Lexus IS 200t specs listed on Lexus Malaysia’s site

Lexus Malaysia has just released detailed specifications for its Lexus IS 200t. The higher prices remain the same as when we first caught a glimpse of it here. Three variants are available – Premium, Luxury and F-Sport.

The key update would have to be under the hood. The IS 200t now shares the same mill as the NX 200t – a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged engine which makes 241 hp at 5,800 rpm and 350 Nm at 1,650 to 4,400 rpm, while top speed for the new 200t variants have also increased from 225 km/h to 230 km/h.

Now the 200t is faster than before, a whole 1.1 seconds quicker for that matter – it does the century sprint in just 7 seconds (previously 8.1 seconds). As for transmission, the new Lexus IS 200t receives a new eight-speed Sports Direct Shift automatic gearbox, an additional two gears up from the outgoing six-speeder.

A few other added features in the car include a Blind Spot Monitor alongside a Rear Cross Traffic Alert function, on top of that, it now has a total of 10 airbags, the other two can be found in the rear. Interestingly, the new IS in 200t form weighs a little bit more now – its kerb weight is 1,620 kg.

Prices (without insurance) for the entire Lexus IS 200t range has gone up, the Premium starts at RM278,400 while the mid-spec IS 200t Luxury is tagged at RM311,900 and the top-range IS 200t F-Sport is priced at RM344,900. The IS 300h is also a bit more pricier this time round, it goes for RM394,900.

GALLERY: Australian spec Lexus IS 200t

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 22, 2015 at 4:39 pm

The IS is a pretty good car based on American reviews i’ve read. It looks good too, to these eyes anyway. Sadly, the pricetag is not that attractive. Even the base model comes in RM278k (without insurance). That’s just crazy when you consider a base Infiniti Q50 (which is also CBU) starts at RM240 (thats an RM38k difference).

And how does having 500cc and 2 cylinders less cause it to weigh more? The additional 2 gears must be pretty heavy then. Though the 1620kg kerb weight is still much lower than the base Q50 (a porky 1707 kg). Its still heavy when compared to a Merc C200 (1465kg). I do hope Lexus spent those extra weight on luxury stuff.

• kington on Sep 22, 2015 at 5:10 pm

It is quite a nice car to drive. The IS250 F sport was a tad too stiff but acceptable, reminded me very much of the E90 325i Sports Ed. Then again, it is no secret that the Lexus has always benchmarked the IS against the BMW 3.

What was somewhat sad was that the current model seems to have a little less space the previous 2nd gen model. An F Sport IS in grey looks menacing, even when pitted against the BMW 328i M Sports.

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 22, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Look for yourself, Toyota basher! We have everything from E-CVT, CVT, 4 speed auto, 6 speed auto to 8 speed auto. Better spend your time fixing your pathetic punch CVT gearbox rather than Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok here.

Don’t blame us when you can’t afford our 6/8 speed auto. Why Toyota so expensive? Thanks to Proton. Because they can’t make a good car, Malaysians are prohibited to drive a good car by imposing ridiculous protection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
        • karam singh on Sep 22, 2015 at 7:50 pm

8 speeder 245hp , yet cut off at 230kmh …
          boring… 0-100kmh 7 secs,
          Merc c200 184hp 7speed,top 235kmh 0-100 7.3s
          c250 211hp tops 250kmh 0-100 6.6s
          go for C-Class/3-Series rather than Same Lor’s rubbish.
          C-Class = World car of the year 2015
          or BMW 320i about the same as Merc

why go for Same Lor T/L ? big hp but slower,heavy,expensive,fuel thirst.
          Efficiency level = mehhhhh ;(

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 23, 2015 at 2:05 pm

Here we can see this Karam is not a luxury car driver. Spending RM250k on a car on Malaysian road, who care about the car can go 230km/h or 245km/h? Unless you live INSIDE Sepang circuit.

Need for speed so much, please stick with your awesome EX5, Karam.

• supercharger on Sep 23, 2015 at 7:44 pm

V6 turbo only 7 sec?
            Forget it, even recechipped Preve can do about same.

• platt on Sep 22, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Why picanto 6 aibags VSC much cheaper?

• Go to hell with your protection.

• theanswer on Sep 22, 2015 at 5:27 pm

at this price..i’d go for merc c200 or bmw 320.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • In fact, most lexus buyers are people who have owned and experienced beemers.

and these people got attracted to Lexus’s overall package after entering showroom to test drive one.
        Thanks to Toyotas Reliability in Lexus, it gives no more headaches.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • lexusbiscuit on Sep 22, 2015 at 8:02 pm

Unfortunately lexus = toyota. Nothing special

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • theanswer on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:12 am

you got the point. but sales number speaks. that’s more important. in the end we seen a lot of merc n bmw on the road compared to Lexus IS (especially 3 series n c class which cater for first time buyer for luxury market). i’m not a T/L hater..in fact i like IS compared to 3 series..but honestly the pricing is not attractive enough.

• safetyfirst on Sep 22, 2015 at 6:23 pm

10 airbags? Not sure if the competitors have the same numbers but this has very good safety features

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • wayang kulit on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:31 am

More airbags does not mean it is safer. It is better to have no airbags in cars as it is a corporate scam for some companies to earn money. Studies have shown that airbags causes MORE injuries in accidents especially in low speed impacts.
        Not to mention with Takata airbags would you want 10 grenades to explode in your car???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • harapan on Sep 22, 2015 at 4:44 pm

RM jatuh, harga biskut Lexus naik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Is200t buyer on Sep 22, 2015 at 4:45 pm

Wait what… 2.0 V6? Is that typo?

• forrest the tree on Sep 22, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Lexus Malaysia is too over confidence or what? Price this more expensive that before, and also more pricy compare to 3 series and C-class.

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 22, 2015 at 7:24 pm

All Lexus cars sold here are CBU (from Japan, if i’m not mistaken). The 3 Series & C Class currently sold are CKD. For comparison, the current C Class when first launched was CBU from South Africa. The base model (C200) cost RM286k then. But I think the C200 is slightly better spec’ed than the IS200t premium. So a better comparison would be the IS200t Luxury which costs RM312k. On paper, thats RM26k dearer. But with the exchange rate not favouring the RM now, it could be part of the reason too. Though I think mostly its still UMW trying to make a big profit out of selling Lexus here. What to do. If too expensive, then we should all avoid Lexus Malaysia cars. A way of giving middle finger to UMW. Just wait for recon IS200t sometime next year.

• eVaz88 on Sep 23, 2015 at 9:35 am

I agree bro, beemer also increasing their price soon. Its all our PM fault la tu. sigh. everything increase except salary. I just came back from US, u can see the price for Lexus and Infiniti there is higher than Beemer and Mercs as well. In Fact they love Japs more than Continental car.. just plain malaysian love conti car

• holofanboi on Sep 22, 2015 at 5:13 pm

I…don’t understand Lexus Malaysia. With that kind of pricing why wouldn’t one look at a BMW 328i? A Lexus doesn’t even carry the same brand cachet as BMW and yet…bah.

Don’t even get me started on the F-sport range since it’s pretty obvious most buyers at that price point will just consider a 520i/428i instead.

I just don’t understand how Toyota/Lexus works here sometimes. Are they trying to artificially inflate the brand image over here? This MAY have worked 20 years ago without the internet but the Lexus<BMW/Mercedes/Audi is kind of globally obvious by now.

Note: Not a brand whore, but reality is harsh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • i don’t know about you or the majority of users out there but I would take the IS250 F over a 520i, just to be special on the road

and I don’t fancy driving a bigger car

just my preference

• and regarding your last statement

“I just don’t understand how Toyota/Lexus works here sometimes. Are they trying to artificially inflate the brand image over here? This MAY have worked 20 years ago without the internet but the Lexus<BMW/Mercedes/Audi is kind of globally obvious by now."

i feel it's the opposite now. With the internet now people started to appreciate Lexus more.

• guest28783 on Sep 22, 2015 at 5:17 pm

I think it’s an inline-4 instead of a V6 according to the site.

• Mark Tan on Sep 22, 2015 at 5:20 pm

wow, it was only 205hp and 252nm.
    now, new 2.0 turbo is 241hp and 350nm.

Very Powerful Upgrade.

• Bob_B78 on Sep 22, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Performance is so disappointing at this price range. Better get BMW 328i which is more exciting to drive. The only thing Lexus beats BMW is on refinement and comfort.

• Lexus, More Refined and More Comfortable Than BMW.

like u just said.

• once u have own 1 BMW, u would love to own a Lexus.

• Bob_B78 on Sep 22, 2015 at 9:42 pm

There is another car equally refined and comfortable yet way much cheaper than Lexus. It’s called Camry. Anyway, I’m not that old to be driving old man’s car

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 22, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Looking for speed? Get a EX5 better.
      Pay such amount of money and you can let go refinement and comfort? That’s why you can only talk, but not able to buy anyone of these cars.

• FIST (Member) on Sep 22, 2015 at 5:25 pm

what a waste, since all the research done for LFA is not pushed down to mass production cars. still a big gap with german competitors

• Nurfadilah on Sep 22, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Only cost RM155k staring in the U.S., Europe, North Asia and Australasia continent.

However comes to bolehland becomes starting RM300k with insurance.

All thanks to DR M and his Proton

• All Cars on Sep 22, 2015 at 7:28 pm

Well, looking at this…I am glad to have just purchased a Infiniti Q50 Premium a..a..previously owned…E90…320i

• Mark Tan on Sep 23, 2015 at 9:17 am

Did you know Infinity have to service @ nissan center, willing?
      Lexus service at Lexus center, not Toyota. Get the a whole new class of service quality.
      anyway, congratulations.
      more and more ex beemers owners moving towards Premium Japanese Luxury.

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 22, 2015 at 10:49 pm

The price is too high for this car. But what to do, some people rezeki so murah that even can get RM2.6b. Some people like me couldn’t even walk around in Lexus showroom. Sad.

• calcutta on Sep 23, 2015 at 3:12 am

a face only its mother would love…..
    let just see the sales figure

• Nissan on Sep 23, 2015 at 9:06 am

Can it beat the 3 series in term of sale for this price tag? Maybe those potential buyer do not really care about the price!

• Rusmah on Sep 23, 2015 at 9:25 am

RM270K ?
    Ridiculous price.
    Most buyer rather purchase Merc or BMW.

• Josh Ling on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:14 am

“the sedan which has now been narrowed down to three variants”

ehm, excuse me, but as far as i know and with reference to the older article, IS was launched in Malaysia in 2013 with 3 variants of IS250 (IS250, IS250 Luxury, IS250 F-Sport) and one variant of IS300h. And now we have 3 variants of IS200t (Premium, Luxury and F-Sport) and one variant of IS300h. how can it be less variant for IS200t compared to IS250?

• Carter on Sep 23, 2015 at 11:40 am

I will work hard to get Mercedes-Benz

• Jezebel on Sep 23, 2015 at 11:54 am

turbocharged Lexus?
    BURN!!!!!
    but wait a minute, it might be a good thing…