Honda executives to take pay cut in wake of fifth Jazz hybrid recall; first-ever quality arbiter appointed

honda-jazz-hybrid-yorii 009

In the wake of a series of recalls for the Honda Jazz in just a year’s time, Honda has appointed the company’s first-ever executive solely dedicated to quality reformation, according to Automotive News Europe. The latest one involves the petrol-powered Jazz and N-WGN models as well as hybrid variants of the Jazz and Vezel. A total of five recalls have now been issued by the company.

Senior managing officer Koichi Fukuo will now be in charge of overseeing the charge to improve slipping quality problems that have plagued the company in recent times. Apart from that, Koichi has also been appointed as the vice president, effective from November 1, of Honda R&D Co. – a semi-autonomous division.

The issues were cited by Honda as “noise-related defects” that affected the earlier mentioned models. A total of 183 cars overseas will also be recalled for the same problem, however, Fit a.k.a. the Jazz, models in America are not affected. Earlier recalls were of a more significant issue, however.

Honda_President_&_CEO_Mr._Takanobu_Ito

A malfunction in the power control unit and the ignition coil due to electrical interference could, in a worst case scenario, cause the engine to shut down involuntarily. The total number of affected units amount to 426,076 – of which, 251 from abroad are involved. Thankfully, no reports on any injuries stemming from this issue has been reported.

President Takanobu Ito (pictured above) will take a 20% cut of his salary for the next three months. Following in his footsteps are chairman Fumihiko Ike – who will take 10% out, and executive vice president, Tetsuo Iwamura who will surrender 10% as well for the next three months. All in all, a total of 12 Honda executives will stand responsible with a cut from their salaries.

As a result of this, product delays are expected with production of the Honda HR-V at its new plant in Mexico scheduled to undergo a major quality reviewing process. “We are doing very strict checks on quality worldwide, and that is why we are taking time to launch models,” said Honda spokeswoman Yuka Abe.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• gaviny on Oct 24, 2014 at 1:33 pm

in the end ultimately, all buyers will be the ones bearing the cost of thse recalls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Azure on Oct 25, 2014 at 9:29 pm

True. If the company really wants to make up for their mistakes, they should shoulder the cost of fixing that mistake.
      Recalls should go under warranty since its pre-factory defect.
      Unless if its already is,

• Honda Japan, please review the quality of Honda Malaysia plant. The new plant making City and Jazz has worse quality than Proton! Gaps, Rattles, Brake Disk suddenly snap on highway. Totally not Honda quality!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 5
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Oct 24, 2014 at 2:18 pm

This is not the problem of Honda. It’s the problem of cars being CKD’ed having inferior quality parts and poor QC assembly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 19
      • It is a problem for Honda. When they decided to CKD cars here, it is their managements responsibility to ensure the cars assembled locally is as good as a cars manufactured elsewhere.
        If QC or parts are of inferior quality in Malaysia, it’s Honda’s prerogative to demand better. If they accepted the local Honda City and Jazz having worse Quality then elsewhere, goes to show how little Honda values the Malaysia market….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
        • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 6:09 pm

ask ur great syed mokhtar ….he is the one profiting the most from ckd-ing the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
          • Ayam & Hippo on Oct 27, 2014 at 9:17 am

SemiValue..
            Honda follow your name…
            SemiValue..
            Now honda Malaysia also learn how to Pusing Pusing.
            Honda can not escape from Honda malaysia quality issues. it’s their branding image!
            After honda malaysia set up 2nd production line in Malacca.
            They seems focus Quantity they sold instead of Quality they care.

Comon Honda! make sure shit motar maintain your brand image!
            Bring up Quality to Malaysia honda.

• I agree with you Nope, it is a problem for Honda.. But i’m sure they will face the problem and make it right…

• kzm (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 5:48 pm

for many part..the part come from thailand supplier. remember honda use rail system to deliver their part from thai to boleh?
        http://paultan.org/2013/12/09/honda-railway-parts-transport-thailand-malaysia/

• Ayam & Hippo on Oct 27, 2014 at 9:19 am

its none related to thai or msia supplier.
          Its QC problem in honda malaysia.

• Abu Sayur on Oct 24, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Worst than proton issit? Pls la proton is no hope already. You think the new Iriz now very good issit. So many equipment so many things to go wrong. And Brake Disk snapped? Pls la whoever believe this Bs can go die in a ditch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 56
      • Hemi 426 on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:34 pm

You sir,can go and die in a ditch first,you are not from the auto industry so you don’t know shit,i’m a senior ranked auto ind professional.i served with Honda in the US for more than 18 years.
        What the reader said was true,the rotors do warp since Sv4,Cm4-6,Cp 1-3.
        But then again,you already knew this already right?Next time around,if you dont know your facts kindly do not talk cock here.
        Thank you and a pleasant day ahead.
        Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
        • Ayam & Hippo on Oct 27, 2014 at 9:22 am

I m not a professional.
          But ex honda user.
          If you join honda owners club,
          you may found that honda’s disc brake easily warp from model range honda city to accord.
          Surprisingly, all these happen started from Yr 2003.

• BapakMu on Oct 27, 2014 at 11:38 am

Hey Hellme 426, you must be crazily proud of who you are that you need to mention your title and experience to bring forth your comment? And what exactly did you offer apart from trumpeting what and who you are? To be just a senior ranked after 18 years, you must be sleeping throughout is it??!

• @Abu Sayur
        Go ahead buy your kosong spec car, nobody cares you are going to die in accident or not because it’s your choice.

• ProtonGSC on Oct 24, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Will Bolehland dealer’s follow this example?
      Answer = No and Never.

P1 and P2 and UMW please follow the example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • They have cock. Awesome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • im thinking 10x time now to buy HRV
    better stick with toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 29
  • spongewai on Oct 24, 2014 at 2:36 pm

our Malaysia G should learn from them

but haih, still never learn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Psyduck on Oct 24, 2014 at 3:04 pm

If Proton were to adopt Honda’s salary-cutting tactic to regain buyer’s confidence due to quality issues, all the top executives will end-up with no salaries or hutang keliling pinggang for that many years of operations!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • heybadigol (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Malaysian private and public sector should learn from this. If you screw up, you get penalised. If you want a raise, you should do something you have never done before or have performed well above expectation.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 7:52 pm

Thing is, if the execs in Malaysia do it, Malaysians would find it hard to believe. People will say “for show only lah…behind the scenes still taking 400% salary” or something similar. Trust has all but evaporated.

• AVH (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 3:35 pm

In a society where the concept of personal pride holds higher than anything, the execs are really taking this seriously. But weather the public accepts it as a form of retribution or not is an entire matter altogether.

From my point of view, and as a Malaysian, it will only be something if they really push progress after this and solve the quality and safety issue, but in a sense, I still respect their conduct, no major auto executives made the decision and I remembered during the 08′ economic crisis, GM and Ford Executive still whiz around in Private Jets Between Detroit and Washington D.C where they are trying to receive government bail. With 2015 set to be Honda’s big year, launch of two new performance model after nearly a decade of absence in the sports car since(Civic Si and CRZ do not count), their first mainstream Turbo car and their return to Formula One as an engine supplier, Honda is gambling to get back on its feet.

• Newcomer on Oct 24, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Then what’s about the NEW Proton Perdana??

• nabill (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 5:05 pm

If some ppl in our government do the same , thy will never get any pay in their lifetime…and afterlife!

• Expecting HRV before GST in Malaysia? Say bye bye

• torque on Oct 24, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Bold move but taking a cut even 20% for the next three months doesn’t even put a dent in your wallet. To compensate your customer is much more honourable move.

• I guess the new Jazz Hybrid won’t launch so soon in Malaysia?

• If only VW make such recall, it could be the 101th recall by now lol.

• No wonder hybrid variant not lunch yet…..so much problems

• Ong Chee Boon on Oct 25, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Kudos to the Honda top executives for voluntarily reducing their payrools and taking further initiatives to ensure the car quality is there. They have one trait where our government and most people lack: Accountability aka balls to take the problems seriously.

Volkswagen Malaysia should have do the same thing and make sure the after-sale service and spare parts availability are of acceptable grade. (DSG design flaw is VW germany problem, so i wont be unreasonable to blame VW malaysia for this)

• Ong Chee Boon on Oct 25, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Sorry about my grammar. “payroll” and “done”.

• EnergyAnalyst on Oct 25, 2014 at 2:51 pm

suddenly JANGAN pandang Timur, said Dr. M

• Ayam & Hippo on Oct 27, 2014 at 9:29 am

Jangan pandang Timur?
      Pandang Sakai?
      Dr M is extremist..
      no matter timur , selatan, utara, barat.
      as long as good policy, it’s free and open your mind to learn.
      He wants everybody becomes katak bawah tempurung.
      Easier to shout boleh and move towards 2020 with him.

See …..
      now is Ayam and Hippo s’ world.
      Boleh change to 1M.
      but “You help me, I help u” remain unchange.
      2020 , we are still third world.