Volkswagen Malaysia teases 2016 plans, promises new models – Passat B8, new Tiguan and more to come?

Volkswagen Armin Keller

At the launch of the new Volkswagen Puchong Technical Service Centre yesterday, some insight into the brand’s future plans were revealed to attending members of the media.

First and foremost, it’s no secret that the brand’s reputation has taken a bit of a knock in recent times. As such, it is clear that VGM will continue to channel the majority of its efforts towards improving its customer and aftersales experience in Malaysia.

However, Volkswagen Group Malaysia MD Armin Keller made it clear that VGM will still be introducing new models here. “We plan to have at least one big launch this year, and we will also work on two medium (scale) launches – our existing models will be upgraded,” he said.

“We will also look to introduce special models like we have in the past, where we have some slight modifications, and for the most part, increase the value for our customers,” Keller concluded. The VGM boss didn’t specifically say which models the company will launch, but it is possible to make a few educated guesses.

For the “big launch” that Keller was referring to, we reckon that it couldn’t be anything other than the anticipated Volkswagen Passat B8. The latest-gen sedan has been spied on Malaysian roads several times already, and Keller himself has previously confirmed a Q1 2016 launch for the Passat.

We can’t quite put our fingers on what the remaining models or special editions may be just yet, but certainly, the new Tiguan would be a welcomed sight. Malaysians have seemingly grown a fondness for compact SUVs, and something like the compact Tiguan would be an interesting proposition here – slotting just beneath the RM280k BMW X1 and RM240k Mercedes-Benz GLA, price-wise.

As for the special editions that the MD mentioned, well, we’ve seen quite a few of them lately, haven’t we? Remember the Jetta Club, Jetta Sport, Beetle Club, and Polo Club? If our guesses prove accurate, it’s likely that more of these versions that add extra kit without the extra price, to come. An updated Golf Mk7, which has been stagnant for some time now, sounds about right, too.

We’ll be keeping a close eye on developments at the brand, so stay tuned to paultan.org for more details. In the meantime, why not tell us what Volkswagen models you would like to see launched in Malaysia? Have your thoughts heard in the comments below.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Passat B8 in Malaysia

GALLERY: Volkswagen Tiguan, Frankfurt 2015

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Kenneth Fook on Feb 03, 2016 at 10:10 am

VW, a german wannabe in Malaysia. If you are buying it elsewhere in the globe it is understandable. Put with how VW are pricing their cars, it just translate to one thing. Cant afford a merc or bim, there is always the more affordable VW to show to yr frens that you are doing well. Just that the pricing is steep as hell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • VGM Pure Pure Pure Lies on Feb 03, 2016 at 10:51 am

VGM is a big disgrace. Even the last post on the Service Centre, every comment was nasty and negative. Yes, every single comment. Better for VGM to just close shop.

VGM until today February 2nd, 2016, has still not sorted out DSG issues in Malaysia. You buy a RM200k car in Malaysia to see it breakdown every other day. What nonsense is this?

And VGM cannot even be honourable to give existing customers 10 year warranty for all their sufferings.

It is a known fact that VW AG has already admitted the DSG cannot be used in hot countries and countries with bad traffic jams otherwise it would judder and stall. But VGM keep on selling and telling lies that using mineral oil has solved this problem

This is not so. Even using mineral oil, DSG still fails. Anyway, I buy German car to use Mineral Oil is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 13
      • Tipu 5 Year Warranty on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:05 am

Everything also lie. Even their warranty also lie. Actually only 2 years real manufacturers warranty. The remaining 3 years is insurance warranty and so many people say claims are turned down.

So, even warranty also they lie. I would not dare commit so much money on a company that lies.

After 2 years, if your DSG kong, be prepared to pay RM50k to replace the unit. Insurance company has turned many people down for DSG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • Party started again when VW announces new models. These salesman really so free, LOLX

• 2014 Passat Owner. on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:28 am

Bought my car in June 2014. Its already 1 and half years. I have had 6 breakdowns. Everytime DSG related. Each time SC hold my car 3 weeks to replace the DSG. So, about 5 months in total in SC

Last time it broke down was 2 weeks ago. This is despite in 2015 they give me mineral oil.

VW Malaysia, why you do this to loyal customers like me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
      • Stay Away from VGM on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:31 am

My advice, tell everybody to stay away from vW. And tell everyone you tell to tell another 2 or 3 people about how VW is such a scandal company.

Like bacteria, pass the word around, tell everybody and tell that everybody to tell another 10 people to stay away from VGM

• Once a Liar, Always a Liar on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:18 am

In Malaysia, in the mamaks and the grapevine, everybody is saying, they are not going to even smell Audi or VW in Malaysia.

I don’t blame them. Cause, although Malaysia has no diesel, we don’t know what else the company has lied to us. There is a saying, once you lie, you will always lie. Also, if there is 1 lie, there are 9 lies buried waiting to emerge.

Overseas, these cars are cheap. So people can forgive very easily. US20k for a Passat is no big deal. If you buy a lemon, then just bin it.

In Malaysia Rm200k is big money. Even to a big Datuk or Tan Sri, RM200k is big money.

I pity VW and Audi in Malaysia. Even the RV of current models also will drop like comet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Sorry, but the US Passat is a completely different model than the European and Malaysian one. U cant compare.

• timbuktu on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:22 am

Kenneth Fook is living under which coconut shell? VW pricing steep? Pls go to the webpage and compare Passat vs. Camry and Jetta vs. Altis price. Then come back here and talk again. Else you are just living to the name “keyboard warrior”. All talk but no substance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
      • trevor on Feb 03, 2016 at 2:40 pm

VW salesman spotted. I think what kenneth is trying to convey is that with the money on the passat, one could easily opt for the camry or accord. and with the money on the jetta, one could opt for the altis or mazda 3. All which are far more reliable than the VW infamous dsg.

• VGM Facebook on Feb 03, 2016 at 2:44 pm

we all know you got VW and you are worried your RV already sudah jatuh crazy

• BodohpunyerVW on Feb 03, 2016 at 10:11 am

Pls get your shit together VW. New models? Why don’t you fix existing models first then talk about launching new models… where got car manufacturer sell defective cars knowingly one? Stupid Volkswagen, lie about emissions test, lie about DSG reliability, lie about what some more?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • DSG Sure Kaput on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:00 am

So many lies just from one company. You dare buy a Rm180k car from a company that lies like a compulsive liar?

• Low Class German Car on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:07 am

Malaysians from day one already kena tipu. VW in Europe is considered normal class car. Same standard as Proton in Malaysia.

But in Malaysia, VGM market their cars as if it is same standard as Merc, BM and Audi. It is not.

But VGM tell Malaysians it is at par with Merc and BM and quality at par with Merc and BMW
      Let me tell you, it is not. I lived in Germany 20 years. In Germany also, got very low quality goods that commands the words “Made in Germany”

Go to LIDL supermarket in germany, you can see so many Made in germany products for their people. The quality is so so low. You put in your mouth also you puke.

Yes, now you know. Not all Made in Germany products are the SAME.

I hope Malaysians wake up now and see that VW is just a normal car in Europe, don’t know why it has to be priced so high in Malaysia to fool Malaysians thinking it is a luxury product

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • i’m not a conti die hard fan. but compare the price of C segment jetta, altis, focus, m3 and civic, you’ll see who’s choking who. is mazda, toyota and honda a luxury brand? i don’t think so. the reason we pay high price for liabilities is the gov.

• lilytan on Feb 03, 2016 at 10:16 am

Hopefully the DSGate scandal will be resolved once and for all.

• DSG Sure Kaput on Feb 03, 2016 at 10:58 am

Bro, it is not resolved. Was in Glenmarie yesterday, few owners still complaining about DSG to me. So, it will never be sorted out unless VGM give tradition 5 speed autobox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • What car are you using?

• Its a known fact that the only reliable VW model in Msia is it’s cheapest offering…ie the Polo Sedan/Hatchback with the 1.6MPI Naturally Aspirated engine with the 6 speed torque converter Aisin gearbox….those TSI turbocharged engine and DSG gearbox (especially the dry clutch version) are not very reliable at all.

• Syukur lah.

• Once a Liar, Always a Liar on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:21 am

They always say, when there is a lie, there is always 9 other lies hidden and will slowly come out.

the same with cheating. It is just a matter of time before the lies start to come out. Now, the BMW lie is already out in the open. Soon, many lies to be coming in the open.

VW in Malaysia should compensate Malaysian buyers at least RM30k per vehicle because VW customers also suffered with DSG problems for years and even till today.

DSG and Dirty Diesel scandal is the same. Scandal is Scandal. Lie is Lie. They should compensate every VW buyer in Malaysia

• john is otak batu on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:56 am

U Should demand VGM 10years of unconditional warranty to all owners

• Jon Snow (Member) on Feb 03, 2016 at 10:57 am

Bring in the new Tiguan with full spec please! Don’t forget must be “WET CLUTCH”!!!

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 03, 2016 at 1:02 pm

Hope to see one at Kuga price level to at least have a share of the pie with the rest of the class else I think the Tiguan will die standing…slow horrible death.

• may i suggest that VW offer their cars/suv with manual option instead of this dsg….

• aiyoyo on Jul 14, 2016 at 10:20 pm

but sadly no market for manual car in Malaysia because many people choose to rest their left leg at a side…of cause i also hope polo available with manual just like Europe country.

• timbuktu on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:16 am

Nobody interested in this car or any car from VGM. Malaysians are fed up with all the lies by VGM. Mat Salleh got Dieselgate but we in Malaysia, we got DSG Gate which until today, VGM has not apologised or compensated the customers who bought a lemon.

I am a VW owner and I regret buying my VW junk. Now, the car has no RV because used car dealers refuse to take it in cause they too know about the DSG stigma.

Until today VGM is still lying saying DSG has been sorted out with mineral oil. Trust me, read their facebook page and see, everyday even until today, so many cars breakdown because of DSG.

• Jasjos on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:18 am

I am still waiting for the updated sharan

• VeeDoubleYew on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:40 am

Thinking of buying a VW? Jangan cari Passat!

• Johnny on Feb 03, 2016 at 12:06 pm

Test drive a Passat last week at Selayang VW 1 week back.
    The test drive unit clock in 400+km only. The dashboard, steering column and glove box rattles like my father’s 10 year old V6!!
    Then the gearbox is a little jerky when the car moves from static position.Not sure if that is the DSG gearbox problem being discussed by the VW owners.
    Reason given by the salesman, its a CKD Passat,thats why.
    I am not going to waste my money by buying a VW junk which may create problem after problem.
    Decided to go for 2.4 Accord, more peace of mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • alldisc on Feb 03, 2016 at 1:29 pm

its normal for 7 speed dry clutch DSG. its like how we release clutch in manual cars, there will be judders except that the clutch is controlled by motors.

fortunately, the 6 speed DSG is using wet clutch in which the vibration is absorbed by the transmision fluid. so u wont feel the judder in golf GTI or scirocco 2.0

• Johnny boy on Feb 03, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Why get an accord? Oh. I know, u are honda sales man..,,.talk only

• No DSG please, bring on manual GTI on Feb 03, 2016 at 12:17 pm

My dream VW that I wish to be shipped into Malaysia is a mk7 GTi that comes with 3 paddles.

Too bad too many Malaysian drivers deem their left foot too precious (or simple too lazy) to be used in driving and so VM Malaysia don’t bother to ship one in. No DSG please coz it robs all the fun. I bring my agony to the grey importer they also don’t layan me. This is the sad situation manual enthusiasts have to face in Malaysia. I think 3 paddles lovers should start a petition to voice our stance and let our voice be heard. Why settle for these crappy DSGs whereas 3 paddels are proven to have the BEST RELIABILITY, NEVER BRAKE DOWN, NEVER FAIL (have you heard any brand doing recall or massive brakedown because of a manual gearbox)?

• Pedals bro…

• aiyoyo on Jul 14, 2016 at 10:29 pm

support you. sometime also felt want to get a 2nd hand VW polo swap the DSG into manual. due to low 2nd hand value and the sporty exterior look of VW. hope in malaysia got somebody can modify it.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 03, 2016 at 12:55 pm

Lol finally launching the Passat? Europe now testing the facelift model since it was launched way back in 2014 so there u have it, be happy owning a model that is almost at the mid life of its lifespan.

• alex chan on Feb 03, 2016 at 12:57 pm

so much negative aura..so much lie from one keyboard warrior that repeatedly lie by using different name to post the repeated posts..hahaha

must be salesperson from competitor (Toyota?)

i believe most people who drives german cars like audi, vw , BMW, merc, porsh wont have times to read the long winding negative comments.

They are wise enough to understand what they want and product quality.

your comments are not true and telling lies wont help your company (Toyota?) to achieve more sales.

making bad stories (lie) to influence others will not be a success due to this category of people will practically go for a test drive and decide.

God bless your company (Toyota?).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • VGM Facebook on Feb 03, 2016 at 2:36 pm

Don’t think they are lies cause VGM Facebook also got thousands of stinking comments. I think you are a VGM Salesman trying to cover things up as usual

• BeemerFreak on Feb 03, 2016 at 6:48 pm

They are posted by the same bloody individual with different accounts. Don’t like then don’t buy..don’t complain.

• VWjunk on Feb 03, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Truth and facts reveals all and slap you from heaven to hell….
      what a good car that selling 2014 stock at this 2016 time?
      2014 passat? Hahaha

• BlitzAce on Feb 03, 2016 at 1:44 pm

In an event last year it was said they’re gonna launch the GTE too. A little doubtful as on where it’ll slot in the current line up.. but hopefully it will see light here in Malaysia.

• Heard many negative news from outside not only here. but i hope VM can improve the car so future Malaysian have more options. I think 10 years back many people not dare to buy Korean car but now Korean car have improve a lot.

• VGM Facebook on Feb 03, 2016 at 2:40 pm

Everybody seems to be bad mouthing VW now. VGM salesman will come here and lie and say it is Toyota salesman.

This is what they did 8 years ago denying VGM. they say Japs brands are jealous about their DSG.

• please just stop (-,-)

• VGM Facebook on Feb 03, 2016 at 2:47 pm

Buy a VW only if you want to spend your 21 days annual leave in the SC doing repairs

• violet lim on Feb 03, 2016 at 5:41 pm

VGM Pure Pure Lies, Tipu 5 Years, 2014 Passat Owner, Stay Away from VGM and the rest? Come on guys? Seriously? Every car company that does well in Malaysia always kena hentam. The most criticised companies are Toyota and VW. These are the two best sellers in Malaysia in passenger car sales among Japanese and European cars.

Some time back an expat living in Malaysia told me this. He loves Malaysia because of the food and the friendly people. However he noticed Malaysians had a ‘twin personality’. The image they potray outside and the image they keep hidden. Now i am beginning to agree with him.

If you dont like a car or car company, please by all means boycott it and dont buy it. Saying negative things without validated claims are not good. Especially if you cant quantify or qualify your claims. Oh and please dont say im a VW or Toyota salesman, cause i cant even sell ice cubes :-).

• VWjunk on Feb 03, 2016 at 7:20 pm

Only Junk car like old hyundai sonata can still selling two years ago manufactured car with new model launch
    hahahahahahaha

• Nicholas on Sep 29, 2016 at 10:56 pm

When will the 2016 new Tiguan be launched in Malaysia? Taiwan has already launched it.