Honda Civic Concept debuts in NYC, previews tenth-gen for ASEAN – Type R hatch confirmed for US

Civic Concept

Honda is going green for a totally different reason with the unveiling of the Civic Concept at the 2015 New York International Auto Show (2015 NYIAS). The retina-searing concept will serve as a preview to the upcoming tenth-generation Honda Civic that’s due to go on sale in the third quarter of this year.

Led by a North American R&D and design team, the production Civic will be produced in Greensburg, Indiana and Alliston, Ontario. According to executive VP of Honda North America, John Mendel, the tenth-generation Honda Civic will be the “most dynamic, technologically advanced, refined and stylish Civic ever made.”

A total of five trim and body styles will be made available to customers with the standard Sedan and Coupe models on offer, followed by the Si and five-door hatch variant – the latter to be assembled in Swindon, UK. Last but most certainly not least, is the confirmation of the European Type R that made its debut in Geneva.

While detailed technical specifications remain muted, the 2016 Honda Civic will be the first model in the U.S to feature a new 1.5 litre, turbocharged VTEC engine from the marque’s Earth Dreams Technology umbrella. Two transmission options are touted – a short-shifting, six-speed manual gearbox and a CVT.

Civic Concept

The tenth-gen Civic will, as previewed by the concept here, feature a longer wheelbase for increase rear occupant space as well as a “lower, wider stance for a more aggressive personality.” Up front, the bold “Flying H” grille gets flanked by LED head lamps while a gaping air intake assembly sits below.

At the rear, things get way more aggressive with the inclusion of a tail lamp design that spans the entire rear length of the car horizontally. Above it sits a radical-looking rear spoiler while below it, a large, centrally-mounted single exhaust outlet is embedded into a diffuser-like element.

Safety gets taken care of with the inclusion of the Honda Sensing suite of features which includes Lane Departure and Forward Collision Warning along with Adaptive Cruise Control, Honda LaneWatch and an array of additional active and passive safety equipment.

So with all that’s going on in the American and, to a certain extent, the European market, two questions remain for us – is this Civic a distant preview to what the tenth-generation ASEAN model will look like? And two, what’s taking Honda Malaysia so long to bring in the Type R?

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Polo Saga on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:30 am

I find no point to see concept car indeed. When it comes to production, it will turn out another story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • kapcai jer on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:33 am

Woaa.. Piaoliangooo.

• spongewai on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:41 am

damn chun but color

• Don Juan De Marco on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:42 am

This concept suits well for the sporty version (e.g Type R) of the upcoming new Civic. The interior must be upgraded & enhanced as well (the current Civic’s interior is very ungainly)

• Way better <3 <3

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:43 am

Wow, so the rumours are true. The new 10G Civic is coming sooner than expected, probably will be shown in the US by year end, with sales starting next year.

Coupe looks good. Can’t wait to see the sedan version. The windscreen (which is less raked) no longer begins on top of the front axle (as seen on the current and 8G Civic), but a bit further behind – so has gone back to the longer hood design of 7G and earlier. Which probably means the double level dashboard is gone too.

• Joe Hung on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:44 am

1.5 vtec turbo only?
    my son’s suprima 1.6 turbo ler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
    • turbo hung 1.65 on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:02 am

I hope you r being sacarstic. Don’t be so ignorant dude, this is not primary school math where 1.6 is larger than 1.5.

Honda’s 1.5 litre will definitely generate MORE POWER than the supekorprima 1.6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
    • Henry on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:43 am

My son’s Ford Focus ST is 2.0L Turbo and 6-speed manual, ler.

• Honda poweerrrrrrrrrr !!!

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:00 am

Honda is giving the USA a turbo Civic, and then decides to give it a CVT (in addition to the manual). But having driven the Jazz CVT, its actually very responsive (kickdown is instantaneous like a normal auto), though a bit drony as you are climbing speed. Maybe Honda might fit in the 9 speed auto or 8 speed dual clutch from Acura sometime in the future.

• rear lamp concept looks like Proton Tuah concept!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Turbo on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:05 am

Suprima 1.6 turbo? haha

Which one will you pick?
    Proton 1.6 turbo- 138hp 205nm
    Honda Vtec 1.5 turbo- Expected 180hp 260nm

Click like if you choose 1.5 vtec & dislike if u choose 1.6 proton turbo(Then we can see how many ppl driving suprima/preve turbo here…) lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 59
  • eHonda on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:38 am

Nice color. I hope it glows in the dark.

• Henry on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:00 pm

I hope this car goes into production.It’s about time Honda put some pizzaz back into their bread and butter models.

• hope got money? on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:14 pm

hope? but you got money to buy? hehe
      stop day dreaming bro and drive your proton saga flx.

• The front n body shape looking too similar to a Lexus… N no way is our 10th gen civic gonna hav a back like that. Prolly change bcum 10x tamer…

• GrayImports on Apr 02, 2015 at 1:57 pm

As long as it’s not a Kimchi it will have rv (quote SamLoo) as long as it’s not sold by UMW by the brand name of TrashYOTA (aka the moving coffin) it will have safety (my own addon)

• John Khoo on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Some sources are pointing to this concept showing the global version of the Civic, which means this should be as accurate as it gets for what Civic SEA will get.

• Its about time Honda reduce its cost and make a civic global car. Just like European car manufacturer…

• blaster88 on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:44 pm

if the final production model resembles 70% of concept, I would buy 2…the coupe is awesome!

• DPCraft on Apr 04, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Epic Rear, But why front copy Lexus’s design?? Come on Honda you can do better then copy that, I prefer Honda’s own design, the lexus’s bumper doesn’t look right for this car…

• Wan Zack Clone on Apr 24, 2015 at 3:23 pm

From the side looks like GT-R