The Suzuki Ciaz has been launched in Thailand at the 2015 Bangkok International Motor Show. Built locally in Rayong (the third assembly site, after India and China), the new sedan qualifies for Phase 1 of the country’s Eco Car programme, which grants it excise duty incentives.
The Ciaz is nominally a B-segment sedan, but its dimensions are a stone’s throw away from belonging to a segment up, at 4,490 mm long, 1,730 mm wide and 1,475 mm tall, with a 2,650 mm wheelbase. This makes it the largest car to be given eco car status.
As with the Swift sold there, under the bonnet sits a 1.25 litre K12B four-cylinder petrol engine, delivering 91 PS at 6,000 rpm and 118 Nm at 4,800 rpm, mated to a either a five-speed manual or a CVT. Fuel consumption and carbon dioxide emissions figures have yet to be released, but they should slide under 5 litres per 100 km and 120 grams per kilometre respectively, both required for Phase 1 qualification.
This differs from the powerplants used in other markets – a 95 PS/130 Nm 1.4 litre petrol engine or a 1.3 litre DDiS turbodiesel in India, and a 121 hp/158 Nm 1.6 litre petrol in China (where it is badged the Alivio).
Prices have yet to be confirmed, but sources have been bandying a price range of between 500,000-680,000 baht (RM56,300-RM76,600). More information on the Suzuki Ciaz will be revealed when the car goes on sale in Thailand later this year.
change to O from Z, it will become Suzuki Ciao
look impress btw, only rear like City style
in Malaysia, S-Cross seems doesn’t sell well here and hardly to see OTR
Waiting for Same Lorrr and Sam Loo(ori1) to come here and say Toyota is the best RV and better than Suzuki.
Well, I don’t think so. 2014 Camry 2.5 accident free and 11 months old (registered in May 2014) is now selling for RM100k, down RM80k. In 11 months, you RV hilang RM80k.
As I always say, you won’t go wrong with sushi car.
Who is selling the 2014 2.5 Camry for RM100k? I offer RM120k!!!!
2014 2.0 Camry is looking at min RM120k. http://www.mudah.my/Malaysia/Cars-1020/camry-for-sale?sp=1&so=1&mds=2&q=camry&th=1
Don’t simply talkok, use your brain!
always Toyota,
not bored meh??!
i also driving my Vios and also complaint it
Godcar what complain. Tell me! Future Gen 2 Godcar owner.
For 1.3L & below, only have buyer if it priced below 55k at Msia. Marked that Almera 1.5A priced at 6xk only.
Learn from Mitsu 1.2L market share in Msia, going to end of life here.
Underpower car
Next!!!!!!!!
Having learnt the lesson with my rotten cabbage, I will never ever be stupid enough to buy Korean again.
3 years of hard work with zero recognition plus having to park far far away in family gatherings – never again
I kena Hailat yesterday when I tried to trade in my K3.
It was a downright mistake buying it. My junior of 3 years got promoted pass me. Boss say that I am not transparently trustworthy.
After coffee talk, he told me that it is because people that buys Korean Cars are deemed to have low carreer aspirations and contented with low quality.
I wanna sell my Kia now. Dem Du Lan oledi
When will come to Bolehland?
Don’t worry Proton Saga, DRB may bring it here but will never allow Suzuki to price it below RM50K.
Err… isn’t the expected price in Thailand where it’s manufactured more than RM50K anyhow?
What the flying fart does DRB have to do with that?
Sooner or later, the new Suzuki Ciaz will surely enter the Malaysian market.Only thing is to better compete with the rest of the competition (Honda City, Toyota Vios, Mazda 2, Ford Fiesta, VW Polo & Nissan Almera) the 1.6L petrol engine is a must!
Spot on in comparison.
Kimchis will be compared with China and Indian makes
The problem with our Bolehland,is still EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN and PROTON MARAH,MITI MARAH.
Car distributors will be forced to price their new entrants way above protong.If not,Protong would have closed shop and bungkus selama lama nya ,long ago.
SHAMBOLIC TAXES is the root cause of FINANCIAL SLAVERY.
In UK,people own cars.In Bolehland,the banks own cars.The rakyat are just financial slaves.
Picanti is cheaper with 6 airbags, City has VSC but Vios is without with similar price
How?
If this ever reaches Malaysia, I guess it will face the Attrage and the Almera. Thank god it has a better design than those two aforementioned fuglies. Still, the grill should have a sharper contour, but at least it’s nowhere near the atrocity of the Attrage and Almera.
Of course, if they decide to let it fight against the Vios, City or Mazda 2; then they will lose very badly.
The diesel version is quite popular in India. Sat in one – very spacious. Not much power, but then again its irrelevant in the crowded Indian streets where mileage/litre matters the most.
its going to end like Kizashi.
Really good design there Suzuki. Wonder if they will bring it here.
Proton cakap jangan. nanti Saga, Preve, Persona lagi tak laku.
Pictures make this car as big as camry. Is styles also looks prestigious.
belakang serupa honda city juga? apa hal?
I thinks its better that they copy a good design than coming up with own design but fugly.
The City is fugly. They should have copied a prettier rear-end design.. for instance, Mazda 2
Better to copy and get good grades than to try your own and get average grades, eh?
That is so City ’14 rear lamp..
Ummm… this car looks fine but.. the rear resembling Honda City’s rear.
Rear: Honda City, is that you…?
http://www.financialexpress.com/article/industry/automobiles/surprise-maruti-suzuki-ciaz-beats-honda-city-in-sales/6521/
If Proton or perodua copy = no good. Other company copy…better copy a good design rather than coming up with ugly design…
Sooner or later, the new Suzuki Ciaz will surely enter the Malaysian market.Only thing is to better compete with the rest of the competition (Honda City, Toyota Vios, Mazda 2, Ford Fiesta, VW Polo & Nissan Almera) the 1.6L petrol engine is a must!
Unless they decide to position it against the Attrage. It might also win against the Almera. I doubt it can win a fight against the Vios (Sam Loo endorsed), City(Best value for money) and Mazda 2(Best design IMHO) Jap cars.
From the specs, it definitely has a weaker engine than the Almera, but stronger than the Attrage. Since I’m not sure about it’s weight, I think all these three low-prices Jap cars are about the same performance wise. The rest are the looks and specs, which the Ciaz trumps the Attrage and Almera.
Rear very nice lerh, copy the lights from current Honda City, the bumper kinda looks like the civic 8thgen’s
The rear looks like a combination of Civic 8thgen and current city
56k in land of the smile
Comes to bolehland becomes C segment premium pricing
Starting from 120k
suzuki should seriously think about selling this car in malaysia. at least this will attract more customers to suzuki than the swift, though swift is a rather good car too.
shame on you toyota! look at the headlights. sack your designers
And where is the game changer Iriz pitted against these small cc competitors??
Hello P1 why the deadening silence?
Honda City tail spotted!
the tailights look like the face is looking up… just like JU-ON face OMG!!!
Dont tell me tis car based on the Honda City platform?? Even the dashboard looks suspiciously similiar..anyway pls chg the stupid name it sure x laku after translate promounciation in BM
As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV
If its a KIA or Sssangyong, it cannot even be traded in