2015 Honda CR-V facelift – ASEAN version unveiled in Thailand, 2.4 litre variant gets CVT gearbox

Honda-CRV-Facelift-Thailand-0010

The 2015 Honda CR-V facelift has been unveiled in Thailand, which marks the debut of the “ASEAN version” of the SUV. The North American and European versions have already been shown.

What our neighbours up north will get is relevant for Malaysia as it will give a hint of what we will eventually get when the CR-V is launched here.

In terms of exterior looks, the ASEAN CR-V gets the same revised bumpers, “Solid Wing Face” grille and DRL-equipped headlamps as the European market CR-V. The US market CR-V facelift looks slightly different because their regulations call for a different front bumper design – from what we see, the difference here is mainly the bumper underguard design.

Honda-CRV-Facelift-Thailand-0011

Another difference between between the US and Euro CR-V facelifts is that the Euro model gets larger wing mirrors, which the ASEAN version also gets. Our alloy wheels are the same design as the US market version, while the European version (still officially called a “prototype” for now) was fitted with V-spoke alloys.

Under the hood, the 2.0 litre variant soldiers on with a 155 hp, 190 Nm four-cylinder engine mated to a five-speed automatic. There are bigger changes to the 2.4 litre variant – like the US market facelift, the ASEAN 2.4 litre variant’s auto gearbox has been swapped for a new CVT transmission.

Looks like we’re not going to get the new ZF nine-speed automatic that accompanies the new 1.6 litre i-DTEC diesel engine in Europe, not in this model anyway.

Honda-CRV-Facelift-Thailand-0006

The Thai 2.4 litre engine has always been a little down on power compared to the Malaysian version – it only made 170 hp/220 Nm compared to our 190 hp/222 Nm. For the facelift, the Thai engine gets a small boost in power to 175 hp and 225 Nm. Our engines are all without direct injection though, while the US market 2.4L gets direct injection.

The Thailand CR-V facelift gets new safety equipment similiar to that found in the Accord such as the Honda LaneWatch left side view camera and a three-angle reverse camera. The infotainment system now has a seven-inch touch screen system with HDMI input support.

Four variants are available – a 2.0 S which goes for 1.2 million baht, a 2.0 E 4WD for 1.325 million baht, a 2.4 EL for 1.495 million baht, and a 2.4 EL 4WD for 1.58 million baht. Five colours are available – Brown Copper Sunset Pearl, White Orchid Pearl, Alabaster Sterling Silver Metallic, Black Crystal Pearl and Grey Modern Steel Metallic. The last two colours come with a beige interior while the rest gets a black interior.

European Honda CR-V Facelift at the 2014 Paris Motor Show

North American 2015 Honda CR-V Facelift

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• The DRL remainds me of the Charger Hellcat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • They did a good job even thought its not a very good looking but at least is much better than the 2014 CRV wow that thing is terrible!

• CX5 is Better Deal on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:33 am

Aiyaa, the CRV is dead in Malaysia. Whenever anyone talks about SUV, the best value SUV is CX5 now. Nobody talks about Honda anymore. Honda CRV is practically dead. Sales are so so bad.

Honda still arrogant. Still want to sell for RM149k. People also think, I can get a far better car and far more advanced engine in the CX5 for 135k. So much cheaper and far more advanced engine.

The CRV engine is so old, it cannot even pull the car. It drinks petrol like a whale. Full tank hardly can give you 350KM. But I hear the CX5, full tank can give you about 700KM town driving.

I am no mazda salesman. So, all those used panties sniffer Honda and Toyota salesman, no need to kutuk me lah here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
  • shawal on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:05 pm

This facelifted model (albeit with direct injection) just recently scooped Motor Trend SUV of the year award d/t to its all round solidity…

I’m looking forward to see how the new sorento stacks up against the CR-V , wishing that NAZA KIA would bring in the diesel

• Too tired of CR-V…bring in HR-V

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • shawal on Nov 02, 2014 at 4:36 pm

HR-V is smaller than CR-V
        totally different segments ,B & C

• Jilbaber (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 7:34 am

I think Sorento is in different league…it is a big size 5 to 7 seaters…this one is comparable on Tucson or Sportage meh..

• Kittfoxx on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:13 pm

CVT?!?!??? What is the world coming to??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
    • sanjoo on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:44 pm

You must be fan of 4 speeder and ancient engined car, lol

Get a life. It’s time to move on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
      • Kittfoxx on Nov 02, 2014 at 1:27 am

I’m no fan of rubber-band transmissions where I’ve to wait ages for the car to catch up to the engine that’s already screaming at 5000rpm. It’s just weird (please don’t come back and say “you’re weird”)

I’m sure CVTs now are a lot better at creating the ‘natural’ feel, but it’s not the same as the real thing. There has to be a better way to make conventional transmissions more efficient. Stuff like DSG can be the future (please don’t come back and rant about VW Malaysia’s DSG problems)

Of course a huge number of people (probably the majority) out there aren’t bothered about all this and would happily buy CVT cars and would defend their cars to death. But car makers shouldn’t force the CVT on everyone, have options for the rest of us who enjoy the natural feeling and sound of gears changing and car accelerating.

The CR-V is a great car and I’ve really always wanted one. The 2.0 looks underpowered and should have 6-speed auto like everyone else, while the CVT puts me off of the 2.4. Not that this is gonna even remotely worry Honda anyway is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
        • TheStigMY on Nov 02, 2014 at 1:00 pm

You probably never tried the latest CVT. FYI, CVT now uses steel band and not the rubber band.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
          • Kittfoxx on Nov 02, 2014 at 1:44 pm

No comment…

• heeltoe on Nov 02, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Natural feeling? In that case CVT or auto gearbox cannot beat manual trans!

• hondamecha on Nov 02, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Nowadays higher variants use CVT, you want to use coventional auto you make your car yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • Obviously (Member) on Nov 02, 2014 at 8:11 pm

CVTs never actually used a rubber band…There was once when Cone-type CVTs had some friction material that probably was made of rubber if my memory serves, but they never actually had rubber in that high heat environment. The rubber-band effect refers to the engine RPM rising and the speedometer taking its time to catch up.

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 02, 2014 at 8:16 pm

First off, your request to have automakers have multiple options for automatic transmissions in a non-performance vehicle is unrealistic and asking too much, to put it mildly. If you’re that put off by the CVT, perhaps you should get to rowing through the gears yourself.

But seriously, a CVT sounds like the perfect companion for this kind of car. It’s an urban SUV family car and having a good, relaxed drive is really quite a bonus. Not good for the driver’s excitement but perfect for its purpose. Driver’s excitement can be had in a different way. Be a good human being and adapt, will ya?

• fuyenhou on Nov 03, 2014 at 12:52 pm

There is no way to compare CVT and DSG la! Feel bored with CVT gearbox already. If given me a choice, I would rather GET the DSG!
          NO TORQUE converter, LIGHTER WEIGHT, and MORE EFFICIENT!
          Somehow the DSG problem, are mainly cause by the synthetic oils, by changing it to mineral oil. Such issued solved. I am driving Jetta currently without facing any issued.

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Yes CVTs are boring, but they are fuel efficient, and with a wider ratio overall, can provide faster acceleration than a normal auto, as was the case with the US Civic facelift that replaced the 5 speeder (same as what we have here) with a new CVT. I am guessing that the CVT for the CRV will result in better fuel economy and faster acceleration times as well, assuming no changes to the engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:38 pm

not good enuf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • dheii on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Much better than W124

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 02, 2014 at 2:36 pm

better than ur hyundai accent

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
        • dheii on Nov 02, 2014 at 9:33 pm

Even GTI gives way to me on winding roads, lol.

No no, not Hyundai Accent, turbo car driver here. The engine is powerful even much lighter car has to scream the engine just to keep up with me.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 4:34 pm

he probably scared you crash into him you no insurance and cannot afford to pay for damages

• nabill (Member) on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:56 pm

for me , the best thing abt the crv is the space and the ride comfort , ive driven the 2.0 and its kinda pathetic , and very strange , accceleration til around 40/50km/hr is ok , but in gear acceleration or roll on acceleration doesnt not exist , u have to rev the nuts out of it to make abit of a move , it either needs a diesel or a small turbo,those NA engines just cant move the bulk…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • zamer on Nov 02, 2014 at 1:37 pm

agreed.. driven the CR-V, 2.0L is a bit underpowered. but once moving it is okay for normal ride.
      no immediate response if you are in hurry though.

I believe the HR-V will be a better balance car for KL usage. but the thing is it is going to be 1.5. we’ll see how it goes.

• they have 2.0 and 2.4, since u opt for 2.0 (entry level), don expect it to be fast and it’s a family car..what do you want? a exotic car’s acceleration?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • 3.0v6 on Nov 02, 2014 at 4:35 pm

I want it fast like those 3.0 Turbocharged VW Tiguan / BMW X6 SUV. Because it has LED light it should have at least turbo engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • zamer on Nov 02, 2014 at 10:28 pm

take it easy bro..if possible, i want 1.6 engine with veyron’s performance..everybody wants that..

• shiftstick on Nov 02, 2014 at 12:12 am

a stretched jazz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Josh Ling on Nov 02, 2014 at 1:30 am

sorry but is there a typo in the colour choices there? why i saw the silver colour is named “alabaster silver metallic” in the scanned catalogue whereas in the text it is “alabama sterling silver metallic”?

honda’s silver has always been alabaster silver metallic right? except for the new jazz…..

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 02, 2014 at 3:56 am

I guess those new extra spec they added will only appear in the 2.4l model eh?

• Any idea when will tis model arrive in mys??? M in mist of getting a SUV for my wife… Test drive d kia sorento yesterday in 1utama,worth d money… Dilemma…

• LeJohn on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:14 am

Test drive the mazda cx5 . although it is slightly pricier, but after testing both the CRV and CX5, i’d take the CX5 any day.

• qwerty on Nov 02, 2014 at 1:31 pm

The CX-5 is a much better car than the CR-V. The 2.0 has 2 variants, and the 2.0 High Spec one offers what the CR-V 2.4 offers at a price around 20k less.

My family bought 2 CX-5. It’s that good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • i bought 5 X5 on Nov 02, 2014 at 4:38 pm

My family friend maid office mate gf bf bff kind of story, sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • the back seat of cx-5 is really bad for family.( too upright angle & short thigh support). You as a driver should sit at the back seat of cx-5 sometime, just to get the feel how your love ones suffers.

• Is CVT same as VVT? I drive vvt and cvt but vvt feel better!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • bx800 on Nov 02, 2014 at 1:12 pm

VVT is not transmission
      Maybe you mean normal auto gearbox.

• Henry on Nov 02, 2014 at 2:26 pm

CVT = Continuous Variable Transmission (gearbox).
      VVT = Variable Valve Timing (engine).

CVT is not new. It is actually an old technology from the 1970s. The problem then was mainly the drive belt. Go read about it.

Recently car manufacturers took this old technology, improve on it and put it into their cars. The main benefit of this transmission is good fuel economy because it is stepless.

• shawal on Nov 02, 2014 at 4:42 pm

variable valve timer and continuously variable transmission are two different things..

google and wikipedia it

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 02, 2014 at 8:37 pm

He’s probably confused by Nissan terminology. Nissan calls their VVT technology CVTC, which stands for Continuously Variable-valve Timing Control. What makes it even more confusing is that Nissan makes copious use of CVTs.

• slk3879 on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:26 am

Is your real name Ahmad Maslan?

• i go buy a subaru

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • shawal on Nov 02, 2014 at 4:39 pm

The honda CR-V in the US comes with direct injection, but , Honda Malaysia claims they did not bring it because of our lower quality fuel….

But But….

when i checked Honda USA’s website, it stated it only needs regular unleaded
    and CR-V forum states that it requires at least RON 95

now, is Honda Malaysia pulling our legs again or there are some justification towards their claims..?

anybody can help me out with this info

and how would direct injection helped with improving overall efficiency…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Obviously (Member) on Nov 02, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Fuel quality and RON 95 are very different characteristics of fuel. RON 95 denotes the octane rating which, in layman’s terms, indicates how resistant the fuel is to premature ignition. Most non-performance NA engines can cope with lower octane rating fuels while performance engines without direct injection typically require higher octane fuels like RON 97.

Fuel quality there refers to the emission standard our fuels currently adhere to, which is Euro2M. As a yardstick, Europe has moved to Euro6 fuels this year. We’re very far behind in that, with Euro4 only slated to come in earliest for the whole country by 2017. Many of our neighbours have already moved upwards. Due to our low quality of fuel here, some of the more advanced engines will have a shortened lifespan since they’re not designed to deal with such a dirty fuel, especially the advanced diesels, due to their fuel injectors that will become clogged up overtime, amongst other problems.

• Henry on Nov 03, 2014 at 8:09 am

Direct injection engines produces better power and are more fuel efficient but are prone to excessive carbon build-up in the cylinder head. Owners end up paying more for maintenence. These are the pros and cons of GDi engines. Gain some, lose some.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Nov 02, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Fuel Quality has nothing to do with the Octane Index.

Oz uses 91 RON as their standard ULP but the sulphur content (as one of the quality indicators) is way below 0.5%

• ang phet on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:39 am

Get real, get a life, if you can’t buy a Honda, you can whine always. But then that is just you. Whine Whine Whine.

• Anybody know when will CRV facelift launch in MYS ???