SPIED: Next-gen Honda Civic Type R 5-door hatchback

honda-civic-type-r-spyshots-11

The tenth-generation Honda Civic sedan was officially unveiled for the North American market only just a month ago, the first of many body styles in the model’s line-up. Here, we have the first shots of the five-door hatchback version of the unified Civic range, in its high performance Civic Type R guise at that!

There are quite a few indicators that this is indeed the next-gen Honda Civic Type R. The bumper now features vertical cut outs for intakes at the corners, most probably to channel air to cool the brakes. These are paired with air outlets just beyond the front wheels – remarkably similar to those found on the current European model. Also, what appears to be a larger intercooler can be seen as well.

Under the hood, you can expect a tuned version of the current CTR’s 2.0 litre VTEC Turbo engine, displacing the new 1.5 litre turbo powerplant of the standard car. Whether it will have any more than the (still-new) current car’s 310 PS and 400 Nm of torque remains to be seen.

Spy-Shots of Cars

Viewed from the side, we spot larger wheels in a five twin-spoke design, finished in black. Larger diameter brake rotors are also fitted at the front, with upgraded red calipers as well. Of course, the most prominent feature here is the large rear spoiler that should serve some aerodynamic purpose.

Moving on to the rear, the C-shaped taillights can be seen through the camo as well. The rear bumper also gets modified with slits at the corners, which could be outlets to diffuse the pressure at the rear wheels. Rounding things up is the location of the car’s exhaust tips, now positioned in the middle and in a triple-exhaust pipe configuration with two bigger outer pipes flanking a smaller centre one.

So there you go – the next-generation Honda Civic Type R hatchback. The current version could be making its way to Malaysia soon, but would you wait for this one instead?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• mimicking those sugoi EVOs and WRXs of yesteryear

• how many hot chick want to sit ah beng car now?

• Me! As long as its not proton!

• prolution on Oct 15, 2015 at 4:35 pm

you think hot chick can differentiate between evo and inspira? hahaha. buy inspira, mod kau2 and get hot chick. or better, buy inspira, enjoy it as it is, and save money for house.

• cendol (Member) on Oct 15, 2015 at 2:15 pm

The next-gen Civic is coming soon but Malaysia only just revealed Civic facelift.
    Are they too fast or are we too slow?

• hailthepurist on Oct 15, 2015 at 3:18 pm

we’re not slow, we’re just too busy commenting on toll hikes..

• pokmang on Oct 15, 2015 at 2:46 pm

better aim this 5 doors hb than the current upcoming civic type r hot hatch

• Doesn’t look like hb, more like Type-R sedan, the shape same as the Civic sedan launched in US.

• Walter on Oct 15, 2015 at 4:54 pm

hopefully this get 8 speed DCT

• Levin on Oct 16, 2015 at 1:00 am

This should be the 2016 Civic Si as the Type R was never launched in America. Anyone noticed the wider front fenders? Looks like the design cues were adopted from the FK2 CTR. I would also expect a coupe version of this Civic with the Si badge as well.