2016 Honda Accord facelift launched in Thailand

Honda Accord Facelift Thailand-12

The 2016 Honda Accord facelift has been launched in Thailand. There are minor aesthetic changes at both ends, and new features for the refreshed D-segment sedan that fights the Toyota Camry and Nissan Teana.

The biggest change is in front, where the Accord facelift comes with a grille in Honda’s new style, which is with a thick chrome bar. The ends of the grille protrude into the headlamps, which are LEDs in high-spec variants. The LED headlamps are paired with new LED daytime running lights and LED foglamps.

The mildly redesigned rear end (chrome bar also “goes into” the lamps) sports three LED tubes in the tail lamps.

The Accord’s cabin with the double-screen centre stack is unchanged, but there are some trim changes that combine wood and piano black/silver. The latter is a new addition.

New features available in Thailand include Engine Remote Start, which allows one to start the engine and air con via the key fob, 7.7-inch MID, 7-inch touchscreen audio with Apple CarPlay, MirrorLink for smartphones and WiFi hotspot.

The Accord is mechanically unchanged, and is available with 2.0 litre (SOHC, 155 hp/190 Nm) and 2.4 litre (Earth Dreams DOHC, 174 hp/225 Nm) engines. Both E85-compatible units are mated to a five-speed torque converter automatic transmission.

Honda Accord Facelift Thailand-09

Prices start from 1.385 million baht (RM162,690) for the base 2.0 E, rising to 1.445 million baht (RM169,738) for the 2.0 EL. The 2.4 EL goes for 1.635 million baht (RM192,097). Four colours are available – pearl white, silver, grey, black – with the two lighter exterior colours getting a black-themed cabin. Grey and black cars come with the beige interior.

Honda sells the Accord Hybrid in Thailand, and the facelifted version of that variant will be introduced soon together with the Honda Sensing suite of safety tech.

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Accord (US-spec)

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:32 am

2.0 litre (SOHC, 155 hp/190 Nm) and 2.4 litre (Earth Dreams DOHC, 174 hp/225 Nm) engines. Both E85-compatible units are mated to a five-speed torque converter automatic transmission.

New civic 1.5l turbo has 177hp. Who want to buy accord?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
  • omegle on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:33 am

in thailand selling for 162k? Oh crap…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • it’s the currency exchange rate that makes it more expensive than before

• pokmang on Feb 18, 2016 at 1:20 pm

duit rm jatuh, kalau tak mesti harga lebih sedikit rendah dari tu kalau convert rm

• pokmang on Feb 18, 2016 at 1:23 pm

sebelum duit rm jatuh kalau convert harganya antara rm138k hingga rm163k paling mahal

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:45 am

Now everything also launch in Thailand. Nobody bothers to launch anything in Malaysia. Why? Thanks to Songlapping. Our country name stinks worldwide. People so scared to launch anything here.

It is a pity. We lost about few hundred thousand jobs to thailand and about RM1 trillion in investments by car companies who wanted to make Malaysia as the Detroit of Asia in the 80s.

But they all chose Thailand because, even in the 90s, Songlapping was already there big time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 17
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:46 am

the Matrix headlight approved by JPJ? i doubt abt it, current HR-V headlight seem very disturbance to opposite car or follow on tail. I urge JPJ regulation for headlight to standardize.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 36
    • 4G63T DSM on Feb 18, 2016 at 4:13 pm

Don’t know why you get all these thumbs down.

I have been having problems with the LED units from the CRV and HRV. Somehow either the cut-off is wrong or the aim is not right. And no, there are low beam, yet they are very blinding. Do they have auto leveling?

Not all the units are affected, which points to poor QC at the factory. Honda needs to check the headlights before the cars leave the factory.

I can understand if i’m in a low slung sports car, but I run into the same problems driving my MPV.

• the facelifted CRVs are specced with HID and indeed the light intensity and throw is excellent but the cutoff is probably set too high; it blinds other road users.

• Ollie on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:56 am

Plotong, madey mahafiraun: ‘its in the drive’ ‘back to export market’ ‘turnaround’ ‘revival”we are not the same old Plotong”power window 100year warranty’

Put your money where your mouth is and go sell your ugly-as-f outdated turd Accordana in Thailand.

Don’t for a minute complain about bank loan la, perception la, mother’s goatee la, grandmother’s sarong la, jibby la. Enough stupid excuses

Thais will make a fair decision. The Accord is made in Thailand (not sure about % local content). Under AFTA rules, all content sourced within ASEAN attracts preferential customs rate.

So go and compete. We Malaysians have already made it clear to you, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH with your junk. Stop dumping your crap on hardworking Malaysians. Try your luck with Thailand. Since you say you made the Accord better, redesigned la, additional sarong holder la, go compete there. If you still can’t sell your car, get lost, ENOUGH with your stupid excuses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
  • FIST (Member) on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:07 am

This or old tech perdana?

• Us$22k but here Rm192k - Najib Mana? on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:08 am

In US, the car US$22k. McDonalds or Burger King worker can buy the car outright with no loan just by saving one whole year (without eating lah)

Car also CBU with 10 airbags.

In Malaysia, 2.4 is Rm192k. Even Doctor or lawyer must take 9 year loan to pay a hefty Rm192k. Also, CKD Made in Malaysia parts and 2 or 4 airbags.

Where is Najib’s Promise to reduce Car prices?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • potato on Feb 18, 2016 at 12:46 pm

did you read properly?

rm192k is baht converted Thailand price.

Malaysia price will be higher if import from Thai.

So wait no more get the current Accord while stock last rm170k only for 2.4L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • ProtonGSC on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:10 am

Meh I was expecting 10th gen Honda Civic :)

• LanunFX on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:12 am

Always d same trend..it shall hv all LED from d first place..its 21th century already..launching with light bulb..facelift with LED..then comes new model with light bulb again, the cycle repeats over and over again..haishhh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Welcome enhancements to an already nice car. I really liked this car but unfortunately I think the QC in local Honda assembly plant is seriously not up to par. Fitting of some interior parts in both cars I test drove were quite poor which prompted me to fork over for a Mazda6 when the current gen Accord first came out.

• This got electronic parking brake. ‘New’ Perdana still using ‘old’ hand brake?

• Jemput turun on Feb 18, 2016 at 12:24 pm

I expected the Accord prices in Malaysia to be raised once the P Prrdana launched…national service

• Lololo on Feb 18, 2016 at 1:12 pm

New accord & civic makes camry and altis look so outdated look at the specs honda offer ,
    so good .

• shawal on Feb 18, 2016 at 2:51 pm

the 19″rims didnt make….. -_-”

otherwise a very tempting proposition, lets wait n see what honda malaysia has in store for us

• Sam Loo on Feb 18, 2016 at 3:45 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Same L0rrr on Feb 18, 2016 at 4:09 pm

I like it.. buy sushi better.. avoid nasik lemak & kimchi’s car

• chowhai on Feb 18, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Still giving us donkey programmable fuel injection engines and dinosaur 5 speed transmissions I see. Sigh…..

Btw, how did paultan.org got this news? Could find the announcement in Honda Thailand webpage and the official launch is supposedly next week

• DPCraft on Feb 18, 2016 at 8:06 pm

High chances of us getting same specs and same engine for facelift, since still not launch in malaysia, still got small chances of getting something different. Hope we can get new 19inch rims & the Direct Injection Engine from the U.S which have 185hp and 240Nm+

• ayamxxx on Feb 19, 2016 at 7:51 am

ours are follow Honda thai. They have Engine R&D for our continent. So they opted for 5 gear auto + non direct injection as some of countries in this continent have low quality petrol in general.