Proton Design Competition 2015: a deeper dive on how to package a vehicle effectively – tips, tricks

Proton Design Competition 2015

Another year, another Proton Design Competition – the 2015 edition brings with it a new theme and a number of changes to the regulations. To help make sense of all the rule changes for this year and to help budding designers make the most of this opportunity, we spoke to Proton’s chief designer Azlan Othman to flesh out the listed rules and provide pointers to those wishing to submit.

The competition theme is different for 2015 – last year, participants were required to design a city car for the year 2020, whereas this year it’s a concept car for the Malaysian family. Does this mean that the cars will have a closer to production look, or can it be as wild as possible?

This year, we’re going to push the boundaries a bit. We used the term “concept car” because we wanted the entries to be a bit more wild, a bit more inventive. Once you set a timeframe, like we did last year, people will start to hold back. Which was great for a first try, but this year we said, “let’s show something really special.” But the contestants will be guided by other things as well.

As the theme suggests, the entries also need to be family cars, we presume.

Everyone likes sports cars – they’re easy to design because you’re really only thinking of one or two occupants, you can burn as much fuel as you want and you can go really crazy with exotic materials and processes.

Proton-Design-Competition-logo

So despite the fact that we’re giving a 20-year timeframe on the technology, we also wanted to pull them back a bit and get a little more real. Malaysians do have a good sense of family in our culture, so I think it would be a bit more relevant to the general public.

What is the criteria that the judges will be basing their scores on for the entries this year?

In terms of criteria, the first is authenticity, second is aesthetics and finally, the concept behind it. You will realise that presentation is missing – that was the fourth criteria last year. This year, we feel that we don’t need to put marks for that; it should be a given, especially since we’re allowing professionals also.

By authenticity, we mean that the design has to be original, innovative in its own way, breaking as many boundaries as you want – the more original it is, the more we put value into the design. Aesthetics-wise, the idea has to be presentable and acceptable by the masses; the last thing you’d want would be a matchbox on wheels. There has to be some effort, that’s why we rate aesthetics quite highly.

Lastly it’s how you elaborate on the concept – designers need to know the meaning of the design, otherwise it’s just a drawing. The concept is important because it elaborates further and more deeply into how the designer thinks in conceptualising the design.

Proton Design Competition 2015 6

This year, Proton is introducing a new requirement for submissions, which is the vehicle packaging diagram. How are the participants going to go about producing this diagram – it can’t just be guesswork, can it?

Packaging will be very important, because it pulls things back down to earth. The main guiding points would be the powertrain that you’re going to use and the mannequin [representing the occupants] – usually we use a 95th percentile male [186.5 cm].

So, it shouldn’t just be drawn from the air; there should be some effort to look into anthropomorphic and ergonomic data which is readily available, and those who are in the profession should know where to look for them.

When designing a car, which is defined first – the interior space, or the exterior dimensions?

First and foremost, it’s all about the packaging, usually involving the chassis, the engine and the interior. Only then can you think about developing the exterior of the vehicle. So it’s basically inside out. The engine is obviously the most critical part, because it’s of a given size and there are so many hard points that you have to follow. The luggage space depends on the silhouette, you can still play around a bit.

But above and beyond everything are the regulatory requirements. Before you even design a car, you have to debate on where you want to export the car, and you have to know what are the emissions and safety requirements of the region that you want to penetrate. That will set the tone for many of the things that will affect the design further down the road.

Proton_Iriz_Review_ 013

How about form versus function?

That’s the age-old debate isn’t it? There’s no real winner in that respect. It largely depends on the purpose of the vehicle. Sometimes function is more important, like in utility or commercial vehicles. Then you have sports cars which are the other way around. It’s a case by case basis.

Despite what people read in the news or periodicals, I don’t think it can purely be style. I think the only way something can be purely style is fine art. That’s design for design’s sake, because you’re doing it for yourself. For industrial design, the nature of the job itself is about collaboration, consensus and, ultimately, the business. It’s about making money. If you do it only for design’s sake, it’s totally different.

How do you define how much interior and boot space is necessary?

Most importantly it’s what our competition are offering. So we benchmark the others first, analysing the cabin space of each and every one of them, as well as their equipment levels and so on. Then we see whether we should make it bigger, or maybe even smaller – why not?

Boot space for Proton is one of the most important parts – our main market is the domestic market, so we need to have something that would appeal to the Malaysian people and the balik kampung culture. But Interior packaging always takes precedence; boot space is secondary to that, because it’s a problem if the occupants are not comfortable, and you might even compromise on safety, and we can never do that.

Proton_Iriz_vs_Perodua_Myvi_ 108

Contrary to popular belief, adding a bigger boot doesn’t always mean extending the rear end. It’s about how well you can play around with the interior packaging, because what defines the walls of the boot is also the angle of the seat back. On some European cars, for example, the wheelbase is extended as far as possible so they have a very nice silhouette, but what seems like a very small boot is actually quite cavernous.

How did the packaging of the Iriz come about? Looking at the side profile, it has a long front overhang, but a very short rear overhang. What were the regulations, space requirements and hard points that defined how the car looked?

For the Iriz, it was a very unique situation whereby the defining factor was the engine. Then came the regulatory requirements of the market that we wanted to export the car to, which set the overall length of the vehicle. In India, for example, to be able to get the tax incentives of a small car, the car needs to be four metres or less. That’s why it has such unique proportions.

Safety is everywhere and is every bit entwined in the design process from A to Z. Pedestrian regulations are becoming more and more important day-by-day, and it’s actually affecting the way we do design. There are little bits like the bumper, which will impact the pedestrian first – these have features built into it to assist in making sure that a person hit will not go under the car.

To achieve a five-star rating, the bonnet has to be designed in such a way that when a person falls onto it, they would roll off in a way that there would be minimal impact on the head, and that if the head does impact it, the radius is large enough that it doesn’t act like a wedge and crack the skull. That defines the features that you are allowed to put on the bonnet of the car.

Aerodynamics is also increasingly affecting the way we do our work, and there are subtle parts of the car that we had to massage to achieve certain aerodynamic targets. Once you set a drag coefficient target, you have to compromise everything just to get that, because these days fuel efficiency is so important.

What about the interior space? What kind of design changes did you make to the Iriz to make sure the cabin was as spacious as was required?

We maximised the wheelbase as much as we could without making the car too long, but there was also a conscious decision to firstly make sure that the car was spacious vertically; hence when you get in it, there’s a lot of headroom.

Secondly it’s our one and only car which has a rear that is wider than the front, by about 20 mm on each side. Aside from providing better stability when driving the car, it also gives additional couple distance for the rear occupants.

proton-iriz-ev-lg-korea-3

Was the Iriz platform built for other variants or bodystyles? How was it designed to accommodate the different requirements of each model?

I think almost all platforms in this day and age are designed with different bodystyles in mind. In a way, it’s just a question of extending or cutting the existing platform.

The Iriz platform is actually ready for electrification, and we already have an EV running around. How did we do it so fast? It’s because thought was already put into accommodating the batteries very easily in the underfloor. You need to create a well which has to be deep enough to accommodate the battery size you need to achieve the range that you want.

For the Iriz, we had an ambitious target of around 300 km. With that in mind, we worked with our battery supplier and we knew exactly how much depth we needed, and we incorporated it into the structure. That’s actually another reason why the car is tall, probably taller than what we would’ve desired.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 16, 2015 at 10:09 pm

Good interview.

How is the battery space used in the petrol version?

Will there be a wagon version, for the European market? In Malaysia that might go against the Alza if 2 more seats are fitted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Hank Pym on Jul 17, 2015 at 12:07 am

If you can’t design it yourself, you need the public to design it for you? What pathetic company is this? Is the interior space for an ant?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 45
      • Same L0rrrr on Jul 17, 2015 at 1:31 am

Design, space are never Proton’s problem. Build quality is!

Design contest here and there, no point, only burning money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 13
        • yououtfromcave on Jul 17, 2015 at 10:11 am

Other car makers also have such competitions. Get your fact right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 29
          • papagomo on Jul 17, 2015 at 1:37 pm

P1 macai coming out from cave. Watch out!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
          • Shit papagomo go eat.sai on Jul 17, 2015 at 7:06 pm

Support proton idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
          • Shit p1macai go eat.sai on Jul 17, 2015 at 8:11 pm

Support proton shit. Selamat Hari Raya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
          • Same L0rrrr on Jul 19, 2015 at 1:03 am

Typical Proton fanboys: Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok! Nothing done!

Support Proton? Bought an Iriz already? Where is your action?

Proton won’t survive and grow better when you talk empty here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Albert on Jul 17, 2015 at 10:14 am

Proton again missing the point.
          They are running in circles.
          They should be focusing on ditching the screwed up Campro engine and Punch CVT gear box.
          These 2 areas deserve their utmost attention but they chose other non essentials.
          The next promotion item will be JOM HEBOH carnivals to f..off old stocks come January 2016.
          Tun…called some people LAZY,but I think those deadwood of Proton also deserve to be called LAZY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
          • taknaktoyota on Jul 19, 2015 at 9:19 am

That cannot beat 4 speeder gearbox and dino age engine that been there for generations!!

Uf you want discount feel free to go to toyoda sales carnival

• sam proton on Jul 17, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Aak your son to participate since you bought him saga.

• kingkong on Jul 18, 2015 at 7:54 pm

proton DESIGN lead by AZLAN produce UGLY CAR.

First impression in INDON= Design not attractive.

Build in uality & technology is 2nd factor.

IMAGINE the FAILURE DESIGNER to JUDGE other?

Please watch Discovery Science – Invent it Rich.

When Random focus group- judge it FAIL..IT FAIL including AZLANO FUGLY designer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • USDfan on Jul 20, 2015 at 10:18 am

agreed…all his design failed…still hired as a chief designer..what cable his used…?..must change head of designer!!!!!!

• fadzmie on Aug 11, 2015 at 4:21 pm

this is a copetition…a malaysian people have a talent to ispire for a car…Proton is Malaysian company thats why there are among malaysian people need a design from Malaysian people it-self…that mean for Malaysia’s car…Malaysian people need a car that have,safety,Technology and for malaysia people…*thumbs up…

• Fix Proton Design Problem on Jul 17, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Proton always sucks in rear buntut design. Its gone worse after Waja.

Savvy – the epitome of fuglyness. Rear design the worst in global automotive history.

Satria Neo – looks fine, play safe from previous model. Shame its not available as 4 door model.

Gen2, Persona – the fugly rear continued once again. The infamous crop circle or traffic light crap design. Should have moved the number plate on the bonnet for better looks.

Saga BLM FLX – should have keep the BLM rear lights design and add LED lights instead of making it smaller size.

Exora – the long horizontal chrome line is lame and an overkill. Better pick Exora Prime rear design with black plastic fascia to close the gap on chrome line.

Preve – simply hideous rear design. Who and why approved the design? Ruined the whole car that supposed to fight with Kia Forte.

Suprima – the disease simply infected from Preve like herpes. Why can’t they design it like Kia Ceed or Audi rear design? So frustrating beyond belief.

Iriz – still do it again!! Fugly flat rear like Savvy! Why its so difficult to put number plate on top?

Conclusion:
      Proton should sack the designers or the directors that keep approving fugly designs over and over again. Good design that don’t insult the car buyers’ intelligence is key to improve the dwindling low sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
      • tokmoh. on Jul 17, 2015 at 9:30 pm

They can design their car as safe as Volvo, but cannot design rear that is as good as Volvo? Topkek.

Pick any brand new Volvo, and all of them have very good rear design, even better than their peers. Maybe even the best.

• volvofugly on Jul 18, 2015 at 8:59 pm

I’m no fan volvo rear designs, almost vomit my dinner looking at those last time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • fanofthisite on Jul 20, 2015 at 12:49 am

You sound like a self flagellating boor

• wow..all models are badly designed?
        You are good man!!!

• Jobless on Jul 16, 2015 at 10:27 pm

Why bother wit all these silly contest, can it increase sales. And how ironic for P1 to organize such contest when the existing design of its supima, iris, persona and preve all sucks, big time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 24
    • fuglyalmeravios on Jul 17, 2015 at 10:12 am

You must be fan of Almera dugung and catfish Vios designs

Good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
      • fuglyazlandesigns on Jul 19, 2015 at 1:32 pm

You must be a fan of Azlan’s toilet car designs

Good luck!

• kakaka on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:53 am

So you agree Almera and Vios are much much beautiful than preve? Congrats you sure have face problem!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Azlan & Maslan Co. on Jul 20, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Comparing B segment with C segment? You must be hodoh like Azlan, bodoh like Maslan

• nabill (Member) on Jul 16, 2015 at 10:47 pm

very interesting insight….there should be more interviews with car designers and how they get around designing and challenging requirements from the marketing department…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
    • Proton Schreyer on Jul 17, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Car design should start from inside out?

Mahathir better sack that Azlan.

How much to pay Peter Schreyer per year? 10 million? Worth every cent if Proton can increase sales to 1 million cars.

#sackazlan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • fanofthisite on Jul 20, 2015 at 12:53 am

never heard or read of Giugiaro’s design philosophy i bet

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 16, 2015 at 11:16 pm

Having Jonathan to do this is pretty interesting, a product designer with an auto designer!

Azlan Othman is probably one of the best guys Proton has right now, just watch his presentation on the Iriz and you know this guy knows his stuff and isn’t pulling facts out of no where. In fact, the Preve and the Iriz themselves are actually pretty good examples of good packaging. For example the Preve does have one of the largest and most comfortable back seats, while the Iriz has this ease of ingress and egress – something like the Hyundai i10 and Kia Picanto (giving it a tallboy feel, yet especially useful for older people who would find getting in and out of a car with a lower hip point more difficult).

The only criticism I have for the Preve and Iriz has to be the rear. For the Preve, the design is good, but the one thing they could do is to redo the assembly of the rear lights. Having LED guides is cool, but still keeping the actual brake light as a bulb makes it feel cheap… As for the Iriz, the rear lights are too small in proportion to the size of the rear hatch. If they made it a bit longer, I think it gives it a bit more balance to the rear. The front of the Iriz is perfect tbh. It has a very friendly yet curious look to it. In fact Perodua should really take note of this, they used to make reasonably good fronts with the Myvi D54T’s original design and the SE for it, but really stuffed up with the stubby look on the D54T’s facelift. Even the same for the Axia, the base looks alright, but the SE and Advance has too sharp of a front, and just looks weird…

All the best Azlan, waiting to see the refresh on the Preve and Suprima, as well as the new Saga!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 11
  • Ek_eleh on Jul 16, 2015 at 11:52 pm

Sendiri punye design mcm sial. So sekarang nak curi orang punye design la…aiyo grow up la bolehland!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 37
    • gogetglasses on Jul 17, 2015 at 10:14 am

Curi? You have to get your eyes fixed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
    • Wheres bolehland? I hazard a guess that its somewhere in between Greenland, Iceland and Newfoundland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 46
  • urzu3 on Jul 17, 2015 at 1:16 am

Proton Tuah front design looks so good. but compare to the production model (preve suprima s)..?

interior design should be like Iriz and it should be better next time around.

• donno on Jul 19, 2015 at 3:04 pm

If im not mistaken, the tuah concept is the local design (probably by azlan’s team) for the preve.

The production preve design was mostly penned by giugario italdesign. And the wierd mishmash of the front and rear design is probably chosen by proton bosses from a list of options giugario did for them. Strange designs happen when you don’t have 1 chief designer that the top management trust and give full design freedom, like what happens now in kia.

• shawal on Jul 17, 2015 at 1:20 am

Honda is currently the masters of packaging, with thin a pillars in their volume models, class leading leg room space and boot space…

Thw worst packaging in recent yeara has got to be the AM rapide…

Neway, this seems to be an exciting competition indeed, let see which one comes up on tops

• joonlin on Jul 17, 2015 at 1:28 am

Design is important, but when problem occur, Proton apply ignorance. If the gearbox issue is solved, I probability will give Iris a try.

• Sapura Oil on Jul 17, 2015 at 1:50 am

Ask Mahathir son to design lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Wewantmore on Jul 17, 2015 at 2:36 am

i prefer someone will design the car base on najib’s face for front bumper and rosmah bodyshape for the body and tail lamp,there will be 1mdb edition.blue car with bling ring VIP on sterring signal indicator,gps and money sensor! Now who wanna booking 1st?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
      • And call it Proton Naros or Rosjib. Sure sell like hot cake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
      • Nah! I would prefer Anwars front (to cucuk peoples belakang), Nurul Ijah dour looks (design so boring no thief would want), with Jijahs fan powered rear (to save on fuel), and lastly their godson Azmins rounded body shape (Myvi versi revolusi rakyat).

Thats what the rakyat wants!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 65
        • biggrillmouth on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:58 am

And you john badmouth big grill fascia on front!

Only that can be implemented, like on latest toyoda scion and ford, very ugly!!!!

• frossonice on Jul 17, 2015 at 2:00 am

Some Malaysia are so negative in every possible sense, blinded by hatred I think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
  • Leon Loke on Jul 17, 2015 at 2:29 am

Well, From Proton Gen2 , Persona to Preve, they have 1 issue in common, not design to inche up their wheels. Always touching the rear bumper clip. Why not homologate 2 size up?

The transmission of the Iriz is loud and not so responsive. Focus on better engine and transmission along with better plastic quality.

• Designer on Jul 17, 2015 at 2:45 am

Just bring back Dany Bahar. Proton’s design sucks compared to Lotus

Dany Bahar > Azlan Othman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
    • Thedarkside on Jul 17, 2015 at 10:19 am

Wow…u like to talk cock is it? Danny bahar was lotus ceo….not designer lah….u comparing Apple with fruit cake!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
  • Muhammad Ali on Jul 17, 2015 at 3:00 am

Last year also got competition, so what’s different this year?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • 2ltr bottle on Jul 17, 2015 at 8:44 am

Not reading the article is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • Read. The. Article. Dont. Be. A. Lazy. Dumb. Ass.
      There, fits ur 140 character attention span.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 25
  • Still jobless on Jul 17, 2015 at 9:01 am

They pobbaly cannot afford hire Peter Seyer, so come out wit tis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • dodgeviper88 on Jul 17, 2015 at 10:31 am

Proton has a long way to go in terms of ergonomics and efficiency in space. Case in point, rear seats folded down does not form a totally flat floor and this is a very basic ergonomic feature. Just goes to show that although overall they can make decent cars they still have a long way to go for the small details

• ProtonScrewed? on Jul 17, 2015 at 11:37 am

what is the point of having good design while consumers are sorely dissappointed with lousy built quality, nagging electrical/mech problems, poor-piss services at service center???

On top of that, Proton cars ain’t cheap to own these days. So much for Made-in-Malaysia car, huh??

• The iriz rear door glass is bad design. the rear windscreen goes so far behind but you slope the door like a sedan rear windscreen angle making access difficult. Look at the myvi rear door glass. That is correct use of space!

• movingcoffin on Jul 18, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Myvi is still moving coffin no matter how correct the rear door glass is

• protondesignsucks on Jul 18, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Iriz design is stupid like Proton supporters. Every time rear passengers enter/exit, they knock their head. Form does not follow function. The design only to syok sendiri. No wonder they need to find new designer

• Jobless on Jul 17, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Wat P1 hire the designers for? To come out wit Design Competitions and let the rakyat design for them? Wat a joke…juat fire tthe highly paid people who designed the super ugly supima, preve and even iriz

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 18, 2015 at 9:03 pm

You mean Italdesign Giugiaro? They were bought by VW.

These contents are to find new talent, that will hopefully one day work for P1.

• kadajawee on Jul 19, 2015 at 11:01 am

A smart German will always pick German car designer like Peter Schreyer to help solve Proton’s embarrasing design problem.

With Schreyer as Proton chief designer he will teach the local Proton designers about world class car design and embed it as DNA profile to all future Proton cars. Nobody else superior than German kaisers when it comes to car design.

Proton under Schreyer’s guidance surely can sell 4 million cars annually instead of taking 30 years to sell 4 million cars and suffer billions of debts and losses year in year out.

• Most german car designs are from foreigners.

Examples: Passat B6 was designed by a Turk, while the new Mercedes CLS was designed by a Korean.

They don’t care about nationality, race or religion, they simply hire who’s best fitted for the job to be done.

• almerabeautiful on Jul 18, 2015 at 9:05 pm

Yes they should hire designers who can design as beautiful as Vios the catfish and Almera the dugong. That we can call timeless design, much better than Schreyer’s

• undertakerreturns on Jul 19, 2015 at 9:57 pm

At least Almera don’t knock people’s head off like Iriz

• youtalkkok on Jul 20, 2015 at 11:19 am

No such things. Iriz roof is high enough unless you talk about gen2

• The electric ‘supercar’ built for fun by Chinese student for just £3,000!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3163808/The-electric-supercar-built-fun-Chinese-student-just-3-000-does-speed-37mph.html

• alldisc on Jul 17, 2015 at 4:35 pm

Jonathan, pls clarify on participations entry. It was mentioned in the previos article in paultan.org that there will be 2 categories and for the second one any individual can submit as long as he or she is a malaysian.

But that is not the case referring to proton website. So which is which now

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jul 17, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Indeed, Category 2 is for all individuals aged 18 and above, as long as they are Malaysians with a valid IC.

Just to clarify, the competition is divided into two categories – Category 1 is for groups of up to three members, aged between 13 and 17 years old, while Category 2 is for individuals aged 18 years and up. Only Malaysians with a valid IC are eligible to participate.

• Jemankhan on Jul 17, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Damn we shld give this opportunity to global,not just malaysia..many out there got tons of idea..u said want proton go international market but use only malaysian idea..LOL if whole world or maybe just asian country, join this contest can ceduk idea from here and there..this just an idea i dunno if proton can do.open your mind! Make malaysia proud! Go proton!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Drawing on Jul 17, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Y looking for international talents since kindergarten kids can draw a fine MiloTin ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • movingcoffin on Jul 18, 2015 at 9:09 pm

That name gone to Toyota long ago. No VSC + 2 airbags = moving coffin

• movingcoffin on Jul 18, 2015 at 10:51 pm

Proton is moving coffin long ago, don’t you know? Saga = No VSC + 2 airbags

• youcaveman on Jul 19, 2015 at 9:46 am

You dun know anything about iriz?
            Go out from cave

• Bangla on Jul 17, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Agree, we have great ideas and Proton don’t accept us. Why discriminate?

• alldisc on Jul 18, 2015 at 2:18 am

Thank you for clarifying though proton website still mention malaysian students 18 years of age.

http://corporate.proton.com/en/protondesign2015/How%20to%20Enter

I will proceed to go ahead. ThnxThnx n wish me luck!

• malaysiaLOL on Jul 17, 2015 at 10:35 pm

designer buat apa ?

• This is a good competition to those who loved to complain about p1 design.. p1 design like sh**,p1 design like 90s, p1 dont know how to design a butt, etc.. show to them your idea, prove to them you are so good in designing a car, better than any p1 members.. not just complaining like tin kosong..

Sahut cabaran ley, dont just talk cock..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Let them continue ugly design and make car buyers angry resulting in low sales big losses.

Dasar mentaliti tak mau berubah. Bagus lah rugi besar, lagi cepat bungkus kilang.

• Jika kami design, Proton head of design buat apa? Why don’t his salary give us?

• Bro..u need not know how to design to complain..as a consumer if the design is ugly then its ugly and u wont buy it..everyone agrees with it..

• fuglyalmera on Jul 19, 2015 at 9:51 am

Almera is fuglier than preve but still you praise it like ferrari. So what

• YeaBetul on Jul 18, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Yea betul tu. Suruh budak tadika draw la. Mereka pandai draw
      Milotin kosong ;)

• Allroadquattro on Jul 18, 2015 at 7:18 am

this old Sniff Petrol article made me laughed hard! (yes, I understand what satire means but this one is just true.)
    http://sniffpetrol.com/2015/04/30/lotus-to-produce-turd/#.VamM5qSqqkp

• Looking at proton’s cars even to the latest iriz, i must say the participants and the judges are not very bright.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Steve Kok on Jul 18, 2015 at 9:43 am

How much is Proton is paying it’s chief designer per month?

Might as well sack him and hire part time designers, work by hours will do.

• Bris Cangle on Jul 18, 2015 at 10:37 am

Proton design only suitable for 3rd world markets like Africa or Bangladesh.

Outdated, unimaginative and lazy. No wonder low sales big loss.

• Peter Seyer on Jul 20, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Proton supporters like his toilet designs, what can we do?

• the goat on Jul 18, 2015 at 11:55 am

its funny when people here think that the design competition is to find the design for the next proton car that would goes to production, bodoh tahap maslan. The competition is more likely for people to show their design and talent, and the best wins money $$. Designing a car is not easy, its need time and passion. Its not for lazy people,who only know to comment negatively, its for people who see it as an opportunity to show their designing skill and wins money $$. i myself will take this challenge to come up with my design. Its like learning new skill

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • MiloTinCompetition on Jul 19, 2015 at 1:34 am

Yes. U r RIGHT! We shud encourage kindergarten students to participate in drawing MiloTin, so they can win attractive prizes :))

• camryrubbish on Jul 19, 2015 at 9:15 am

This is not milotin unless you talk about toyota moving coffin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • There maybe many great design frm contestant. But the judge only able pick the winner of the least beutiful design cuz that is how proton head designer design his car..XD

• Steve Kok on Jul 19, 2015 at 10:57 pm

Yup..design cannot be better than the proton’s in-house team.

• youjudge on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:59 am

Yes i’m sure if it’s you, it’d be more or less like Almera or Vios!

• Nissan on Jul 20, 2015 at 7:07 am

The best ever looking car from proton are Perdana and Insipra only, that’s it.

• Mr. R on Jul 20, 2015 at 9:17 am

Well well..look at all the keyboard warrior..talking like they have superb experience running an automotive company..typical Malaysian..always bashing blindly when it comes to national product. and always think their opinion representing million of Malaysian. Lot of talk..talk and talk..at the end of the day used the moving coffin product. yes they are reliable, which serve it purpose as a coffin.GO KEYBOARD WARRIOR!!

• People..here go the minority cuz the majority will agree that proton design bad look car also in realibility…we need not know to manage a company but majority of us know if u r running a company with continuous losses..u r out…the CEO should be fired…and public fund should not be pumped into such useless company for the sake of national pride

• Mr. R on Jul 20, 2015 at 11:18 am

Do you have solid proof to support that majority agree proton design are bad look?well, in here maybe (coz people bashing blindly when it comes to Proton) but it different case on the road. I see a lot of Proton and heck I see a lot of Persona SV even the model is old (but with improved safety features)and even the Preve, I see plenty of them on the road. So I think maybe only blind people bought Proton coz they cant see the design, cuz the “majority” felt the design is bad. Yes, there is era where Proton are really bad doing their business, but at present, they have improved from time to time. We are developing country, not a well developed country. So dont expect Proton will be as good as Mercedes by next week. and my friend, I have to agreed with you when u said if the company continue making losses, the CEO should be fired. and I believe Proton has do so. The new CEO was appointed only April last year, and look what achievement they have made within this short period? We shall see the improvement in years to come.

• Enuff said on Jul 20, 2015 at 12:24 pm

The proof is in the sales figure.

• Mr. R on Jul 21, 2015 at 2:09 pm

and Proton is in the 2nd place. whats wrong with the sales figure again?

• Proof? Just see the MKT share of proton car on the road la…dun use ur eyes to see…there is a report for u to look at…ur eyes only can see pic infront of u but not the entire MalaySia..

• Mr. R on Jul 21, 2015 at 3:33 pm

please share with us the report..copy paste the link here and we see what kind of report have you read. as far as i’m concern, Proton is the 2nd place after Perodua for its vehicle sales. and thats is for June 2015 figures.definitely i use my eyes to see.i dont know about you but i dont bash blindly, coz i see with my eye..not with hatred and blindly.

• Improvement on Jul 21, 2015 at 9:56 am

The only IMPROVEMENT we need from MiloTin is to close shop. Thank you for your understanding!

• If the end result is something like Iriz, then the competition is a waste of time.

• Mr. R on Jul 20, 2015 at 11:56 am

My friend, waste of time is when we keep complaining,comment negatively,bashing blindly and end up with doing nothing. thats called waste of time. But if Proton are trying and keep trying to please the Malaysian with their new models and improved safety features, I dont see it waste of time. Yes, waste of time if no one buy the cars. But there is quite plenty of Iriz on the road although it may not as many as axia. My friend, Proton is in the stage of earning the Malaysian trust again. Iriz is good, no doubt about it. But only Malaysian has trust issues with Proton. Proton has learn the lesson and need to win the heart of Malaysian again.

• Win the heart?

How long you need to win?
        You think Malaysians owe you and your tiga suku engineers?
        You think the whole of of Malaysia is a charity entity?
        If cannot compete, just close down.

• Mr. R on Jul 21, 2015 at 2:08 pm

So in your genius opinion, being 2nd place for vehicle sales in Malaysia can be consider as cannot compete?You my friend..deserve the albert einstein award..

• albert on Jul 22, 2015 at 6:21 pm

With protection get 2nd place that you call can compete? Don’t syok yourself lah. How much is Proton selling in open market like Langkawi?

• BestGift on Jul 21, 2015 at 9:53 am

There is ONLY one thing MiloTin can do to please us. Close down la… Kesian aku… Beribu kali kena comment pasal nie :((

• Mr. R on Jul 21, 2015 at 3:27 pm

dont bother to comment then..no one need your ‘close down’ opinion. if you cant compete with your others colleague/kindergarden friend, maybe you can ‘close down’ urself if you know what i mean..

• Celicazz on Jul 20, 2015 at 12:30 pm

Many of these comments doesn’t even have proper english, more so to understands “anthropomorphic and ergonomic” means.

Bla3 here about Proton’s design, but ‘takda telur’ when proton wants them to propose a design for them? Cowards.

Be fair when commenting. What is wrong with u guys?

Typical Malaysian, ruining their own country, following Najib’s footsteps.

• Bro…desinger are paid to design a product for the consumer…not syok sendiri design to see himself…are we fair enough to say thier design and quality is bad..try remove car taxes I dare u to buy proton then ah beng vios…

• MalaysiaGoneCasr on Jul 21, 2015 at 9:44 am

Dei thambi, simple english is enuff to post comments…dont try to act smart la.. U r the one who typical. Malaysia alredy corrupted a lot. And these Milotin just suc.king ppl money for more than 30 yrs. The only prize we want is that Proton and Perodua to close shop. Thats the BEST gift any Malaysian can get. And as long as there is ‘FAT RICE’ management, nothing will be improved. Simple as that!

• the dentist on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:30 pm

I wrote my comment, try to post it, but it never surfaces…

• Unfair on Jul 21, 2015 at 9:48 am

Bolehland is unfair country. You cant post honest comments. Same goes for bolehland website. Chill bro. Whenever i wanted to read automative news in bolehland, de most news only about Milotin.. Very de irrittaing :/

• Close Lah on Jul 23, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Competition? No need lah. Either remove NAP or close shop

• Its about time Paultan stop posting Proton news..please..

• I can see the appeal of a design contest, but I think an engineering contest would be even more beneficial. Make the grand prize super appealing like maybe an intern opportunity with Lotus for example. Hopefully next year? :)

• ZARULELZANI on Sep 29, 2015 at 5:27 pm

:)