SPYSHOTS: 2016 Honda Civic sedan caught in the US!

11701061_865295656859195_7533269766997590812_n

More spyshots of the upcoming 2016 Honda Civic sedan have surfaced on the Internet! Sourced from the CivicX forums, these photos were snapped at a petrol station in Texas and give us a slightly better look at what we should expect from the tenth-generation model.

The mule in question matches up to the patent images that we’ve seen before – there’s the mask-like front end, strong front haunches, sloping fastback-like roofline and C-shaped tail lights (we expect those to encroach into the bootlid). Interestingly, the prototype appears to be wearing LED headlights as seen on the concept; as our top-spec Toyota Corolla Altis already has LED items, could our Civic follow suit?

11745459_865295690192525_3743342859109852312_n

There was also a current-model Civic next to it, providing a great opportunity to compare the two directly; the new car certainly looks larger, more distinctive and more sophisticated than its predecessor. That’s great news, particularly as the ninth-gen Civic did not exactly have the strongest of starts – complaints in the US forced Honda to make quite deep-set changes only one and a half years into production.

Aside from the exterior of the car, we’ve also seen the interior in previous spyshots – from the looks of it, the Civic will ditch the futuristic tiered dashboard used since the eighth-generation FD for a more conventional design that takes more than a few cues from the City. So, what do you think – does Honda look to have a winner with the new Civic?

Honda Civic Concept in New York

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Gawker on Jul 21, 2015 at 10:16 am

Ugly body paint!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
    • Idiot Gawker on Jul 21, 2015 at 10:28 am

Its to disguise the car’s design, you idiot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
      • Kimi_ on Jul 21, 2015 at 10:43 am

He refer to the green concept civic, you idiot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
      • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jul 21, 2015 at 11:28 am

Ya. First author comment is idiot than our PM. Btw, this new civic is gonna roar the street again next year, be prepare to face the challenge, Altis, M3 and Elantra plus K3. Slyphy i am sorry to exclude you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Mirage on Jul 21, 2015 at 10:30 am

That’s the camouflage sticker not paint

• Gawker on Jul 21, 2015 at 11:30 am

Readers of paultan should know that’s a disguise, am just trolling lol

• Honda could produce the FD for another 10 years and it would still look futuristic.

• DPCraft on Jul 21, 2015 at 11:57 am

Haha yeah even Civic FB looks dated, while Civic FD looks newer

• DPCraft on Jul 21, 2015 at 11:59 am

Yeah, I think they just have to facelift the Civic FD every 5 years

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 21, 2015 at 12:35 pm

If the trademark designs is an indicative of where the design will be at…better luck next time Honda!

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 21, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Honda’s just teasing us. The new Civic sedan is due in North America by end of Q3 2015 or in Q4. Thats just 2 months away.

I have to admit, the camo is doing a good job at hiding the car and making it look bulbous. I do hope the actual car looks sleeker than this.

• i think the US CIVIC only share the the latest chassis. The design of lights and bumper is going to be different with Asian version.

• DPCraft on Jul 21, 2015 at 10:35 pm

I do hope we get a sportier version, like what we did back in the FD.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 22, 2015 at 11:39 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV