Malaysian F1 GP to be repackaged to grow ticket sales

str sepang

The government has announced that it will be repacking the Formula 1 Petronas Malaysian Grand Prix this year in a bid to improve the event’s appeal, following a 35% drop in tickets sales recorded over the latest three years.

According to Nanyang Siang Pau, Sepang International Circuit’s CEO, Datuk Razlan Razali, believes that Malaysians still maintain a strong affinity for the sport. He claims that the global economic downturn has taken its toll on tourists coming to Malaysia from the big event, but that won’t stop Malaysia from hosting Formula 1, or making the most of it in the coming years.

“With a very strong economic benefit to draw upon, Malaysia is not about the give up its hosting rights. Malaysia still needs F1. We need new planning to make the race grander,” said Razlan, who didn’t elaborate further on what those new plans could entail.

At the moment, SIC is closed for mandatory upgrading works until early May this year, as instructed by Formula 1 and MotoGP governing bodies, FIA and FIM. The track is currently being resurfaced and we understand that it may possibly add a fourth circuit configuration to join the existing full track and the shorter north and south loops.

Sepang International Circuit - Track Closure

The Malaysian leg of the Formula 1 World Championship, which is typically held in March or April, has been pushed back this year to October 2 – immediately after the Singapore F1 GP on September 18. The new timing of the event has drawn its fair share of negative criticisms, but the SIC chief feels positively about this.

“I think it’s great for the event, because we have a long promotion period to promote the race. Based on the feedback from travel agents, both local and international, they like it because it gives them more time to promote the race to the European market. The European market is our key market,” Razlan told paultan.org last month.

“Singapore has more to worry about rather than us. We were affected by spectator numbers dropping when they held their race in 2008 anyway. Now. we’re turning the tables in some ways, because we want to capture the global audience that could potentially attend two F1s in the region,” he continued.

In 2015, statistics show that just over 80,000 tickets were sold for the Malaysian GP, compared to 92,550 in the year before that and 123,400 in 2013.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Power rangers on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:55 am

Let the mat rampit run here for free and we will come pay to see their stunt…

• Thats gud idea. Hopefully the 4th track is specially for light motor race (ala Batu Tiga) and price it cheap RM10 per entry. This will encourage more Zulfahmis to emerge.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 23, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Normal for it to have lower sales. Nobody wants to come to corrupted Malaysia where even the big man can steal RM2.6 billion and get away from it. Even his party with 2 million members also approve and condone his behaviour.

Tourism has gone down too. Investments have dropped so much. Everybody thinks Malaysia is like Congo, no laws at all. you complain, you kena C4 or you kena simen inside tong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
        • Does the fact…
          1) EU is oso in recession now
          2) They rather worry on syrians & terrorist there
          3) More pipu r watching on TV
          4) Stigma of MH17 (flying from EU)
          5) F1 races getting boring
          6) Race can cancel midway due to rain. Fun cut short.
          7) Not special anymore cuz asia now got more tracks
          8) Promos no longer unique
          9) Less time to promo due to early start
          10) Malaysia got too many numbnuts like u

… actually escapes u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 24, 2016 at 12:15 am

Maybe Proton do promotion – buy 1 Proton free 10 tickets could help on both Proton and F1 sales.

• Proton cars should be in F1 to grow sales

• hahaha on Feb 23, 2016 at 3:46 pm

don’t know whether to laugh or cry… but definately most entertaining comment.

• let bangla fill the circuit lah. then covered already. also its international market juga. give them experience watching F1 lah.

• andrekua on Feb 23, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Sales drop? Are you kidding me?

I thought some minister said low ringgit attract tourists. How come tourists are not coming now? Given the ticket price, it’s not something most Malaysians can afford.

• Ponggiri Ponggiri on Feb 24, 2016 at 3:13 am

Great move! After the Singapore race, the F1 circus can immediately move to Sepang and camp in Malaysia boosting local logistics and hospitality businesses. Many travelling F1 fans from Asia will make a long holiday out of these two races. Singapore’s race may be a visual spectacle of night sky and bright lights but not much racing to be had, just a long procession with few overtaking opportunities on a fenced-in narrow road course. Sepang offers a proper modern race circuit with wide track and proper runoffs. Also weatherwise, October will be cooler than March. By the way, Malaysia is second home of the champion team i.e Petronas Mercedes. What team is associated with Singapore?

• Ponggiri Ponggiri on Feb 24, 2016 at 9:02 am

Addendum. Indonesian driver in Manor team will add to the F1 throng. Those who attend MotoGP can attest to the size of the Indonesian fan contingent.

• Head Hunter on Feb 24, 2016 at 7:36 am

As long as you continue to host the races, I will always come. No need too much pampering, I just want to see these cars slug it out on the circuit.