2016 Honda Civic launches in Thailand on March 12

The 2016 Honda Civic will be available in Thai showrooms on March 12, 2016. This was revealed when Honda Thailand posted an official video teaser of the tenth-generation C-segment sedan.

In February, Thai journalists were given the chance to briefly have a go in the new Civic on a track. There, it was revealed that the Civic line-up for the Thai market would be offered with a 1.8 litre R18A SOHC i-VTEC or 1.5 litre turbocharged engine (on the range-topping RS).

The non-turbocharged engine continues to deliver 141 PS and 174 Nm of torque, mated to a CVT gearbox that replaces the current car’s five-speed torque converter automatic. The more interesting turbo mill (L15B7) however, provides 173 hp at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 5,500 rpm, also paired to a CVT.

The 15-second teaser does provide some information on what equipment will be loaded onto the Thai-spec Civic. Starting with the exterior, where bi-xenon headlamps with LED DRLs appear to be in place. In other markets, full LED headlights are available, but it remains to be seen if the Thais will get them.

Moving on, the video also reveals that the Engine Remote Start feature – first introduced onto the Thai market on the Accord facelift – will be available to the driver, activated via the Civic’s key fob. Upon entering the vehicle, a large TFT colour display, flanked by traditional gauges make up the instrument cluster. The TFT unit not only functions as a speedometer, but displays other functions like media playback as well.

We’ll have to wait till the official launch of the all-new Honda Civic in Thailand before we can get any more details pertaining to the car’s final specifications and equipment list. With the Civic making its imminent debut in Thailand, Malaysia shouldn’t be too far behind. In any case, what equipment or features would you want most when the 2016 Honda Civic debuts in Malaysia?

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic RS for Thai market

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic (US-spec)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• deadpoo on Mar 07, 2016 at 9:56 am

New-gen Civic, the final nail on UMW Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
  • hailthepurist on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:15 am

bolehland should be the 1st market..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • shawal on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:16 am

1.5 turbo
    LED lamps all around
    electric front seatS
    android auto

rear aircond vents?

not really digging lanewatch, if it comes as standard fine then ,

I appreciate more if the side mirrors tilt downwards when shiting in reverse like the taiwan’s accords

• Turbo? Long way to go for Honda…
      VW 1.4L TSI = 240Nm
      HONDA 1.5L Turbo= 220Nm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
      • VW 1.4L TSI = 138HP
        HONDA 1.5L Turbo = 173HP plus without any DSG related issues

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Civic Hatchback on Mar 08, 2016 at 8:30 pm

10G Civic hatchback will have a 1.5 L turbo 201HP and 260Nm option. Unfortunately the sedan does
          not get this more powerful 1.5L.

• Mentara Guru on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:19 am

Turbo, VSC, 6 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:24 am

Since Thai launching has confirm,then rumor from SA for Malaysia launch in April are real. Lets hope Honda Malaysia bring us few variant for 1.5L turbo so that in current GST and High loan interest age, we may able to buy budgeted Honda Civic. We don;’t mind to have 2 airbag, no leather seat or LED headlight, but at least a 1.5L turbo affordable at RM105k, pls make it happen, Honda Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 38
    • AhYes on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:50 am

Ah.. the stupid person has shown up.

• Speed>Safety? on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:10 am

So you are ok to sacrifice safety for speed??? I would take 6 airbags over turbo; safety first. I don’t understand why we continue to accept sub safety equipped car as norm. 6 airbags should be standard!
      Of course I’d like to see turbo introduced in M’sia model lineup too, but not at the expense of safety.

• You dont need 10 air bags to be safe. Just drive safe.
        People have over exaggerated the airbag.
        I will choose performance over extra few airbag.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:29 am

But only 2 airbags & excluding many safety features is a BIG NO NO. Life is precious.

• Sewel on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:11 am

Dun xpact it will be cheaper than new focus it all that whistle thingy..

• Sewel on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:13 am

Focus rival already at thai.i think it more expensive than focus

• Hafiz on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:37 am

Can this car go through speed bump? Like in the housing area (high ones)

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:43 am

1.5 turbo only for range-topping RS…?

We don’t have RS here, so bye bye turbo… Expect Honda Malaysia to stick to boring 2.0 NA…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • seancorr (Member) on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:49 am

If you read http://paultan.org/2016/01/05/honda-rd-chief-defines-future-powertrain-direction-turbo-engines-not-likely-for-majority-of-sea-markets/ it’s likely Bolehland will not get it…

• diseaser on Mar 07, 2016 at 1:34 pm

But I can get used C180 AMG at 90k, faster than your recond 316i

• terence on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:59 am

Honda sensing
    Rear aircond vents
    Full LED headlights

• Thaiboy on Mar 07, 2016 at 12:06 pm

If happen to be in Bangkok at Silom walkin street can view parked by roadside nice right size car powerful fir zig zag lovers bookings and test drive in one week from now

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 07, 2016 at 12:46 pm

This is indeed good news. Malaysia will usually get a car shortly after Thailand. I would guess that the top of the line turbo engine with navi and all the nice goodies will be around RM135k or slightly more when (if) it gets here. Just because the engine has lost 500cc does not make it cheaper. Cos it has gained power and torque. But at least road tax will be cheap, and petrol consumption better. So win some lose some.

• skyjuice on Mar 07, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Word CVT is just killing my appetite.. You guys should see the latest video posted on YouTube regarding this new civic in US.. He drove 2.0 and had to change to S mode for more omph..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • NotYourMama on Mar 07, 2016 at 4:30 pm

Newbie detected. A lot of popular brands now have their own cvt for eg. Subaru-lineartronic, Audi-multitronic, Nissan-x-Tronic etc. CVT is becoming more popular now….perhaps you live in a cave? or just katak bawah tempurung. Most cars with CVT got this “S” or similar function for performance riding…dum64ss

• skyjuice on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:36 pm

I’m using Honda CVT, I don’t like rubber band feeling, I don’t like the way the engine behave when overtaking someone.. It doesn’t have any secure feeling.. Nearly had frontal collision when trying to overtake.. You just don’t know whether the engine will give a go or just accelerate slowly.. I do know what I’m talking about.. I wish for the Honda DCT..

• nicky on Mar 13, 2016 at 10:32 pm

Based on the price launched in Bangkok, the cheapest is the 1.8 litre @ 869,000 baht and the highest @ 1,199,000 baht.
    Assuming the same ratio applies for M’sia(Honda Malaysia website) starting price of RM116k for the lowest, the highest 1.5 litre spec will cost RM160k.