2016 Honda Accord facelift – sedan and coupe models fully revealed in new mega gallery

2016 Honda Accord Sedan Touring

Honda America has just released a huge set of pictures of the updated Accord – in both sedan and coupe forms. The 2016 Honda Accord facelift brings quite a few significant enhancements to the table, in terms of style, performance, efficiency and technology.

As revealed last month, the facelifted Accord now sports a more striking face, with sharper creases and contours, more prominent grille and LED lighting both front and back. Full LED headlights with high-beam assist are again reserved for top-line models, as are larger wheels of up to 19-inches.

Inside, the upgrades include more upmarket chrome-line finishers across the cabin, new wood trim pieces (or carbon-fibre, depending on variants) and an updated meter design. The new 7.0-inch touchscreen head-unit (paired with an upper 7.7-inch display) supports both Apple CarPlay and Android Auto.

The enhancements go more than skin deep too, despite the North American models carrying the same exact engine line-up as before: a 185 hp 2.4 litre Earth Dreams four-cylinder (CVT or six-speed manual) and a 278 hp 3.5 litre V6 (six-speed auto). Honda claims to have improved the Accord’s chassis a fair bit, this time round.

To get “improved dynamic performance,” the 2016 model features new high performance dampers, a retuned electric power steering system (with a more linear and precise response) and a lighter aluminium bonnet in place of a steel one. Higher-end models in the US also gain larger front brakes, Amplitude Reactive Dampers and hydraulic subframe bushings.

On the technology front, the full suite of Honda Sensing advanced safety systems are now available. Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS), Lane Departure Warning (LDW), Forward Collision Warning (FCW), Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS) and Road Departure Mitigation (RDM) can all be specified.

Whether or not all these enhancements will filter through to Malaysian models, we’ll have to wait and see. But, do you like what you see so far?

2016 Honda Accord facelift

2016 Honda Accord Coupe facelift

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• IWantManual on Aug 10, 2015 at 11:43 pm

6 Speed MANUAL!!!

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Aug 11, 2015 at 9:42 am

Now, with the new Accord, habis la Sam Loo (ori1), Same Lorrr and SamShowedMetheHilux. All crying now.

In overseas, Toyota is highly respected. But in Malaysia, Toyota now has become a laughing stock. If you buy one, people secretly laugh at you thinking you are the dumbest person in town cause the Toyota is heavily stripped of its safety features. Now somemore, Picanto, comes with 6 airbags and can be safer than a Camry!

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k with full spec. Come to Malaysia no tax. But somehow, it is sold for RM175k despite it even being CKD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0rrrr on Aug 11, 2015 at 4:11 pm

Crying, sales figure will tell… We are still selling much better than the kimchi.

So much talkok of US car and USD, go live there lar. No one ask you to stay, but when you eventually reach there, then you say complaining durian is so expensive in US compared to Malaysia bla bla bla… End of the day, you just can’t stop talking kok.

Malaysia car price is among the most expensive in the world, and people still buying Lexus, Mercedes, BMW here… you can’t afford a Toyota then talkok compared our price with US car. Why cars so expensive? thanks to your beloved Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Aug 10, 2015 at 11:53 pm

Look wise still fresh & NOT much difference except LED headlights. But in terms of safety package such as Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS), Forward Collision Warning (FCW), Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS) and Road Departure Mitigation (RDM) & LED Headlight confirm Tak Da!!!! because if intro also, price will be reaching almost RM200K.
    Maybe Lane Departure Warning (LDW) will be offer since Camry Hybrid is offering now. The two (Toyota and Honda) is following each other foot steps. Only when Honda offer “camera” side mirror, only then Toyota offer Lane Departure Warning, if NOT i am sure UMW Toyota will NOT bother offer any safety gadget to us Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • CarSafety on Aug 11, 2015 at 9:11 am

This is old news and nothing new in terms of the main European marques like Mercedes, BMW, Volvo, Audi etc… as they already had them for nearly 10 years before. Example Volvo had them way back in 2005 when Honda was still selling the 2 generations ago accord.

In fact they are already working on more advance systems such as autonomous driving, start stop traffic jam steering pilot assist, autonomous un guided parking and pick up(your get out of the car, the car finds a parking space by itself and later you can call the car to pick up via your phone – Audi) and my favorite pre safe rear end collision mitigation system which Mercedes already has in the new C- Class (the system detects a possible rear end collision from the car BEHIND into the Mercedes and immediately applies the brakes and tighten up the seatbelts and roll up the windows and sunroof).

Japanese cars have no innovative R&D work being done in safety. What they do is wait for the European to do the R&D and until the patents have expired then copy and buy them from the safety parts vendors. That is why Japanese cars are miles behind the Europeans when it comes to safety technologies.

• 2013 Altis - RM65k on Aug 11, 2015 at 10:18 am

Now, nobody is touching Toyota. It has one of the worst RV in Malaysia because everybody now knows the secret, the secret about Toyota and UMW cheating the rakyat giving cars without VSC.

Even the pasar lady selling ikan also know about VSC and how UMW cheats people by giving 2 airbags and no VSC in their cars costing RM139k (Altis) and RM150k (Camry)

that is why now, you can buy an accident free 2013 Altis 1.8 with low mileage for RM65k. Mudah does not lie. Go and check mudah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • I wonder how much trade in price they accept. Should be around RM55K to sell RM65K. Wow. That’s too cheap.

• kington on Aug 11, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Matcha, get a life lar instead of copy and paste….

2013 Altis selling for 79K in Mudah lar duh….

• Toyota the Moving Coffin on Aug 11, 2015 at 9:50 am

After this car pix came out at 11pm last night, I passed Samshowmethehilux house. I heard him screaming with so much pain. I peep into his bedroom, I saw him crying like a baby while reading this posting.

Pity the Toyota salesman. Already their sales were so bad, now add this to it, their sales will be ZERO now

• MCKing on Aug 11, 2015 at 1:18 am

hand down Honda….Boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
  • Josh Ling on Aug 11, 2015 at 1:50 am

loving this look, loving it loving it!!

• The Power of Dream on Aug 11, 2015 at 2:55 am

Looks a bit like Acura already..thats awesome! If u are looking for a job, u can call me, Sam Loo.

• Hondaist on Aug 11, 2015 at 5:06 am

Bring back the old wheels please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • red push start button is too much unless a Type-R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Hukaka on Aug 11, 2015 at 7:43 am

Last time boon siew japan ex5 legendary durable,indestructible.
    But after local CKD the reliability just like another modenas.
    Same story like Honda CKD cars Malaysia,quality just like another proton.
    If you search the world reliability ranking still CBU japan.
    Like toyota Prius,Honda k20a,b16a.ek,eg,fd2 series all CBU model still running strong today.
    In term for quality first japan 2nd Thailand then only Malaysia CKD.
    Why the quality different?because CKD cut cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • kington on Aug 11, 2015 at 10:00 am

Yes, while Hondas back then from Kah Motor will flood the buyers with unnecessary accessories, Hondas back then have better build quality. Under DRBHICOM, it’s more obvious where the money has gone to. A friend of mine has the current Accord 2.5 for over a year and already his car feels very “tired” as if he’s driving a car with unbalanced tires, increased noise and NVH levels.

• Josh Ling on Aug 11, 2015 at 11:00 am

not sure about the CKD Honda cars thing, but i can assure you that the EX5 is very durable still. i even saw someone taking video of EX5 making through some very deep water, and still running very well and smoothly afterwards. it’s the newer models that come after that have more problems.

• Diesel on Aug 11, 2015 at 8:06 am

I wonder why Accord 2.4 not replace with the 1.5 turbo & 3.5 replace by their 2.0 turbo version. Isn’t that good if they do so. the design is so nice.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 11, 2015 at 8:35 am

When the new Honda Accord arrives in Malaysia, a lot of features and specs will go missing mysteriously.
    No idea why.
    It happens to many cars.

• mosar on Aug 11, 2015 at 9:03 am

when will they put in the turbo engine already?

• makspain on Aug 11, 2015 at 9:07 am

The silver front grill should be replaced with black grill. Then it would looks perfect.

• Lance on Aug 11, 2015 at 9:55 am

Still using handbrake lever??

• DPCraft on Aug 11, 2015 at 3:03 pm

I think the headlights will make it here on the 2.4l model, new touchscreen – yes, new dashboard -yes, tailights – maybe(hope yes, new taillights looks really nice), safety feature will get cut down for sure(like what they did on 2015 CR-V).

• I just came back from Honda showroom to test drive the prefacelift accord. 2.0 vtil is on 5k discount! I will still wait for the face-lift one though :)

I had 2.4l version in mind but after test drive I think might just setle with 2.0. Not bad at all.

• Ganapathy rap subramaniam velloo on Aug 11, 2015 at 11:04 pm

Dai I want la this kar. Rombu syiok. I wanna buy n sell my volkwaga pass at. Useless kar. No more Garman kar oledi. I rich but useless this kar. Beer go japan kar. Last time I use 5 seri also masuk vokshop. Now pass at masuk vokshop 3 bulan no come out. Now I buying accord cash.

• Ahmed masidan on Aug 11, 2015 at 11:06 pm

Syukur and forced into my life is heat of us who is in order for me and the basketball and a lot to me and the basketball and a lot to me and the basketball and a lot to me and the

• Toyota No Quality Anymore on Aug 12, 2015 at 9:09 am

I own an Altis 2012 1.8G with the whole shebang, so I know what I am talking about. Still own the car. Smooth and responsive. Love the ride. I think its the last truly Toyota message…
    Went to a Toyota showroom last weekend to check out the 2.5l Hybrid…. Stumbled into the ‘new’ Altis.
    Crap! Just crap! Compared to my 3 year old car, the interior looks nicer, but the quality took a very very deep dive.. Soft touch buttons now replaced with cheap plasticky ones (imagine school electronics project type buttons) Door frame covers all tough… There isn’t even another glove compartment.
    If you asked me, I will buy a 2nd hand 2012 Altis compared to the one now.
    Only one thing still good is the customer service (my experience with Honda service since I also own a Honda is the subject of another day…). How long will that last? Quality is relative, and by the looks of Honda, they are very close behind….

• honda on Aug 15, 2015 at 1:29 pm

this model when release in malaysia accord 2016..