Chevrolet Aveo scores zero-star crash test rating – LATIN NCAP calls on GM to improve safety aspects

chverolet aveo latin ncap

Last week, Latin New Car Assessment Programme (Latin NCAP) released six new crash test results for the Latin America and the Caribbean region. While Honda achieved five-star ratings for all its three tested vehicles (the HR-V, City and Fit), the Chevrolet Aveo received a zero-star rating.

The crash testing, conducted on an LHD foor-door Aveo sedan with no airbags as sold in the Mexican market, saw the car perform badly – Latin NCAP said that the the vehicle’s body-shell is unstable and that the lack of airbags had resulted in dummy readings representing a high risk of life-threatening injury.

The result prompted Latin NCAP to send a letter to GM CEO Mary Barra. In it, Maria Fernanda Rodriguez, president of the board of Latin NCAP, took the Aveo – which is manufactured in Mexico and sold in Latin America – to task, citing that the low safety levels of the car, coming from a global manufacturer, were unnacceptable.

“The Aveo is typical of a poor overall GM safety performance revealed in five years of independent crash testing carried out by Latin NCAP. GM brand Chevrolet performs the worst of all the major global car companies,” the letter stated.

Following the latest round of tests, the programme also published its first ranking of the comparative safety performance of car manufacturers in the Latin American market, calculating the average star rating awarded to each manufacturer based on all models evaluated since 2010. Based on adult occupant protection results, Chevrolet sat in ninth place with an average of 1.8 stars, just ahead of Chinese automakers JAC, Chery, Geely and Lifan.

Latin NCAP requested “that GM confirms the immediate standard fitment of airbags in the Aveo in Mexico” and “the removal of all zero-star cars from GM’s global product range,” stating that it was simply unacceptable in 2015 for a global manufacturer like GM to be producing cars with such poor safety aspects.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Noob Latin on Nov 25, 2015 at 4:47 pm

The population there are super high, only Mexico don’t know how many hundreds million. Die one is better to the Earth, less CO2 emission, less waste being produced, save the resources. Same as China and India, vehicles in those countries equipped with very low safety features is the correct move, can help to save the Earth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 64
    • Guess all of your family members should be gone..’to save the Earth’

No matter where we are,human life is priceless. Ppl who are not someone to you is someone to others. Sit down & think about that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
      • Proton Saga How??? on Nov 25, 2015 at 7:54 pm

By right our Proton also got ZERO rating. Considred the most dangerous car in the world by Top Gear and Fifth Gear. Even Australian magazines also confirmed that Proton is the most dangerous car in the world besides British magazines.

Somehow, Proton has given angpau to ANCAP officials to rate their cars highly. We all know the real truth. A Proton especially the SAGA is a death machine.

What to do, if PM himself can songlap RM2.6 billion, surely, ANCAP officials also willing to take money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 48
        • karam singh on Nov 25, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Try ram the FLX/Iriz with Myvi or Viva
          see which one tougher.
          Not just talk,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • you’re talking out of ur a** again. these days proton comes with vsc, abs etc other as standard. cant say the same to many other manufacturer

• loler on Nov 25, 2015 at 10:57 pm

When caveman speaks….lol

• Add-A-Comment on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:31 am

I think you haven’t event touch the Iriz or Supirma. Can’t even afford to buy a kapcai hence not even dare to walk into the showroom to smell the car…

Keep staying in your cave. Malaysia doesn’t need you.

– I Have Just Added a Comment –

• Not only Saga, Vios, Myvi n Axia same Zero Star.

• John2 on Nov 25, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Same rule should apply to malaysians too.

• Aero (Member) on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Bruh… Hitler would be proud of you.

Safety should be a right for all drivers.

But… BUT… driving should NOT be a right for all humans. Why? Cause some people are just not fit to drive. Driving requires skill, patience, courtesy, mutual respect and MOST IMPORTANTLY, passion. If you are not passionate about cars or driving, please, get off the road. Use public transport or Uber or whatever. Just don’t drive. People who have no idea how a car works or just think of cars as status symbols are the ones who usually end up bad drivers. In many European countries, having a driving license is a luxury, and it must be earned… and some countries require that middle-aged and elderly drivers re-try their driving tests every so often to prove their competence.

Driving is a luxury. Safety is a right. It’s not the other way around.

• pengguna proton kecewa on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Bro.why should u bring Hitler into this? It seems youve read too many American version of WW2..read more on Hitler and youll find the truth

• George Abdul on Nov 25, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Under TPPA this what will you get from US as ministry promise “reduced 30% tax” and reduce 30% of your life safety too… Believe in BN only bring Rakyat another 30 years of 3rd world country !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • If you din know what is 3rd world country, I can tell you malaysia will alwiz be 3rd world until next 100 years. It cuz we not aligned to Murica (1st world) or to Putinland (2nd world). We are a non-aligned nation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • George Abdul on Nov 25, 2015 at 7:22 pm

Really??? go as your PM Najib he say will turn Malaysia to 1st world country…

• Ridic on Nov 25, 2015 at 9:07 pm

The 80s called they want the term ‘2nd world back’

• BNaik on Nov 25, 2015 at 4:56 pm

low safety… macam tin kosong, even driver side also no airbeg inside!!

• Jacky on Nov 25, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Proton saga is so much better…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Tangkap basah on Nov 25, 2015 at 5:12 pm

Should give 2nd chance re-testing like some car here from 1 star then magically 3 stars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • ben yap on Nov 25, 2015 at 5:39 pm

to forgive you is up to God. To send you to him is up to Chevrolet.

-personalized quote from putin-

• Add-A-Comment on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:34 am

Stop glorifying that mango Putin. It has been reported that this did not come out from him, but someone else…read the news.

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Believe me Axia, Myvi, Vios n Saga send there also get ZERO Stars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
  • wuawua on Nov 25, 2015 at 6:14 pm

this done by other country to another country.. but here govemt screw your around

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Nov 25, 2015 at 9:06 pm

not surprised at all. usually Chevy cars sold in Latin American market are built on old GM platform (it’s the same case in China)… no surprise if they got 0 star in crash test.

• mangkuk on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:59 am

Latino life is cheap. Just like Malaysia.

• better go n get saga flx.