Ford Mondeo facelift accidentally revealed in slides?

ford-fusion-mondeo-fl

In what looks like a major ‘oops’ moment, Ford may have unintentionally revealed what the upcoming Ford Mondeo facelift looks like in one of its corporate slides. Earlier spyshots have already given strong hints of what the Mondeo looks like on the side, however this takes it to a different level.

From the blurry shot we can see that the headlights are slightly shapier, curvier even, as for the grille it now looks a little bit narrower than the one on the current generation Mondeo. One will have to squint to really notice this, but the front bumpers also seem a little more rounded in shape.

The most telling feature that stands out are those trapezoidal-shaped accents on both sides, which may look like where the foglights go – but this has yet to be seen. As this is a facelift, there does not seem to be any updates that have been applied to the side profile of the new Mondeo.

As it goes with all facelifts, powertrain, there should be no changes to the 2.0 litre EcoBoost engine (that’s the one we have here in Malaysia). Do you like what you see so far?

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Sorry, cant see the difference..

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 15, 2015 at 9:52 am

Junk car with no RV. Work hard lah especialy those kimchis drivers. I will get my 4th lexus next month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
      • C. N. Say on Aug 16, 2015 at 1:47 am

Same L0rrrr, I’ve only been following this website for a short while but already I find your comments really shallow, dull and repetitive. You must have a very boring life. I suggest you get and try to maintain a good relationship with a girlfriend/boyfriend to see if it helps improve your mental prowess.

• Spare Part Tunggu 3 Bulan on Aug 17, 2015 at 9:17 am

Adoi, saya tunggu spare part 3 bulan. Ford betul lembap

• Yawn - 3 months wait! on Aug 17, 2015 at 2:04 pm

I oso own ford before in 2013. 3 months wait for even simple side mirror. What a joke of a company

• Stinking After sales on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:04 pm

They lie to you to the max. You service the car, when you go home, go and check your black oil.

I paid for new 4L oil, when I went home, it was old black oil in my engine.

Becareful of their service center.

• Dual Clutch SAME as DSG on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Ford Dry Dual Clutch same as VW DSG. It will breakdown non stop. My Ford already 4 times kaput the clutch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • Walauweh on Aug 15, 2015 at 11:04 pm

Hello MR..Ford M’sia had chosen the Ford-GM SelectShift Conventional Auto instead of the Getrag PowerShift Dual Clutch for the new gen Mondeo.

I suggest you to do a lot of readings and research before you judge/accuse something.

• Don't ride the clutch on Aug 16, 2015 at 12:03 am

Sorry to hear that. Maybe you should drive back a torque converter, less trouble for you.

90% of the DSG and Ford dual-clutch kaput because the owner “ride the clutch” too often in traffic jams. Putting the gear in “D” and drag the car in extremely slow speed condition by using ONLY BREAK PEDAL without throttle input will surely wear-out the clutch prematurely, just like what happens in a manual car. Some driver even make it worse by launching on a hill slope without throttle input (during a traffic jam). Many people buy Ford and VW and thought they can drive it same like the normal torque converter, well, the answer is no. The SA don’t bother to tell the buyers either.

It takes some driving habit inherited from driving a manual car and careful manipulation of the throttle to drive a dual-clutch in a Malaysia environment. If you insist of an idiot, no brainer driving experience by putting it to “D” and expect a dual-clutch to perform like a torque converter, you choose the wrong car.

• pls do some research before writing above statements

• MGS88 on Aug 16, 2015 at 7:30 am

This mondeo is not using the dry clutch. Conventional torque converter. You may refer to PaulTan’s article for its launching.

• iampro on Aug 15, 2015 at 9:02 am

to keep up with other D-segment? Really?

I thought which paultan or singh wrote this.

then I see a name i don’t know.

Ahhh must be fresh grad writer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
  • Gaviny on Aug 15, 2015 at 10:43 am

Nice is nice but nobody dare to buy lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Perhaps like Ford says.. “Feel the difference”?.. ;)

• Ford 3 Months Wait on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:01 pm

My Ford Fiesta 2014 model kena bang on the side, Autoconnexion took 3 months to replace the door.

Stay away from Ford. Any part also, they take 3 months to repair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • 3 months story again! Coward Liar ! on Aug 16, 2015 at 12:28 am

Ha, you again!

After your lies are being “uncovered” in the previous post claiming that you owned a 2014 Ford Focus and writing contradictory timeline, you delete your comment and disappear.

And now you come back with your three months story and Len Seng bus bullshit. You must be hating Ford very much, coz you have been bitching about your “3 -months waiting for spare part” story in almost every Paultan article about Ford since 2012!

Do you sure you owned a 2014 Fiesta? You’ve disguised yourself owing a 2014 Focus in the last post, sometimes you disguise yourself “hearing” stories from other people, you even claimed you owned a 2010 Focus back in 2012! So your Ford is a time machine? You buy a 2014 Fiesta and kena langgar back in 2012?
      Your Ford is so precious man! Can do time traveling!!! And which part of your car kena langgar? side mirror? bumper? windscreen? or door? Wah! you kena many accident with your Ford leh! You must be a lousy driver!

You wanna refresh your memory? Let’s see how many 3-months wait and Len Seng bus bullshit you have been putting up since 2012, each time saying that your door kena bang, windscreen replacement, side mirror, bumper and tons of bullshits:

http://paultan.org.hkbqbl.com/2015/04/10/april-ford-promo-offers-up-to-rm10000-cash-rebate/

http://paultan.org/2013/06/06/driven-2013-ford-kuga-tested-in-adelaide/

http://paultan.org/2014/10/30/ford-fiesta-st-malaysian-spec-variant-revealed/

http://paultan.org/2013/09/23/driven-ford-fiesta-1-5-sport-facelift-sampled/

http://paultan.org/2015/05/09/2015-ford-mondeo-launched-in-malaysia-rm198k/

http://paultan.org/2013/10/31/ford-big-deal-promotion-focus-kuga/

http://paultan.org/2015/04/01/ford-malaysia-gst-prices/

http://paultan.org/2015/04/10/ford-malaysia-reports-best-ever-monthly-quarter-sales/

http://paultan.org/2012/03/27/ford-focus-third-gen-makes-asean-debut/

These are just a tip of an ice-berg. All readers can judge for yourself. Seriously, you should be awarded a medal for having so much hate against Ford. Pls don’t delete your comment like you did in the previous Ford Everest article, it makes you a coward. If you’re so sure and convince about your 3 months wait and Len Seng bus story, why run away?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
      • Really Lies or Truth? on Aug 17, 2015 at 9:06 am

Clearly an auto connection salesman or the idiots at sdac trying to dispute. Not one person, not 2 people but tens of people confirm about the 3 month wait.

the problem with SDAC and Ford, they are like the Government, always in denial. Instead of rectifying, they send a cybertrooper to dispute.

I have a Ford Focus. I have had no accidents but whenever I sit in SC, I speak to so many other people servicing their cars. They confirm about the 3 months parts wait.

Please do not lie and be in denial mode.

• Really? on Aug 17, 2015 at 12:14 pm

I changed my windscreen through insurance claim at Ford Puchong, the waiting is close to 1 month, where got 3 months?

Yes, SDAC’s service is far from satisfactory, and their PJ headquaters is a nightmare to visit, long waiting list, 3 hour battery replacement, dirtying and scratching your car… (you can find tons of anecdotal personal experience in various motoring forum)

But this guy is claiming that EVERY SINGLE PART needs 3 month to replace, which is truly a lie. And he has been repeating the same thing in almost every Paultan’s Ford article since 2012, and disguising himself as a Fiesta, Focus, and various model owner in various contradicting time-line since 2012! Sometimes he claim his gearbox spoiled, sometimes he say side-mirror replace, sometimes he say bumper kena bang, sometimes he say door kena bang…. (the list goes on) It takes a psycho or utterly stupid fellar to have so many parts of his car bang in an accident and still keeping the car for so long and come bitch in Paultan.org !

You can check all the links provided and see for yourself to verify. He writing style is very predictable, and he likes to add in the “Len Seng” bus line in his earlier days.

Yes, SDAC service is no good, and their PJ headquarters is even sucks in some circumstances. However, someone writing the same thing since 2012 saying EVERY PART needs 3 months to replace is clearly A LIE and PERSONAL VENDETA.

I am no Ford salesman, just curious what has Ford done to this guy to make him has such a perseverance and effort to repeat the same thing for more than 3 years. He should be given a medal, seriously.

• 1 Month??? on Aug 17, 2015 at 2:02 pm

Waiting 1 month? you serious? Even Ferrari and Bentley can get parts in a few days.

• Steven Ching on Aug 17, 2015 at 2:06 pm

stay away from Ford. Their RV will shock you. I think this dude so scared his RV already dropping, now with everybody knowing about 3 months, lagi drop.

• Ford Kaki Breakdown - 3 months on Aug 17, 2015 at 9:27 am

What nonsense are you talking bro? I am an Escape Owner. So many times my car help up for 3 month. Last was February this year. Go check my number plate to verify BXX 7722

• Ford Escape ? Still sending it to SDAC? on Aug 17, 2015 at 11:57 am

Simply give number plate and blank out 2 of the alphabets who also can do, if u got guts, give full number plate lah.

Ford Escape is an old car, why you want to send your car to the SDAC since your warranty is over already? If SDAC is so bad and held your car for 3 MONTHS LIKE YOU CLAIMED TO BE, why you still continue send it there? You’re are pretty stupid right?

There are plenty of good independent Ford garage out there that can handle older generation Ford like Lynx, Laser, Escape, or even the previous-gen Focus TDCi, they are not as complex a vehicle like the current lineups of Fiesta, Focus or Kuga.

I think you have a very disorderly love-hate, split personality relationship with your Ford. At one point you hate the brand so much, but you still keep an old veteran Escape while keep sending it to the official service centre (which you claimed is very bad) whereas there are so many independent garage outside that can handle this car, and charge you at a much cheaper price.

Finally, why don’t you just sell your stupid Ford and get ride of all these trouble of 3-month wait like you claimed to be? since owing a Ford is such a pain experience according to you. Funny.

• Tortoise Ford on Aug 17, 2015 at 2:21 pm

hello ford fanboy, don’t be so immature here lah. Keep your fights outside PT.

Anyway, I don’t own Ford but everybody knows, Ford is slow like a tortoise.

• Ford bullshit story detected on Oct 26, 2023 at 9:45 am

Hey Sohai, where is your Ford Escape , Fiesta and Focus? Where is your 3 months wait story ? lol

• Sohai Ford owner on Oct 26, 2023 at 8:06 pm

Hey sohai, where is your Ford Escape , still sending to ford service centre and wait 3 months for parts ? where are all your stupid story ? lol

• Balik la Ford Salesman on Aug 17, 2015 at 9:32 am

Users or commentors cannot delete comments. This alone shows you are a ford salesman that don’t know anything

• Why did the comment just disappear? on Aug 17, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Then why did the comment just disappear?

Perhaps the Paultan.org team can shed some light.

• Michael Lam on Aug 17, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Ford is the champion for waiting for parts. Make sure you got 2nd car on standby

• mobile on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:17 pm

Hardly see mondeo on the streets

• Chris (Member) on Aug 15, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Hope there will be 1.5L turbo version with maybe slightly less fancy gadget. Sell it for 30k less and it’ll compete in the 170k Ringgit range with the likes of Teana 2.5XV, Accord 2.4VTi-L and the 508 THP.

Would also like to see a 1.5L turbo Focus facelift.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 15, 2015 at 3:58 pm

I see more Porsche on the road compared to Ford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • DPCraft on Aug 15, 2015 at 11:49 pm

Accord looks better overall, this car’s rear very boring…

• intermilan on Aug 16, 2015 at 10:02 am

Not too shabby but Malaysia-wise, IMO one of the biggest issue is brand image.

They sold like 10 time more commercial vehicles (pick up truck) than passenger vehicle. So most Ford we see on the road in basically not a car.

Who want to buy expensive car from a ‘truck company’

Noted this brand image or perception is not fair or justified but that the reality in our market.

Product quality is also not good due to reliability issue with the single clutch gearbox.

And last but not least, the alleged poor after sales services.

• intermilan on Aug 16, 2015 at 10:04 am

Not too shabby but Malaysia-wise, IMO one of the biggest issue is brand image.

They sold like 10 time more commercial vehicles (pick up truck) than passenger vehicle. So most Ford we see on the road in basically not a car.

Who want to buy expensive car from a ‘truck company’

Noted this brand image or perception is not fair or justified but that the reality in our market.

Product quality is also not good due to reliability issue with the single clutch gearbox.

And last but not least, the alleged poor after sales services.

Before i forget, product pricing is also sometime questionable. Some products are slightly overpriced.

• I dont care how much tracing paper they use to copy aston martin’s design, its still a junk ford. Ive owned these crap cars and they have only given me headaches, most of the time they are in the workshop and are extremely expensive to repair. American pride, rubbish quality.