster (SUV), Dokker (Kangoo competitor for commercial users) and Lodgy (7 seater MPV (Kangoo competitor for private users)). They are all ridiculously cheap and still decent.

Renault these days is hopeless for big cars. TCM should focus on Renault’s key competences.

• Jaybond on May 16, 2014 at 9:55 am

Refering to the recently facelifted Latitude, it is a nicely built car and should be able to compete with the rest of D-segment heavyweights in the local/Asia-Pacific market. European market is the most demanding in the world with small relevance to our local scene.The Aston Martinesque-Renault Laguna Coupe on the otehr hand, is a decent model that unfortunately did’nt get the attention & reception it deserved.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 10:39 am

Yes, sort of. But if I want a big D segmenter like the Latitude there is already the Camry, Accord and Teana. If that is the sort of car you want, and you are content with what they offer, why would you even consider a foreign, uncommon brand? What does the Latitude bring to the table that can convince Malaysian customers?

Look at the Ford Mondeo. Worldwide a popular car. Great handling and comfort. Spacious. Good looking. In Malaysia it does not sell at all. So if even the Mondeo is doing so badly, how would the Latitude do?

• Jaybond on May 16, 2014 at 11:58 am

That was the case with the previous gen. Mondeo, back then Ford Malaysia concentrated their marketing efforts on the Fiesta & Focus, and their sales results confirms this.The replacement for the Mondeo (suspected to be badged as Fusion)is on the verge of Malaysian launch. Anyway, the current trend in sedan segments is definitely changing as more potential customers are getting tired of the T.H.N status quo.You see more of the current non T.H.N C & D segment cars (especially Peugeot ,Mazda & VW) on the Malaysian road today.And Renault is planning to join the bandwagon too..

• kadajawi (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 11:20 pm

Yes, but does it make sense to try it with a car that doesn’t improve on what already exists on the market? Renault makes great A, B and C segment cars, MPVs and light commercial vehicles. Also they are great at affordable cars. Why not try those segments then?

• kadajawi (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 11:25 pm

Just as an example. I and my family are Renault nuts. We are on our third Renault, been driving Renault for almost 30 years. If I am buying A or B segment, no doubt it will be a Renault. C segment, maybe. Seat and Ford are tempting. D segment? No way it is going to be one, and that is also considering the Laguna. They are simply not competitive. Even in Malaysia there are options I’d rather have, including the Teana.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 8:18 pm

Any reason why they are CKDing the ugliest version of the Fluence? The original Fluence was better looking, the latest iteration too. This thing is rather hideous.

• intermilan on May 16, 2014 at 4:13 pm

I am totally gutted to see TC decided to launch this 2013 version Fluence.. duh!

The design language (if you could called it that!).. Fall under the same category of tired and dated Korean design (something like Kia Sephia?) that even the Koreans themselves had gleefully dumped in the river few years back..

Perhaps, giving the choice, TC will always pick an uglier-than-you design car coz that how they love it (with their bread n butter Nissan).

TC should had stop production and re-negotiate with Renault to bring the latest facelift Fluence instead. But I guess it too late for that, ehh..

OK lah. 2015 launch current (2014) FL Fluence.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 10:54 pm

haha. Yes. And the weird thing is they should introduce a family face on all Renault models brought in so that people recognize it and think there are plenty of Renault’s on the road -> more confidence.

But really maybe they just want to be able to soon launch a facelifted version.

• Tiger on May 15, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Confirmed Malaysian consumers treated as fools and dumping ground for old outdated models..why they even bother to bring it is beyond me, pity the future buyers

• shawn eastern on May 16, 2014 at 5:37 am

my previous encountered with TCM’s Renault Kangoo 2005 auto … was a horrible experience.
    Good car but with expensive parts and low than expectation service quality from Sandakan’s service center. It was alright when I was in Kota Bharu and was taken care well by NIK’s service team.
    Parts are sky high priced. Very discouraging advice from Sandakan’s service center was scaring me to go towards new Renault – although I like the car very much.
    To buy a fog lamp connectors of the bumper – merely costs me RM 1000 plus … why ? They dont sell the connectors but I have to buy the whole bumper ! Do you know what RIDICULOUS meant ?

• kadajawi (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 10:42 am

I guess those experiences were made long time ago? I find the prices at TCM reasonable. The spare parts aren’t cheap, but also not extraordinarily expensive. Workmanship is good and reasonably priced. At least that’s my experience with the JB SC.

• hmm.. found from Renault Australia website http://www.renault.com.au/finding-my-renault/renault-cars/fluence/overview if wrong me

• hmm.. maybe same facelift http://www.renault.com.au/finding-my-renault/renault-cars/fluence/overview

• koayeg33 (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 4:36 pm

i think this got from Renault Australia http://www.renault.com.au/cars/fluence/home.html if wrong