Kia Optima K5 Hybrid launched in Korea – 17.5 km/l

Kia Optima K5 Hybrid-08

Kia has launched a hybrid version of its new fourth-gen Optima in South Korea, where it’s simply known as the K5 Hybrid.

There are two K5 looks for the domestic market – modern MX and sporty SX – and the Hybrid is based on the former, identifiable by the triple LED fog lamp cluster. The vertical air intake is cleaner and comes without partitions.

The most distinctive exterior feature here are the active air flaps which replaces the standard studded grille. The two flaps can close at higher speeds for better aerodynamics. Unique 16- and 17-inch wheels are also aero designed. Inside, the regular tachometer has been replaced by a hybrid charge-eco-power dial.

The Optima K5 Hybrid is powered by a naturally aspirated 2.0 litre GDI engine with 156 PS and 189 Nm of torque. Its partner is an electric motor that pushes out 52 PS and 205 Nm – both power sources are hooked up to a six-speed automatic transmission unique to the hybrid.

The hybrid powertrain is shared with the latest YF generation Hyundai Sonata Hybrid, which we first saw nearly a year ago. 17.5 km/l is the fuel consumption figure advertised by Kia.

Hybrid bits aside, the big sedan also comes with an UVO 2.0 connectivity system (hybrid-specific graphics can be called up), front passenger seat buttons located next to the driver (Camry style), electronic parking brake, seat ventilation/heater and rear window blinds, among other things.

Unveiled in April at the New York show, check out the US-spec Optima and the Euro-spec sedan, which will have a 245 PS GT variant. A wagon version based on the fetching Sportspace concept is on the cards, but not a convertible, we hope.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Proton Hybrid Where? on Nov 06, 2015 at 10:21 am

Proton such billions of our LHDN money every year. Every year they bull to the Government got hybrid lah, Got EV lah, Got car that can run on kencing la.

But where are the cars? Hybrid also waiting now more than 7 years.

Where lah Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Same L0rrrr on Nov 06, 2015 at 11:42 am

As long as it is kimchi, it will not have RV. Somemore it is hybrid, you can buy used unit cheaper than Saga. Buy from me better, don’t waste your hard earned money on car depreciation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
      • camtakpro on Nov 06, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Hybrid don’t fetch much RV anyways, and this Kia hybrid looks like it could be sold in much lower price than Camry Hybrid.

• Tokayah on Nov 06, 2015 at 7:03 pm

First of all, can you show us black and white how many billion the money from LHDN given to proton? If can’t prove it, it means you are lying.

Like any other companies, many factors to consider before deciding any new technology. They cannot just do something becoz some sick minded bashers ask to do so.

Proton never say anything that their car can run on kencing. That was not true.

Thank you very much for supporting Proton and so eager to wait for it’s hybrid technology.

• I still remember last time Korean car fans supporter bash Japanese hybrid car say it’s stupid and impractical…look what the Korean are doing now?incoming Prius fight in production soon too.
    Sometimes I really don’t understand the hatred towards something you don’t know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5