SPYSHOTS: 2016 Proton Perdana spotted again!

Proton-Perdana-spyshots-00

Here it is folks. We’ve got new spy shots of the new Proton Perdana – from readers Raja Nurhayati and Chan Huan Hui – which is adorned with heavy camouflage. The most striking thing about this latest evolution of this Perdana is the broad C-pillars and the shallower angle for its rear glasshouse.

As we reported earlier, the new civilian-market flagship for the national carmaker will still be based on the eighth-generation Honda Accord, but it will have its own distinctive design, and not just be a rebadging exercise for the current model that is being reserved for exclusive use by the government. It’s interesting to see the mule next to a Toyota Vios and an old fourth-gen Accord for size – this is a big car, for sure.

Based on the earlier pictures and video that were sent in from our reader, Tilakiswaran Samurgam, it was undergoing road tests on the PLUS highway near Behrang; even then, the front façade of the car had already shown tell-tale signs of Proton’s familiar design DNA. Interestingly, at the rear, indications are that the exhaust outlet has been integrated into the rear bumper, which is a first for a Proton.

Expect the Perdana to be launched next year with Honda powertrains; these being the Accord’s 2.0 litre and 2.4 litre i-VTEC petrol engines that will be complemented by a five-speed automatic gearbox. So far so good, what do you guys think of this ride?

Current Proton Perdana (government official use only)

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Tigerkonga on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:30 am

Whatever it is v rakyat really suffer to fead this white elephant n proton lazy n useless people hire who could rebadge only.if it’s rebadge then I open one Co n rebadge cars what’s the point
    Really shame to proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 55
    • w3ll3r on Sep 01, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Preve Exora etc also rebadged?

*Facepalm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrrr on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:56 pm

If you good at making roti canai, you don’t go sell strawberry cheese cake suddenly. Lesson 101 doing business.

It is good Proton stick with its forte: rebadge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
      • Roti Canai on Sep 01, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Not rebadge, that’s why terbakar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Yes yes yes please open one,,, i’ll ne your 1st buyers…

Talk talk talk

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:30 pm

hmmm, what then do you say about perodua?

• So lame. Tis is not a rebadge. Its already mentioned overal redesign. Only base on accord platform. Or izit only me who think that way?

• Dia otak dah masuk konkrik, tak fungsi langsung, maafkan dia.

• Uncle Lim on Sep 02, 2015 at 4:44 pm

U seriously…Hey come on lah, all car manufacturer do rebadging car. Eventho P1 use same platform with Honda but P1 will come out with their own powertrain. Same or much better than Honda. i think this is 2nd time for P1 to use rebadged car..b4 this Inspira.

• kennyjay on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:37 am

change this change that, still a rebadge. same platform, same engine, same gearbox.

30 years of rebadging and wasting rakyat’s money, bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 49
    • Peugeot also do it… rebadge Mit ASX as peugeot 4008… so?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Yes…it’s adapted fr the Mitsubishi’s model but the platform is in part of 4007 and it looks much more prettier…sexier…European style…

• Veneno on Sep 01, 2015 at 10:31 pm

lots of carmakers do that.. get your facts straight, newbie.. it is an common thing in automotive industry..

• Nissan Teana on Sep 02, 2015 at 9:03 am

I doubt they will get vetch engine, a lousy campro maybe. And with that junky body it will drink petrol like water. Good luck!

• Areyousure on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:50 am

Previous-gen Accord owners, better dump your car now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Wow!

• Vis Kalai on Sep 01, 2015 at 12:13 pm

Proton, you can do it. Add a nice dashboard design with soft touch materials, classy aluminium and wood trim, together with a great exterior design (which looks very promising by looking at the spyshots) and you will have one hell of a car. If it is within my budget of 130k, im buying one :D I’m loving the new design language too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • what design on Sep 01, 2015 at 5:44 pm

credit where credit’s due, but…what design language can you possibly derive from this fully camo-ed unit?

Even whatever little parts you can make up behind the camo looks pretty much like an Accord.

• Omg Proton on Sep 01, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Seems unnecessary to camouflage a car that has already been in the market for more than 5 years now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
  • Veneno on Sep 01, 2015 at 12:22 pm

the wheels need to be bigger to match those large wheelarches..

• nabill (Member) on Sep 01, 2015 at 12:29 pm

From what i can see, most of the work has been done on the rear and the reat quarter… Front fender looks abt same… I just hope they make the front grill little bit biggerthats the trend in design nowadays…

• low quality roadtax sticker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • policeman on Sep 01, 2015 at 1:16 pm

2.4 manual please. Time to upgrade my Inspira.

• Whoa, a BIG car I would say. Perhaps 5-series size? If they make it pretty, bundled with some quality materials and a right price tag, Proton definitely stands a chance.

All the best, Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Albert on Sep 01, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Step brother Honda,is doing national service.They have to sacrifice some current generation accord sales if this rebadged proton goes on sale.
    The pricing will be a factor.Lets see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • powershot (Member) on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:14 pm

the rims looks like the ones used in Exora Bold SP variant

• Ajai Kinrara on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:18 pm

I dont care if this is a rebadge car. If it is cheaper than the current Honda Acccord i will buy it!!!
    What is the of point spending extra money to get a Honda? It is still by Honda right?
    Think about it, if Proton can sell the 2.4 version at the similar price of an Accord 2.0, are you dum8 enough to get Accord instead?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • lowprofile (Member) on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:34 pm

let’s hope we get a d-segment at a c-segment price!

• George Abdul on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Before u make conclusion on price… if Proton still use Original Accord vtec for the new perdana that’s good…

What if still using lousy Campro engine, it will be sick big times !!!

• kadajawa on Sep 01, 2015 at 4:09 pm

Just close down Proton and let us have the original Honda at original price. Stop this rebadge nonsense to make us buy the Proton badge which nobody likes. Think about it, if you’re in Langkawi, are you dumb enough to get Proton instead of Honda?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
  • seancorr (Member) on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Yeah we’re gonna see quite a number of these on the road coz it uses Honda tech provided they sell the base 2.0 model @ RM100k or lesser. That’ll make it the cheapest D segment model in the country but then again a REAL base Honda Accord model with year end discounts isn’t far off either…

• eeeriz on Sep 01, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Proton should consider to upgrade the tranny box to 6-speed. Now all car majors have already moved to 7,8 and even 9-speed gearbox. And please, make the car to run on min RON95 please.

• Persona on Sep 01, 2015 at 5:45 pm

Give you completely build up by proton also salah rebadge also salah.. Go and die la bastards.. Nobody force you’ll. To buy.. Maggots..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • big sava on Sep 01, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Rear design just a big sava, disappointed

• vtek tek on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:02 pm

In the near future….Proton will have an ads slogan “Smart people buy Hondana” sorhai buy honda. Poor honda fans. They going to go thru the same fate as sorhai lancer owners.

• yogeswaran on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:19 pm

Still, Hondard SM4 is more solid and reliable than this newPerdana for sure!

• bukan kerja proton on Sep 02, 2015 at 10:46 am

What I learn was that people who bash proton badly is people who never own proton or never own other cars brand except proton but both of them wish how they could drive continental car if they had enough money.

Most gila one, I have friend who even never seat in any proton car but can talk a lot about how bad was proton car. Pathetic!!

If you want to feel like driving a BMW then get the BMW lah..you buy proton sure cannot feel like drive BMW..

• ayamxxx on Sep 02, 2015 at 2:02 pm

I believe the 8th gen Honda Accord do suffer for lack of NVH it this model.

Their face-lift improvement is using a Thicker Carpet at rear seat, which for the improvement in NVH.

I interested to see what is Proton idea to counter this lacking in 8th Gen unit.