Megascience 3.0 Roadmap – autonomous technology to be part of Malaysian automotive industry’s future

volvo-self-driving-cars-05

A programme to reshape the Malaysian automotive industry is slated for a roll out by June 2016. The Megascience 3.0 Roadmap 2020-2050 was announced by the president of the Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) Madani Sahari at the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show, the New Straits Times reports.

The main focus of the roadmap will revolve around safer and efficient “driver-free, driving choice”. This, in short, could translate to self-driving cars for Malaysia. “In the roadmap, there is a component for the autonomous vehicle to be driver-free,” Madani said.

“Aside from that, it is also about aligning it to this new wave of technology that we need to bring into Malaysia across the supply chain, to allow vehicles to be autonomous.” he added. Madani envisaged that like electric vehicles, self-driving cars would be part of the Malaysian automotive scene, a decade from now.

“I foresee in the next 10 years this is something that we can greatly look forward to where autonomous vehicle is concerned, just like how it was for electric vehicles when it was first introduced five years ago,” the president said.

On that note, however, Madani said that for the roadmap to be successfully carried out, a change is needed. “In the roadmap, there is a component for the autonomous vehicle to be driver-free, while taking into account all aspects pertaining to policies, infrastructure, the laws and even mindsets that needs to be looked, at as well as the technology,” he stated, adding that a regulatory framework needed to be defined before all else.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• wiwiwiwiw on Oct 30, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Ya ya ya
    Bla bla bla
    Low safety requirements, no standard ABS or ESP, now want autonomous?
    Please remove such high taxes, APs and such, then only Malaysians can dump their old cars.
    Shok sendiri, gaji buta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • Donkey J on Nov 01, 2015 at 6:13 pm

malaysia only eligible corruption system, not even dream about autonomous with in klang valley road.

• Muahahaha on Oct 30, 2015 at 8:12 pm

Malaysia only technology is corruption… All the system working through corruption and only corruption with ultimate nasi lemak management… Muahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Madani Con Artist on Oct 31, 2015 at 11:39 am

Madani, sort corruption first within Proton, within MITI, then come here and talk big please

• Gargantia on Oct 31, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Empty promise or “blind vision” that from cabinet or Government ministers…

• Jobless on Oct 30, 2015 at 8:27 pm

Goyang kaki, overseas trip, make syiok sindili statements few times per year=fat paycheque….wat happen to EEV plan abandon dy??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • FIST (Member) on Oct 30, 2015 at 8:54 pm

Whatever MAI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • xxxxxxxx on Oct 30, 2015 at 8:54 pm

Ok, how many billions do you need this time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Power on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:01 pm

HUH? LOL!!!
    We dont even have a efficient public transport and talk about this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Donkey J on Nov 01, 2015 at 6:14 pm

butt-head always talk drama and future, pocket a billion but outcome is worth nothing.

• choha on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:10 pm

build a proper road first esp in the east

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • MAI wasting money !!! on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:24 pm

MAI go fix protons power window problem first, 30 years & still same issue !!! Don’t talk about autonomous driving when you cannot even comprehend the technology!! Cannot even provide good & effecient public transports to the public, roads & highway forever under construction & hopeless protong cars being produce with old tech and you want to put a road map for Autonomous Driving wasting billions more of our tax payers money !!!!

• Just piss off those mat rempit,toll ,ap,apa apa saja….hybrid free tax…..please focus on what we need……

• badman on Oct 30, 2015 at 10:25 pm

Im getting sick of MAI,your face and your name.period.

• Illya on Oct 30, 2015 at 11:02 pm

Autonomous system in cars will go cuckoo and commit suicide on Malaysian road habits, what with kopi O licences and Mat Rempits breaking all traffic rules. The unpredictabilty of Malaysian road users make the Autonomous system scared to go even with green lights.Just hope it doesn’t take the passengers with it when it does so. Maybe it will make a good cyber-psychology case study and make Malaysia famous with the headlines “Car kills self and took 4 with it”
    lol

• trollmaster3000 on Oct 31, 2015 at 8:03 am

that autonomous tech won’t be able to survive long enough to go through our many potholes and uneven roads..

• Heathcliff it's me Cathy on Oct 31, 2015 at 9:49 am

Well whether they like it or not, or we like it or not, this new tech will change the game just like how cars took over horse carriages and created highways and how commercial flights led to the construction of aviation infrastructure in every corner of the world in a very short period of time. It’s one of those unavoidable things.

• C,P,MOHAN on Oct 31, 2015 at 10:23 am

Technology and performance differentiate ‘real players’ and the ‘so-called pretenders’.

• Ada add-on function mengelak lubang?

• darkermarker on Oct 31, 2015 at 11:44 am

MAI itself is a giant cesspool, overflowing everywhere (everyone knows the shitty automotive situation in MAL) …..

Now want to talk about autonomous??? is this one of MAI of wet dreams???!

–face palm–

• paanjang16 on Oct 31, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Didn’t managed to land on the moon, already aiming for Jupiter.

Even basic thing like Euro 5 compliance, ESP, VSC, ABS is not mandatory in Malaysia yet want to have roadmap for self driving cars. Let alone items like hybrid or electrical vehicles is still a long way to go.

• Rrrrrrright….. never going to happen with the current geniuses we have in cabinet

• He stoops to conquer on Oct 31, 2015 at 12:50 pm

While i would normally be critical of them, I believe what MAI is saying is they want Malaysian infrastructure and our supply chain to be ready when autonomous cars start to become the norm, sort of like how telcos and distributors had to get ready when smartphones became more ubiquitous. They’re not saying they want to develop autonomous cars…

• LGE says” I no need go nippon oso I alredi got autonomous driving, its called drebar. Somemore during raining got umbrella come out for me to keep dry. This is bloody waste of rakyat money!
    With my autonomous car I dun need to even find parking, it will just park beside hydrants, on double line, at newly painted blue boxes. I dun need to care. If pipu complain just say its his fault, not mine. At most I just fire him and hire another one. As long as not from India and try to suicide me like my friend.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 59
  • don^don on Oct 31, 2015 at 1:45 pm

instead of being so ambitious, why not try to improve the safety of all cars in malaysia first? for instance, make the vehicle stability control system mandatory on all cars sold?

• Mandfield park on Oct 31, 2015 at 2:05 pm

And why are you implying that they must choose one over the other? Can’t they do both?

• Some of the junctions in Malaysia are barely suitable for human drivers, much less computers. Not to mention the computers need to take into account the “power of Malaysian pedestrian palm” and motorcycles cutting from the blind-side. The journey will be full of emergency stops.

Lets admit you are going to award this billion ringgit infrastructure project to a RM2 crony company; which after 10 years, will result in nothing but empty talk.

• Tong Kosong on Oct 31, 2015 at 7:55 pm

Daer Mai..Madani

Making noise from Japan won’t make yourself be respected by Malaysian.

You prove nothing to us..except your proven empty talk in many years.

Gomen..pls abolish MAI tak malu..

• Jobless on Oct 31, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Hahaha..autonomous rely on satellite signals will fail big time here, becoz “no signal” everytime rains like the infamous Astor

• Ootai on Oct 31, 2015 at 9:00 pm

Same talk, same promises, fat salaries but nothing change. APs to grey importers still stay. Honda not assembling new hybrids in the country. Prices of cars going up. Bolehland always getting outdated models. Go and learn from the koreans if the japs are giving nuts to you.

• inderaloka on Nov 01, 2015 at 11:34 am

Please make electric car affordable.

• maidin on Nov 01, 2015 at 11:51 pm

berapa ramai yang teringin nak pakai autonomous system? yang pakai saga 1985 pon ramai lagi, they don’t even think to buy a new car because every aspect of vehicle ownership in this country will be not a winning situation for users. please enjoy ur leisure atonomous ride around ur syok sendiri track in putrajaya