Renault Zoe electric vehicle now available in Malaysia from RM146k – 210 km range, 87 hp and 220 Nm

2016-renault-zoe-malaysia-showroom- 005

The all-electric Renault Zoe is now available in Malaysia, priced at RM145,888 (OTR without insurance). The five-door, B-segment hatchback that made its global debut in 2012 was made available for bookings here back in April 2015, and is now in local Renault showrooms.

To put its dimensions into perspective, the Zoe is roughly the same size as the current Ford Fiesta. It measures 4,084 mm long, 1,730 mm wide and 1,562 mm tall, and has a 2,588 mm-long wheelbase. Conventionally, the Zoe EV offers seating for five and has 338 litres of boot space — 1,225 litres with the rear backrest folded.

Unconventionally, the Zoe features a fully-electric powertrain. Its single synchronous electric motor produces 87 hp between 3,000 to 11,300 rpm and 220 Nm of torque from 250 to 2,500 rpm. This helps the Zoe reach 48 km/h from standstill in four seconds, and perform the century sprint in 13.5 seconds. It also has a top speed of 135 km/h.

The Zoe is powered by a 22 kWh lithium-ion traction battery which is positioned flat across the floor of the vehicle. Unlike some of its competitors, this Renault has been purpose-built to be an electric vehicle, and is not converted from an existing fuel-powered model into an EV. Its power is sent to the front wheels via single-speed automatic transmission.

Click to enlarge.

The Zoe is equipped with Renault’s patented Caméléon charger, which makes it compatible with all power levels up to 43 kW. What this means is that you could charge the Zoe with any kind of power outlet, almost, so long as the sockets match – naturally, charging times may differ accordingly.

Based on a 3.6 kWh charger, it would take nine hours to get the Zoe fully charged. On a 7.0 kWh fast charger, the deed is done in four hours. Notably, a 3.6 kWh Delta wall-mounted charger is included in the purchase of a Zoe. Once fully charged, the Zoe has a claimed driving range of 210 km (based on the NEDC test cycle).

Sharply styled, the Zoe features a conventional exterior design that doesn’t estrange itself from modern fuel-powered models – save for its electric blue trim. Key standard exterior highlights include halogen projector headlamps, LED combination tail lamps and 16-inch alloy wheels. For now, only one exterior colour option is available, being the Glacier White you see pictured here.

The interior is similarly designed as the Renault Clio, and offers basic fabric seats, a seven-inch Renault R-Link touchscreen display, six-speaker 3D Arkamys sound system, single-zone automatic climate control, a engine push-start button and a full LCD instrument panel monitor. It also has USB connectivity, handsfree Bluetooth operation and a 12-volt power socket.

For safety, the Zoe offers four airbags, ABS, EBD, ESC and ASR and height-adjustable three-point front seat belts with pretensioners. The outer rear seats and front passenger seat offer Isofix child-seat anchors too.

To recap, the Renault Zoe is now available for sale in Malaysia, priced at RM145,888 (OTR without insurance). The price includes the 3.6 kWh Delta wall-box charger, as well as a three-year or 100,000 km (whichever comes first) manufacturer’s warranty and a five-year or 100,000 km (whichever comes first) warranty for the traction battery and electric drivetrain.

For further details of the Renault Zoe, visit Carbase.my.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• xxxxxx on Mar 09, 2016 at 11:42 am

Too expensive la, if around 100k can consider for city driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • 150K?!! Ron95 1.60 saje..

• Still need to pay for shor term

• Question for Madani Sahari??? on Mar 09, 2016 at 1:46 pm

The famous Nissan Leaf failed in Malaysia, how is this car going to work?

Anyway, MAI was promoting EEV and Hybrid. What happened to Madani Sahari’s plan for this? He said Government was encouraging Hybrids and EEV.

What happened Madani Sahari

• Subramaniam Alagappa on Mar 09, 2016 at 1:44 pm

A bigger car like CX5 OTR is about RM126k. This small junk is so pricey. The Skyactive uses so little fuel, I think it will be cheaper to use petrol thn pay your TNB bills

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Subramaniam Alagappa on Mar 09, 2016 at 1:27 pm

This will only work in countries with cheap electricity. Malaysia, via crony TNB has one of the highest rates in the world. In Klang Valley, even small house now coming to RM500 a month.

In UK or Australia, big bungalow, only 30 pounds or AUD60 per month.

So, if you use electric car, it will cost more than petrol. Until Government and crony TNB stop ripping people off, then cars will take off.

Anyway, what happened to TNB now? Last time, raise rates cause they say oil expensive. Now oil, gone down, TNB rates still skyrocket high

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 14
      • DonkeyKong on Mar 09, 2016 at 10:15 pm

Malaysia has one of the highest rates? Are you sure? In markets where the grid is powered by renewables (aka unreliable power) such as PV and wind turbines, the unsubsidized tariffs are over US$0.20 per kWh. The subsidized renewable energy tariffs and open-market “traditional” power prices in the US are typically in the region of US$0.08 to US$0.12 per kWh, which includes the selling price for cheap electricity from natural gas and nuclear plants.

Malaysia’s tariffs are definitely less than that..

• Mommy on Mar 11, 2016 at 8:38 pm

Sir you need to check back your claim on Malaysia having one of the highest electric tariff. Just google and research before you make such claims….

• Charger cost??. Replacement battery cost?

• TIGERQ7 on Mar 09, 2016 at 12:00 pm

It should b 40k Rm only to encourage customers to use this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • omegle on Mar 09, 2016 at 12:10 pm

No, give it to you for free, not like they need to make profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Nah…more save fuel than Axia, Vios n Prius. Buy lah wooi…

• thepolygonal on Mar 09, 2016 at 12:05 pm

If only.. it is around the price of the Twizy… if only.

• taboogen on Mar 09, 2016 at 12:05 pm

140k and get fabric seat…what lah

• WOw… Can use anything to charge this car…

Stock up your powerbanks!!

• thepolygonal on Mar 09, 2016 at 12:12 pm

It should come with removable battery stacks so that we can bring some to office to charge through normal plug. That will be very good.

• Jimmy on Mar 09, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Even if your daughter’s name is Zoe, I think you will still choose a CX-5 for her. Not a tiny 4-airbag Renault for this kind of price(many better choices in Malaysia).

A-class refinement?

• Tesla Fan on Mar 09, 2016 at 1:29 pm

210km range..since small battery..but the price little bit too high. If Tesla can sell to rakyat.. especially the latest model S P90D with 2 electric motors.. the pickup and speed u just wowwwww.. the 90D is more enough for me (if)…Should youtude the Tesla P90D speed test. But here Malaysia dreams only dreams…sigh… even one of my relative family stay at Australia work as IT field can afford a new Tesla Model S 70D.. if here buy a S 70D like u carry a big double storey house drive around.. the problem is the taxes and price!

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 09, 2016 at 1:58 pm

Nice car to own in the city. From the traffic lights it will smoke a Porsche off the line lol

• Electricdream on Mar 09, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Are they joking about the price? perhaps under commercial incentives this could be a mini taxi but with that range and electric costs impossible.

• Aero (Member) on Mar 09, 2016 at 5:25 pm

TCMH should CKD this here, it will probably quality for EEV status and be priced under RM100k. It will have virtually no competition… at least, until Proton makes their first EV, but that could still take a long time. They can also export it to Thailand and Indonesia just like the Subaru XV.

But I’d advise not to produce the battery (the most valuable component) here, Malaysia has virtually no proven local vendors in the EV battery pack field (do we ?). EV batteries are not easy to engineer or make, because they must last for many years and withstand heat and trauma, a lot of thorough testing is necessary. Otherwise, they could catch fire like those BYD taxis in China a few years back (Google it).

For now, it’s more crucial to gauge public interest in EVs. If there is enough demand, then I would nominate APM to try their luck at EV battery packs. Later, APM could supply their batteries to Proton, HMSB and UMWT. Just my dua sen.

• Will mac on Mar 09, 2016 at 9:40 pm

Too slow. Woefully so.

• joebro on Mar 10, 2016 at 10:30 am

EV car in china is so advance eg tesla as well as china made EV cars is so cheap and good. Pure hybrid cars here (roewe)fully electric but can switch to petrol anytime cost rm 40-50k only. Wtf Malaysia?? Dah lah gaji kecik, nak rompak rakyat lagi

• I’ve ridden on the Zoe via Comos car share program. It’s a basic car. Suspension on the soft side, so handling suffers. I’ve tried driving from KL to KLIA 2 and back and it still has about 30km left on the clock. Acceleration is impressive for a small car but tops only at 140KMH.

But for RM140K? nah I’ll pass. Was hoping Proton could launch its own EV, but I dont think thats gonna happen.

• Pluto on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:58 am

I hope there are some incentive from gov, local assembly to make the price lower, and more charge stations among all players (e.g. Nissan). At this price, it is very difficult to but it now

• Robert on Oct 18, 2016 at 12:03 pm

Sorry, Subramaniam Alagappa, but you have no knowledge on what you are talking about. Consumer electricity charges are low in Malaysia, in comparison. Just because you have air conditioning switched on all the time and racking up RM500 per month doesn’t mean Malaysia is expensive. It just means you are likely wasteful, and, my apologies, not wise in energy conservation. BTW, I live in a corner terraced house in the KV and my TNB chalks up only about RM60 pm. Smart use of some ceiling insulation, managing opening and closing of windows, and usage of ceiling fans. I am 40, and so far have not remembered a time when my bill went above RM100pm.