BMW 3 Series – ten millionth unit rolls off the line!

bmw-3-series-10-million-unit

A celebration is due at BMW! The ten millionth BMW 3 Series has rolled off the production line at the German carmaker’s assembly plant in Munich! Instead of a hulking BMW M3 Sedan, said landmark vehicle is a relatively vanilla F30-generation BMW 320d LCI coated in Imperial Blue. As a result, specifications are pretty docile with a 2.0 litre TwinPower Turbo four-cylinder diesel mill putting out 187 hp and 400 Nm of torque.

“The success story of the BMW 3 Series started here in Plant Munich and is now reaching a very special high point here as well. The fact that this landmark vehicle was produced at our plant is a particular honour for us and makes me very proud indeed of my team,” said plant director, Hermann Bohrer.

Today, the plant produces up to 1,000 cars daily – half of said total is comprised of the BMW 3 Series. Said Munich plant is the only facility to have produced all six generations of the BMW 3 Series since the first-generation E21 model was introduced to the world in 1975.

BMW 3 Series 40 Years 11

Onwards from the E21, the E30-gen became, arguably, one of the more recognisable vintage 3 Series models – the introduction of the M3 nameplate certainly helped to cement its reputation. In 1991, the E36 BMW 3 Series was unveiled – VANOS variable valve timing made its debut on this generation. The E46 that followed in the late 90s was viewed as more of an evolutionary step before the launch of the E90 in 2004.

Fast forward roughly four decades on from the launch of the original and we have the F30-generation BMW 3 Series LCI. So while some quarters may claim that life back in the good ol’ days were better, the 3 Series begs to differ. At 40 and counting, we’re pretty sure that the folks at BMW are convinced that the best has yet to come. We were fortunate enough to have a go in a rare E30 320is recently – read all about it here.

GALLERY: E30-generation BMW 320is

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• When proton going to achieve this?

• rally_fan (Member) on Sep 10, 2015 at 3:26 pm

to be honest, not many car manufacturers in the world have achieved this.

• Areyousure on Sep 10, 2015 at 4:09 pm

Corolla tops the list :)

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 10, 2015 at 4:24 pm

This is truly an unreliable junk car with no RV. Slightly better than kimchis but still a failure. I owned 3 Lexus and getting my 4th Lexus next month. This is the only so call luxury car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
          • Najis on Sep 10, 2015 at 4:54 pm

U’re more shitty than me

• Beat you to it alredi lah! I got 5 lexus in my house! Everyday different flavour some more.

• MaxNix on Sep 15, 2015 at 12:33 am

A Lexus is the ultimate luxury transportation appliance. It is great if you love to drive toasters.

• Anti Tongkat on Sep 10, 2015 at 6:03 pm

It took Proton 30 years to sell 4 million cars. Go figure.

• Asyhik on Sep 11, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Proton already probably achieved it, maybe not on single model; combination figure.

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 10, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Congrats BMW.

Proton can’t even make 10 million vehicle not because they can’t, but because they don’t want to. Relative to BMW, Proton is actually a niche brand. So they won’t produce too many cars.

Proton is less niche than Ferrari, but more niche than BMW. BMW like Toyota is too mainstream.

• BMW like toyota? dun make seancorr puke his lunch. BMW is a premium brand in same class with MB, Jag, Audi. Its nothing like toyota, lexus maybe.

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 10, 2015 at 6:28 pm

One of the things about the 3 series, is that it has always been a consistent performer. In each generation, all the way to the F30, it has always stayed to it’s roots, that is a very well driving sedan with class leading dynamics.

It’s funny how after all these years, no one has cracked the 3 series code yet. And even though the interior of the F30 isn’t as exciting as the W205 C class, I’d rather take the F30, just cause as a driver’s car, for the price it is impressive (especially in 328i M Sport).

Happy birthday 3er!

• policeman on Sep 10, 2015 at 7:34 pm

Figure won’t lie, and how many unit A4 + C class together? No wonder many like to post bad comment on 3 series because of hate.

• Captain Slow on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:59 pm

I rather pick Lexus IS…more comfort,more reliable,more expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • alldisc on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:56 am

pls do not forget Volkswagen Golf, the original Mk 1 GTI and especially the Mk II GTI (available in 2 forms – the 8 valve and 16 valve).

I must say even though Golf is not on the same level as the 3 series (one is a family hatchback while the other a sporty sedan), it is still a successful car nonetheless.
    so successful that BMW did intend to produce something similar 20 years ago and it known as the 3 series compact (heard of 318ti, perhaps?) – to wrestle some sales in the hot hatch segment.

BMW did not do very well there, so it went up a little bit and produced the 1 series instead. 1st model was hideous but the current model has many improvements made to it

bet our beloved editors never tried 325ix. he he…dont think there is any in Malaysia, though.

• MaxNix on Sep 15, 2015 at 12:36 am

135i in the USA was a rocket. It put a smile on my face every time I drove it.