Twenty of 50 Uber vehicles have no permits – SPAD

uber-x

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) has said that 20 of the 50 vehicles under eight companies using the ride-sharing app Uber do not have the necessary permits, The Star reports.

“As Uber is a relatively new application in Malaysia, SPAD feels the companies should be given explanations on the rules and regulations the operators should abide by. Although the use of the Uber app is not against the law, the use of the vehicles with appropriate licences is required,” the commission said in a statement. Exactly what permits and licences the vehicles in question do not possess were not disclosed.

The Uber-SPAD strife seemed to have arrived at a resolution earlier this month, when the commission said it would not ban or suspend Uber’s operations as long as the relevant public transport laws were complied with.

uber-black-1

Under the Land Public Transport Act 2010 and Road Transport Act 1987, vehicles registered under the hire-and-drive category are not allowed to be used for taxi or limousine services, and drivers without a Public Service Vehicle (PSV) licence are not permitted to offer such services.

In a recent “gentle reminder” to Uber-Volkswagen Malaysia’s celebrity charity drive, SPAD said that “any vehicle used as taxis which collect fares from the public, must be in accordance of the law as stipulated in the Land Public Transport Act, 2010. This means that the drivers must have the required Public Service License (PSV) and the vehicles must be registered with SPAD with proper insurance coverage for the protection of fare paying passengers.”

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• panjang on Dec 23, 2014 at 11:11 am

I have nothing against uber.
    Was disgust when watching tv and heard what the taxi driver comment about disturbing their ricebowl and threat of not taking passenger.They are really showing their true colours like a ganster and nobody can touch them.

20/50 uber have no permit.The other 30 with permit will still be the choice among commuter which have access to them.With proper registration they are just like the normal taxi and no longer some random person picking us up.

I support healthy competition which will brings better service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Teksi and Flesh Trade in Malaysia on Dec 23, 2014 at 3:27 pm

At least uber drivers don’t involve in sin. Nearly every single teksi driver in Klang Valley has involvement with pimps and brothels. They all ask single men, whether local or foreigner whether they want to kongkek. Then they bring to these brothels and spa.

We all know the teksi drivers are getting commission from the spas, brothels and massage parlours for promoting sex trade in Malaysia.

My overseas friends from Europe all tell me about how our Teksi drivers have so much knowledge in the sex trade in Malaysia. So malu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • thomasNOTmyname on Dec 23, 2014 at 11:35 am

What happen to this country? What are trying to play here?

• kzm (Member) on Dec 23, 2014 at 2:43 pm

boleh is more lenient than other country where uber operate..some country even uber app is illegal. in some country uber cannot operate at all..so what what happen to those country?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • Maserati(Official) on Dec 23, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Malaysia is not lenient. It is just that here, money talks. Those Spad and Government servants always take money. You should know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
        • Hondaman on Dec 24, 2014 at 1:31 pm

I am a government servant, if you have proof then report to SPRM laa.. Making sweeping statement without checking the facts shows how low ur mentality is.

• BolehLand on Dec 29, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Don’t talk about SPRM la. Government servant you are and this is how you talk? If we have to report to SPRM in order for them to take action then what are we paying them for? It’s like saying that if you saw someone dead and you don’t report to police then they have no obligation to investigate? The opposition party raised so many issues and proof regarding 1Malaysia Development Berhad. What happened until now? Our government body has an account in Cayman Island? What a joke my friend. What a joke. It is people like you that makes our country Bolehland. Congratulations.

• Pervert Teksi Drivers on Dec 23, 2014 at 3:44 pm

I am a lady. Half the time I sit in a teksi in Malaysia, the driver is always trying to look into my skirt. I don’t know what fascination they get trying to peep and see my panties!

Everyday I take teksis to work. Never a day has passed by if I don’t find a teksi driver who either talks about filthy things or tries to look into my skirt.

Can the authorites please get more female teksi drivers solely to take female passengers only. Women are fed up with the local teksi drivers who are mainly perverts

• Night on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:24 pm

Why dont you wear a long pants instead of skirt?
          But yeah, more female taxi driver would be good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • Awesome mentality, Next time ‘if’ your FEMALE family member being rape/harass, Please tell them WHY DON’T COVER YOUR FACE.

• You always compare with other countries esp when they are no better than us.

Whey talk about cars you compare with Singapore,

When talk about oil cannot compare with Brunei.

I am patriotic with my coutry as well, but Government does not own Malaysia.

So in this case, we know our taxi driver (not all) arent competent and some of them cut throat (not all). So uber is the alternative and should bring benefits to us, Malaysian. So when we discuss about this matter, why on earth you should bring other countries in the equation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Korek Hidung Maximum on Dec 23, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Uber is much cheaper

One big problem with our cab drivers is that they like to dig nose while driving. Many times I take cab, I see driver digging his nose to glory. Whole journey can dig his nose.

How to take change back? If fare is RM4.10 I just give RM5 and ask him to keep the change.

So, I find cheaper to use Uber now. Geli lah our cab drivers.

• In view of the VW-Uber drive event, I remember there used to be a gameshow called Teksi Tunai (hosted by Bob Lokman) and Cash Cab Asia (hosted by Oli Pettigrew). The host drove a seemingly normal taxi and ferried lucky unsuspecting passengers to their destinations while offering cash rewards for answering quizzes correctly.

Since they are kinda like taxis (albeit more generous and with a better looking driver in Oli’s case), do they also fall into the Acts as well? I never hear a lot of brouhaha then, so they must have sorted out all the licenses and permits correctly or risk a lot of problems if there were involved in an accident. Anyway, Teksi Tunai was broadcast around 2007 so maybe the law wasn’t as strict back then.

Seems like SPAD is putting the ball back to the eight companies using Uber’s court. Unless some of the eight companies come out and prove the licences/permits applications are being denied with ridiculous reasons (or no reasons at all) or being processed super-slooowww, then they are the ones not being responsible here.

• No one must know on Dec 23, 2014 at 2:38 pm

If you want to support real taxi driver than download Grabtaxi(recommended) or Easytaxi.Alot of country ban Uber,the latest one is India cause one of the Uber taxi rape its passenger. Taiwan also consider to ban Uber. Cheers:)

• Tesla Koil on Dec 23, 2014 at 3:40 pm

You think licensed taxi driver never raped passengers before?

• No one must know on Dec 24, 2014 at 1:19 am

I said Uber taxi driver. Almost every Uber taxi driver is not a license taxi driver. Cheers :)

• I_dont_trust_malaysian_taxidriver on Dec 24, 2014 at 10:20 am

Sorry.., I don’t support real taxi driver with all the bad reputation and gangster attitude. We malaysian must stay united and use Uber more. I’ve used few time for my ride from KLIA and also around KL city center.. they are very good! rate also cheaper. I don’t mind paying more with the good service that they have provided! Malaysia Govt should be more open to changes and good improvement initiative like this. Only when they are pinched hard – then only (only maybe) local taxi driver will be humbled to change.

• who am i on Dec 31, 2014 at 2:41 pm

If you scare to kena raped~ just bring a knife when you take taxi~

• panjang on Dec 23, 2014 at 4:48 pm

I have never used uber before but must say that the potential is huge.
    I do believe that with proper app function it is a lot safer than normal taxi as history is made available and it is concrete evidence should anything happen.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Dec 23, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Ada permit also “treat” as like NO PERMIT!!! So what’s the difference? EEhh dear SPAD, take yourself go to Pyramid, Bukit Bintang then compare those with taxi permit & those UBER without permit? Yes some might argue “NOT ALL” are bad but 80% are EVIL. We sort of “begging” them to take us & price is “decide” by them, if ever we “negotiate” then driver will shut the door & some curse you.

• I_dont_trust_malaysian_taxidriver on Dec 24, 2014 at 10:23 am

My wife just got conned with taxi driver from KLCC to KL sentral for RM50 ringgit.. if not.. you go out. That is the level of service of our KL taxi driver! leeches whenever they can.

• pearjai on Dec 23, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Jpj n spad should crackdown taxi driver first lor ! Which taxi in kl that exacly use their meter rate ?

• Painter on Dec 23, 2014 at 7:31 pm

I have been in taxi in several places. americans and European are super polite (maybe my luck too).

By far Asian and Arab ethnic taxi drivers (except Singapore taxi) are the most rude.

No courtesy to help put beg in the boot, stop car in middle of road, talking about your wife as if it is their business (this I kena in Sydney who had thei audacity to say those people who went to mourn at Martin Place are having flower show).

In general, taxi drivers are like that, not just in Malaysia. Governments can only do so much, but it’s the makkal sakhti (people’s power) can define the industry. So, if Uber, Lyft, GrabTaxi, etc can give better option for us, consumers, then I say we support them.

• drMpower on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Uber go ask permit and license then case close
    How hard can that be?

Now u people are going on about taxi driver nose digging lah peeking panties lah rape lah sex trader blah blah blah
    Talk empty number one why not u take the cab number and lodge report lah

Talk big can lah when want to act scrotum shrink.

If gomen let uber do business without license without nothing then something happen u people bang on gomen. Now ask uber polite go apply license also u people bang gomen

Like this people mind gone korup. And u guys dare care u people mature? Puurrgghhh

Ps- go apply license or anything for u to do business. Thats simple thats it

• License= Kopi Money (true experience);
      And I do lodge reports (Twice) for Taxi refuse to use the Meter, other than SMS charges I got Nothing in return till date.

• pokmang on Dec 24, 2014 at 12:11 am

please let uber apply permit if spad want they to do so, for some safety reason driver screening also can be carried out, in the end passengers will get more alternative in getting more pleasant chauffeur ride

• karipap basah on May 05, 2015 at 11:35 pm

Uber got no permit? but their service is good.

Compared to the KL teksi with so-called permits, they are the real pirates on the road. Cheating customers in broad daylight, not to mention road bullying, and causing all sort of trouble. Their permits and license should be revoked. but then…..at the end…nothing ever get done.