GST: No change in Volkswagen Malaysia’s retail prices

CKD_VW_Polo_1.6_review_Malaysia_ 004

Volkswagen Malaysia has updated its prices with GST – all models and variants maintain their nett selling prices (excluding OTR and insurance costs), inclusive of GST.

However, for all locally-assembled (CKD) models, you’d have to fork out RM18 more (due to a 6% GST on handling and number plate fees) and RM27 more for all fully-imported (CBU) models (due to a 6% GST on inspection, handling and number plate fees). Then there’s insurance, which is of course subject to its own 6% GST.

volkswagen-malaysia-price-list

For instance, where you’d previously pay RM90,628 for a CKD Polo 1.6 Hatch, OTR without insurance, you’ll now pay RM90,646. In the case of the CBU Golf TSI, it’s RM164,635 now, versus RM164,608 before.

Volkswagen Malaysia last revamped its prices in January, when the prices of all models and variants, except for the Tiguan, were upped.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• dodgeviper88 on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:25 pm

sorry off topic; any news from perodua whether price remains same or reduced/increased?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
    • DSG is Dead on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:21 pm

In Malaysia, VW owners now cannot sell their VW cars. Even used car dealers don’t want to take it in. they also know about the DSG problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • shhhh jangan bising on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:28 pm

only cheapo VW/Audi uses dry clutch got issue
      the high performance VW/AUDI uses wet clutch no issue

:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • cheapo means you deserve to get problematic car? pls where is consumer right?

• shhhh jangan bising on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:30 pm

banyak anjing non AUDI/VW/Skoda owner here

bising nyalak nyalak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
    • Kinda on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:55 am

Honestly, as consumers, we need to give whatever the car manufacturers some time on some things. we cant simply accuse anything beyond our observation. it might be right or wrong. But any wrong information could lead us as consumers to maybe even worst case scenario.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Another case of weirdness.

Why is it that mysteriously when everyone is dropping, VW, BMW and Peugeot stayed…. Is it a sign that there is something funny going on in the calculations for the future? (Read: future price increase)

• FIST (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:56 pm

And Citroën

• DSG box got gst! on Apr 01, 2015 at 3:37 pm

VGM just told me Borg Warner DSG gearbox got 6% gst. We all know VGM’s 5 year warranty is false. They only give 2 years. 3 years is insurance warranty which half the time, adjuster decline your claim.

Pity VW owners.

• 2014 Passat Owner on Apr 01, 2015 at 3:25 pm

VGM infact should give a refund to VW owners in Malaysia for selling inherently faulty cars to us Malaysians.

It is the only car company in history where hundreds gathered in Bangsar to protest its DSG.

Now RV also no more. I want to sell my 2014 Passat for 90k also nobody wants. Bought RM160k

• shhhh jangan bising on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:27 pm

passat just a kereta murah bro
        u should go CC or Passat CC
        better still 2.0 CC no issue and good RV
        google/mudah to see..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • UMW in Hiding on Apr 01, 2015 at 3:59 pm

their sales so bad now. People know about DSG. Even the apek in the pasar also told me about DSG and how faulty it is while I was buying my kurau fish

• FIST (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:56 pm

To 2014/2015 model owners, any issues with you car so far?

• 2014 Passat Owner on Apr 01, 2015 at 3:20 pm

My car already broke down 4 times. Each time VGM took 4 weeks to replace the DSG.

• really? on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:54 am

which SC u went bro? Not all SC are the same. For example, some might claim that this particular SC is better than the other one on the south area.

• tkhengong on Apr 01, 2015 at 5:06 pm

I bought my Jetta in November 2014. Only negative to-date is the high fuel consumption in town use and averaged 9.0l/100km in light to moderate traffic. Caught in a stop and go traffic condition fuel consumption can go as high as 11-12l/100km. Outstation drives along the NSH at speed averaging 120km returned an average 6.5l/100km. Oh, I recorded better fuel consumption using RON95.

• Golf MK7 Owner on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Bro, better have someone to look at your car mechatronic. Elevated fuel consumption is an early sign of catalytic converter failure, which is directly linked to problems with mechatronics and to certain extent, the DSG….better be safe than sorry. Speaking from experience here.

• Mine 2014 polo gti never had any issue yet. Hopefully will problem free for a long period of time. Just clocked 15k km..

• Golf MK7 Owner on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Bought my golf tsi mk7 in late 2013. Less than 2 years now broke down 4 times 2. Twice at ot of town in Pahang. One time had to be towed back from Triang to KL. The most recent one is due to mechatronic problem. Whole thing needed to be changed. Sent in my car to service centre on 30/03/2015 (Monday), they called me in the evening saying my car has no problem and ready to be collected. Went back on 31/03/2015 (Tuesday) to collect my car, the SA came to tell me my mechatronic brokedown again…It was like a pre April’s Fool joke for me. Really stunned by their incompetency even in detecting and diagnosing issues…estimated repair time is this Friday. BUT, called in to check just now, say has to wait until NEXT Saturday at least. VW, wtf man….

• carad on Apr 03, 2015 at 2:39 pm

give them sometimes to check properly la! at least, your car wouldnot break down on the street again. .Which Service center you go to?

• Golf MK7 Owner on Apr 05, 2015 at 10:36 pm

My car is currently at Jln Ipoh VW. Under CNB Auto if not mistaken. Asked for courtesy car for temporary usage, was told they only have 6 units and all were loaned out. 2 involved in accidents under repair…Not sure is accidents or also brokedown….

• Joe Hung on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:59 pm

DSG sounds almost the same as GST
    not only that, both also giving problems to ppl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Malaysian don’t need problematic DSG.

• Euro X on Apr 01, 2015 at 3:17 pm

VW is officially dead in Malaysia.
    GST just adds another nail on its coffin.

• DSG is Dead on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:17 pm

VW is one problematic car. Stay away from it seriously. There are losers here who will say that you are sour grape because you cannot afford it. Well, give free also I don’t want. I got no time to use all my annual leave to go to SC to repair my car, neither do I want to wait for the tow truck every other month in the hot sun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • freewoo on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:14 pm

sure or not!!
        give free also dun want! talk nonsense! when really give free.. see u take or not?!! aiduh!
        You got not enuff money and pangkat to sit VW, rather than complain too much about VW.

• waters on Apr 01, 2015 at 3:26 pm

Yawn. Wake me up when we see 30% reductions

• UMW Mampus on Apr 01, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Then I think you need to hibernate for 50 years or more. Good night mate!

• sam sasm on Apr 01, 2015 at 3:34 pm

off topic kejap.

what’s the new pricing (OTR with insurance after GST) for mazda 2 hatchback (2015 model)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • faraq on Apr 01, 2015 at 3:50 pm

who in the practical mind will want to pay for the overpriced mazda2? Only fanboys will buy now. Smart buyers will buy when mazda CKD it. Just look at mazda3 and learn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • Might RM88,115.20 OTR with insurance.

• as it is vw is offering big discounts, 2014 still aplenty..nevertheless, manufacturers who refuse to pas on savings to its customers are considered greedy as if their products have great reputation in the first place..

• Golf TSi on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:40 pm

This brand is dead in the water in Malaysia. Pity me & other owners. VW AG is responsible for selling melon transmissions.

• Gnuruck on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:27 am

its not dead yet. there are owners stated that theyre not facing any problem after few years bought it. so its a good news. the demand for vw is still in the market. so i dont see the ‘dead’ condition that youre talking about.

• Golfer on Apr 01, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Problems with the DSG has been resolved. There is even a revised clutch pack that resolves juddering issues. For the same price range, there are still no brands that can offer such awesome driving experience like a VW. My 2013 VW Golf never gave me any problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Bob_B78 on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:15 pm

Are you a VW salesman? My 2013 Jetta suffered mechatronic failure in shopping after 8 months of ownership. It happen at night FYI. B4 that, they change the gb oil to mineral type on the 1st service, saying it can solve dsg problem. NAH!!Show you my middle finger!!!

Just lucky they got spare unit around, so replacement takes only 3 days.

Now got occasionally abnormal clicking sound from the gb. I’m praying for not another gb failure…..

• Golfer on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:55 pm

Nope. Just a genuine owner that is enjoying every moment with the car. Well, of course its SCs still got lots of improvement to be done but overall i’m a happy owner.

• Acrix on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:17 am

My 2013 Scirocco 1.4 had mechatronic problem twice while my brother 2014 Golf TSI just suffered same mechatronic issue.
          It will happen eventually whether you like it or not so don’t be so smug about not having a DSG issue for the moment.
          All i can say is DSG issue is not solved.

• Gnuruck on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:22 am

VW really offers an awesome driving experience. im not telling lies. its just after i test drive, and drove my friend’s car, woah. i cant believe with my own eyes and the pleasure of it.

• Tru Jetta 2012 owner on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:27 pm

I own Jetta 1.4 Tsi…2 years and no problem at all…awesome performances and fuel consumption…anytime can smoke 2.0 or 2.4 NA car kaw kaw…fuel consumption full tank Rm110 Ron 95, i managed to get 640km… peace u

• Bob_B78 on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:21 pm

Wow, lucky for you! Your 2012 no failure, mine 2013 mechatronic……..
      Can smoke 2.4 NA car? never drive so fast before
      But based performance sheet of 2.4l both new accord and Mazda6, 0-100km/h acceleration of these 2 cars will eat jetta kaw kaw.

Keep on smoking other cars and we will welcome you to the Drivetrain Selalu Gagal Club.

• tru Jetta 2012 on Apr 02, 2015 at 7:35 am

…yep can smoke 2.4 NA car also based on experienced.. you can see the specs 0-100kmh 8.3 s n its even faster than that …awesome 1.4 Tsi

• Golfer on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:38 am

Bob B78 !! you never own … want to talk ya!! it’s their money why you so busy..

• so…dat means vw previous price increase is to adjust for GST

so is kastam gona penalty them for charging ‘gst’ in advance??

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:10 pm

congrats. can close shop in malaysia.

• eagletalon on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:23 pm

They are saving for more gearbox warranty claims.

• eagletalon on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Some ministers asked us not to increase product prices due to gst. Now vw does it first.

• You guys notice they stop selling polo 1.2tsi? this car is so bad. I bought in 2012 had been in and out sc so many times already. DSG Mechatronic problems, ignition coil problems, then for another DSG related problem, then changing the whole ignition cable set and last but not least throttle valve problem. My advised, don’t but VW.

• VW Golf on Apr 08, 2015 at 12:23 pm

i owned a vw golf. i bought it in last year..
    no problem since the beginning til now.. just send to sc several times for normal service
    the reason i purchase vw is because of my friend suggested
    and so far im satisfied with my car as well